I havent got 2b licence yet, but i start bike for friend, help him push bike, is it considered riding off? Not illegal right? i never attempt to ride it, just push it.

http://tickers.TickerFactory.com/ezt/d/4;10747;127/st/20080103/e/Class+3+tp%21%21%21/dt/13/k/1b81/event.png

2b failures...

Fell once on a bike,

Dropped bike twice, in 1.01 and SP.

• Replies 21

I dont have cl3 but i push a car...Consider driving off???

Bikes Owned: LC125 RXZ135 GSXR400RP CB400VS CB400Spec2 SV650 02CBRF4i FZ1000 CBR929 05YZF-R6 CBR150 HondaSonic125 Yamaha_CygnusX125 KymcoGrandink_250 Hornet_250 04_Yamaha_Tmax Silverwing 400 FZ6_S2 GSXR600K7

u r not suppose to start it

dun do it anymore

http://i11.photobucket.com/albums/a169/changmao/ninedragoncafe.jpg

hmm okay noted.. i just liked to hear the engine start sound.. anyway when i pushed it, i just turned off the engine.

http://tickers.TickerFactory.com/ezt/d/4;10747;127/st/20080103/e/Class+3+tp%21%21%21/dt/13/k/1b81/event.png

2b failures...

Fell once on a bike,

Haha don't worry, a lot of my frenz also love to start my bike and listen to the sound but nv ride off. I think should be ok, the TP will not do anything as long as you nv move off.

u r not suppose to start it

dun do it anymore

does this mean that when we go overseas for some time, we cant pass e key to a family member who has no bike license to so-called "let e engine run" thing?

any opinions?

2005-2006 : Yamaha RXZ 135

2006-2010 : Honda Super 4 Spec I

2010-2012 : Honda VFR 800 5th Gen

2012-current : SYM MaxSym 400i

yes... by rite nobody else can start the bike except the owner & subrider (if there is any)

by left u can do anything u like but dun get caught

if the key is in the ignition slot... do not sit on it even if the engine is not started... intention to do so is almost as good as doing it

that is if the polit wanna play punk

ultimately... dun risk it... its not worth doing so in SG

wah why so strict one =(( start engine let it warm up never put in gear 1 move also lol.

2b failures...

Fell once on a bike,

yes... by rite nobody else can start the bike except the owner & subrider (if there is any)

by left u can do anything u like but dun get caught

if the key is in the ignition slot... do not sit on it even if the engine is not started... intention to do so is almost as good as doing it

that is if the polit wanna play punk

ultimately... dun risk it... its not worth doing so in SG

I think the law not so clear on this. The offence under the Road Traffic Act is for driving the vehicle without a licence. My view is that just starting the engine and not moving off is ok.

Juz my 2 cents' worth.

... what you looking at? Never seen a cow that wants to go places ????! ...

http://i49.photobucket.com/albums/f254/bikermeow/Miscellaneous/cow4uz.jpg

If you are drunk, go into a car, sit at the passenger seat, turn on the aircon with the car start key. You are perceived as drink driving. Think about it.

That's incorrect.

If you are intoxicated, caught in the driver's seat but in a parked (stationary) car, then you may be charged for possession of a vehicle under the influence of alcohol.

To be charged for drink driving, you must be driving, operating, or in actual physical control of a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or drugs. There must be evidence that the vehicle was moving.

If you need to rest after a few drinks, never rest in the driver seat.

I think the law not so clear on this. The offence under the Road Traffic Act is for driving the vehicle without a licence. My view is that just starting the engine and not moving off is ok.

Juz my 2 cents' worth.

i would like to concur with ur opinion but my gf's frends were penalised for a similar offence many yrs back. the scenario is as follows... 2 guys... A & B were in a car park... A has class 2 & owns a class 2 bike while B only has 2A... B borrowed the keys from A to start his bike & to have a feel of it. sitting on the bike but only in neutral gear without helmet on. A was abt 10 to 15 metres away. patrol car cruises by & decides to check on them. they were both booked & end up both got their license revoked. better to weigh the odds 1st before deciding to try anything funny in SG

That's incorrect.

If you are intoxicated, caught in the driver's seat but in a parked (stationary) car, then you may be charged for possession of a vehicle under the influence of alcohol.

To be charged for drink driving, you must be driving, operating, or in actual physical control of a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or drugs. There must be evidence that the vehicle was moving.

If you need to rest after a few drinks, never rest in the driver seat.

I just realised my typo mistake=passenger seat. Thanks. Demon's explanation is much clearer too.

Same as "Attempted to ride/drive a vehicle without valid licence or insurance" ? If you sit on your friend's bike or in the car driver seat with or without key insert you will be liable for this charge.

i would like to concur with ur opinion but my gf's frends were penalised for a similar offence many yrs back. the scenario is as follows... 2 guys... A & B were in a car park... A has class 2 & owns a class 2 bike while B only has 2A... B borrowed the keys from A to start his bike & to have a feel of it. sitting on the bike but only in neutral gear without helmet on. A was abt 10 to 15 metres away. patrol car cruises by & decides to check on them. they were both booked & end up both got their license revoked. better to weigh the odds 1st before deciding to try anything funny in SG

wah..dint know such tings can happen...they must be damn unlucky and cursing their fate bro...

can't imagine answering someone's qn of "why u kena revoke?" with "coz i start my fren's big bike"!!!!:faint:

2005-2006 : Yamaha RXZ 135

2006-2010 : Honda Super 4 Spec I

2010-2012 : Honda VFR 800 5th Gen

2012-current : SYM MaxSym 400i

it was an upset case... but what to do...

i agree wif reese. a fren of mine had a similar incident. he had a bike. one fine day, his gf sat on the bike while the engine was on (he was standing beside the bike). suay suay got patrol car come. now my fren licence kena revoke.

The secret of success is to know something nobody else knows...

But if the engine isnt on and we just wanna pose with the bike, shouldnt be a problem right? lol. eg. small kids always like to sit on people bikes one.

2b failures...

Fell once on a bike,

small kids abit obvious lah... but if same age & fellow biker jux without the necessary class of license then got to debate liao

but anyway... if u really have no intention to ride the bike... dun yaya papaya with the officer who is checking up on u... in the eye of the law, the man in blue is ALMOST always rite... so be humble... it can save lives & licenses...

bump bump bump

Edited by shawnpoh

If you have noticed this notice you will have noticed that this notice is not worth noticing

sg traffic law is seriously screwed up. they pick on very small things like this but do nothing about the big cars racing on the road. damn freaking screwed up. this is worse than corruption.

I think everyone is wrong.

I was charged for drink drving sitting in my driver sit in a basement carpark. Engine was on, air con was on, just listening to music without moving the car. I got 16 months revoked, same as those caught in road blocks. Mine was 40 mpg while others were 80 to 90mpg. Same 16 months revoked.

I should get only 6 months suspension for not able to be in control of the vehicle only. I appeal so many times thru MP but no one bother. I think next time holding a car key within 2 metres of the car is also drink driving.

What is fair? I duno. My class 2 and 3 are all gone.

Anyone can help me get back my licence? PM me pls.

Though I'm not quite sure why is this thread digressing to the topic of drink driving, but I think ur case is not really obscure. E question is if u haf not been drunk driving, how did u reach home wifout driving e vehicle while being drunk?

Or if u were not home from somewhere else, it doesn't quite make sense to just pop into ur car while being drunk when u can stay at home n enjoy e aircon instead? Ofcoz here lies e problem whether u r given e benefit of doubt, but e intention to commit crime tantamounts to committing one and I think e conclusion is pretty obvious in e eyes of e law. Ofcoz I'm not saying u really did drink & drive, but e legal executives take a very conservative stand towards drink driving. Maybe that's where mistakes occur, whether u commit e crime or not, only u know it.

All I can say is, drink, don't touch ur vehicle.