Hi all scooterist!

Just got myself an 08 ST200 Runner for around town transportation. Great scoot, easy to ride and quite fast too:D

It may not look as sporty as the older model with the stock high wind shield and two side front cover which looks abit bulky imo... Does ST stands for Sport Tour or something?

The first 1000km service is coming soon and so fellow ST200 owner if you have any tips and/or suggestions, please don't feel shy to chip in!

Thanks and have a great scoot day:)

RED ST200

• Replies 3.1k

HI der, like u, i recently got myself a red ST. According to d bike shop, e was saying its beta to do d servicing when it hit about 800km instead. Wondering wat d costr involved for d servicing? Anybody pls advice.

2011-2012 Yamaha FZ1-N

2012-2013 KTM 990 SMT

2012-2013 Harley Softail Blackline

2013-2014 Kawasaki ZZR 1400

2013-2015 Yamaha Tmax530

2014-2015 Ducati Panigale 1199S

2016- Can Am Spyder RSS

2016- BMW S1000R

i just got myself a black ST recently. OTR = $8205, includes M/P + Insurance + IU. but they're still bidding for the COE in the next round. may need to topup another $400 if the COE increases to $1500 this coming round cos they say they can subsidise COE only up to $1110. (pretty ambiguous on this one tho)

I bought mine for $8300 OTR includes everything, dat was about 2 wk ago. But prices are more or less the same everywhere, its juz a matter where these guys are upfront with the cost invloved, bcoz some will sell you veri cheap but forgotten to tell u hidden cost :giddy:

2011-2012 Yamaha FZ1-N

2012-2013 KTM 990 SMT

2013-2015 Yamaha Tmax530

2016- Can Am Spyder RSS

2016- BMW S1000R

wow the price is like north and south compared to the 07 series. This is really about passion when you pay at that premium for an italian bike.

I bought mine for $8300 OTR includes everything, dat was about 2 wk ago. But prices are more or less the same everywhere, its juz a matter where these guys are upfront with the cost invloved, bcoz some will sell you veri cheap but forgotten to tell u hidden cost :giddy:

8300 OTR? So that was machine price, IU, Insurance. Any accessories or freebies?

Who are the dealers i can go to? I heard of AS Phoon, and Piaggio directly. Any diff between them?

Hi all scooterist!

Just got myself an 08 ST200 Runner for around town transportation. Great scoot, easy to ride and quite fast too:D

It may not look as sporty as the older model with the stock high wind shield and two side front cover which looks abit bulky imo... Does ST stands for Sport Tour or something?

The first 1000km service is coming soon and so fellow ST200 owner if you have any tips and/or suggestions, please don't feel shy to chip in!

Thanks and have a great scoot day:)

RED ST200

IMO it looks better than the 06/07.

http://i116.photobucket.com/albums/o22/fba8485c/PGMIV250.jpg
IMO it looks better than the 06/07.

i had a good look at one the other day at ASP. realised that it's still the 06-07 model, except for the two bolted-on "shoulder pads", new taller windscreen, mirrors and colour scheme.

one thing i like is the black headlight housing that gives it a fierce look, something like the Nexus or Fuoco.

Also gone are the tacky stickers which i think make the older bikes look like they're made in Malaysia. (i had mine all peeled off :D)

But the shoulder pads just look awfully cheap. Only useful if you can hide the IU inside, but i doubt it.

I guess d diff is onli on d headlights, d 2 shoulder pads, larger screen amd also d rear fender, its slightly larger minus d reflector, oso above d tailights is kinda of a rack for easy installation of a box, but i hated d screen, especially the extention on d sides, makes it damn hard to clean.:bouncefire:

2011-2012 Yamaha FZ1-N

2012-2013 KTM 990 SMT

2013-2015 Yamaha Tmax530

2016- Can Am Spyder RSS

2016- BMW S1000R

8300 OTR? So that was machine price, IU, Insurance. Any accessories or freebies?

Who are the dealers i can go to? I heard of AS Phoon, and Piaggio directly. Any diff between them?

Yeap, includes u mentioned above, freebies r box, helmet and a cover.

According to Piaggio, ASP has d most stock. Bought mine from Heng Motor (Toh Guan), look for Eddie if u decide to go there, he's reali helpful.:thumb:

Frankly IMO, I find most selling d ST r more or less about d same lah, moreover they all get their stock from Piaggio, d diff is more on hidden cost.

2011-2012 Yamaha FZ1-N

2012-2013 KTM 990 SMT

2013-2015 Yamaha Tmax530

2016- Can Am Spyder RSS

2016- BMW S1000R

Yeap, includes u mentioned above, freebies r box, helmet and a cover.

According to Piaggio, ASP has d most stock. Bought mine from Heng Motor (Toh Guan), look for Eddie if u decide to go there, he's reali helpful.:thumb:

Frankly IMO, I find most selling d ST r more or less about d same lah, moreover they all get their stock from Piaggio, d diff is more on hidden cost.

Thanks for the tip :)

I got myself a black ST200 recently also. Now only clock 170km only...but ended up have to pump petrol man...so fast leh.........our VXR brothers all say should be in range of 200-240km before refuel light start coming on....

BTW, how to check the brake fluid? Where is it? cannot find it....

when the bike still new i think the FC will b a bit higher. u oso hav to make sure ur idling is ard 1.8k rpm.

Agreed! do have to check yur idling, mine juzt hit 500km, FC not as bad leh. Do check yue coolent. Mine had engine oil sipping into d coolent and cologging the raditor, nw bike in piaggo :cry:

2011-2012 Yamaha FZ1-N

2012-2013 KTM 990 SMT

2013-2015 Yamaha Tmax530

2016- Can Am Spyder RSS

2016- BMW S1000R

hi guys my max fc is around 180km is this normal ? one thing is that the temperature gauge keep blinking for a few mins then come back to normal . . . is this normal also ?

2005-2006 - SONIC 21 SPEED BICYCLE

2006-2008 JUNE - Kawasaki kr 150

2008-2013 - Gilera st200

NOW-SYM GTS 200

Agreed! do have to check yur idling, mine juzt hit 500km, FC not as bad leh. Do check yue coolent. Mine had engine oil sipping into d coolent and cologging the raditor, nw bike in piaggo :cry:

i....from the manual, idling speed should be at 1550rpm +- 100rpm....Mine is consistently only abt 1200rpm or so only leh....how to tune the idling or better to go to shops to do? Also, do you all also have this problem everytime when starting must throttle wan.....its like the runner is much more difficult to start as compared to the driving school bikes where just pressing the start button can start liao...the runner needs a bit of throttling and skill to start leh...normal?

Well this is not something new. I found my sparkplug not tightened on Day 1 when I got my bike. Quality Test is bad. To think that Piaggio bike is about riding as a passion. Sigh I guess Japanese still owns.

hi guys my max fc is around 180km is this normal ? one thing is that the temperature gauge keep blinking for a few mins then come back to normal . . . is this normal also ?

Blinking means something is wrong, did u open d coolent cap n chk? my fc during running in is abt 200km wif abt 2-3 more bars to go.

2011-2012 Yamaha FZ1-N

2012-2013 KTM 990 SMT

2013-2015 Yamaha Tmax530

2016- Can Am Spyder RSS

2016- BMW S1000R

i....from the manual, idling speed should be at 1550rpm +- 100rpm....Mine is consistently only abt 1200rpm or so only leh....how to tune the idling or better to go to shops to do? Also, do you all also have this problem everytime when starting must throttle wan.....its like the runner is much more difficult to start as compared to the driving school bikes where just pressing the start button can start liao...the runner needs a bit of throttling and skill to start leh...normal?

yeap! gotta throttle abit, i usually throttle n start, immediately after engine start, hold d throttle lightly till the rpm stabilize den i release the throttle. it kinda of maitain d idle after dat. Usually, waited till at least 2-3 bars b4 moving off.

2011-2012 Yamaha FZ1-N

2012-2013 KTM 990 SMT

2013-2015 Yamaha Tmax530

2016- Can Am Spyder RSS

2016- BMW S1000R

Well this is not something new. I found my sparkplug not tightened on Day 1 when I got my bike. Quality Test is bad. To think that Piaggio bike is about riding as a passion. Sigh I guess Japanese still owns.

Wah pianz! didn d bike shop do a pre-delivery check b4 handing u d bike? frm wat i knw, d bikes r delivered to bike shop w/o being run, meaning even d battery electrolyte is not even poured into d batt yet, so piaggo oso wun knw if d bike is working ornot. only when d bike is 2 b delivered to owner, d bike shop will actuali fixed everything n run it to check whether working ornot. Actuali, d ppl at piaggo Italy do have QC problems, most Italian products r like dat! :gun:

2011-2012 Yamaha FZ1-N

2012-2013 KTM 990 SMT

2013-2015 Yamaha Tmax530

2016- Can Am Spyder RSS

2016- BMW S1000R

Thanks for sharing. Bought mine from ASPhoon at 8300 otr with free helmet, bike cover, raincoat and box but without the race shield sticker protection (guess they have no stock or promotion over). My box is size 26 litres but I think some of you got the 35 litres box.

Fuel consumption is around 185km/full tank which I felt alittle disappointed at first when looking throught the older runner discussion. Hoping the mileage will get better after the first service.

Like you guys, the cold start needs to hold on the throttle to maintain idling for about 1 minute for it to stable. Seems all the ST200 has the same charater... My IU is tuck inside the front cover just above the headlights which is a great idea IMO... no more urgly huge grey box!

Not sure whether this is normal for scooter... when during close throttle to slow down, most of the time the handle bar will wobble slightly on the straight. Have tried different front tyre pressure, didn't solve the slight headshake.

Try not to go beyond recommended tyre pressure... had some scary wobble moments during corner.

You are refering to the low fuel light? Mine random blinking around two bars on the fuel gange. It fully lights up when its on one bar. Think the fuel level sensor kind of loose in the fuel tank???

Thanks for sharing. Bought mine from ASPhoon at 8300 otr with free helmet, bike cover, raincoat and box but without the race shield sticker protection (guess they have no stock or promotion over). My box is size 26 litres but I think some of you got the 35 litres box.

Fuel consumption is around 185km/full tank which I felt alittle disappointed at first when looking throught the older runner discussion. Hoping the mileage will get better after the first service.

185KM? Whats the capacity of the tank?