• Replies 45

Thank you for all e kind comments and upz by everyone ^^

To Maomaoz

Dun worry no offence taken :p I know DIY will lose to bike shop jobs in all aspects, but as Yatz86 implies, e satisfaction more than covers up 4 e flaws, ahaha. Neway another precaution abt removing the wheels urself- if u assemble back and din align the wheels properly can b quite dangerous.

To Eedwinn

I tink I spent almost 200 on the paint and maskin tape n stuff altogether (I kiasu mah, haha). Sorry that I cant giv a more accurate figure coz a lot of times I nt enuff den I go buy, den nt enuff again n hav to go buy again XS I used significantly less spray cans for the second damage control job though. FYI – the $200 mentioned does nt include the bike parts I changed like fairing, brake/clutch levers, etc.

Oh, and another note- I went through a few hardware shops that sell spray cans and eventually found the cheapest 1 at $3.50 or $4 each for a Pylox Can. Red Fox or other brands cost $3 I tink. The address is.. I forgot le, lol. Can find out if needed :p But it’s along the Ubi Ave 2 hardware stretch, the shop is in one of the blocks from 3024 to 3027. When you are ridin along the road it’s easily identifiable by a large JOTUN sign displayed at the shop.

B4 I went to look ard, I used to buy cans at $4.50 or even $5.50. When you’re goin to buy 20 cans at one go, 50c saved on each can goes a really long way!

To Kirkjay

Due to some dumb confidence in the capacity of my reserve fuel, I’m forced to use the stupid oil can again in an emergency and kena some petrol on the paintwork in the process :( HOWEVER, I tink my waxing saved me this time, coz no visible damage.. yet, haha. Gonna pile on the wax liao :p

The downtime of the whole project was actually.. months, lol. First spray job I did for abt 3 wks if I rem correctly. That was when I wanted to piah for completion by Xmas. The sandin of the whole bike took dunno how long liao. I finished the first job at the end of 2007, den c the yellowish tinge c till very buay song, so put down my heart and started on the finishing phase of the project on 26/04. Coz gt other time commitments, I can only do it on and off from time to time till 14/06. Den the exams came, and I hav to stop everytin until July, afterwhich I did on and off again until 31/08.

I should get my road tax and insurance back coz technically I din get to use the road at all during this stage! But wisely, I dcided to let the matter rest, ahaha. Season parking was killin me softly too..

Oh ya, I edited the sticker prices in my post too, coz I realised its incorrect, haha paiseh :p

Thank you for all e kind comments and upz by everyone ^^

To Maomaoz

Dun worry no offence taken :p I know DIY will lose to bike shop jobs in all aspects, but as Yatz86 implies, e satisfaction more than covers up 4 e flaws, ahaha. Neway another precaution abt removing the wheels urself- if u assemble back and din align the wheels properly can b quite dangerous.

To Eedwinn

I tink I spent almost 200 on the paint and maskin tape n stuff altogether (I kiasu mah, haha). Sorry that I cant giv a more accurate figure coz a lot of times I nt enuff den I go buy, den nt enuff again n hav to go buy again XS I used significantly less spray cans for the second damage control job though. FYI – the $200 mentioned does nt include the bike parts I changed like fairing, brake/clutch levers, etc.

Oh, and another note- I went through a few hardware shops that sell spray cans and eventually found the cheapest 1 at $3.50 or $4 each for a Pylox Can. Red Fox or other brands cost $3 I tink. The address is.. I forgot le, lol. Can find out if needed :p But it’s along the Ubi Ave 2 hardware stretch, the shop is in one of the blocks from 3024 to 3027. When you are ridin along the road it’s easily identifiable by a large JOTUN sign displayed at the shop.

B4 I went to look ard, I used to buy cans at $4.50 or even $5.50. When you’re goin to buy 20 cans at one go, 50c saved on each can goes a really long way!

To Kirkjay

Due to some dumb confidence in the capacity of my reserve fuel, I’m forced to use the stupid oil can again in an emergency and kena some petrol on the paintwork in the process :( HOWEVER, I tink my waxing saved me this time, coz no visible damage.. yet, haha. Gonna pile on the wax liao :p

The downtime of the whole project was actually.. months, lol. First spray job I did for abt 3 wks if I rem correctly. That was when I wanted to piah for completion by Xmas. The sandin of the whole bike took dunno how long liao. I finished the first job at the end of 2007, den c the yellowish tinge c till very buay song, so put down my heart and started on the finishing phase of the project on 26/04. Coz gt other time commitments, I can only do it on and off from time to time till 14/06. Den the exams came, and I hav to stop everytin until July, afterwhich I did on and off again until 31/08.

I should get my road tax and insurance back coz technically I din get to use the road at all during this stage! But wisely, I dcided to let the matter rest, ahaha. Season parking was killin me softly too..

Oh ya, I edited the sticker prices in my post too, coz I realised its incorrect, haha paiseh :p

nope u r wrong .. we dun realli lose to bikeshop .. coz we gain knowledge n save abit on our pockets .. btw .. ur design is all sprayed on rite ?? i haf some betta ideas .. but nid to spend abit more ..coz ill be DIY-ing soon if i got the time .. tis is wat i gonna do ..

1. sand of the the color on the fairing lyk wat u did

2. wash n clean it

3. sand gently again, so tat the surface is abit rough(paint can stay on abit betta .. read frm some webby de)

4. spray the fairing .. wat i tink abt primer is tat .. its not realli impt as advice frm hardward shops ..

5. apply ard 5-10 coat(acutually no nid so many coat 1 .. too thick is not tat gd oso ---> last time my DnT teacher say de)

6. bring my design go to shops to print it as sticker, stick it to my fairing, apply again 5-10 coats of laquer ..

tats all los .. if my time allow mi to DIY, ill post the pic here ..:angel:

hey bro, i think i saw your sp on the aye shoulder ley, what happened? just after the bukit merah exit. i passed by twice, 5+ and at 10+ still there ley.

世界å¯ä»¥ä¹±ï¼Œä½†å¤´å‘ä¸èƒ½ä¹±ã€‚

The world can be in chaos, but your hair cannot.

nope u r wrong .. we dun realli lose to bikeshop .. coz we gain knowledge n save abit on our pockets .. btw .. ur design is all sprayed on rite ?? i haf some betta ideas .. but nid to spend abit more ..coz ill be DIY-ing soon if i got the time .. tis is wat i gonna do ..

1. sand of the the color on the fairing lyk wat u did

2. wash n clean it

3. sand gently again, so tat the surface is abit rough(paint can stay on abit betta .. read frm some webby de)

4. spray the fairing .. wat i tink abt primer is tat .. its not realli impt as advice frm hardward shops ..

5. apply ard 5-10 coat(acutually no nid so many coat 1 .. too thick is not tat gd oso ---> last time my DnT teacher say de)

6. bring my design go to shops to print it as sticker, stick it to my fairing, apply again 5-10 coats of laquer ..

tats all los .. if my time allow mi to DIY, ill post the pic here ..:angel:

I totally disagree on point 4....

dont believe...try it...

ANGELZ INC for info click on arrow^

http://extreme-art.nl/images/SKULL-ON-FIRE2.gif

er bro. may i know wat good paint to use to spray fairing ah?

riding sp here.

wanna spray white.

any good paint & lacquer to recommand?

http://i211.photobucket.com/albums/bb62/ya0s89/26092010103-1.jpg

Yao's Pinky ;)

Riding NSR, Need Some Respect

upzz!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! totally didnt expect to see such a good DIY job.. :) caught me totally off.. :)

nsr 150 sp(FT1969Y)-feb'07 to may'08, CBR 400(FQ5720L)-may'08 to july'09, TA150(FT2661I)-mar'09 to jun'09, Wave110(FT7718R)- Jun'09 - Jan'10, TA200(FX2012E)- Jan'10-May'11, VTR SP1(FS4028Z) - Sept'09 - Jan'12, ZG1400 (FBE5831K)- Jan'12 to Oct'14, Suzuki Hayabusa - Oct'14 to ???

情深的一å¥... NC29 FIREBLADE...

YOU R ROCK MAN , lol hard core !

TP 2b-13 Aug2008 1IF 22Point , F

TP 2b-20 Aug2008 16 Point , P

Military Licence 3&4 27 Aug 2009

TP 3- 7 Sep2009 10 point , P

TP 2A- 20 Oct2009 14point, p

TP 2-09 Dec2010 16 point, p

Honda SP 22 aug 2008 to 18 sep 2009 FQ2088Z<3

Honda RVF 24 oct 2009 to 16 jan 2011 FP4404L

RESPECT Bro~~

Great Job.

This Is One Person Who Really Loves His Bike.

Wish I Got That Lot Of Time..Haha~

CHEERS

:angel: \M/Live To Rock,Ride To Keep Living\M/:angel:

insane effort mate. really inspiring! good stuff.

just wondering, in retrospect, would you do it again? $200 is about the cost of a shop job ain't it? think i read somewhere in the forums that you could get a spray (single colour) for that amount, with rims being an additional $100 for the 2.

can you also furnish more details about how you did sanding? what grit did you start/end with?

oh, and are dust/dirt specks obvious? sry i'm a noob to bikes so bear with me please. once, i geh kian (smart alec) took off my car's kit to spray the skirt. i fooked it up so badly that it cost me more money getting it fixed at the bodyshop than if i had just gave it to him in the first place. there were inconsistencies everywhere and some very very obvious bumps - which my guy attributed to drying in the open, instead of having it sprayed and dryed in a spray chamber. oh, and he gave me a real earful about missing one post-spray step .. i don't recall the details, but it involved baking .. or something .. to set a protective cover.

now that i've started 2b - thinking of getting a old sp (lay up) and making it my weekend project, with it concluding the day i get my licence. wait, before i get condemned, i am a rational adult, and i drive - so please don't worry about me succumbing to the sweetness of temptation and riding beforehand.

although same price as some shops.. but its really satisfying! I also did my own KR painting.. Although just some touch up on the fairings but when people see the difference and comment on it u actually feel happy =)

Low Life Helmet Stealers shld just DIE

05-06 - FU*7*7A NSR SP (Proj Bee)

06-07 - FY*3*3L Wave S (Proj Bass)

07-07 - FN3**3M RVF 400 (Proj Black)

08-08 - FU**9*U KAWA ZX (Squeaky)

08-09 FBB***9D Pulsar DTS-i (Black)

10- FBC**98S SYM GTS

v familiar bike at a v familiar place which is where i park my bike everyday o_O

Dam Dam Dam! Parked at my own hse carpark downstairs also kena stolen! The world is a cruel place when ure not even safe at home. This is one of the things that we hear about happening to a fren of a fren but never tot it would happen to us right? I wanted to put a thread in some stolen bike section but dunno where to put, so might as well put here. Oh well, what to do.. if you all happen to see my bike anywhere, kindly give the rider a gd punch b4 reportin to the police k? Thank you.

Pics of my bike can be found in the above thread with nos 33,34 and 35.

I haven come to the forums for months, so I’ll try to catch up in my thread. Thank you for all the compliments and comments by everyone, even if my SP is history, the achievement and experience of completing this project will always stay wif me, haha :p

To coldblizzard

I’m honored that you noticed! Yay, that means my bike is unique enuff that the guy who stole it probably couldn’t use it! Unless he salvage the engine parts and threw the whole skeleton somewhere in Jalan Kayu of coz >.

Ya you saw rite on AYE, that was a dumb mistake.. I forgot to on my reserve and tot my bike broke down, lol~ Was rushin for time in the rain, so left it there and took a taxi to sch. Went back to get it with some frens abt 2am that nite, den kena laughed at by everyone. Heng LTA din tow away or wat, haha.

To yaos89

I see your white sp is stunning! Congrats! Sorry that I’m nt here to ans ur q though XD

To ZzGangsterzZ

Lol! Careful of your bike ya? Blk 651A is not safe! Haha~ btw, are you Weiming’s fren that guy? The one with the striking red SP last time that makes me wanna buy an SP too :p

To heyjezza

I would definitely do this again, but I will definitely do it differently. Coz after finishin this proj I realized I did a lot of unnecessary, even damaging steps like insisting on suntanning my sprayed parts, etc. That’s the benefit of hindsight bah. Neway DIY yourself means you can customize your own bike TOTALLY, nt to mention the satisfaction. Even if you give a design to be sprayed to the bike shop I dunno how closely they’ll follow it, color n all. It also means you can hav last minute changes to your design if U c it’s nt comin out the way you like it, somtin I dun believe bike shop bosses will do for you with a smile on their face. My DIY cannot achieve the quality of bike shops though, but the pros outweigh the cons here :p

The sandin of my bike ah.. siao liao.. I forgot the exact grades I used le. I tried usin the very coarse sandpaper at first, but when you sand it hard down it leaves scratches even through the paint onto the metal beneath. So I started with somtin like P60 grade (middle coarseness) and sand until my hands rot. Den I used P320 (low coarseness) to smoothen it b4 wetsandin it, den P500 to smoothen and wetsand more. But for the cursed stickers under the old lacquer which refuse to peel away from the bike, I have to chip it off little by little wif a penknife first. I also tried usin lighter fluid to remove it, but to no avail.

I bought a new fairing part to spray coz e old one was cracked too badly. After I sanded the whole part until I could no longer feel the lacquery feel, I used the P60 to sand the white part( the part higher than the green along the border ) on its edge to get rid of the height difference between the two colors – c pic 7. Some grey thing which I assume was e primer showed through, but its okay de as long as the whole edge where the 2 colors meet is smoothen.

Dust and specks are inevitable when you are doin it in the open. Hell, even bugs and ants join in the fun sometimes. A flying gnat flew onto my friend’s part halfway through spraying and gt itself stuck in the sticky lacquer which haven dry. We tried to rescue the poor creature usin a pair of tweezers but ended up dissecting it in half instead. Sometimes, tiny luckless insects like these get themselves plastered onto the fairing and rather than risk ruining the sprayed black part that is almost done, we continued with the lacquerin, preserving the unfortunate arthropod for future generations to see. Spray chambers are ideal, but where can find one to fit my bike in? Haha~ If gt den gd man.. these chambers are built for spraying after all XD White is probably the worst color you can spray in the open since every small speck of unknown origin shows up right where you dun wan it to. If you are spraying black like my fren, you could get away wif a lot more. Still, once I got over my perfectionist tendencies, I find that like a lot of things, it’s nt really that destructive in the bigger picture. Granted the quality of the pics are’nt gd, but white is white, you dun see a dalmatian when you c my bike rite? Haha~

I’m no expert in DIY, but I can share what I did if it helps. If anyone have any q, u can email me at [email protected] coz I dun tink I come to the forums often nw

Juz a couple hours after I posted that last post, police called to say they've found my bike! Some 17 yr old kid stole it and parked it at Tampines, where it's spotted by a patrol car. That guy was nabbed when he came down b4 me for my bike..

Yay! My bike's back! So nw when anyone c my bike, dun give that rider a punch k? Would be nice to give that guy a 'hi' instead, haha :p

so u are a student of sp...kk will be watching u in sch:P

http://i403.photobucket.com/albums/pp111/umam1/125zglowing.jpg

i quit riding..

haha just saw it. nice work bro.

can i pay you $200 to do it again? :D

Maestro

April 30, 2009 : Passed Class 2B

May 13, 2009 : Bought NSR150 Honda SP, laid up

June 12, 2009 : Purchase Insurance / Road Tax - FS4*3*R

great effort, done some spraying on my previous sp few times, always spend the weekend at carpark.

superb tired after which.

uppp for ur gorgeous ride of ur very own.

27 DEC 2007 - CLASS 2B

15 JAN 2008 - HONDA NSR 150 SP

07 APR 2009 - CLASS 2A

30 MAY 2009 - HONDA CB400 VERSION S

14 SEP 2009 - CLASS 3

14 OCT 2010 - CLASS 2

02 SEP 2011 - HONDA CBR600RR HRC

13 MAY 2013 - VESPA PX200 1985

22 JAN 2014 - DUCATI STREETFIGHTER S