I wanted to say this also.... Bt u faster than mi...... here and on the road......... :D

i all the while only know this:

suzuki all out power.

honda user-friendly n all-rounder.

yamaha very hot.

kawasaki raw n uncomfortable.

• Replies 19.4k

You can't tune without PC. You will have to install PC inorder to do that. Try HKL or Racewerks.

If it is just slip on, you can make do without the tuning. However better don't remove the silencer as it will make the engine run more lean. Anyway we don't know the air fuel ration just by riding. It all a guessing game. If you feel unsure and have extra moolah to spare, I will suggest you go buy a PC3/5 and go for dyno tuning.

ok i think i understand already for the 08 everything is auto set inculding the idling, but it's weird that the bike shop said they could tune my bike w/o pc? and if without pc will the aftermarket pipe affect the engine?

It is possible to tune using the stock ECU provided they have the hardware to do so. These hardware will simply overwrite the stock mapping inside the ECU. But then not bike model can do it. For suzuki, there is a TEKA mapping device which can alter the stock mapping. For the Busa, there is a device which you can tune the stock ECU just like a normal PC3/5. But so far for the CBR, the only way is by PC3/5. But just remember, PC DON'T change the stock ECU mapping. It just manipulate it. When you remove the PC3/5, it will run back to your stock mapping.

Engine works by air and fuel combine and combust inside the cylinders. There is a ratio for air and fuel which we call Air Fuel Ratio or short AFR. Too much air will cause lean ratio which will in term cause the engine to run hotter. Worst case engine failure due to excess heat. Too rich will cause the plug to foul easily or the unable to combust properly. But normally it is better to be on the rich side as it is safer for the engine.

So now, after changing to an aftermarket exhuast, the AFR will lean out a bit. However you do not know what is the AFR at stock. If the stock is rich, then by leaning out abit, it may become better. But like I mentioned, it just a guess game. The only way is to look at the AFR either thru dyno run or you install wideband commander. Normally exhaust manufacturer will say by changing to their slip on, you do not need to do tuning. As they will design their slip on based on the stock mapping. However for Full system, you will need to do tuning.

So if I am you, I will just do without tuning. However if you have the money to spare, by all means buy the PC3/5 and do a proper tuning.

I wanted to say this also.... Bt u faster than mi...... here and on the road......... :D

He simi oso very fast one lor...

"éšä»”,è¦åŽ»å—Ž"("Handsome, want to go")?!!! wahahaha....

http://i192.photobucket.com/albums/z51/DenverDino/CRW_4732-1-1.jpg

i also have a cbr1000rr5..

1st owner installed pc3, den took out..

now like out of sync lidat..

how ah??

sync the injectors/throttle bodies??

tink need to tighten timing chain also..

Hmmm, talking about timing chain, Honda bikes' timing seems to become loose very fast & noisy.... correct me if i'm wrong....

there's always a rattling sound coming from the cam drive part....

My RR5 & RR8 both experience same thing....

Ride safely to ride again another day

2000 - 2001 : Honda NSR150SP [Repsol Colour]

2001 - 2003 : Honda RVF400RT [Original Colour / Cabin Design]

2005 - 2009 : Honda CBR1000RR5 [Red/Silver/Blue / Red/Black]

2009 - Current : Honda CBR1000RR8 [Candy Red/Black]

Hmmm, talking about timing chain, Honda bikes' timing seems to become loose very fast & noisy.... correct me if i'm wrong....

there's always a rattling sound coming from the cam drive part....

My RR5 & RR8 both experience same thing....

ehhh,.

went to my bikeshop juz nw..

timing chain is indeed "abit" loose, but ok...

its the clutch housing making the noise though...

btw..

my rr5 has a petrol smell whenever starting... even when riding..

bike in bikeshop to rectify the prob coz late..

anyone experienced this b4??

most prob is injector burst.. =x

or better, hose leak..

i rather hose leak. =/

about timing chains,

the boss told me got 2 types..

the stock type n the ncct type..

den the ncct can adjust n tighten..

the stock cant.. but now the market no more liaoz..

only can try find in ebay or online shops

Suck it n ride!

http://i305.photobucket.com/albums/nn224/ervinchua_wl/633520157058579273-SignatureCelebra.jpg

It is possible to tune using the stock ECU provided they have the hardware to do so. These hardware will simply overwrite the stock mapping inside the ECU. But then not bike model can do it. For suzuki, there is a TEKA mapping device which can alter the stock mapping. For the Busa, there is a device which you can tune the stock ECU just like a normal PC3/5. But so far for the CBR, the only way is by PC3/5. But just remember, PC DON'T change the stock ECU mapping. It just manipulate it. When you remove the PC3/5, it will run back to your stock mapping.

Engine works by air and fuel combine and combust inside the cylinders. There is a ratio for air and fuel which we call Air Fuel Ratio or short AFR. Too much air will cause lean ratio which will in term cause the engine to run hotter. Worst case engine failure due to excess heat. Too rich will cause the plug to foul easily or the unable to combust properly. But normally it is better to be on the rich side as it is safer for the engine.

So now, after changing to an aftermarket exhuast, the AFR will lean out a bit. However you do not know what is the AFR at stock. If the stock is rich, then by leaning out abit, it may become better. But like I mentioned, it just a guess game. The only way is to look at the AFR either thru dyno run or you install wideband commander. Normally exhaust manufacturer will say by changing to their slip on, you do not need to do tuning. As they will design their slip on based on the stock mapping. However for Full system, you will need to do tuning.

So if I am you, I will just do without tuning. However if you have the money to spare, by all means buy the PC3/5 and do a proper tuning.

ok thanx alot i fully understand what u meant. woo i guess u did lots of reserch, haha but thanx alot i think i will just do it without tuning 1st till got excess $ then i buy PC, btw u said that there's nothing that can tune our ECU, but by using dyno can we see our AFR, another words can it tune our ECU w/o pc? just randomly thought of it hahahaa sorry uh ask so much.

i heard the r1 09 can.. theres a sensor which they can fiddle with.. normally used only by the factory guys..

but for hondas.. i doubt so...

ecu is like a brain that already have a standard map in it...

den the pc3/5 is something that will be connected to the ecu, to keep telling the ecu that, the map has change to this this this difference...

so without the pc3/5, ur ecu reverts back to the standard mapping..

which means u cant tune the ecu without...

there are some ecu controllers on the market also..

u can get from ebay from 40+ sgd...

den got instructions to connect n tune... =)

cheap form of pc3/5, lol

Suck it n ride!

http://i305.photobucket.com/albums/nn224/ervinchua_wl/633520157058579273-SignatureCelebra.jpg

When during dyno, they will put a device into your exhaust to check your AFR during the dyno. This way the dyno machine can plot out the AFR at different RPM and throttle position. This way the tuner will know which area to target on.

You will need a PC to alter the stock ECU mapping inorder to change the AFR.

i heard the r1 09 can.. theres a sensor which they can fiddle with.. normally used only by the factory guys..

but for hondas.. i doubt so...

ecu is like a brain that already have a standard map in it...

den the pc3/5 is something that will be connected to the ecu, to keep telling the ecu that, the map has change to this this this difference...

so without the pc3/5, ur ecu reverts back to the standard mapping..

which means u cant tune the ecu without...

there are some ecu controllers on the market also..

u can get from ebay from 40+ sgd...

den got instructions to connect n tune... =)

cheap form of pc3/5, lol

The thing you mentioned for 09 R1, it can be done on all R1 and R6. Don't know about the rest of the models. It offer a general adjustment to each injector. Like increase or decrease the fuel output from each injector. But that is for Yamaha. You can also check the battery volt also.

Those cheap ECU control thing you see online is using load based rather than AFR based to tune the ECU. Not very accurate tuning. Most often they come preset with a few choice for you to choose. So might say they feel the improvement but then it may be due to psychological effect or it happen to be "just nice" for your bike. But you will also see some offer bad comments cause it is just not good for their bike.

ehhh,.

went to my bikeshop juz nw..

timing chain is indeed "abit" loose, but ok...

its the clutch housing making the noise though...

btw..

my rr5 has a petrol smell whenever starting... even when riding..

bike in bikeshop to rectify the prob coz late..

anyone experienced this b4??

most prob is injector burst.. =x

or better, hose leak..

i rather hose leak. =/

about timing chains,

the boss told me got 2 types..

the stock type n the ncct type..

den the ncct can adjust n tighten..

the stock cant.. but now the market no more liaoz..

only can try find in ebay or online shops

The NCCT is actually MCCT. Manual Cam Chain Tightener. You can check out the brand APE.

Heres the pro and con of both type.

1) Stock - So called auto type cause it is spring based and will always tension the chain. However the tension will makes the chain extend itself even during normal usage.

2) Manual type - Opposite of the stock type. You are required to tighten the tensioner periodically or when the chain is loosen. Too tight or too loose will accelerate the wear of the chain. There is a general guideline for you to gauge how much is enough. However I find it is hard to adjust it as the newer bike is generally very compact and the tensioner is normally out of reach. It is more commonly found on scrambler.

MERRY XMAS EVERYONE!!!!

have a nice night.. hahaaa..

alrdy enjoy drinking with tec n gf..

but rmb.. drink dun drive or ride.. =

be safe!!!! =))

takecare guys...

Suck it n ride!

The NCCT is actually MCCT. Manual Cam Chain Tightener. You can check out the brand APE.

Heres the pro and con of both type.

1) Stock - So called auto type cause it is spring based and will always tension the chain. However the tension will makes the chain extend itself even during normal usage.

2) Manual type - Opposite of the stock type. You are required to tighten the tensioner periodically or when the chain is loosen. Too tight or too loose will accelerate the wear of the chain. There is a general guideline for you to gauge how much is enough. However I find it is hard to adjust it as the newer bike is generally very compact and the tensioner is normally out of reach. It is more commonly found on scrambler.

hmmm.... that means stock cant be adjusted?

btw, anyone knows where can get the GP style rear hugger? i considering getting the one from Puig but dont know how much.... anyone knows the price?

Anyone wants to trade your clear windscreen with my 2months old hotbodies dark smoke windscreen for cbr1000rr05?????

http://www.northbaysportriders.com/forums/uploads/monthly_03_2009/post-834-1237957022.jpg
Anyone wants to trade your clear windscreen with my 2months old hotbodies dark smoke windscreen for cbr1000rr05?????

yo! i've got the original RR5 windscreen that's not in use. you can have it if you want.

wow..cool!!! pm me your number? thanks bro!!!

http://www.northbaysportriders.com/forums/uploads/monthly_03_2009/post-834-1237957022.jpg

just curious, i suspect brake fluid dripped on my speedo gauge and created a vague blurred mark... is there anyway to replace the "screen" of the gauge..?? or is there anything that might remove e mark?? i tried gt85.. no use.... i think e brake fluid disolve the screen rite??? or is e screen made or glass?? wat can remove it?

removed the "spoilt" screen and make a new piece of plastic??? think its a good idea?

i think changing e whole speedo is too costly and unnecessary, everyhting is still visable.. just that it looks veri irriating... imagine growing a mole on ur nose... yep thats how it feels...

Edited by NightPhantom

Life is not the amount of breath u take, but the moments that take ur breath away.

It is not how hard you fall, its how fast you get up.

nsr150 : december 2004 - 16th March 07

S4 Vtec1 : March 2007 - March 2008

cbr1000rr '04 : March 2008 - June 2011

wave125 '03 : July 2009 - ????

think its plastic n comes in one whole speedo assembly...

any 1 wanna go for a ride to jb 2 nite call me 83313724-prasad

class 2b- 100805 Wave 125,LC 125,X1 110,CG125 (Yamaha and Honda)

class 2a- 050906 CBR Hurricane 400 (Honda)

class 3- 170707 Kia Rio (KIA)

class 2- 121007 CBR1000RR 04 (Honda)

310808- CBR1000RR 08 (Honda)

241208- Proton savvy (First Car)

290610- Aprillia Rsv4R(First Italian Bike)

301210- DRZ (First Suzuki Bike)

280811-Hayabusa Gen2

100413- ZX1400 Gen2

Yo! yO! yo! How's the planning for the photo shoot coming?

CBR1000RR Photo Shoot for the YEAR.

Date: 3th Jan 2010

Venue: Bukit Timah Turf City Subject to be change.

Time: 1300hrs Subject to be change.

Interested party pls faster add in your name. Insert your contact incase of any changes then we can contact you. Or you can choose to PM me.

1. DenverDino

2. Yongster

3. Ghost

4. Dean_Pedrosa

5. Tom-Kum-Fai

6. craz_03 (90695757)

7. leinadace

8. Okada17

9. Guangson

10. vsion (9006 7388)

11. mx_catfish

12. Baba 23/ 96994393

13. rstopel

14. prasad 83313724

Pls update from the last post, "DO NOT LEFT OUT ANYONE."

Chinese, Malay, Indian or Non forum member are also WELCOME as long you own a CBR1000RR you are one of us!!!

Hope we can get more than 25 bike....if not too small group then picture take already also not nice...hehehe

Shoot the NEWS to all your CBR friends.

Suck it n ride!

hmmm.... that means stock cant be adjusted?

btw, anyone knows where can get the GP style rear hugger? i considering getting the one from Puig but dont know how much.... anyone knows the price?

Ya Stock can't be adjusted.

CBR1000RR Photo Shoot for the YEAR.

Date: 3th Jan 2010

Venue: Bukit Timah Turf City Subject to be change.

Time: 1300hrs Subject to be change.

Interested party pls faster add in your name. Insert your contact incase of any changes then we can contact you. Or you can choose to PM me.

1. DenverDino

2. Yongster

3. Ghost

4. Dean_Pedrosa

5. Tom-Kum-Fai

6. craz_03 (90695757)

7. leinadace

8. Okada17

9. Guangson

10. vsion (9006 7388)

11. mx_catfish

12. Baba 23/ 96994393

13. rstopel

14. prasad 83313724

Pls update from the last post, "DO NOT LEFT OUT ANYONE."

Chinese, Malay, Indian or Non forum member are also WELCOME as long you own a CBR1000RR you are one of us!!!

Hope we can get more than 25 bike....if not too small group then picture take already also not nice...hehehe

Shoot the NEWS to all your CBR friends.

The list looks pathetic.... :x

hmmmm. for the windscreen, how to take out the rubber tube ar?? any technique???

if not gonna bring down to shop help me change..save effort also..