<Q&A> SBF Super Four Live Q&A Thread

venerable Ah Pek

:cheeky: ...I'm honored...but don't stand on ceremony please..share here to share..x2...and kae_poe...x2!...humble, humble, humble...thank you:angel:

I'm not sure what is floating rotor about but we all understand that its the hydraulic oil when pump from the brake level pushes the piston and chain-react which then push the braking pad against the disc. The following am gonna say may or may not provide a solution but its rather a very practical approach to trouble shooting it. Here goes...

1) Likely the pair of piston may be jammed by pad dust and when its wet...it bites worst. Best is to get the help of mech from looi to give it a good compress air blast...better still, take the whole caliper off and do it.

2) Try a total system bleed for it..that is, have your hydraulic reservoir open up and bleed from the caliper end while pumping and unlocking the release nut. Be very cautious not to let the top hydraulic refill container runs flat and dry..top up when low. Keep doing till you have a fresh replacement of your dot3/4 hydraulic oil replace. I understand your bike is new but we never know there may be residue or some form of debris gooten inside the system. If there is air pocket inside..it would jammed your piston (no return after braking release) and if there is water, your level feel "spongy".

3) Other than that..you may have a faulty assembly of the caliper..likely the wall of the piston may be peated (quality control gone bad) or scotch somehow..unlikely but possible.

Good luck mannn!

Stupid Hurts!.:giddy:Speed doesn't kill, mistakes does :faint:

BEER!...it's cheaper than fuel now! DRINK!..DON'T RIDE!

• Replies 4.7k

By the way, for the front brake assembly, the brake disc is not bolted directly to the rim. It has an intermediate piece which then rivets (I suppose these are what they call) to the brake disc. Hence, you can feel some flexibility when trying to twist the brake disc laterally by hand. On the other hand, the brake caliper housing is tightened and locked rigidly to the fork and cannot be moved. I read that this is called floating rotor type

For the rear brake assembly, the brake disc is bolted directly to the rim and cannot be flexed laterally. On the other hand, the brake caliper housing has a slight "play" and you can feel that it is slightly movable by hand. It is not rigidly locked to its mounting. I read that this is called floating caliper type.

My spec III front suspension oil leak & want to retune back carb.... any1 any place to recommend ??? How much ???

The carb service b4 @ Tampines Ind Pk Jul 2007,

carb service (wash,sync,tune) - $80.00

4 x DENSO Plug - $40.00

fuel additive - $25.00

After service,timing still the same. Start engine the RPM not constant jump up & down,from 1000 down to 300 then up again.

Don't know bcos of this my SPEC III only can run 290-300KM (19.5 - 20.0KM/L) b4 fuel indicator start to flash.

BTW just change new rear BT020 @ LAB $155.00

friday tiuz i dunno can go anot.. dun count me 1st lo

hahah u is after 1030 pm .... :angel: :angel:

dun worry la... a380 easy to qualify one...

http://i475.photobucket.com/albums/rr120/rockytree/SERVER.jpg
not in meh... sian i wan spec3 headlight den put white light

headlight cannot take i think later the shop can see quite obvious.. must take things cannot see one .. haha

Acceleration power is not important than a good perfect braking system to prevent an accident.

http://i483.photobucket.com/albums/rr191/emomtv/wah.gifhttp://www.gifanatics.com/files/eyes-1.gif

Wink wink wink ..........................

Acceleration power is not important than a good perfect braking system to prevent an accident.

http://i483.photobucket.com/albums/rr191/emomtv/wah.gifhttp://www.gifanatics.com/files/eyes-1.gif

Wink wink wink ..........................

wink wink wink .....................

wink wink wink ...........................

how to xchange urs diff ....

lol.. different thats y must change.. if same same change for wad. :angel:

http://i181.photobucket.com/albums/x74/FN98Z/SERVER.jpg
headlight cannot take i think later the shop can see quite obvious.. must take things cannot see one .. haha

http://i181.photobucket.com/albums/x74/FN98Z/SERVER.jpg