Hello guys... need ur advise once again... went home today from work as usual,when reaching home i realise very hard to move my bike at neutral gear I tot i was at hump that's y harder but reach flat area oso hard to push

So i ride around my carpark still very hard,suspect is brake kana stuck so faster ride to the nearest bike shop but haven't reach my bike kana stuck totally when I stop at traffic light. green light totally cannot move onli move a bit abit heng i at road side when it happened... so izit realli brake stuck? if so then how do I remedy the situation in the future... pls help me hehe :cheeky: :cheeky: :cheeky:

http://i570.photobucket.com/albums/ss143/godsendworx/mesh/supporters/Sinfillled_Siggy.jpg
  • Replies 42

Perhaps, redo brake bleeding for ur brake system.

"But it ain't about how hard ya hit. It's about how hard you can get hit and keep moving forward. How much you can take and keep moving forward. Now if you know what you're worth then go out and get what you're worth."

brake bleeding ah i juZ tell motordiam they shld know le rite? thx thx hehe

Anyways i heard piston jam will cause ur rear wheel to lock... izit true? so now I oso dunno isit piston jam or brake stuck = (

http://i570.photobucket.com/albums/ss143/godsendworx/mesh/supporters/Sinfillled_Siggy.jpg

heard it also before, dunno whether the guys here experienced it or not?

"But it ain't about how hard ya hit. It's about how hard you can get hit and keep moving forward. How much you can take and keep moving forward. Now if you know what you're worth then go out and get what you're worth."

brake bleeding ah i juZ tell motordiam they shld know le rite? thx thx hehe

Anyways i heard piston jam will cause ur rear wheel to lock... izit true? so now I oso dunno isit piston jam or brake stuck = (

see see snatch my 1.5k bike la :cheeky: jk :p

u can start bike at neutral anot? if can means not piston jam...

becos neutral ur rear wheel is not connected with ur engine so if can start sure not piston jam..

piston jam is u can't totally start the bike and it occur when u full blast ur bike while on the move so rear wheel kena locked by the 0 RPM engine... therefore if u very power, can faster clutch in or mayb even kik to neutral at those situations u won't kena a locked rear wheel...

That's why I always believe in LUCK! :cheeky:

ur bike now can ride anot???

if cannot u can actually empty the hose urself first then ride without that particular brakes to the bikeshop to save tow $$$ mah :)

Haha ... LL im saving u extra money leh lolZ if u buy the bike then u'll be the one facing the problem now lolZ!!

oh... ya i can kick to neutral and start... whiew... so means onli brake stuck huh lolZ!! wan swap bike with me anot? lolZ!!

Anyways juZ now i let it cool down awhile,then step abit on my rear brake and tap abit on my front brake... after like 15mins i try again can move liaoZ... so still unsure watZ the actual problem haha i suspect is i kick start too hard i accidentally wack the rear brake too hard oso haha but rear brake oso wont lock wheel until so jia lat... so perhaps is front brake liaoZ haha

beside doing brake bleeding, pls get the motorshop to check the brake caliper seal kit and brake pump kit.

wah juZ brake system onli so many things to check liaoZ ah haha gone case... means $$ $$ and more $$ haha

Haha ... LL im saving u extra money leh lolZ if u buy the bike then u'll be the one facing the problem now lolZ!!

oh... ya i can kick to neutral and start... whiew... so means onli brake stuck huh lolZ!! wan swap bike with me anot? lolZ!!

Anyways juZ now i let it cool down awhile,then step abit on my rear brake and tap abit on my front brake... after like 15mins i try again can move liaoZ... so still unsure watZ the actual problem haha i suspect is i kick start too hard i accidentally wack the rear brake too hard oso haha but rear brake oso wont lock wheel until so jia lat... so perhaps is front brake liaoZ haha

come to think of it, how u actually whack the rear brake while kik start lol...

ur footrest stock ah?

cos my kickstart lever can't reach my footrest leh :cheeky:

come to think of it, how u actually whack the rear brake while kik start lol...

ur footrest stock ah?

cos my kickstart lever can't reach my footrest leh :cheeky:

haha i later go down try again coZ i remember i hit something... mayb is hit foot rest haha! hope 2day nth happen... :cheeky: :cheeky:

wah up... this is good info... haha thx bro ^^ initially when i see my bike i see the clamps clam tight to the disc... so this is actually normal... hmmZ... learn new things everyday haha

few reasons as i can see..

brakedust clogged up in the brakepad that disable the caliper piston from function.

remedy: remove caliper and service.. clean everything, grease the 2 piston there.. and place back.. check if O-ring is worn out..

could be airbubbles in your brakelines

remedy: just go to shop and bleed your brakes.. from pump to caliper.. make sure they does a proper bleeding.. as thou u're changing ur brakelines lidat...

normally is brakelines or the caliper oring worn out that u press alreadi the piston wont go back to it's usual position thats y the pads are gripping tight to the disc n dun 1 2 let go..

You want to know front or rear brake caliper is jammed?

Simple. Push your bike. If the fork keeps going down, front brake is jammed. If rear shocks go down (feels like backside sinking lower to ground), then rear is jammed.

2 reasons why the brakes get jammed.

1. Pistons (caliper side) are sticky. Too much rust or dirt. Rebuild your calipers, clean off dirt/rust, and change new piston seals.

2. Pistons (master cylinder/brake pump side) are sticky. Usually due to rust rather than dirt. Rebuild the master cylinder/brake pump. Change the entire piston, spring and seals.

Your brake fluid attracts water. And water promotes rusting. Lesson of the day is to flush out brake fluid with new fluid once a year. And when you wash your bike, use used toothbrush to clean your calipers properly. Keeping them clean from brake dust can help avoid unwanted dirt from building up and affect your caliper pistons.

I doubt having airbubbles in the system can jam up your brakes. Reason being air is compressible and in fact with air in the system, you're not going to get braking at all.

Wah best... great info from you guys... thanks alot yeah!! ^_^ this sat shall bring to motordiam ask them do the things u guys advised me on hehe... sianZ... hard earned money gone~~~

If you're tight on budget, I suggest you only rebuild your master cylinder/brake pump with new piston, spring and seals. The caliper piston seals can be costly depending on the total number of pistons your calipers have [my S4 has 10 pistons (front + rear), so that's 10 sets of seals, each set is about $8]. :giddy:

Anyway, I was too cheapo to change the seals, so I just rebuild and reuse the seals. Must be really careful not to damage the seals tho.

that's like $80!! juZ for pistons!! omg... no choice,love own bike too much,have to send it for operation haha thanks alot bigboystoys

Hi guys... i juZ rode my bike to work... same problem happens again, so i suppose it happens when my disc gets heated up and expand causing more friction? correct me if im wrong hehe later go bike shop ask to do brake bleeding and do wat bigboystoys ask me to change haha

is not the disc that heatup and cause a expansion.. is u constantly using the brake and the brake piston constantly being force to clamp even harder on the brake rotor without allow ample time for the brake piston to release itself when u not using brake..

after some time of not using the brake, the brake piston will slowly release the rotor.. reason can be worn o-ring in the caliper, worn brake piston..

oh.. kk... wah down here i gain alot of knowledge from you guys man ^_^ thx Aalex82...

I came back from Looi's motor,left my bike there liaoZ... i ask them inspect 1st... the mech told me rear brake oreadi not working haha i think i kick start tt time realli accidentally wack the rear brake too hard... then he said my tyre oso no air... help me pump both front and back... ask me wan change brake pad... $35 each... izit expensive? haha

then he say help me check rear brake pump 1st... hmmZ... and he said my bike damn dirty!!! haha

LL... tried slow mo 2day to kick start my bike... if ur foot is placed facing outwards u kick start realli can hit the rear brake haha

that's like $80!! juZ for pistons!! omg... no choice,love own bike too much,have to send it for operation haha thanks alot bigboystoys

No it's like $80 just for piston seals. Pistons not included. I didn't even bother checking what's the price for pistons after I heard the price for the seals.

Hahaha

is not the disc that heatup and cause a expansion.. is u constantly using the brake and the brake piston constantly being force to clamp even harder on the brake rotor without allow ample time for the brake piston to release itself when u not using brake..

after some time of not using the brake, the brake piston will slowly release the rotor.. reason can be worn o-ring in the caliper, worn brake piston..

Well you don't have to use your brakes at all to have it heated up because your pads and disc are in constant contact. And not having a perfectly flat disc to the pads does add to the rubbing effect.

I speak from real life experience whereby I knew the my calipers are seizing up but haven't had the time to fix it yet. So I rode without using the front brakes at all. 15 mins of riding and I can start to feel the bike having a bit of 'braking' at the front.

LL... tried slow mo 2day to kick start my bike... if ur foot is placed facing outwards u kick start realli can hit the rear brake haha

did u mention my name or u meant u "LL"?

lol doesn't matter..

I still don't get it how u actually can whack ur rear brake... unless u kick reverse pattern o_O

now i really LL, my rpm meter light blown I think.. just now night riding cannot see the RPM lol