Originally posted by BiBi@Mar 4 2006, 09:04 AM

try look at the trees or top of fence infront... i also got phobia... i skidded at first only crack the mirror... end up the mirror broke and cut my knee... quite deep and my jeans was all blood... looks real bad..

never mind lah... i think he meant don't look at the handsome instructors hehehe :p anyway VOON is quite strict one... i had never passed his lesson... not that he's not good... just that he is too strict liao...

i just remembered i went for his class recently 2A subj 2.01... very obviously i failed his class... haiz...

sound serious.. as for me on my first day in BBDC.. already crack 1 mirror.. tat was during Ong KB lesson.. 2nd times was with Voon & 3rd time was with Roger Rng.. but lucky i'm not as serious as u.. only hurt my ankle only.. :btw: r u ok now.. :confused:

err.. dun know how strict is Voon cos ever since i'm in BBDC.. he only took me for 3.02.. :cheeky:

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3179/3115872006_7510edd168.jpg?v=0
  • Replies 22.3k

Originally posted by outwaged@Mar 4 2006, 09:07 AM

EeYoRe, how do you fall at e-brake? bike comes to a stop then drops? or bike skids around then fall?

maybe i too gan chiong lor.. that why bike dropped + skidded.. :giddy:

when i was abt to reach the white line, think i'm too panic liao, so when the bike haven't reach the white.. i start to close throttle + brake liao.. :weep: I suppose u shd know where the bike will stop lor.. :cry:

before the lesson i always told myself must close throttle on white line but still failed.. my hand just won't listen.. die liao.. :giddy:

bike still can stop but i will drop the bike, maybe bcos i break too hard liao.. :mad:

Originally posted by EeYoRe_159@Mar 4 2006, 10:52 AM

maybe i too gan chiong lor.. that why bike dropped + skidded.. :giddy:

when i was abt to reach the white line, think i'm too panic liao, so when the bike haven't reach the white.. i start to close throttle + brake liao.. :weep: I suppose u shd know where the bike will stop lor.. :cry:

before the lesson i always told myself must close throttle on white line but still failed.. my hand just won't listen.. die liao.. :giddy:

bike still can stop but i will drop the bike, maybe bcos i break too hard liao.. :mad:

U wait until u see the white line then brake. Pratice the feel of the braking, first few times go over the line nvm one. Must pratice la. Kan chiong does not help. :smile:

1)25th May 2005 - 14 Feb 2007 Cbr 150

2)14th March 2007 Toyota Vios

3)18th april 2008 NSR SP 150

MSN:[email protected]

Originally posted by winter@Mar 3 2006, 07:39 PM

My bike engine never die. I was referring to the pylon when I said open more throttle lah. :cheeky:

congrads and take care of yourself when doing pratical. :thumb:

Originally posted by hart@Mar 4 2006, 03:50 AM

how about XO bee hoon outing?

Long time never eat le.. the one at the bus terminal there one.

Anyone interested in XO bee hoon anot?:cheer:

I stay clementi nia. If got i dun mind.

Originally posted by EeYoRe_159@Mar 3 2006, 12:01 PM

:help: :help: :help: :help:

I'm stuck at 3.02.. have problem with e-brake.. how to do my e-brake w/o skidding.. :confused:

yesterday failed my e-brake again forth times liao.. bike skidded & hurt my old wound + new wound (bruises all over my right leg).. getting more probia on my e-brake.. Instructor say i always close throttle before the white & Speed not enough.. but i speed at 35km/h, i will sure skidded lor.. why, can someone tell me why..?? i did lock my elbow when stopp think i'm the lousy student in BBDC doing e-brake for so many times.. :cry:

The next coming Thursday will be my fifth lesson.. anyone can tell me how to overcome the probia in e-brake.. :confused:

i guess u skid becos u press the brakes too hard. after u cross the white line, u immediately close throttle and press front and rear brake. straighten ur hands and grip the tank with ur knee. before it come to a stop, clutch in. u dun take it to heart abt the instructor says ur speed not enough. when i took my ebrake pract, my instructor says my ebraking is gd and i only do a few times then he told me to go thru plank and pylon slalom b4 coming to ebrake. but during my circuit evaluation warm up, the instructor says my speed not enough becos i stop too far away from the line and my front suspension never go down. but my speed is ard 33 to 35km/h. during the actual evaluation, i brake nearer to the line. gd luck in ur next pract.

in sg, sound fast look fast is enough. run fast fine fast die fast.

Originally posted by zonkard@Mar 3 2006, 03:53 AM

hi guys... any tips for lesson 7.01 U-Turn...

They say my bike wobbling while U-turning... i dun know why... i got grip tank... i look where i wanna turn... than i look far to prevent bike from wobbling...

but Voon E Y still say i wobble... sian....

And everyone in my lesson passed except me... damn paiseh sia...

before u move out from the give way line, u check for incoming car, when clear, u check right blind spot then throttle as per normally wad u do. maintain a smooth speed and look at the center of the lane u heading to. dun close throttle or brake. actually no need to turn the handle bar too much, just use body weight to turn.

Originally posted by kahhwee@Mar 4 2006, 11:02 AM

U wait until u see the white line then brake. Pratice the feel of the braking, first few times go over the line nvm one. Must pratice la. Kan chiong does not help. :smile:

i know lor.. so the next lesson.. must do better.. anyway thanks.. :smile:

Originally posted by LordDevil@Mar 4 2006, 11:10 AM

i guess u skid becos u press the brakes too hard. after u cross the white line, u immediately close throttle and press front and rear brake. straighten ur hands and grip the tank with ur knee. before it come to a stop, clutch in. u dun take it to heart abt the instructor says ur speed not enough. when i took my ebrake pract, my instructor says my ebraking is gd and i only do a few times then he told me to go thru plank and pylon slalom b4 coming to ebrake. but during my circuit evaluation warm up, the instructor says my speed not enough becos i stop too far away from the line and my front suspension never go down. but my speed is ard 33 to 35km/h. during the actual evaluation, i brake nearer to the line. gd luck in ur next pract.

will try not to brake too hard, hopefully can get a pass in next lesson.. :cheeky:

Originally posted by iceddd@Mar 4 2006, 12:38 PM

i finally pass my 2.02 after 3 tries.. goin for 3.01 nx thurs, any tips for 3.01?!

3.01 is plank and pylon slalom right? for plank, check right blind spot then move off. my way of doing it is pick up speed as per normal, once the front wheel is on the plank, close throttle, use clutch to control the speed. u can use rear brake to slow down the bike but not the front brake. i myself dun use rear brake. look far, grip the tank with ur knee. if u drop down from plank, dun try to go up again. u might fall down. as for pylon slalom, check right blind spot then move off, before u cross the second white line, kick up to second gear. when u enter the first space, u need to look at the next pylon. dun look down. u can tap rear brake to slow down the bike. u can choose to throttle when u enter and close when u exit each space.

Originally posted by iceddd@Mar 4 2006, 01:37 PM

hmm go thru the plank using gear 1? if so, how to use the clutch to control speed? need to half-clutch or release the clutch fully? sorry im a newbie.

ya using gear 1. u can half clutch to move the bike freely and release clutch to make use of the engine brake to slow down the bike.

Originally posted by yuxiang856@Mar 4 2006, 09:26 AM

wahhaa.. we 2 go nia?? erm.. u mean near the buona CC there de terminal ah??

yup~

anybody interested?

got bike or no bike, when it comes to good food, let's all gather and enjoy lah~ :thumb:

http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/11337/tri_daytona675.jpg

counting down again to the final class of license..

riding.. freedom.. it comes together..

Originally posted by kahhwee@Mar 4 2006, 11:07 AM

I stay clementi nia. If got i dun mind.

swee~ come come~ :thumb:

hmm go thru the plank using gear 1? if so, how to use the clutch to control speed? need to half-clutch or release the clutch fully? sorry im a newbie.

to make things simpler, i just explain wat each step does.

Objective of the plank, is to learn low speed control, yet maintain a straight line (roughly lah).

From start line, Move off and get on the plank. Once ur front wheel is on, clutch in so that ur bike can continue to move slowly. If u r too fast, use ur rear brake to slow down. If u r too slow, about to lose balance, then quickly clutch out and throttle a bit, once ur balance is back, u can clutch in again.

As u get better with ur low speed control and balancing, challenge urself to go slower and slower. It's actually fun to remain on the plank for 10 to 20 secs~ :thumb:

Originally posted by EeYoRe_159@Mar 4 2006, 10:22 AM

sound serious.. as for me on my first day in BBDC.. already crack 1 mirror.. tat was during Ong KB lesson.. 2nd times was with Voon & 3rd time was with Roger Rng.. but lucky i'm not as serious as u.. only hurt my ankle only.. :btw: r u ok now.. :confused:

err.. dun know how strict is Voon cos ever since i'm in BBDC.. he only took me for 3.02.. :cheeky:

i'm ok loh that was many years ago hehe :p

Originally posted by EeYoRe_159@Mar 4 2006, 12:09 PM

will try not to brake too hard, hopefully can get a pass in next lesson.. :cheeky:

the trick is to gradually press or pull in the brake lever... if you suddenly just press or pull the brake all the way in confirm skid... the action will cause your wheels to lock...

and if you too gan chiong pull your brake too hard and start to fishtail, release your brake immediately, it should stop the skidding... that is for rear wheel lah... if front wheel, try release brake a little...

its always better to fail the subject than to injured yourself so badly you can't take bike anymore right? :) after all health is wealth leh... without health you can not do anything ;)

Originally posted by BiBi+Mar 4 2006, 04:40 PM-->
QUOTE (BiBi @ Mar 4 2006, 04:40 PM)
the trick is to gradually press or pull in the brake lever... if you suddenly just press or pull the brake all the way in confirm skid... the action will cause your wheels to lock...

and if you too gan chiong pull your brake too hard and start to fishtail, release your brake immediately, it should stop the skidding... that is for rear wheel lah... if front wheel, try release brake a little... [/b]

adding on, if your bike drops to the left because it suddenly feels too heavy right after stopping, it probably means your handlebar is turned slightly to the left when you're coming to a stop.

also, in case your instructors haven't already mentioned it, an easier way to make sure you don't close throttle too early is to make sure your meter/gauges touch the white line when you glance down before closing throttle. glance hor, not stare. :p theory is that by the time your hand reacts, the front tyre would have already touched the white line.

go up the plank..then turn left and brake completely then faster on thottle and turn right.after turning right stop completely again..and repeat those steps....

RIding Is Fun but speeding kills

Originally posted by tthong901@Mar 4 2006, 05:34 PM

go up the plank..then turn left and brake completely then faster on thottle and turn right.after turning right stop completely again..and repeat those steps....

think i saw an instructor trying that before. keyword is "trying" :giddy:

front or rear brake?

has any instructor stopped you from doing that before? if not i wanna give it a shot around the workshop area :p wonder if the technicians will scold when i drop the bike.

Originally posted by tthong901+Mar 4 2006, 05:34 PM-->
QUOTE (tthong901 @ Mar 4 2006, 05:34 PM)
go up the plank..then turn left and brake completely then faster on thottle and turn right.after turning right stop completely again..and repeat those steps....[/b]

Originally posted by outwaged@Mar 4 2006, 05:56 PM

think i saw an instructor trying that before. keyword is "trying" :giddy:

make use of the clutch to control also. Clutching in when speeding up will actually be faster due to no engine brake. make use of the engine brake to control the speed.

Originally posted by BiBi@Mar 4 2006, 04:35 PM

i'm ok loh that was many years ago hehe :p

orh ok, good to hear that.. :sweat: thought u just hurt yourself recently.. :cheeky:

Originally posted by BiBi@Mar 4 2006, 04:40 PM

and if you too gan chiong pull your brake too hard and start to fishtail, release your brake immediately, it should stop the skidding... that is for rear wheel lah... if front wheel, try release brake a little...

its always better to fail the subject than to injured yourself so badly you can't take bike anymore right? :) after all health is wealth leh... without health you can not do anything ;)

Thanks for the explanation.. will try not to brake to hard.. :sweat: Hopefully on that day i can control the bike well.. :sian:

anyway once again thanks for all the advise given.. will take care of myself.. :cheeky: