Thumbs up for all the riders who have the SELF CONFIDENCE in their riding abilities and style to go out wearing whatever the bloody hell they want for that matter!

tell that to my friend. gf wore his armoured jacket and full face that fateful night. He Died. she lived with a broken bone. Wear wat u want. u might have the safe mentality and accident is the last on ur mind, but who gives a **** wat u wear, other drivers arent going to keep a lookout for u.

http://gadgets.boingboing.net/gimages/lego-cycle-helmet.jpg this is not me! :cheeky:
  • Replies 86

Thumbs up for all the riders who have the SELF CONFIDENCE in their riding abilities and style to go out wearing whatever the bloody hell they want for that matter!

Goodness. That's not self-confidence, that's just plain ignorance.

Hi spai_duhz,

Sorry if you find the font unpleasant. I'm just trying to make it bigger. The default font is simply too tiny. I'm sure most of us have 19" - 24" LCDs nowadays?

I do have saddlebags on my bike (they are made of heavy duty fabric but they can't be locked like Givi boxes). I WILL NOT leave my jacket, helmet and gloves inside when I leave my bike. And to arrive at my date with messy hair, sweaty body, helmet, jacket, boots, gloves, and stares is not really my idea of a perfect date :p I'll gladly lug my gears around if pple don't treat me like an alien. Once I went to buy something at Cold Storage and the manager asked:" Are you trying to rob me?" I think he's joking but WTF infront of other customers? So I'll rather take public transport instead when the need arises. :(

My jacket is not mesh type. I bought it for touring. Too troublesome to wear a rain coat over a jacket. Might as well get a water proof one. Imagine how hot it is. I've gotten used to it. I can wear it to work or running errands, but definately not to a date or a leisure outing (unless it's a bike outing haha).

Well anyway, these are just SOME of the sacrifices we have to make as motorcyclists. :(

PS: I don't earn much. I just save up and buy what I think is necessary for being on a bike, on the road.

c26492.jpg

If your date doesn't find you hot on a bike, in biker's gear, carrying biker's gear, chances are she's not for you, move on

As for the manager who asked if you're robbing him... WTF was that? Slandering is harmful, and in a legal aspect, he should have a rattan cane shoved up his you-know-where. What's worse, he blurted that out in front of customers. Your reputation is definitely at stake here, at what? His expense? If I were you, I'd have this issue mentioned to his superiors right away. Get him to write down whatever he just said on a piece of paper and then send it to his bosses at Cold Storage.

"So I'll rather take public transport instead when the need arises."

I seriously hope you take public transport not because you felt you were ridiculed at, but because you had to and wanted to.

If your date doesn't find you hot on a bike, in biker's gear, carrying biker's gear, chances are she's not for you, move on

Oh come on .. just because she doesn't like me in those gears doesn't mean she is not meant for me? Even if she does like it, I won't feel comfortable being sweaty and all. Anyway it's a little off topic.

As for the manager who asked if you're robbing him... WTF was that? Slandering is harmful, and in a legal aspect, he should have a rattan cane shoved up his you-know-where. What's worse, he blurted that out in front of customers. Your reputation is definitely at stake here, at what? His expense? If I were you, I'd have this issue mentioned to his superiors right away. Get him to write down whatever he just said on a piece of paper and then send it to his bosses at Cold Storage.

Well he was probably joking. I just ignored him. Can't be bothered with him.

I seriously hope you take public transport not because you felt you were ridiculed at, but because you had to and wanted to.

I take public transport when I feel that it is more practical for me and it depends on where I am heading to. :)

c26492.jpg
I wear gloves,jeans,shoes and try to wear long sleeves.FULL face is always even though on my phantom or my wheelchair :p ..

Hahaha good! Speedy recovery! :thumb:

c26492.jpg

Oh come on .. just because she doesn't like me in those gears doesn't mean she is not meant for me? Even if she does like it, I won't feel comfortable being sweaty and all. Anyway it's a little off topic.

Well he was probably joking. I just ignored him. Can't be bothered with him.

I take public transport when I feel that it is more practical for me and it depends on where I am heading to. :)

Deh, perhaps you can buy a cheaper FF helmet and a more suitable jacket?

I use my shoei on my daily commute, but switch to a cheaper MHR FF helmet when I want to go shopping...etc.

I secure the helmet to the bike with a gd chain and on my bike alarm. It's not 100% safe, but been doing it for 2-3 years liao.

To me, it worth the 'risk'. Carrying ur gear ard is a pain when going to town...etc.

I just carry my mesh jacket with the gloves in my helmet bag and it is already cumbersome enough.

Deh, perhaps you can buy a cheaper FF helmet and a more suitable jacket?

I use my shoei on my daily commute, but switch to a cheaper MHR FF helmet when I want to go shopping...etc.

I secure the helmet to the bike with a gd chain and on my bike alarm. It's not 100% safe, but been doing it for 2-3 years liao.

To me, it worth the 'risk'. Carrying ur gear ard is a pain when going to town...etc.

I just carry my mesh jacket with the gloves in my helmet bag and it is already cumbersome enough.

Hehe. That's an alternative. But don't you find it troublesome to comb your hair after you reach your destination? Or do you have very short hair that no need to comb one? And don't you find it funny if you wear smart casual and carry a helmet bag around and with riding boots?

Oh BTW this thread is to encourage pple to use safety gears. I shouldn't be talking about all the dis-advantages. But it's good to share our own experiences :thumb:

c26492.jpg
Hehe. That's an alternative. But don't you find it troublesome to comb your hair after you reach your destination? Or do you have very short hair that no need to comb one? And don't you find it funny if you wear smart casual and carry a helmet bag around and with riding boots?

Oh BTW this thread is to encourage pple to use safety gears. I shouldn't be talking about all the dis-advantages. But it's good to share our own experiences :thumb:

Actually, we need to balance the pros and cons a bit.

Seems that your gear is making ur ownership of a bike more uncomfortable than it should.

I think if you juz get a cheaper FF to tie to the bike while you go out, you will be a much happier biker.

I dun wear my riding boots when going out, only when to work which is 80% of the time. The boots are meat for riding, not walking around. It's just too hot and stuffy.

Deh...what comb hair and all...30 secs can settle lah... unless you are that Gatsby guy. *I...can give u Gatsby.....Gatsby...Gatsby...* :p

yep hair is not an issue man, better if u arrive and style on the spot so hair will look new and fresh

The pain of discipline is nothing like the pain of disappointment
I carry my stuff around. But now I do not have riding pants yet. My bike got no box.

Carry around loh. No choice. Anyway you can wear your jacket while shopping mah, just unzip the front to let air go in. But pple will keep on looking loh. Either they find you cool or they find you crazy. That's what I don't like. Eveyone look at you like an alien or a show-off. :nono:

Frankly speaking, I don't know how to fold a riding jacket with armour. The best I can do is to just fold it and let it hang around my arms. It's too rigid to fold and squeeze into a bag. Anyone can share tips on this?

i got myself a Denim jacket,cuz it's cheap, easy to fold. protected me from 2 crashes with no abrasion to me top body.