Hi, I'm riding a RVF400 and recently i notice my bike having some bogging issues.

My bike tends to bogg a lot when i throttle more than 1/2. If I were to throttle slowly e.g. 1/4, then everything will be normal. But if I throttle more suddenly, there will be a sudden power loss for around 1-2 seconds (rpm doesn't move, speed nv increase, whole bike felt weak).

The power only comes back after waiting for a few seconds or when I close thottle and re-throttle.

I think it's quite dangerous as i might need to accelerate to switch lane or overtake.

One more thing is, this sensation can't really be felt at low gear but quite obvious and disturbing at high gear.

Anyone encounter this issue b4? How u all solve huh?

Thanks a lot.

http://i163.photobucket.com/albums/t286/modenaboi/signature.jpg

Practical Test Checklist:

√ Sudden and late braking

√ Faulty signal lights

√ Superb use of horn

√ Assume road belongs to father

√ Never at fault no matter what happens

√ Tailgating confidence

Result: YES! You qualify to become a Singapore car driver!

• Replies 13

Hmmm does this occur often? If yes, could be your CDI. I kena before on my previous GSXR. The mech take 3 hrs to diagnose. Plugs all OK. In the end, plug in a 2nd hand CDI seems to work already. Dat time I paid $500 for my CDI.

So worth to check that out.

Firstly, have you been messing around with your carb jets? If yes, try the folowing.

Try to snap the throttle from closed to 3/4 at high gear. Then, when the bike is trying to accelerate, back off the throttle by 1/4. If it seems to accelerate and regain power, that means your main jet is small.

sometimes is the air filter to dirty already

can i know how to clean air filter on our own? im not v sure whether my air filter need to be clean. surface look clean tho. but my temp wil rise quite fast. i juz changed coolant not long ago

YoUr GrEaTeST GLorY DoEsn'T CoNsIsT iN NeVeR FaLLinG. BuT RiSinG EvErYTiME YoU FaLL.

Firstly, have you been messing around with your carb jets? If yes, try the folowing.

Try to snap the throttle from closed to 3/4 at high gear. Then, when the bike is trying to accelerate, back off the throttle by 1/4. If it seems to accelerate and regain power, that means your main jet is small.

can you explain y by doing so you can determine if the jet is too small?

http://img366.imageshack.us/img366/9907/albumpicvr3.jpg
Hmmm does this occur often? If yes, could be your CDI. I kena before on my previous GSXR. The mech take 3 hrs to diagnose. Plugs all OK. In the end, plug in a 2nd hand CDI seems to work already. Dat time I paid $500 for my CDI.

So worth to check that out.

yes.. it occurs frequently.. almost without fail and i can feel it most at around 5k-6k rpm..

√ Faulty signal lights

√ Superb use of horn

√ Tailgating confidence

nope, did not mess with my jets at all.. using original needle and jets changed about 2 months ago.. nv touched the carb since then..

√ Faulty signal lights

√ Superb use of horn

√ Tailgating confidence

sometimes is the air filter to dirty already

dun think so, i changed air filter about 2months ago too.. took it out about 2 weeks ago and it still look very clean..

√ Faulty signal lights

√ Superb use of horn

√ Tailgating confidence

can you explain y by doing so you can determine if the jet is too small?

14.7 part of air, 1 part of gas could be the fairly good target for good combustion. too much on either air / gas could lead to incomplete combustion.

Assuming there's insufficient fuel, air is a surplus when throttle is opened to 3/4. By closing it 1/4 will reduce the air intake and the gas will sort of catch up with the ideal air volume, hence better combustion, better power.

So if you hadn't play around with the jettings, chances are your carb needs a wash.

I think it's like that... :cheeky: Enjoy!

really hope is so simple.. haha.. hopefully not something expensive that needs replacement.. read from other forums that it might be fuel tap, vacuum line hose, fuel lines, exhaust pipe, CDI issues.. see liao also sian..

√ Faulty signal lights

√ Superb use of horn

√ Tailgating confidence

Well nothing wrong to get it checked...hope nothing major. Money need to be spend anyway. Only dunno how big or small. Get it fix so would incur higher costs in the future. Coz sometime 1 item faulty, never change, it affect another item and so on.

actually i think this kind of problem quite hard for mechanic to solve also.. if it doesn't happen at low speed or low gear, they can't really 'feel' it when they go for test rides.. tt's another problem..

√ Faulty signal lights

√ Superb use of horn

√ Tailgating confidence