SBF SkipperNet Cafe 2008

Originally posted by seanlim12@Dec 27 2004, 10:01 PM

anyone knows about which bike shop to go for repairing the alignment problem?

my rear tyre is tilting very badly... sigh... hv worries that it might gave way...

where you stay at the first place? There's lots of shop know how to repair skipper :smile:

Kenny Seaw

9623 8875

There is no use in friendship with an ungrateful person.

Anger comes as a result of intolerance.

One who can maintain peace of mind is happy.

Happy is he who killed his own anger.

• Replies 5.6k

Originally posted by kennyseaw@Dec 27 2004, 11:23 PM

where you stay at the first place? There's lots of shop know how to repair skipper :smile:

staying @ yishun.. anyone had the same problem as me before??

Sean Lim

Hi guys!

just got a skipper myself, and there's just too many pages for me too read. read until :giddy: liao.

so pls forgive me if i reapeat some questions! heh :sweat:

anyway, i was with ultimax and we saw this white skipper at mustafa centre. damn chio!!!

my skipper's plastics are cracked, anywhere to get whole new set and how much?

i need a new seat too! hinge is broken, the lock is missing!

its fun to ride the skipper but i wanna spruce it up abit... can anyone help guys?

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/uploads/photo-8631.jpg

Hi skipper riders,

I am looking at a skipper for zipping around.I will be travelling from woodlands to orchard everyday.Is it advisable to get a skipper for this kind of long distance travel?What is the mileage/litre like(i believe it has been asked upteen times b4).

what is the full tank capacity?What brand of 2T to use?Fully Synthetic?Please share your knowledge.Thank You

Originally posted by GIOVANNI@Dec 29 2004, 09:31 AM

Hi skipper riders,

I am looking at a skipper for zipping around.I will be travelling from woodlands to orchard everyday.Is it advisable to get a skipper for this kind of long distance travel?What is the mileage/litre like(i believe it has been asked upteen times b4).

what is the full tank capacity?What brand of 2T to use?Fully Synthetic?Please share your knowledge.Thank You

1. It's currently one of the cheapest bikes that you can buy 2nd hand. So I guess yeah, it's "cheap" in that sense. In the long run, it really depends on your luck. See if you're heng-suay :)

2. Mileage varies. from 18km/litre to 22+km/litre. It's not really that fuel economical.

3. I can't remember the tank capacity, but it's under 10L. Maybe abt 8 or 7?

4. I used semi-synth 2T and never had any problems.

Originally posted by seanlim12@Dec 28 2004, 07:13 PM

staying @ yishun.. anyone had the same problem as me before??

Yishan ind. got repair :smile:

Kenny Seaw

9623 8875

Originally posted by kilkenny@Dec 29 2004, 01:54 AM

Hi guys!

just got a skipper myself, and there's just too many pages for me too read. read until :giddy: liao.

so pls forgive me if i reapeat some questions! heh :sweat:

anyway, i was with ultimax and we saw this white skipper at mustafa centre. damn chio!!!

my skipper's plastics are cracked, anywhere to get whole new set and how much?

i need a new seat too! hinge is broken, the lock is missing!

its fun to ride the skipper but i wanna spruce it up abit... can anyone help guys?

Buting new panel may cost you more $$$. Why not try to buy those old one and respray it?

Kenny Seaw

9623 8875

Originally posted by cento@Dec 20 2004, 12:30 AM

I am having problem starting up my skipper.

I use electric start but it does not start up.....duno why....den i sometimes kick start and it works....but need many kicks to start..........

But some days when i use electric start it doesnt work den i use kick start also dun work.....den kick until sian liao.....and try back electric start again....and it start.........

I thought its the starter and changed.......but the problem still persist..........

Can anyone kindly advise me? Thanks alot!

ps. i only ride it on weekends.....is that the reason why it cannot electric startup easily?

firstly change your wet cell to the dry cell type, and normally like skipper bike use 7, 9 or 12 plates for the type of battery, use the 9 plate type which is more reliable.

[\'http://img20.imageshack.us/my.php?image=p22418538sc.jpg\']http://img20.imageshack.us/img20/8999/p22418538sc.th.jpg

A boy selling toy at a primary school compound in Cambodia

Be slower on the earth than quicker to eternity

Originally posted by AhZong@Dec 27 2004, 03:13 AM

i wan to learn more on maintaining the skipper. is there any place i can noe more or is there a small informal meeting going on which i can drop by . juz bought a skipper wondering wat to do the next step. :)

when prob comes one by one, den u will slowly learn how to diy everyting le.. :lol:

just wondering wat's the procedure for going to scrapyard?

do u go in with your tools and dismantle whatever u want, then walk out of the scrapyard?

Originally posted by bslong76@Dec 30 2004, 04:51 PM

just wondering wat's the procedure for going to scrapyard?

do u go in with your tools and dismantle whatever u want, then walk out of the scrapyard?

better not do it inside.. in case the scrap uncle v fussy den say u n not suppose to do that.. dismantle elsewhere till hapi liao, den send the remaining over in 1 pc. ..

xue, thanks for the reply.

but think u misunderstood me liao......:cheeky:

i mean how to go scrapyard to look for 2nd parts?

go in, see wat u like, dismantle urself, then walk outta of scrapyard?

or i need to bring the scraped bike outside to dismatle the parts i wan, then push back to scrapyard after the operation......:confused:

guys,

wat is the full capacity of the 2t tank?

my 2t seems to run out by 60plus km! is this normal? do i need a new 2t pump or servicing?

how often do u replenish 2t?

my fuel gauge and 2t gauge are screwed btw..... heh

yes, i opened up the tank to look and inserted a stick to guage the depth too.

there's a lot of smoke and its hard to start now, symptoms i got when my bike died and i puxhed it to the shop. guy insisted nothing wrong with pump.

but it feels like its happening again....

any good shops to recommend in the east?

anyone scrapping thier skipper pls pm? might want ur stuff. (bslong76?)

sorry.......me looking also looking for some spares parts also........that's why was asking the procedure to enter a scarpyard...........planning to go scarpyard one of these days to look around.

er.... er.... anybody got spare skipper parts to sell or gib mi ? i thinki nid alot.. my skipper damn lok haha

Success is not something you pursue. Its like chasing a butterfly, you cant quite catch it. Success is something you attract by the person you become.

Jim Rohn

Originally posted by ROL13@Jan 3 2005, 11:21 PM

Symptons sound like fuel overflow, a common sympton. I tink u can either try kick starting, or electrical start it withouh pulling the throttle. Don worry, u would get used to it. As for smoke, if too much smoke at all times, means too much 2t going into the fuel. Else for initial starting, think too much smoke is quite common. :smile:

ok spark plug is black black and oily! the 2t like disappearing leh..

white smoke was not just when i've started but sometimes at the traffic light while waiting i just check for my smoke emissions.....

so i shd start without throttle? i always throttle when i start...hmmm

adjust ur 2T pump or ur throttle cable to control the 2T intake to the carb. Anywae, more 2T better than less.. more 2T mayb u will tend to foul ur spark plugs.. if not enuff 2T piston jam hw ? more ex to repair.. unless when u're goin to inspection den u lower 2T consumption lor..

Success is not something you pursue. Its like chasing a butterfly, you cant quite catch it. Success is something you attract by the person you become.

Jim Rohn

Originally posted by ROL13@Jan 3 2005, 11:23 PM

Mind telling wat u want? Jus curious!

sure.......me looking for gear for the speedo, the gear is at the front wheel hub, and also looking for the front brake pump. My front brake pump seems to be faulty, gotta press the lever almost halfway for the brakes to come on.

these are the 2 main stuffs me looking for............if got other finds at the scrapyard will be a bonus.

anyone know that the above stuffs can be found at scrapyard? dun wanna waste my trip there.

just went to a mech, seems like i've got too much fuel to my carb and its due for servicing and tuning.

also found out that my swing arm frame ( dunno wats the name) is faulty, i.e. the swing arm can push left and right , think its gonna be expensive :cry:

anyone has this prob b4 too? is cornering that dangerous with this? the guy says my engine might get damaged if i dun fix it. true?

anyway, any good workshops to recomend in the east? anyone here from the east? :smile:

anyone got lobang for parts let me know ok? if i can afford it i might wanna get em.

Originally posted by kilkenny@Jan 4 2005, 06:04 PM

just went to a mech, seems like i've got too much fuel to my carb and its due for servicing and tuning.

also found out that my swing arm frame ( dunno wats the name) is faulty, i.e. the swing arm can push left and right , think its gonna be expensive :cry:

anyone has this prob b4 too? is cornering that dangerous with this? the guy says my engine might get damaged if i dun fix it. true?

anyway, any good workshops to recomend in the east? anyone here from the east? :smile:

anyone got lobang for parts let me know ok? if i can afford it i might wanna get em.

Maybe you can try Wonderful Motor over at Rowell Rd. Heard the mech is not bad. Can give it a try.