i'm curious too... where do you guys located in? maybe we can jio each other out more easily should we're happened to be in dat particular area or heading to it. i'll start mine 1st, pls add in....

jonathan- jurong west

richard- jurong west

jazzyme - yishun

duriandan - yishun

geko - yishun

wan23-tampines

amgm125 - Bedok Reservoir

Can sometimes spot me often around jurong west area too.

AMG Mercedes - The combination of Speed and Luxury

Feb 2004 ~ June 2004 - 1994 Cagiva Mito Mk2

Nov 2004 ~ April 2005 - 1995 Aprilia RS125 Extrema

Mar 2006 ~ Jan 2007 - 1993 Cagiva Mito Mk2

Mar 2005 ~ May 2008 - 1994 Cagiva Mito EVO

JuL 2007 ~ JuL 2008- 1993 Honda Civic EG8

Dec 2006 ~ JuL 2010- 1997 Aprilia RS250

JuL 2008 ~ ? - 2004 Subaru Impreza WRX

JuL 2010 ~ ? - 2005 Yamaha R6

• Replies 15.4k

Pls take note.. Just did mine today at FM

Steering cone - $90

Valve service - $10

Original clutch cable - $80

Got two more cant see properly.. Her handwriting very blur. One is $35 and the other $15.. Dunno which one is worksmanship and throttle cable.

cagiva's stock parts are dat ex! i used mine from rs250. not a perfect fit but it works at a fraction of the price.

and damned my erp reader! spoilt yest! :mad: heard it cant be repaired & need to buy one? how much the 2nd hand ones going at? :faint:

]

Originally posted by jonathan543@Apr 7 2006, 10:17 AM

cagiva's stock parts are dat ex! i used mine from rs250. not a perfect fit but it works at a fraction of the price.

and damned my erp reader! spoilt yest! :mad: heard it cant be repaired & need to buy one? how much the 2nd hand ones going at? :faint:

jonathan, ERP spoil can just go down to LTA and change new one. It's free. Don't need to buy one. Change twice before. :smile:

http://img227.imageshack.us/img227/9692/img9124zb3.jpghttp://img259.imageshack.us/img259/8310/alanhv3.png

Aprilia Riders Club Singapore (ARC)

a place where all aprilians gathers and have fun together!

oh yes... forgot to mention smt....

so far i dun have any engine starting up problems for abt 10months since getting my bike & changed to a new batt. but suddenly a few days ago my batt all of a sudden seemed not to be storing up charge even though i've been riding wit my pole lights on & headlights off! the starter motor would crank abit & stop, all instrumental lights would dim. after i released the starter button, the lights came back to normal.

"cannot be ma... the batt juz barely a yr old then gone case liao?" juz be4 i resigned to the fact dat my batt needs changing, i took out the batt & to my surprise, the water level in some of the compartments are below the low level markings! so i topped up wit batt water to the top level markings, cruised ard & my batt's back to life again! now i can crank up even with my headlight on!

so next time ur batt's dying on you again, take out & check the water level... best if can take out & inspect once every 3months or so, since the water'll evaporated out somehow. a bottle of battery water costs $1+ nia... so buy a bottle & keep at home for emergency use! actually it's lab grade distilled water wit some trace elements. it can be used to top up ur coolant too heheh.

now i was wondering if my erp reader was damaged due to the freshly topped up batt. koz after i fixed everything back, i din check the erp reader. next day when i inserted cashcard into it, the reader wun response. haix. :faint: :faint:

]

Originally posted by alanhim@Apr 7 2006, 09:28 AM

jonathan, ERP spoil can just go down to LTA and change new one. It's free. Don't need to buy one. Change twice before. :smile:

really bro? no kidding? hahah... thanks for ur info bro... which branch?

]

Originally posted by jonathan543@Apr 7 2006, 10:38 AM

really bro? no kidding? hahah... thanks for ur info bro... which branch?

I change it at Sim Ming there just Beside LTA Branch.

http://img227.imageshack.us/img227/9692/img9124zb3.jpghttp://img259.imageshack.us/img259/8310/alanhv3.png

Aprilia Riders Club Singapore (ARC)

a place where all aprilians gathers and have fun together!

Originally posted by alanhim@Apr 7 2006, 09:28 AM

as long as it is within warranty then its free if not u need to pay 100plus for new iu.. better get a 2nd hand as it cost much more cheaper..

1st) sp feb 2001- march 2002

2nd) 125z march2002-jan2004

3rd) tzm dec2002-nov2004

4th) cagiva mito Nov2004-Aug2006

5th) gilera Oct2006-Feb2007

6th) Spark135 April2006-March2008

7th) Suzuki K7 600cc Feb2007-Jan2009

8th) Xr125 (Dec2007-Dec1009), Fazer6 (Dec2006-Feb 2010)

9th) R1 (oct2010-Dec2010), Suzuki K9 600cc (Oct2010-May2011)

Now) Aprilia Dorsoduro (Dec2010) Honda Cbr600 (May2011)

yup... think alan's is still covered within the 5yr warrenty. mine's on the 6th yr liao. damned! but really grateful to alan for his info anyway! :thumb:

how much for a 2nd hand one? need to reg wit lta or wad after changing?

]

hey jonathan.. ur unit doesnt response.. mayb u wanna try changing e fuse.. e fuse is located along e positive wire where u c a black thing(if u dunno i can upload pic)... anywher i think a new set cause $152 or $150.20... :giddy:

I just fix back my IU unit n went for inspection 1hr ago.

Jonathan u can just go for inspection/repairs at any Vicom. They close rather early at 5pm but open at 830am. U can just go there to check out whats wrong n then decide on ur next move. Maybe its just e wirings. I remb seeing e price list for new wires costing around $12.

I saw reg of IU unit cost like $11. But if u get a 2nd hand IU from a shop i believe this cost will b absorbed, unless u get it from personal buyers.

Anyway not everybody's iu unit has a fuse on their wire. For one, mine did not, hence i enquire abt it at e Vicom just now. I believe what e technician told me skeptically. He said that a fuse is not required to b attached to e wiring on e IU as e fuse box in e bike will b able to protect e IU. However, e fuse in our fuse box is rated 15mA yet e fuse for a IU unit is only 5mA as i seen from my friend's bike. So now i m rather confused but i m just plain lazy to go n get a fuse n fuse holder.

Just a question. My case was that i did not fix e IU hence it was not detected n i was asked to go for a inspection. I fix back e IU before e inspection under my pillion seat. The guy said it was because of that. He told me to go n fix it on e handle bar. What if i m once again dedected w/o an IU n i go for e inspection with e IU continuing to b under my pillion seat? Should i just go to another Vicom branch? Will there b a $70 fine against me this time?

Why four strokes when all you need is two?

I bought a Yuasa Dry cell at Sin Boon at Yishun Indust Park just now for $60. No workmanship cos i installed it myself downstairs of my house. Have i been served some big karate moves?

Jonathan u using wet cell? Wet cell will b able to last longer? You mean top up e dry cell? But for a dry cell e cover to e sulphuric acid cant be open after u closed it. I seem to have no fate with batt. For my sp, i changed 2 batt in 5 mths. For my Mito, e previous owner just changed it in Jan, although it was some chiong brand i think. Maybe its e rider but i swear i try to save electricity as much as possible by not switching on e pole, when turning into car park i switch it off, when starting bike b4 moving off its switched off.

Seems like i said alot today. Sorry!

Anyway count me in for regular meet ups.

Originally posted by .::CoRoNa::.@Apr 7 2006, 12:36 AM

Pls take note.. Just did mine today at FM

Steering cone - $90

Valve service - $10

Original clutch cable - $80

Got two more cant see properly.. Her handwriting very blur. One is $35 and the other $15.. Dunno which one is worksmanship and throttle cable.

Gigolo Richard y u like so rich one. Can change this change that n some more still able to spray ur bike.

Do u have a side job? Hahas intro me n Ray leh.

Anyone in for a Shoei X-11?

Hope to get one asap.

Originally posted by gekokujyou@Apr 7 2006, 04:31 PM

I just fix back my IU unit n went for inspection 1hr ago.

Jonathan u can just go for inspection/repairs at any Vicom. They close rather early at 5pm but open at 830am. U can just go there to check out whats wrong n then decide on ur next move. Maybe its just e wirings. I remb seeing e price list for new wires costing around $12.

I saw reg of IU unit cost like $11. But if u get a 2nd hand IU from a shop i believe this cost will b absorbed, unless u get it from personal buyers.

Anyway not everybody's iu unit has a fuse on their wire. For one, mine did not, hence i enquire abt it at e Vicom just now. I believe what e technician told me skeptically. He said that a fuse is not required to b attached to e wiring on e IU as e fuse box in e bike will b able to protect e IU. However, e fuse in our fuse box is rated 15mA yet e fuse for a IU unit is only 5mA as i seen from my friend's bike. So now i m rather confused but i m just plain lazy to go n get a fuse n fuse holder.

Just a question. My case was that i did not fix e IU hence it was not detected n i was asked to go for a inspection. I fix back e IU before e inspection under my pillion seat. The guy said it was because of that. He told me to go n fix it on e handle bar. What if i m once again dedected w/o an IU n i go for e inspection with e IU continuing to b under my pillion seat? Should i just go to another Vicom branch? Will there b a $70 fine against me this time?

yup... checked liao. the fuse was okie. after i d/c the wiring & connect back after a whiloe, the iu lits up & showed the charactors "0n" then the screen went blank. even inserting the card oso no response. even when the card was inserted and i connected back the wiring, oso the same feedback. i even tried used a wire as a substitute for the fuse... still same.:faint: :faint:

]

Originally posted by gekokujyou@Apr 7 2006, 04:39 PM

I bought a Yuasa Dry cell at Sin Boon at Yishun Indust Park just now for $60. No workmanship cos i installed it myself downstairs of my house. Have i been served some big karate moves?

Jonathan u using wet cell? Wet cell will b able to last longer? You mean top up e dry cell? But for a dry cell e cover to e sulphuric acid cant be open after u closed it. I seem to have no fate with batt. For my sp, i changed 2 batt in 5 mths. For my Mito, e previous owner just changed it in Jan, although it was some chiong brand i think. Maybe its e rider but i swear i try to save electricity as much as possible by not switching on e pole, when turning into car park i switch it off, when starting bike b4 moving off its switched off.

Seems like i said alot today. Sorry!

Anyway count me in for regular meet ups.

i'm using a yuasa wet cell, where there are screw caps on top one. i'm not sure if a wet cell last longer but it oni takes a few mins job to inspect & top up water every few months nia... think i got mine for $40 nia haha. maybe smt elses is draining away the power without u noeing? or a short somewhere?

]

Overcharging can cause the acid water in the wet cell batt to go down.. Some more you rev so high one of course go down faster.

Not as rich as you gigolo charlie. . . I'm using my savings to do my bike. Of course can do many things ma.. Always prepare for the worst. Right alan?

can someone pls update me on how gay-balls suddenly got another pet name called "giggolo charlie"?

also, meetup i cant go le cuz will be overseas.. any other gatherings not during 22-30april then let me know.. heh..

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v485/solley/1c026f0e.jpg

- vivi

jonathan- jurong west

richard- jurong west

jazzyme - yishun

duriandan - yishun

geko - yishun

wan23-tampines

StingRhea - Bedok Reservoir

jonathan- jurong west

richard- jurong west

jazzyme - yishun

duriandan - yishun

geko - yishun

wan23-tampines

StingRhea - Bedok Reservoir

Sols - Havelock

From then to now...

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v485/solley/bikes.jpg

Originally posted by .::CoRoNa::.@Apr 7 2006, 06:46 PM

Overcharging can cause the acid water in the wet cell batt to go down.. Some more you rev so high one of course go down faster.

Not as rich as you gigolo charlie. . . I'm using my savings to do my bike. Of course can do many things ma.. Always prepare for the worst. Right alan?

eh i changed my riding style liao eh... now rode at low rev without the valve opening. gained from 15km/l to 17km/l! still not too gd but at least can hit 200km be4 refueling haha.

how to overcharge the batt at high rev when there's a rectifier to limit the charge from the generator?:faint:

hmm... so far, 2west, 3north, 3east & 1 central. u guys wan to meetup at scissors cut curryrice next sunday for makan & mini meetup?maybe we can drop by minerva or some marine petshops in dat area? :lovestruck:

]

Originally posted by jonathan543@Apr 8 2006, 09:17 AM

eh i changed my riding style liao eh... now rode at low rev without the valve opening. gained from 15km/l to 17km/l! still not too gd but at least can hit 200km be4 refueling haha.

how to overcharge the batt at high rev when there's a rectifier to limit the charge from the generator?:faint:

hmm... so far, 2west, 3north, 3east & 1 central. u guys wan to meetup at scissors cut curryrice next sunday for makan & mini meetup?maybe we can drop by minerva or some marine petshops in dat area? :lovestruck:

Sat?

Sunday i m working noon man. Chong Pang in Yishun has Scissors Cut Curry Rice too. Good now i can compare.

Anyway it seems that a wet cell last longer, at least for ur case.

Guess i shall b switching to wet cells in e future for a try.

How's e price difference?