Yo Bros,

Need some comments on this issue.

Anybody ever done insurrance claim through bike shop?

Is it a common pratice for bike shop to charge "service charge" for administration work for insurrance claim?

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/image.php?u=13389&dateline=1217487583&type=profile

Dec 04 - Apr 07 : APRILIA EXTREMA RS125 FN 3690 T

Sept 05 - 07 : VESPA ET8 125 FQ 1422Z

Oct 05 - CURRENT : CAGIVA MITO EVO II 125 FS----R

Apr 07 - Stolen in JB on Sept 09 : GILERA RUNNER VXR 200 FX 8573 M

• Replies 16

well...

i'm curious because i just done my accident claim through FUTURE SCOOTERING.

My encounter wasn't exactily pleasant in the sense that, after the claim was settled, i was required to sign an acknowledgement letter ( by FUTURE SCOOTERING, of the repairs that are done to the bike)

Attached behind the acknowlegement letter, are list of coresspondances between the FUTURE SCOOTERING & the other party's insurrance company. In it, are also copies of the claim amount. On the list of the claims, includes claims for LOSS OF USE (of motorcycle), amounting to $90 (from initial claim of $150)

wat disgust me was, they feign ignorance about this claim amount of $90. (since loss of use is by me, not the bikeshop)

Upon further enquiry on this issue, they say this amount is suppose to be for them, to offset the aministration service charge (since they are doing claim).

Since its a small amount, i simply sign the acknowlegement letter.

But wat disgust me was this is not ethical at all of them to claim the "LOSS OF USE by rider", for themselves, as administration charges, epecially since the repair works (are done by them) and the claim amount (are fully towards their account) already justified their "efforts".

Not only is this not ethical, they are also not upfront about their administration charges, as they had NOT indicated this HIDDEN COST, PRIOR to commencing the claims.

NOW i'm tempt whether to lodge a complaint to CASE to highlight on their less than ethical and dishonest conduct.

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/image.php?u=13389&dateline=1217487583&type=profile

Customer loss of use of bike should be yours, not the bike shop's commission or paper work administration charge. If right from the beginning the bike shop wants to charge you, everything should have been written on paper.

Besides that, the bike shop should be earning a profit already from

repairing your bike. In addition, some lawyers doing the claim actually give commission to the shops who introduced customers to them.

In order to prevent this kind of "hidden costs" case from occurring, customers can actually source for their own lawyers.

Just sharing some knowledge :p

you not sure then confirm with the boss lor....kenny seaw???

Marauder, FZ150, TW200

Hurricane, CB400 vS

TLR, ST11 TCS/ABS

STX TW200, M400, Runner180

TDM900, ET8

Vespa classic 10" 8"

Z750S, Multistra 620

TUONO R

CB1100EX

Vespa GTS300 Super ABS

hi denis,

are you mentioned the shop named - Future Scootering??

i don't believe such a well established shop will do such a thing. have u confirmed or checked with the responsible party? i bet it must be some kind of misunderstanding.

if is misunderstand then better clear them b4 is too late. if is not misunderstand then u might wanna proceed to CASE liao.

i bet u don't need direction to CASE rite? :cheeky:

anyway just incase:

http://www.case.org.sg/

But he sign liao.....

got use complaining meh?

sad ah... why so hard up?

all u 不相关人士 really har...

must wait for the other party to clarify matters up mah

maybe it is really a misunderstanding leh...

rem there r always 2 sides to a coin

so far we've only heard 1 side of it

unless proven guilty, otherwise presumed innocent

that is the law?

http://i11.photobucket.com/albums/a169/changmao/ninedragoncafe.jpg

you not sure then confirm with the boss lor....kenny seaw???

err... not sure about wat? :confused:

i ask the mechanic, ah lam. He called the office gal to confirm too. From wat i understand, the office gal is the lady boss.

hi denis,

are you mentioned the shop named - Future Scootering??

i don't believe such a well established shop will do such a thing. have u confirmed or checked with the responsible party? i bet it must be some kind of misunderstanding.

if is misunderstand then better clear them b4 is too late. if is not misunderstand then u might wanna proceed to CASE liao.

i bet u don't need direction to CASE rite? :cheeky:

anyway just incase:

http://www.case.org.sg/

err... establish or not, dun imply that they will not do such thing. Sometimes, the more established the shop, the more likely they will take advantage of end user.

the discussion here would be just with regard to the "loss of use" issue, but wasn't impressed with their service and workmanship, lets just say the bike internal was in a total mess after the claim repair work.

But as mentioned, i'm pretty sure it wasn't a misunderstanding since i had already confronted them.

the conversation goes something like this: (but in chinese lah)

Me: ain't this "loss of use" claim, suppose to reimburse to me?

Ah Lam: i dunno lei. i dun think so lah. never heard ( them say about the need to refund u )... u have to check with the office girl.

Me: ( hearing problem ) check with officer? insurrance officer ...? y must check with officer? tot is your company wah....

Ah Lam: No, its OUR office girl.

Me: Oh...like dat ah.... ( my phone rang...)

Ah Lam: ( went off to make his phone call , apparently to the office girl )

Me: (finished phone call...was about to make another call)

Ah Lam: ( comes back shortly after making his call ) I called the office gal oready, the office girl say this is for the shop, its to reimburse US for administration cost for doing the claim.....(some hesitation) ....well actually is only $50 for the shop's administration charge, the balance ......err.....will refund to you, IF we ever received the payment from the insurance company.

(NOTE: prior to this, they NEVER mention this loss of use payment, let alone about e balance ( if any ) being refunded.)

Me: wah, but the repair work let u all do leh ( total about $1700 plus ), sure got earn a hefty amount from there wat. Somemore also got labour charge wat.

Ah Lam: No lah, cos our administration charge cannot claim from insurance, so we claim it as loss of use, to offset our charges, so this loss of use is for US.

Me: ( bewildered & disgusted ) wah! like dat also can ah?..........

Me: ............( wat the heck ) o_O

let me clarify some issue on this thread,

The whole idea of this thread is to discuss about whether is this act ethical, rather then about their workmanship, services, prices etc. Workmanship, services, prices are rather debatetable, given the benefit of doubts. But the act of claiming "loss of use" as administration charge, WITHOUT, telling the customer, and by ACTING BLUR about it when enquired, left no room for doubts.

i think this is indeed a good lesson for all fellow riders in future should they need to make any claims

it is always a hassle to read fine prints... but it is there for a purpose

as someone told me b4... good ppl dun make fine prints

i think this is indeed a good lesson for all fellow riders in future should they need to make any claims

it is always a hassle to read fine prints... but it is there for a purpose

as someone told me b4... good ppl dun make fine prints

err...there wasn't any fine print to begin with...

this is totally underhand method. Hidden costs and totally unethical.

err...there wasn't any fine print to begin with...

this is totally underhand method. Hidden costs and totally unethical.

well now... what can i say except... they have rent & labour to pay for too... but some do it in orthodox, ethical & professional ways while others hmm... there u have it...

Yo Bros,

Need some comments on this issue.

Anybody ever done insurrance claim through bike shop?

Is it a common pratice for bike shop to charge "service charge" for administration work for insurrance claim?

i do my insurance claim through bike shop but receive claim directly from lawyer and not bike shop.

they should not use the "lose of use" as their administration charges. Its should be for you.

A second of precaution is an hour of safety. It never hurts to ask.

䏿‡‚å°±è¦é—®ï¼Œé—®æ˜¯ä¸ç”¨é’±çš„!

"Life is Neither Fair or Just"

I would think it would be if the admin fee they charged is $10 or less. We must think of their overhead such as despatch, petrol, parking, ERP....etc.

If the store owner is honest and tell me about the charges, i ok w it. But it would be ridiculous if they charged $20 or $50.....I ever come across this type of unreasonable company

I would think it would be if the admin fee they charged is $10 or less. We must think of their overhead such as despatch, petrol, parking, ERP....etc.

If the store owner is honest and tell me about the charges, i ok w it. But it would be ridiculous if they charged $20 or $50.....I ever come across this type of unreasonable company

yah la... kenna found out liao just say sorry and give the money back is the best.

You can still at least keep the customer as well as the reputation of the shop.