Yeap - this way all myth & performance abt HIDs will be view by all that is interested. I will show U my HS-HID ( onli 1 in SG ) - mine is mounted into a new generation lamp casing & the light beam is superb, wif minimium glare.

:lovestruck: :lovestruck: :lovestruck: :lovestruck:

HIDs............... rules................. :cheer: :cheer: :cheer:

HP: 93891138 :angel:

• Replies 1.2k

Uncle Lim, when will u be back in spore? den i can try organise a HID outing to haf a look at each others' HID in msia.

Originally posted by cheeko@Feb 25 2006, 12:18 AM

:smile: i think nite time go for kulai nasi lemak better, cos on the NSHW, then can see the difference between urs & mr fatbiker products, nasi lemak on me if u 2 go :smile:

Thanks for the invitation bro... but I am cureently not in SG leh... I am in China... can I take a rain check for the Nasi Lemak? :cheeky:

Difficult to compare lah bro... put side by side and compare :confused: Dun think it is fair also... there are many factors that affect the performance fo the HID... and expectation from different riders also different. :smile:

As far as possible... what Ken has on his bike is definitely not the best lighting system in the world lah.... just an economical HID system that meet his expectation and requirements.

Ken had a lighting problem... and he solved it with a less than SGD200 HID system that he is able to fixed on himself (without any extra additional installation cost) and he is happy about it.... that's what hands on is all about lah... :smile:

The HID system that ken uses are for people that are most probably in the same shoes as him, namely riders that:

- have simple lighting problems (not bright enuff)

- a tight budget (less than SGD200 to spend)

- can and willing to DIY (it is not exactly rocket science)

FatBiker

back...

This is my contribution to the HID thread... hope that it will help someone out there.... :cheeky:

http://img115.imageshack.us/img115/7223/differenthidbulbs5lz.jpg

FatBiker

back...

Actually, getting the HID fixed is as simple as changing a normal headlight bulb. HOWEVER, finding a place to place the ballast and ignitor is a challenge.

Fatbiker, i wonder how long is the wiring harness in the set of HID tat Ken has got.

Becoz for bikes, to put the ballast and ignitor to the rear seat, we need to extend the connectors and wiring harness. unless we are able to find a place to mount the ballast and ignitor in the front.

And to say $200 for a tight buget for headlight.. abit too high la :sweat:

imagine a jump from $8 per bulb to $200. How many are wlling to do it? Moreover , HIDs are illegal. :help:

Fatbiker, one more thing.. the HIDs come in a pair and den we share it with fellow bikers or it comes as a set alone? Would like to get a pair but am afraid the color and brightness do not match each other.

Originally posted by Enegue@Feb 25 2006, 09:08 PM

wow can't wait for a HID gathering on bikes in M"sia...

soon soon :smile: :sweat:

Originally posted by paiseh@Feb 27 2006, 01:04 AM

:btw: it is better to test it out on the NSHW, the reason is cos yesterday nite i have seen a STX1300 at GP esso, but can't really know the performance unless u try it out in the darkness. :smile: dun worry, if go kulai, nasi lemak on me

Originally posted by FatBiker@Feb 25 2006, 04:39 PM

Thanks for the invitation bro... but I am cureently not in SG leh... I am in China... can I take a rain check for the Nasi Lemak? :cheeky:

Difficult to compare lah bro... put side by side and compare :confused: Dun think it is fair also... there are many factors that affect the performance fo the HID... and expectation from different riders also different. :smile:

As far as possible... what Ken has on his bike is definitely not the best lighting system in the world lah.... just an economical HID system that meet his expectation and requirements.

Ken had a lighting problem... and he solved it with a less than SGD200 HID system that he is able to fixed on himself (without any extra additional installation cost) and he is happy about it.... that's what hands on is all about lah... :smile:

The HID system that ken uses are for people that are most probably in the same shoes as him, namely riders that:

- have simple lighting problems (not bright enuff)

- a tight budget (less than SGD200 to spend)

- can and willing to DIY (it is not exactly rocket science)

FatBiker

:smile: never mind, ask Mr Ken out, nasi lemak on me swee bo?! we would just like to see how well the product perform. Never mind abt all those 'expectation from different riders ' tight budget'...... blah blah..... :smile:

:smile: yo Mr Paiseh, u also had install a 1st generation HIDs system right, come on out for makan, dun be shy to let us view urs :smile:

wait for me to install mine..

the one i planning to install is generation what?

http://photos-313.ll.facebook.com/photos-ll-sf2p/v160/113/88/592651313/n592651313_483240_5577.jpg
Originally posted by zod@Feb 27 2006, 09:38 AM

wait for me to install mine..

the one i planning to install is generation what?

3rd generation. or 4th u choose.

3rd will be each HID using 1 ballast each

4th will be 2 HIDs using 1 ballast.

i tink choose 3rd better ba.

Originally posted by cheeko@Feb 27 2006, 02:49 AM

:smile: yo Mr Paiseh, u also had install a 1st generation HIDs system right, come on out for makan, dun be shy to let us view urs :smile:

yup, mine is first. belongs to the group of HIDs being mass produced; 6 yrs ago :sweat: still working fine :D

Originally posted by cheeko@Feb 27 2006, 02:45 AM

:smile: never mind, ask Mr Ken out, nasi lemak on me swee bo?! we would just like to see how well the product perform. Never mind abt all those 'expectation from different riders ' tight budget'...... blah blah..... :smile:

Cheeko is right - those who need better lighting system - will buy HIDs system. There is also no ground for comparision regarding the price as the Halogen & HIDs are different system completely. It is a case of if U really need them or not. :goodluck: :goodluck: :goodluck:

Pasieh - I will be back by the 28th evening. :thumb: :thumb:

HP: 93891138 :angel:

Originally posted by limbat@Feb 27 2006, 12:54 PM

Cheeko is right - those who need better lighting system - will buy HIDs system. There is also no ground for comparision regarding the price as the Halogen & HIDs are different system completely. It is a case of if U really need them or not. :goodluck: :goodluck: :goodluck:

Pasieh - I will be back by the 28th evening. :thumb: :thumb:

swee.. we will have a kulai nasi lemak trip after our waterfall trip. by the way, one of my fren, shawn is joining us. both of us will be last bikes.

Originally posted by paiseh@Feb 27 2006, 11:01 AM

3rd generation. or 4th u choose.

3rd will be each HID using 1 ballast each

4th will be 2 HIDs using 1 ballast.

i tink choose 3rd better ba.

other than 2 and 1 ballast, any other diff?

why 3rd better?

http://photos-313.ll.facebook.com/photos-ll-sf2p/v160/113/88/592651313/n592651313_483240_5577.jpg
Originally posted by paiseh@Feb 27 2006, 01:06 PM

swee.. we will have a kulai nasi lemak trip after our waterfall trip. by the way, one of my fren, shawn is joining us. both of us will be last bikes.

:giddy: advise u not to go waterfall, u will be extremely disappointed :pity: go hot spring in malacca better, good for health, very relaxed after u go for dip there :thumb:

by the way, where are Mr limbat HIDs products from? china also :confused:

paiseh here. lazy to change nick, ny frens laptop, im in sch now

zod: 3rd generation better coz if one ballast fail, the other still working. 4th generation, if ballast spoil means gone case liao both HID. and according to limbat, he already said, HID systems tat fail usually due to ballast.

cheeko: abt the waterfall.. i dunno lehm just wanna go see see.

limbats HID are all made from korea.. and all are hand made, not mass produced. better quality. more xenon gas is filled in the HID bulb, if u compare limbat's HID and other HID, limbats one is brighter den mine. not very obvious but u can see a difference, his is brighter. and his color temp is 6500K, purely white. mine is 7000K yet not as white as his... this i dunno y.. maybe mine old liao

Originally posted by paiseh@Feb 28 2006, 01:44 AM

***HID outing***

Time: 8pm GP ESSO (wont jam, tried b4)

Venue: Kulai Nasi Lemak

Date: 12th of March 2006 (Sat evening)

Purpose: Comparing HIDs

Going:

1. Paiseh

Issn't 12th March a Sunday?

Originally posted by nE0@Feb 28 2006, 01:53 AM

Issn't 12th March a Sunday?

blunder.. my mistake.. actually was refering to the 2005 calendar all along :giddy: no wonder keep getting wrong dates mixed up,.. :giddy:

:confused: just 1 more question, let's say if i install the HIDs system into my current bike, in future is it very difficult to transfer over to new bike. Must i buy special stuff like connectors or anything. It will be worth buying if this is possible, just like those scottoiler or accumen gear indicator which are 1 off investment, can transfer to next bike :thumb:

super easy to remove n install. provided ur future bike uses the same bulb type as ur current bike.

Originally posted by scooterer@Feb 28 2006, 02:02 AM

Sorry, can't go, NUS open house, I'm going to be at the motorcycling club booth.

u need support from my side?

:smile: yeah, mr paiseh, postpone to following week can? i might be going for a trip with simoh son tat week :smile: