Originally posted by Raptor@Aug 2 2005, 07:44 AM

Darlink Masked Man,

What have I said about engines that you find unbelievable?? Hmmmmm? :lovestruck:

Valve adjustments should solve the sound then my dear?

• Replies 19.4k

Originally posted by tweety64@Aug 2 2005, 08:38 AM

Hey Tashi; wat u mean by that!!! :sian:

Ok ok... MT say my tick tick sound mostly cause by 'tappet'.

So need to send in for 1day sevice.

Now i'm on 20W50 no more mineral oil, but the sound still there.

As for the exhaust seen diffcult le, cos they can tell me that All cbr1000rr is like that.(all have the SAME problem)

They trying to tell me No Point Changing cos the new exhuast will have this probelm also.(just matter of time) :help:

I meant you have 2 pointy things sticking out, we don't have. Look at your avatar. :cheeky:

What's your mileage? Changed to fully syn so quickly?

For the cracked fairing issue, to avoid it, make sure your fairing is screwed back properly. The alignment must be right, so it won't create a stress point.

Once screwed back, check from the side to see if there's a buldge. Don't over tighten the screws.

I had my it on both left and right fairings, and had them replaced.

Do not install frame sliders! Once installed, taichi master will make all excuses to say your drilling at the lower frame affected the top frame, even though they are separate pieces.

Originally posted by Tashi@Aug 2 2005, 10:07 AM

For the cracked fairing issue, to avoid it, make sure your fairing is screwed back properly. The alignment must be right, so it won't create a stress point.

Once screwed back, check from the side to see if there's a buldge. Don't over tighten the screws.

Do not install frame sliders! Once installed, taichi master will make all excuses to say your drilling at the lower frame affected the top frame, even though they are separate pieces.

installed sliders already then come to know bout this... :sian:

anyway where would the crack suffice on the fairing?

1998 RS Aprilia & KTM200

2000 License gone

2002 Honda SP

2004 Honda CB400

2005 Honda CBR1000RR5 FZ9xxxZ

2007 Honda Fit 1.5 Vtec SGU2xxxR

2008 Mitsubishi Colt Version R SJF9xxxG

You may want to tighten the exhaust valve plate screw,hear that many a' tick,tick' were known to come from there.

LIVE AND LET LIVE 2012

MY BIKES OVER THE YEARS:

1980 - SUZUKI - GP 100

1982 - KAWASAKI - GPZ 750 R1

1986 - HONDA - VF 1000 RR (HRC)

1987 - SUZUKI - GSX-R 750 H2

1988 - SUZUKI - RGT 400 WALTER WOLF

1989 - SUZUKI - GSX-R 750 J1

1990 - KAWASAKI - ZXR 750 L

1992 - HONDA - FIREBLADE CBR 900 RR

1995 - HONDA - GOLDWING GL 1500

1998 - HONDA - VFR 800 FI

1999 - HONDA - CBR 600 F4

2000 - HONDA - PACIFIC COAST 800

2001 - HONDA - CBR 929 RR

2003 - HONDA - CBR 954 RR

2004 - KAWASAKI -- ZX 10 RR

2005 - HONDA - CBR 1000 RR

2006 - YAHAMA- R6-06

Originally posted by LastDance@Aug 2 2005, 10:26 AM

installed sliders already then come to know bout this... :sian:

anyway where would the crack suffice on the fairing?

I have posted some pix on this thread, taken on a Sony T1. You'll have to look back.

Want to buy my spare camera?

Just ensure that the fairing is screwed back properly.

Originally posted by peter7788@Aug 2 2005, 10:29 AM

You may want to tighten the exhaust valve plate screw,hear that many a' tick,tick' were known to come from there.

That's a good illustration.

But I don't think it's from the exhaust valve. I had it removed when I slipped on the Arrow.

Had the same "tick,tick" sound on my bike,when I changed to my Yoshi System the sound went away.Checked the standard pipe and found the exhaust valve plate screw to be loose causing "play" on the exhaust valve during idle thus the sound , understand tweedy64's bike running std pipe,she may want to check this out before going for the more expensive option.

Anyway HONDA CBR1000RR TAKES TOP 6 PLACES AT SUZUKA 8HRS ENDURANCE RACE (With "Tick,Tick" also no problem).

Race results/report can be viewed at stickyrubber.com

News section

LIVE AND LET LIVE 2012

MY BIKES OVER THE YEARS:

1980 - SUZUKI - GP 100

2006 - YAHAMA- R6-06

Originally posted by Tashi@Aug 2 2005, 09:57 AM

I meant you have 2 pointy things sticking out, we don't have. Look at your avatar. :cheeky:

What's your mileage? Changed to fully syn so quickly?

Tashi; Like that also can... :sian:

Mileage now on 3k...Yes, change to better engine oil lor.

peter; thk for the inform, anyway i'll just bring it down to MT let him setter for me.

I'm still on Warranty le....

http://i142.photobucket.com/albums/r118/AC_Devil64/finalfantasyx2.jpg

I agree Dr M. T. will know what to do

LIVE AND LET LIVE 2012

MY BIKES OVER THE YEARS:

1980 - SUZUKI - GP 100

2006 - YAHAMA- R6-06

Originally posted by LastDance@Aug 2 2005, 08:47 AM

Yo Rick!

U seem to know alot bout cbr1000rr nvr share :nono: no lah joking hehe.

Friday morning wat time end work? Wanna find out more bout the cats from u :cheeky:

alvin: i'm on long weekend leh... heheheheh

Hello guys, the tick tick sound is back on me when i have been riding damm slow recently cos just kanna 6 points and $150.

So the answer from me is, pls clear your carbon.

Simple.

Went down to MT before about this problem and he told me is to do valve clearance.

After further probing, he said can dun do(milleage that time is around 10,000km).

He said do liao the sound will also come back soon.

Not long after, i heard from another friend said MT told him bike must whack at least 15 mintues continueously for 160km/h which opens the 2nd valve to maintain the bike at least once a week.

Thereafter, i did that every petrol session starting from GP Esso to U-turn then to R&R and the tick tick sound never came back for 20,000km till now.

It dun took 15 mins for this distance, but it solved my problem anyway.

For those who already got such problems for quite a while, u will require more times and frequent whacking before the sound goes.

Can get the catalyst and STP which Tashi have to help out.

Exhuast peeling..... lucky it dun happened to me.

Aftermarket is rather ''accessible'' nowadays.

Mid pipe catalyst ah, after i took out, i always heard backfire, like farking all over the road, so pai sei.

Dun like it, so put a PC3.

Got so many catalyst ah, should be taking all out when i do a retune.

Most importantly, pls do the block off plate.

But once you do all this mod except block off plate, u better get a very good tuner to tune ur bike, or u will gonna badly miss the smoothness of your bike.

Originally posted by RicKTM@Aug 2 2005, 04:56 PM

alvin: i'm on long weekend leh... heheheheh

wah liew long weekend leh... now busy period leh :nono: anyway wat time u always off work?

1998 RS Aprilia & KTM200

2000 License gone

2002 Honda SP

2004 Honda CB400

Originally posted by Ken@Aug 2 2005, 05:07 PM

Hello guys, the tick tick sound is back on me when i have been riding damm slow recently cos just kanna 6 points and $150.

So the answer from me is, pls clear your carbon.

Simple.

Went down to MT before about this problem and he told me is to do valve clearance.

After further probing, he said can dun do(milleage that time is around 10,000km).

He said do liao the sound will also come back soon.

Not long after, i heard from another friend said MT told him bike must whack at least 15 mintues continueously for 160km/h which opens the 2nd valve to maintain the bike at least once a week.

Thereafter, i did that every petrol session starting from GP Esso to U-turn then to R&R and the tick tick sound never came back for 20,000km till now.

It dun took 15 mins for this distance, but it solved my problem anyway.

For those who already got such problems for quite a while, u will require more times and frequent whacking before the sound goes.

Can get the catalyst and STP which Tashi have to help out.

Exhuast peeling..... lucky it dun happened to me.

Aftermarket is rather ''accessible'' nowadays.

Mid pipe catalyst ah, after i took out, i always heard backfire, like farking all over the road, so pai sei.

Dun like it, so put a PC3.

Got so many catalyst ah, should be taking all out when i do a retune.

Most importantly, pls do the block off plate.

But once you do all this mod except block off plate, u better get a very good tuner to tune ur bike, or u will gonna badly miss the smoothness of your bike.

sad to hear u in the same predicament as me, but i believe u still have 18pts rite. i'm at 4 currently.

anyway where is the block off plate located? how much did it cost to remove it?

1998 RS Aprilia & KTM200

2000 License gone

2002 Honda SP

2004 Honda CB400

Originally posted by RicKTM@Aug 2 2005, 05:40 AM

heard from my mechanic, the catalizer were found in the headers and the most common place is the end-can.... I removed the header catalizers and it sound a little bit different... after that....

as for the muffler thingy, i think Ken is the best person to answer this question... let me say it on behalf of him... Ken's advise is u remove the end-can and bring it to SengKuang for them to cut it open, knock out the intestines, and weld it back again.... the welding will look like ur OEM welding, therefore, it will not look like it had been tempered with... it's ard 200bux.... Ken also advised that after the mod, install a PC3 to regulate ur air/fuel mixture, so that the power can be optimised...

ken: am i right???

Tashi: wat about the crack on the fairing???? is it on the right side fairing??

hey thanks RickTM, so must cut the pipe n so many catalizer .... :weep:

mayb i just wait for henry to come back and ask him do it

thanks alot

Originally posted by Tashi@Aug 2 2005, 10:07 AM

hi tashi, mine left n right fairing have crack line already

and the bad thing is it's not boon siew bike

i think i jus have to find another way to patch the crack

thanks for u all help

cheers :bounce:

Ken, where did you get caught? How fast were you going?

Since our bikes have DSFI (Dual Stage Fuel Injection), we should have an official term called Stage 2 Carbon Clearing (S2CC) session.

It can be used as a noun or a verb.

Pronunciation:

Ass-2-See (like ecstacy)

Noun:

Wanna have an S2CC tonight?

Verb:

Wanna S2CC?

Mmm, the kind of rubbish I come up with sometimes.

Originally posted by cosmos@Aug 2 2005, 09:57 PM

hi tashi, mine left n right fairing have crack line already

and the bad thing is it's not boon siew bike

i think i jus have to find another way to patch the crack

thanks for u all help

cheers :bounce:

Good luck! Should be easily patchable.

Each upper cowl costs S$300 +. One side costs a few cents or dollar more than the other side, as there's a sponge.

Originally posted by Tashi@Aug 2 2005, 10:25 PM

Ken, where did you get caught? How fast were you going?

Since our bikes have DSFI (Dual Stage Fuel Injection), we should have an official term called Stage 2 Carbon Clearing (S2CC) session.

It can be used as a noun or a verb.

Pronunciation:

Ass-2-See (like ecstacy)

Noun:

Wanna have an S2CC tonight?

Verb:

Wanna S2CC?

Mmm, the kind of rubbish I come up with sometimes.

You too free liao, can think of such things.

Ken's fine and points sound like mine... riding on the road shoulder.

Why on the road shoulder?? I want to act like Malaysian cub kia on the highway lah. :lol:

Originally posted by RicKTM@Aug 2 2005, 05:35 AM

so far no sound from the cbr i'm riding.... let's see if the sound surface after the hard run-in... will keep u guys in the loop...

had been riding the CBR for a couple of days, found out the top-end rush is really enjoyable... so much so for a 8 nozzle injector.... nice bike!!! :thumb:

Hey rick , got urself a new toy to play with :thumb:

Every organisation is like a tree full of monkeys.Ones at the top can only see monkeys below them and ones at the bottom see only a**holes above them.

Originally posted by Tashi@Aug 1 2005, 10:00 PM

Maybe you have something we don't have.

Hmmmmm........I wonder what that is o_O

Every organisation is like a tree full of monkeys.Ones at the top can only see monkeys below them and ones at the bottom see only a**holes above them.

Originally posted by peter7788@Aug 2 2005, 12:34 PM

Had the same "tick,tick" sound on my bike,when I changed to my Yoshi System the sound went away.Checked the standard pipe and found the exhaust valve plate screw to be loose causing "play" on the exhaust valve during idle thus the sound , understand tweedy64's bike running std pipe,she may want to check this out before going for the more expensive option.

Maybe should try this 1st.No harm trying.

Originally posted by tweety64@Aug 2 2005, 08:38 AM

As for the exhaust seen diffcult le, cos they can tell me that All cbr1000rr is like that.(all have the SAME problem)

They trying to tell me No Point Changing cos the new exhuast will have this probelm also.(just matter of time) :help:

Never heard of the exhaust chrome peeling in sg or other foreign forums yet.

Problems heard so far ticking sound,tail light warping/melt,hairline cracked

fairing,magnetic coil burnt & discolouration of the silver lower fairing (right side).

Anyway,the peeling of chrome at the exhaust is covered under warranty & so

were the above mentioned problems ! That's what the warranty for !

As for the warping of the tail,I'm the 1st bike to complain in sg (according to BS)Only noticed it when washing bike in the 1st week i took the bike !

They will tell u grandfather stories instead of why the paint peeled lah,blablabla..

Chilly, Vermeulen Shoei, Arrow pipe, you are the closest to guessing the mystery Ten Kate rider. :cheeky:

Some 2006 bikes coming your way this Sep. This is from a German mag.

http://www.pressekatalog.de/Cover/Jpgsgross/2000886.jpg