• Replies 206

Guest oddyseus

Wah....... like dawn touched the land with her fingertips of gold, grey eyed athena, apollo silverbow n hera n calypso n klytemnestra n helen castor n polluxn what what steady lah you !! :thumb: ouzo n olives n toga n pretty lookin ladies with big tatas ah ? wah lau eh.....

Guest TachiTJRS

Hi guys, just for all Honda 400cc riders's general knowledge regarding the Honda rectifier/regulator.

It is well known that the NC35/NC30 and many other Honda models' like CBR400RR, CB400SF Regulator/Rectifiers would often go bad and cause riders to get stranded without lights at night, and even completely stranded in the

middle of nowhere. Honda has done something about it.

Part numbers 31600-KY2-600, 31600-KY2-701, 31600-KY2-702,

31600-Ky2-703 and 31600-MV4-000 have now all been replaced by Honda part number 31600-MV4-010. This is an updated Regulator/Rectifier Genuine Honda Part now with cooling fins.

To order this improved part from where ever yo decide, you must quote the above part no.

This is how it looks like.

Originally posted by tarcrasher@Dec 10 2004, 03:54 PM

Wah....... like dawn touched the land with her fingertips of gold, grey eyed athena, apollo silverbow n hera n calypso n klytemnestra n helen castor n polluxn what what steady lah you !! :thumb: ouzo n olives n toga n pretty lookin ladies with big tatas ah ? wah lau eh.....

I am speechless........... :bow:

Guest oddyseus
Originally posted by mkakoulidis@Dec 10 2004, 06:33 PM

I am speechless........... :bow:

no lah...i should be speechless :sweat: the illiad n odyssey were mind altering experiences. Virgil aint too bad either. Ovid is good too. But ****en homer, by the tongues of the syrens.....:faint: damn good boy! :thumb: :thumb: Them ol dudes wrote a lot about their land, shite... i feel like popping over there for a quick look..o_O Maybe when im rich n famous...o_O o_O

Hey guys... Got a Question...

My friend's VER S is at my place cos he is away for a month. I start every morning and nite. Ride for almost 4km/day. Yesterday when i wanted to bring it for rounding, the engine just can't start. Wats the problem huh? He just change his BATTERY a month back. I push start also cannot.

Originally posted by TachiTJRS@Dec 10 2004, 05:11 PM

Hi guys, just for all Honda 400cc riders's general knowledge regarding the Honda rectifier/regulator.

It is well known that the NC35/NC30 and many other Honda models' like CBR400RR, CB400SF Regulator/Rectifiers would often go bad and cause riders to get stranded without lights at night, and even completely stranded in the

middle of nowhere. Honda has done something about it.

Part numbers 31600-KY2-600, 31600-KY2-701, 31600-KY2-702,

31600-Ky2-703 and 31600-MV4-000 have now all been replaced by Honda part number 31600-MV4-010. This is an updated Regulator/Rectifier Genuine Honda Part now with cooling fins.

To order this improved part from where ever yo decide, you must quote the above part no.

This is how it looks like.

Thanks for the useful info. By the way this new type of rectifier approximately cost how much with installion? :bounce:

Be happy always :-)

Ride alert at all times :angel:

1st bike - Yamaha RXZ - 135cc

2nd bike - Honda FireBlade series - 400cc

3rd bike - Yamaha RXZ- 135cc

4th bike - Suzuki GSXR K-series - 600cc

5th bike - Kawasaki KRR - 150cc

6th bike - Honda CBX Twister - 250cc

~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~

Guest TachiTJRS
Originally posted by The_Sheriff@Dec 15 2004, 12:50 AM

Thanks for the useful info. By the way this new type of rectifier approximately cost how much with installion? :bounce:

The price should not be more than $130 anywhere. But I think if you go to FJT you might be able to get it slightly cheaper.

You can do the installation yourself. If you know where the rectifier is on your bike, you need a screwdriver to loosen the holding screws and then disconnect the clips. Next clean the leads with a soft brush to remove any dirt. Clip on the new rectifier and screw bash the unit into the holder.

Oh yeah, please make sure you disconnect the battery and your ignition is off first. Take the negative (-) lead off. Then perform the above.

If you don't know where the rectifier is, I will tell you later.

What is your exact model CB400?

LAB sellin rectifier with fins for $65 self install. good as stock 1 coz been using close to 2 yr plus. symptom is dat ur batt wont recharge when the engine is running and ur light will go dimmer....finally bike wont start

advisable to buy batt and rectifier together. $140 at LAB

http://i59.photobucket.com/albums/g313/funkyvtec/IMG-4077.jpg

Previous Rides: RXK 135, S4 Project Big 1, S4 Vtec1, ST1100 Pan European, Cbr954, K7 600, FJR1300 ABS, SilverWing FJS 400.

Current Rides: FIT 1.3 GF MoonRoof.

Guest TachiTJRS
Originally posted by FunkyChicken@Dec 15 2004, 12:32 PM

LAB sellin rectifier with fins for $65 self install. good as stock 1 coz been using close to 2 yr plus. symptom is dat ur batt wont recharge when the engine is running and ur light will go dimmer....finally bike wont start

advisable to buy batt and rectifier together. $140 at LAB

Is this an original JApan made Honda part? Because it doesn't sound like it.

For my bandit400, when the rectifier fail

Sympton

1. The speedo and tacho are getting dimmer

2. Open/close the throttle during idle, the headlight will not dip and brighten like it used to be(strange but this is how suzuki bandit work)

Post morten

1. Found one connector burnt

2. The rectifier diode are short, mega ohm range

3. Batt voltage low

Fixed.

1. Change new connector

2. Bought new rectifier

3. Charge up batt

Current Ride - 2004 Kawasaki Z750

http://www.motorvoordelig.nl/images/laser/pics_hot_kaw_z750_04-.jpg

My Z750 DIY Page

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/361701-2004-Kawasaki-Z750-DIY-Guide

04 Z750 Specification

http://jarlef.no/Kawasaki/PDF/2004/PDFfiles/z750PDF04.pdf

Originally posted by TachiTJRS@Dec 15 2004, 12:59 PM

Is this an original JApan made Honda part? Because it doesn't sound like it.

hehehe..no lar....juz use the after market ones... genuine one rectifier itself cost $100++

Previous Rides: RXK 135, S4 Project Big 1, S4 Vtec1, ST1100 Pan European, Cbr954, K7 600, FJR1300 ABS, SilverWing FJS 400.

Guest TachiTJRS
Originally posted by FunkyChicken@Dec 15 2004, 01:44 PM

hehehe..no lar....juz use the after market ones... genuine one rectifier itself cost $100++

Hmm.. that's quite a bargain for $65 plus labour. However, I think it is safer to use the genuine one even though it's more expensive because you don't want the chiong part to potentially damege your battery which could cause extensive and even more expensive damage to the bike's electrical systems.

My bro buy from FJT last last cost $60 make in thailand, make in japan ones cost over $100 last year.

Bikes Owned: LC125 RXZ135 GSXR400RP CB400VS CB400Spec2 SV650 02CBRF4i FZ1000 CBR929 05YZF-R6 CBR150 HondaSonic125 Yamaha_CygnusX125 KymcoGrandink_250 Hornet_250 04_Yamaha_Tmax Silverwing 400 FZ6_S2 GSXR600K7

Originally posted by TachiTJRS@Dec 15 2004, 02:27 PM

Hmm.. that's quite a bargain for $65 plus labour. However, I think it is safer to use the genuine one even though it's more expensive because you don't want the chiong part to potentially damege your battery which could cause extensive and even more expensive damage to the bike's electrical systems.

This is what i know....could be right or wrong, u decide.

The ones from LAb are the same as the ones u get from FJT etc etc for $130.

Why the price diff...i have no idea.

Why same product ?

1) LAB part got sticker(Orange foil sticker with the word SUN) pasted over the part number which is printed on the opposite side of the connector.

2) Original ones come without the sticker.

3) Both come packaged in bubble wrap.

4) Only original comes in Honda Original box with stickers and parts numbers.

5) Both made in Japan by the same company and have same part numbers.

Cheers !

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/uploads/photo-3088.gif

yah lar..people keep sayin LAB lotsa local product though itz genuine. even the denso iridium people said itz chiong 1... but actually they get frm fjt. but the japan rectifier i use quite long and work as good as my stock one before i change.

Originally posted by FunkyChicken@Dec 17 2004, 11:29 AM

yah lar..people keep sayin LAB lotsa local product though itz genuine. even the denso iridium people said itz chiong 1... but actually they get frm fjt. but the japan rectifier i use quite long and work as good as my stock one before i change.

a few ppl know even some agents and big bike shops buys stuffs from LAB and vice versa.

another info is, sometimes it's cheaper to buy original stuffs from LAB cuz he can get u better prices then directly going to the agent.

that's why he can't carry a few products and show them out.

cuz he's been banned to do so cuz way below market prices....

anyway :thumb: to LAB !

guys.. my rectifier died liao.. nid to change.. planning to DIY change rectifier and battery myself?? where is the rectifier located for version S?? issit easy to DIY the rectifier?? i seldom buy stuffs from LAB... but i see a lot of pple buy from there and say no prob... so any comments buying the stuffs from there?? especially rectifier and battery.. cos i was expecting they last me for at least 1 to 2 years.... are they open tomorrow (sunday)??

http://i48.photobucket.com/albums/f229/Hong-/tummy.gif?t=1229955192
Originally posted by HONG@Dec 18 2004, 11:32 PM

guys.. my rectifier died liao.. nid to change.. planning to DIY change rectifier and battery myself?? where is the rectifier located for version S?? issit easy to DIY the rectifier?? i seldom buy stuffs from LAB... but i see a lot of pple buy from there and say no prob... so any comments buying the stuffs from there?? especially rectifier and battery.. cos i was expecting they last me for at least 1 to 2 years.... are they open tomorrow (sunday)??

Battery is located under the seat compartment (the big one)

Need to unscrew the cover first to access the battery,

Rectifrier is located in the side cover just above the gear shifter.

Remember to buy a Yuasa MF battery.

Read up on my article on how to properly activate a motorcycle batter

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/index....topic=59423&hl=

Cheers !

Originally posted by Jade@Dec 7 2004, 02:01 PM

Bike will suddenly die on you, refusing to start. Even push start also cannot.

I know so well as my horsey did just that right at a traffic junction!

My friend's Version S also like that... Sian... Have to wait till JAN for he to come back to Singapore.

Originally posted by MiCmAsta@Dec 19 2004, 02:39 AM

My friend's Version S also like that... Sian... Have to wait till JAN for he to come back to Singapore.

hahaha... hey... i back liao lar...i oso sian.... sudden bike giv me such problems when i away... gin GY.... lol.. call me asap... i nid to go LAB... but r they open on Sunday?????

Originally posted by HONG@Dec 19 2004, 10:01 AM

hahaha... hey... i back liao lar...i oso sian.... sudden bike giv me such problems when i away... gin GY.... lol.. call me asap... i nid to go LAB... but r they open on Sunday?????

Hi HONG they shld be open on sun cos i remember i went once on sun only to buy the NO KISS. Hop yr bike gets well :goodluck:

Originally posted by oldphantomist@Dec 19 2004, 10:36 AM

Hi HONG they shld be open on sun cos i remember i went once on sun only to buy the NO KISS. Hop yr bike gets well :goodluck:

OK!! thx bro... but lets hope they will be opened till at least 5pm..

Originally posted by HONG@Dec 19 2004, 10:58 AM

OK!! thx bro... but lets hope they will be opened till at least 5pm..

Me just back from work leh.. Tml morning we go loh...

hi bro, i jst upgrade my super 4 ver s to vtec 1, when my ver s bike batt flat and the rectifier will gone also , hv to change both rectifier and batt, so i keep a spare rectifier . so my q is rectifier for ver s can be use in vtec bike, is it totally some or diff?

my another q is let say my vtec 1 bike batt flat liao, the rectifier will die also? did any bro hv the problum pls let me knw thk a lot.