had an accident yesterday... was at a cross junction going straight when a car from the other side turned out of the zebra crossing... i was at the center lane and he turned into my lane and i was about 30m away from him only.. tried to sway to the right but still hit his car and i flew off... bike was crushed and ask him how he want to settle.. he say want to settle privately cos if report thats where all the points come.. and wont be good to me too cos im still a p-plate.. so i say ok.. he send me back to camp as i was on the way back to camp.. the medic took me to A&E.. my collar dislocated and some lingerment tear or something and had lots of cuts and abrasion... but all this saf subsidy mah.. after i was discharged.. i called him and ask how to settle again.. cos my bike need to change lots of things.. he ask me claim from insurance.. im a sub rider while my fren is the rider.. so what should i do? plese help... :(

http://i255.photobucket.com/albums/hh140/lengkia/1_485526822l.jpg

dont like that stare at me leh :cheeky:

• Replies 51

do you have his particular? as in on the spot exchange ic to copy down and hp number. and his car plate number? and any source of edvidence? u need some picture...

claim from insurance also not from your one is from his insurance. did you take pictures of the incident? did he take pictures of the accident? where is the bike right now? cos the insurance company will ask you all this questions

The street is for show, the track is for go. Put up or shut up

|engkia^^, the best thing regarding insurance is go IDAC. They will take photo of your bike, record your statement and send directly to your insurance company. For NTUC, going to IDAC is a must. You better check with your insurance company.

Dun be like me, after accident, the guy say's we settle our own damage, in the end, few weeks later, lawyer's letter come claiming BIG $$$. So, check with insurance company ASAP what they want u to do.

RIDE SAFELY ON THE ROAD, BURN RUBBER AT THE TRACK

I think he was bullying you as he can see that you are P-Plater. Since he was turning and you were going straight, especially if he turned to the centre lane from the zebra crossing. If you had witnesses, that would be best :(

I always advice ppl the same thing in any accident.

Private settlement is private settlement.

But always make an IDAC report within the first 24 hours.

You can tell IDAC you wish to file a report but will only confirm whether to make claims later.

I've done it before so I know its possible.

If the other party shows up and does the private settlement, then its all good.

Otherwise, if he's a no-show, can always proceed with the claim through IDAC.

Important is your report has been filed within the first 24 hours.

Any vehicle user's worst fear is taking a hit on his/her insurance.

If they wish to play punk, play punk back on his/her insurance.

One thing though:

How on earth can those idiots actually race at the Dam?

With all the sand and humps, I really dun see the rationale at all...

No, you need not HAVE to make a report to IDAC.

But if the other party is a no-show with the settlement, at least you already have an IDAC report done within the first 24 hours and it makes the paperwork easier a bit.

It would look good when you make a report.

Otherwise, question will be asked when you try to file a claim and an IDAC report days after the accident, correct?

Filing a report with IDAC does not mean you are making a claim against the other party's insurance.

The officer at the counter will ask you whether are you making a claim.

But it is a useful tool to make the other party pay attention, especially when you get idiots like these who love to fly aeroplane when it comes the responsibility.

Especially when you tell him you've already filed a report with all contact details to IDAC and its ready to file a claim pending the cooperation of the other party.

Hope that this will be useful to you.

http://i152.photobucket.com/albums/s189/muddyxr/pic-billboard.jpg

no phoyos and i tow to my bike shop alr. so nw i request go idac? but pass 24hr hours alr. i dunno wad to do nw :cry:

and my injury is bad. cant walk..

I would suggest that u make a police report since injury is involved and u are still in service with mindef. After making the police report, bring it to the trusted bikeshop and ask them to help u claim. Normally, the bikeshop will sned ur bike for assessment of damage, help u engage a lawyer...

She waits for me patiently downstairs, thru rain and shine..Yet she never complains and serving me with loyalty..a true beauty that u will not regret...

towed to bike shop le. they will assess my bike tml..

the guy say dont want report... now say claim insurance.. i also blur.. cos first time.. but i heard p plate will lose case? i dont want in the end became my fault.. lose more money.. and is i hit him... is it my fault? but he cut into my lane from zebra crossing.

when u call police on the spot....cfm he lose . now u left the scene somemore without photo. no witness. he can change the story. so become 50% the case.

my camp they wrote my statement alr.. but my side only.. cos camp send me to hospital one.. i scare he change the story too.. den my bad :cry:

first time no experiance..

hope u are alright, n curse the driver to hell..

yeah hope i get well soon.. when i recover got angel eye outing sure join u guys k... :)

ask your buddy to help u bring u to idac report .... just tell your story , u can win the case la but maybe cannot claim much cos now the case not 100% liao .

maybe ask my bike shop do for me..

your form katib camp one isit?? if not wrong 2 day ago just saw your bike at 23 sar

If only time can roll back,i wish i can go back to my 2b times. Where bikers are friendly and helpful..

your form katib camp one isit?? if not wrong 2 day ago just saw your bike at 23 sar

yah.. im from 23...

Bro, 1st make a police report. Best if u can bring along the accident report from hospital stating ure injuries and the statements ure friends wrote down.

Once dat done sent ure bike to IDAC and they would help u assess how much $$ u should get from ure bike damages.

After that call a lawyer and give him all the reports. If what u explain here is correct, den u should win the case comfortably cause rule of thumb is that u r supposed to give way to traffic on ure opposite direction (which the car failed) its in the RTT book btw.

Same case happen 2 me only that a lorry bang me instead of car last year. 100% win $$

YAMAHA FZ1S ABS 2K12

Bro, 1st make a police report. Best if u can bring along the accident report from hospital stating ure injuries and the statements ure friends wrote down.

Once dat done sent ure bike to IDAC and they would help u assess how much $$ u should get from ure bike damages.

After that call a lawyer and give him all the reports. If what u explain here is correct, den u should win the case comfortably cause rule of thumb is that u r supposed to give way to traffic on ure opposite direction (which the car failed) its in the RTT book btw.

Same case happen 2 me only that a lorry bang me instead of car last year. 100% win $$

but mine is i bang him.. so no matter wad he came into my lane is his fault?

last time for me, the car came out from junction.. i siam the car and self skidded... i claim the car insurance for damages to my bike.. as long as u on main road.. higher percentage of winning the case.

http://www.motorcycle-usa.com/photogallerys/ATL_3679.jpg

last time for me, the car came out from junction.. i siam the car and self skidded... i claim the car insurance for damages to my bike.. as long as u on main road.. higher percentage of winning the case.

ok now pass few days le.. and my bike at bike shop.. he say claim from his insurance.. got his name and ic alr.. and ask he ask me send to idac.. wad to do now ar? total the fees around 800+ and medical all that around 1k... insurance company will give so much meh? or abit only.

Hmm,if u r reali goin straight and he is joining ur lane..U hav e right of way and he shuld b in e wrong...Near Zebra crossing shuld slow down anyway(Legally) and if his speed is low,he shuld be able to see u approaching and not cut into ur lane...

But,hav to b careful bro...He could jolly well say he checked and sure he didn see u approaching and e reason u hit him is cause u r speeding and unable to avoid him (Fail to avoid road hazard)...

U said he wanted a private settlement?If u file a claim wif him IDAC,and he admit that he is in e wrong,u shuld b able to claim.But if he say both parties wrong or u r wrong...Ur insurance will b affected...Anyway,gd luk to u bro..Get well soon~:thumb:

:offtopic: If an accident happened at nite and IDAC is closed,how to file e case?Jus take pic?Or shuld report police?

ALL THINGS CAN BE DONE IF U HAVE CASH.

HOW TO CONTACT IF U HAVE NO CONTACT LEFT BEHIND

ok now pass few days le.. and my bike at bike shop.. he say claim from his insurance.. got his name and ic alr.. and ask he ask me send to idac.. wad to do now ar? total the fees around 800+ and medical all that around 1k... insurance company will give so much meh? or abit only.

Frm wat i heard is insurance can claim more than 1k easily...Some ppl gets to claim for e period they were unable to work,the cost of transportation while bike is repairing,bla bla...Depends on e company and e life of e victim..If u r earning alot...e claim will b..wow...

ALL THINGS CAN BE DONE IF U HAVE CASH.

HOW TO CONTACT IF U HAVE NO CONTACT LEFT BEHIND