Which is the dream color for your RVF400??  

427 members have voted

1. 1. Which is the dream color for your RVF400??

• Rothmans design.
    • RCV211 style Repsol design.
    • White/blue Moviestar design (older version).
    • Current Blue Moviestar design.
    • Pramac design.
    • Original Is da best.
    • ELF design.
    • Rossi's Yr 2001 NSR500 Nastro Azzuro design.
    • RCV211 Yellow Camel design.
    • Others (specify accordingly).

this is the adapter at the rear brake caliper i was talking about.

as u can see in the pic, it is male on both end of different sizes. the bigger side is for the caliper and the smaller 1 for the hose.

it is not necessary on the stock calipers as hose is a male. the adapter is female to male. and the male goes to the caliper.

the caliper is female. and the hose is also female on the steel hose.

but i had the adapter fabricated custom to me at my friend workshop at jurong.

the next thing i am most likely gonna fabricate is the suspension bracket.

• Replies 63k

• MC28

• wait4me

• DaN zI

• lwfc

Originally posted by Sandman@Mar 1 2005, 12:55 AM

Thanx Vic for the cool insight into the nostril (literally!) of our dear NC35. Honda definitely designed them for a purpose (maybe more?). Try taking them off if you're not convinced. And tell us your side of the story. Haha. :goodluck:

Well, guyz, itching for a ride? How about one up North this Sat evening?

well actually i did that b4.

One nite 9 months ago went to pick up my bike after my mech has tuned it. My mech been a little lazy, told me to go on a few rounds to test my bike without my fairings and the 2 air intakes installed . I didnt protest since this will save me time and him trouble when i didnt like how the bike runs and he has to retune again.

So off i went. Reving thru the gears and savouring the sweet smooth revs and pull of the V4 into the cool nite. I didnt feel the bike was underperforming or felt lack of accelerations whatsoever without its air intakes on.

But i find this result unconclusive as;

1) My rvf was sent in for carb servicing and troubleshooting (thanks to a black shop in Kaki Bukit that purposefully messed up my carbs) for days and i was getting by on my buddy's RXZ for 3 days. On the day i test rode my rvf, it felt so heavenly compared to the rxz that i just cant feel any degrade in performance.

2) It was nitetime. The cool ambient air of the nite probably did'nt have any detrimental effects on the air intake charge without the air intakes on. It probably might have felt worse during a hot afternoon.

SO much for that!..anyone else has experience without the air intakes on in a hot ,sunny and sweltering afternoon? Pls post them here.

SAturday up north? i'm game but it has to be at nite.

You Tailgate, I Jam Brake!

To Eliminate that False sense of achievement , Pick on bikes your own c.c.

http://www.geocities.com/infieldg/images/dirk_b_rc30.jpg

guys go check out the sales section....got a guy nick jeric selling lots of RVF stuff including tail assembly, HEL brake hose etc etc...btw I got the MRA from him already and he gave me some goodies for free.....

hey guys ...

i've just gotten my rvf today, damn its sweet.

anyway is there by any chance anyone of you guys will be going down to k&t tomrrow morning ? i would like to get my headlight switch and some minor things worked out.

oh, and what's the address of k&t ? couln't figure out what k&t stands for ...

thanks alot, i'll see you guys around on the road

Originally posted by Shay@Mar 1 2005, 01:23 AM

But i find this result unconclusive as;

1) My rvf was sent in for carb servicing and troubleshooting (thanks to a black shop in Kaki Bukit that purposefully messed up my carbs) for days and i was getting by on my buddy's RXZ for 3 days. On the day i test rode my rvf, it felt so heavenly compared to the rxz that i just cant feel any degrade in performance.

2) It was nitetime. The cool ambient air of the nite probably did'nt have any detrimental effects on the air intake charge without the air intakes on. It probably might have felt worse during a hot afternoon.

Hi Vic,

On a hot and sunny sat afternoon after a good wash. Like you I was lazy getting the intakes screwed on. Anyways, I only needed to get something from the nearby petrol kiosk. So I went ventless. The bike rode pretty much the same at first. Then as I got further, heat started to build up. The temperature got noticeably higher than the usual half of the gauge & below. But I suppose the bike could manage a short ride. A long one? Why in the first place even bother thinking? Is there any benefit at all going without them to start with? :p

Got home, put the two snorkels back on. And the baby NC's happy as ever again. Hee~ :smile: One thing though, without them on the view was like the cinema sia. The bike felt bigger too. Haaha.

Hi Amba,

Thanx for sharing your experience with your current projects. It's good having lobangs for parts and places where you can fabricate them. We can't wait to see the new goodies you've got on and how they help you ride better. :slurp:

What exactly is the "suspension bracket" you mention?

Hi infik,

Welcome to the NC35 family. You bet she's a sweet bike. Haha. Well, K&T's at Ubi.

Street Map

Hope the map will help. Happy riding~ :thumb:

Sandman

http://www.suzukacircuit.com/race/cocacola8/images/cocacola8.jpg

"...Say your Prayers Little Ones..."

the suspension bracket is added to make the tail higher. its a u shape. i read somewhere there is hrc ones. why buy hrc when it is cheaper to fabricate and know the dimensions.

anyone know how to remove the rear brake disc? is it like sp where the hole hub has to be removed?

and a slight advise for we people

as most of u all know, i had clutch problems after doing too many wheelie in a night.

when the mech took out the clutch housing? 4 out of 9 plates was botak. it was black and smell burnt. as some of u may know, it has dual engaging system where 5 plates get the biting point and the remaining will join up later.

i paid 100 bucks for new plates. the labour was covered by warranty as i reported the problem sometime back

as for wheelies, i gonna put it on hold for a while. rvf original sprocket ratio is 38/15 making it about 2.5 . mine now is 3. the pick up is there.

i wandering if i should bring up the ratio to 3.5 or 4 too get more pick up. then maybe can wheelie without clutch. thats what my friend advised me to do.

i also thought of bringing ratio down to 2.2 or 2.125 to get more top end. however, with that ratio, at 5 or 6 gear, i wander if rpm would go pass 13

when is the next outing..........

Originally posted by Sandman@Mar 2 2005, 12:46 AM

Hi Vic,

On a hot and sunny sat afternoon after a good wash. Like you I was lazy getting the intakes screwed on. Anyways, I only needed to get something from the nearby petrol kiosk. So I went ventless. The bike rode pretty much the same at first. Then as I got further, heat started to build up. The temperature got noticeably higher than the usual half of the gauge & below. But I suppose the bike could manage a short ride. A long one? Why in the first place even bother thinking? Is there any benefit at all going without them to start with? :p

Got home, put the two snorkels back on. And the baby NC's happy as ever again. Hee~ :smile: One thing though, without them on the view was like the cinema sia. The bike felt bigger too. Haaha.

Hi Amba,

Thanx for sharing your experience with your current projects. It's good having lobangs for parts and places where you can fabricate them. We can't wait to see the new goodies you've got on and how they help you ride better. :slurp:

What exactly is the "suspension bracket" you mention?

Hi infik,

Welcome to the NC35 family. You bet she's a sweet bike. Haha. Well, K&T's at Ubi.

Street Map

Hope the map will help. Happy riding~ :thumb:

hmmm....

Good experiment. Now we know the effects of the "snorkels" !!

Little difference in low speed aand cool temp conditions. But as speed and temp builds up and you are going the distance..better have them on as "ram air" funnelling thru the SAi Tao throught the snorkels actually helps cool the air sucking into the airbox below the tank.

One interesting point to note; The Tyga full bodykits do without the air intakes..how did they pull the trick off without heating up thier NCs more than usual?

And i am guessing how come some of the NCs heat up a little more than the rest. It might be due to the snorkels not been fitted properly, loose and not airtight, thus letting some air escape thru the joints rather then completely down on to the tank below.

Just guesswork. Maybe those who complains about thier RVFS heating up easier than the rest can come forth and tell us if your snorkels are fitted too loose as compared to the guys whose bikes ran cooler.

Originally posted by ambasnakeman@Mar 2 2005, 06:34 AM

when is the next outing..........

This sat. 9pm gp esso. you instersted?

One of my friend actually rode his RVF without the air intake for two years without any problems. He took out his air intake and replace it with a CBR bracket. Shay i think u see him before. He is the one who join us at the prata shop that night after the SBF aniversary. The one with the old moviestar paint work and PGM 4 tail board. I actually compared his bike temp. and mine, same travelling distance almost the same temp. And his bikes performance was there too.

FAST BIKE DOESN'T MAKE U A FAST RIDER.

COURTEOUS RIDER MAKES U A GOOD RIDER.

Guest TachiTJRS

Hmm...all this debate going on about the NASA air ducts. Remember the NC30? or even the RC30? Did it have air ducts? No.. so actually operating the bike with out the air ducts should not make the bike heat up quicker or slower.

The NASA ducts only start to operate effectively at speeds above 50-60kmh, where the venturi effect of drawing air into the base of the air box opening comes into play. In essence, the bike will work fine even without the ducts. In fact, the ducts has little effect on a stock airbox but does some how contribute to the midrange torque delivery.

HRC designed the NASA ducts to work with the HRC airbox with the inverted scoop. The NASA duct works by squeezing the incoming air by means of a venturi, thus increasing the velocity of the air by passing in through a narrower port in order to supplement the larger air volume needed by the HRC airbox. Take note that your carb jets also need to be bigger to work perfectly in unison.

A note about the heat buildup. A little flaw (actually it isn't a flaw, just something you have to live with) with having a V4 engine in a compact frame is that the heat buildup gets a little crazy sometimes. You see, the temp gauge on the dash only measures the water temp in that is flowing inthe radiator, and the sensor is tapped from the thermostat outlet where it is hottest. This is to give an indication of the maximum temp of the coolant in the flow. At night, naturally because of air being lower in temperture, the read out on the dash registers low. BUT.....real engine temp is not the same as the coolant temp. In fact, weather it is night or day, the normal operating temp of the engine itself should be roughly the same.

So if you experience drastically varying temp on your gauge, it may be time to look at your coolant health. Change when it gets dirty or even look at the condition of the hoses and thermostat housing (in some cases the thermostat is removed without problems to uprate the cyclic flow of the coolant.) Flush the radiator with running water before you put in new coolant.

Honda knows the V4 engine will run hot, thats why there are two radiators.

hey guys...juz helping my fren who is riding rvf,any1 noes if rvf tail can be change to any other bike tail like cbr or any bike without any major modification?pls help if u noe...txs....

well,that question is from my fren,now frm me....is rvf mantainance (servicing and spare parts) very much much higher than cbr fireblade or only slightly?cause me now looking 4 400 bike,but scare later take rvf cannot cope with the mantainance.....

Originally posted by TachiTJRS@Mar 2 2005, 06:20 PM

Hmm...all this debate going on about the NASA air ducts. Remember the NC30? or even the RC30? Did it have air ducts? No.. so actually operating the bike with out the air ducts should not make the bike heat up quicker or slower.

The NASA ducts only start to operate effectively at speeds above 50-60kmh, where the venturi effect of drawing air into the base of the air box opening comes into play. In essence, the bike will work fine even without the ducts. In fact, the ducts has little effect on a stock airbox but does some how contribute to the midrange torque delivery.

HRC designed the NASA ducts to work with the HRC airbox with the inverted scoop. The NASA duct works by squeezing the incoming air by means of a venturi, thus increasing the velocity of the air by passing in through a narrower port in order to supplement the larger air volume needed by the HRC airbox. Take note that your carb jets also need to be bigger to work perfectly in unison.

A note about the heat buildup. A little flaw (actually it isn't a flaw, just something you have to live with) with having a V4 engine in a compact frame is that the heat buildup gets a little crazy sometimes. You see, the temp gauge on the dash only measures the water temp in that is flowing inthe radiator, and the sensor is tapped from the thermostat outlet where it is hottest. This is to give an indication of the maximum temp of the coolant in the flow. At night, naturally because of air being lower in temperture, the read out on the dash registers low. BUT.....real engine temp is not the same as the coolant temp. In fact, weather it is night or day, the normal operating temp of the engine itself should be roughly the same.

So if you experience drastically varying temp on your gauge, it may be time to look at your coolant health. Change when it gets dirty or even look at the condition of the hoses and thermostat housing (in some cases the thermostat is removed without problems to uprate the cyclic flow of the coolant.) Flush the radiator with running water before you put in new coolant.

Honda knows the V4 engine will run hot, thats why there are two radiators.

Yoz Tach dude,

radical article. Kinda makes me wana jump out there and get myself a lovely HRC airbox so the NASA ducts will work its wonders! BTW..why do they call it NASA ducts ?? Space age material??

Anyway.... You know the JAp webby Honda Factbook? i think the link is in the pictures i posted, you can go visit the site in its original Japan text version. Maybe There is more than meets the eye than what i can gather from Google's poor japanese translation. Pls Pls Pls go read it and tell us what it says???

Also, what does the Jap words in the pic i posted means?? :confused:

AND thank u guys for the various feedback on RVF's air snorkels. SO conclusion is still..... its useless. HAHAHAHA...well...maybe....LEz discuss this more on the next outing.

tth_jeff

Posted on Mar 2 2005, 01:55 PM

One of my friend actually rode his RVF without the air intake for two years without any problems. He took out his air intake and replace it with a CBR bracket. Shay i think u see him before. He is the one who join us at the prata shop that night after the SBF aniversary. The one with the old moviestar paint work and PGM 4 tail board. I actually compared his bike temp. and mine, same travelling distance almost the same temp. And his bikes performance was there too. 

Hey TTH! no time no see! where have u been man? Howz the rest of the RVF gang?

yea i think i saw yr fren before...Really Very Fierce. Nice paintwork and his PGM tail mod is the envy of me and my frens! But when he remove the air intakes, wont there be 2 gapping holes on his tank collecting rainwater?? how did he replace it with CBR brackets??

Originally posted by Shay@Mar 2 2005, 10:07 PM

Hey TTH! no time no see! where have u been man? Howz the rest of the RVF gang?

yea i think i saw yr fren before...Really Very Fierce. Nice paintwork and his PGM tail mod is the envy of me and my frens! But when he remove the air intakes, wont there be 2 gapping holes on his tank collecting rainwater?? how did he replace it with CBR brackets??

I was in the reservist, three weeks ICT haiz sian miss a lot of fun here... BTW about the Air intake issue i am not really sure how he mod the CBR bracket and yes he left the two gapping holes there, but no worries he seldom ride his bike out and the exposure of his bike to rain is almost zero... He took care of his bike real well just imagine can't even put helmet on his fuel tank. Anyway will find out how he do the CBR bracket if i see him and get back to u.

since we r on tis topic on our rvf air ducts, i add a little contribution to tis topic..haax.. act its a veri strange situation.. maybe sumone here can shed sum light on tis... one fateful nite i rode my rvf down from a mscp... then i kept the engine running while waiting for a fren... the next thing i notice...a bee flew into my air duct...but didnt come out!!! and the stupid thing is when i start to move off... my whole bike became veri jerky...u noe like when the bike ran out of petrol? and moreover it had a veri strange sound... and even when i turned to full on my throttle...the max it goes was like maybe 90 ? plus wif the jerky feelin... even a phantom can fly past mi..sighz...this situation happened for abt 5-6 daes... then one fine dae... was still tryin to get it going...SUDDENLY.... the whole situation disappeared!!! and my rvf was super smooth..u noe like when u changin gears and u open throttle...u juz feel a veri strong torque... it seems like theres more to come tt kinda feelin... but tt onli lasted for abt 3 daes... then my bike got back to normal... told clifford abt the situation he oso cannot explain... is it realli anythin abt the bee??? hmmzz...

Originally posted by blackice@Mar 3 2005, 02:57 PM

since we r on tis topic on our rvf air ducts, i add a little contribution to tis topic..haax.. act its a veri strange situation.. maybe sumone here can shed sum light on tis... one fateful nite i rode my rvf down from a mscp... then i kept the engine running while waiting for a fren... the next thing i notice...a bee flew into my air duct...but didnt come out!!! and the stupid thing is when i start to move off... my whole bike became veri jerky...u noe like when the bike ran out of petrol? and moreover it had a veri strange sound... and even when i turned to full on my throttle...the max it goes was like maybe 90 ? plus wif the jerky feelin... even a phantom can fly past mi..sighz...this situation happened for abt 5-6 daes... then one fine dae... was still tryin to get it going...SUDDENLY.... the whole situation disappeared!!! and my rvf was super smooth..u noe like when u changin gears and u open throttle...u juz feel a veri strong torque... it seems like theres more to come tt kinda feelin... but tt onli lasted for abt 3 daes... then my bike got back to normal... told clifford abt the situation he oso cannot explain... is it realli anythin abt the bee??? hmmzz...

:eek: :eek: :eek: maybe it could be ... very interesting

StRaIgHt RoAd Is FoR KiDs ....... BuT CoRnErS Is FoR RaCeRs

i doubt it would have anything to do with a bee, unless it produces alot of sticky susbstance against oil

if not, it will just explode and instant incarnation

but then again when i think about it, what could have happened is it could have corroded 1 of the spark plug.

sometimes, after somecleaning, spark plugs could be used again. so, at the time the lucky fly went in, it could have damaged 1 plug

when i think about it again, how could the fly reach the cyclinder if there is an air filter. even the dumbest air filter should be able to block it. unless u tell me it is running without air filter

i belief the air duct design is more of air supply to air box rather than ram air. it is quite obvious that the air snout of the air box is blocked by the tank

Brother u might wanna check if there is a bee hive in ur air box... No la just joking la... I think its just coincedence thats all. Hmm i actually encounter the jerk few weeks back and it lasted for a few days as well but mine is due to changing of jetting. My mechanic told me my is due to imcomplete combustion and he did some tuning after that everything went smooth..........