I own a cb400 spec2. I had 2 orginal keys given by honda which contain the electronic chip. One fine day, the chip in the key drop off but i still manage to start my bike. However on the next day, I could not start it. I tried with my the other original key with electronic chip and it fails to start my bike too. I called a tow to tow my bike to a bikeshop and the shopkeeper immediately told me to change the whole system which cost $500.

Can you advise me on why my the other original key could not start the bike? Is it really because of the HISS system, when I pluck the key in, the HISS light remain red. Please advise me on the price also as I cannot really vomit out $500 for it now. Is there any other way out now?? Is it really becos of the HISS system or could it be due to other problem? dun really trust the shop.

• Replies 9

If u dun trust the bikeshop, i think u should send ur bike 2 a trusted 1. Just pay them 4 the towing fee, at most...

By rite, if the chip drop off b4 u insert the key in2 the bike, it should nt start. When i was buying my bike, the mechanic got the key mixed up, so fr there, i learnt that sm locks ar the same. Meaning u might b able 2 use bike A key 2 unlock bike B. Hwever, u cant use bike A key 2 start bike B.

So did it drop off after u start the bike?

If ur wrking original key cant start ur bike, either iz the HISS code has been accidently 'changed', or mayb iz low batt. Thatz my opinion.

Anyway, just change 2 a trusted bike shop if u feel unsafe at ur current bikeshop.

I think if you still have the dog tag with the reference number of the HISS, can do one more key at Boon Siew, i think about $80. This dog tag should come with the keys and bike. But if under installment, the shop usually keep the dog tag and 1 key.

I called boon siew service and they tell me that if i have a key which is working, they can duplicate for me the key, $30 dollars, which i dun have, i have to change the whole system which is $680 after 15% discount. When i asked them why my the other orginal key cannot work also, they tell me maybe there is something wrong with the code.

I suddenly found the chipset as my mum pick it up when sweeping the floor. I was so excited, I called boon siew again and they tell me to fix the chip back in and try again, if it can start, i can ride there straight away and they can make another key for me. SO i take bus to the bike shop and when i fix it in, it cannot works.

Feeling desperated and despair, I agreed to change the whole system which is $500 coded by the bike shop. After a few calls, the shopkeeper tell me no stock, have to wait 1 1/2 months or pay $600+++... Hiaz, so sian now. Now i wonder if the hiss system really do more good or harm to us rider.nhave the keys but cannot start..

I really dunnoe what to do now..

hi bro,

may i know how does the chipset look like??

i am riding spec3 but i don't see anything special on my key leh ????

Hope I make sense but it sounds like the HISS systems locks itself up after you tried to start with the key without the chip. Is that possible?

Email guay_hansen @hotmail.com

My blog at snowparang.blogdrive.com

http://www.pbase.com/snowparang/image/79866156/medium.jpg http://www.pbase.com/snowparang/image/95749015/original.jpg

i myself face the same prob... my HISS light up n i cant start my bike... my original key cant start too... my bike shop duplicate 1 new key for me... they use something to short my new key wif the original key... after using new key sometime i still facing the HISS light up but i still can start my bike by off n on the engine button...

2006-2007 - phantom TA200

2007-current - CB400 SPECII

I called boon siew service and they tell me that if i have a key which is working, they can duplicate for me the key, $30 dollars, which i dun have, i have to change the whole system which is $680 after 15% discount. When i asked them why my the other orginal key cannot work also, they tell me maybe there is something wrong with the code.

I suddenly found the chipset as my mum pick it up when sweeping the floor. I was so excited, I called boon siew again and they tell me to fix the chip back in and try again, if it can start, i can ride there straight away and they can make another key for me. SO i take bus to the bike shop and when i fix it in, it cannot works.

Feeling desperated and despair, I agreed to change the whole system which is $500 coded by the bike shop. After a few calls, the shopkeeper tell me no stock, have to wait 1 1/2 months or pay $600+++... Hiaz, so sian now. Now i wonder if the hiss system really do more good or harm to us rider.nhave the keys but cannot start..

I really dunnoe what to do now..

Sry that my previous post got u abit confused. Mayb iz the way i type..

Mmm.. as i mentioned, i think u accidentally 'changed' the code. Fr the way u describe ur scenario(chip found at hm), i think it sounds pretty tech stuff problem that u hv. Just wondering.. mayb u try 2 contact honda, see if they got any advice 4 u. (Mayb they can retrieve the code or hv sm way 2 bypass it)

Rem 2 check if itz due 2 weak battery prom.. Also, try 2 on-off-on-off by turning ur key(1 of the actions they do when they dup ur bike key if the HISS lite iz blinking) Cos the HISS sys reads ur key at certain intervals...

If indeed the HISS sys locks down the bike aft this thing, i think it proves that itz indeed a gd anti-theif system. Just that when u become the 'theif' by chance... thatz bad on ur pocket le..

Smtimes, bike iz like that de.. Go thru suay period. Example: alot of defects, accident... all these resulting in either cant ride or lose alot of money. Every1 has a chance 2 face this prom. Dun gib up bro...