Hi frends out there, ystdae i found out that the portion circled in the photo below is leaking oil in huge amount. I gt very worried. May i noe wat's wrong? Hw much does it cost to get it repair?

Is it the cone bearing is spoilt? I jz replaced the cone bearing 11 mths ago.

leaking oil.jpg

http://i139.photobucket.com/albums/q292/hohaoyi/1_394809140l.jpg

My Humble "Xiao Huang S4"

• Replies 24

Bro cant be the cone bearing as there was no oil. Wat the colour of the oil? Think or thin? I think better give to workshop and ask. Good luck bro

sep 01 - april 03 - Phamtom 200 FT 8534

may 03 - Dec 05 - Spec II FV 3809

Dec 05 - Dec 06 - CBR 600 f4i FU5892

Dec 06 - Dec 07 - VXR 05 FZ5748

Jan 08 - Oct 10 - Spec II FV 7499

Oct 10 - current - FZ6s2 ABS

Cone bearing rubber seal koyak and water gets inside mixing up with the grease on the bearing race thus causing to oozing of oil. Better to change the cone brearings bro coz water n bearings dont mix well..

http://sphotos-c.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/582610_512257702123995_1975741852_n.jpg

Bro cant be the cone bearing as there was no oil. Wat the colour of the oil? Think or thin? I think better give to workshop and ask. Good luck bro

The oil is pretty thick and is black in color. Actually it looks more lk grease mixed with water.

Cone bearing rubber seal koyak and water gets inside mixing up with the grease on the bearing race thus causing to oozing of oil. Better to change the cone brearings bro coz water n bearings dont mix well..

Actually, I oso guess chances might be the cone bearing and/or the cone bearing seal is damaged. Cos my bike wobble slightly when cornering. Oso when stationery, I turn my handlebar to certain angle there is tak sound . Same goes for when doing heavy braking.

Hmmmmmm.. You mean its constantly leaking ah... If you wipe it off will it still leak???? Its odd to have oil from there most prob is grease... but if its grease you should have seen it rite after you change the cone.

Hmmmmmmm..... I think you should ask one of the forumer Ah Pek... Mabbe he knw...

Hmmmmmm.. You mean its constantly leaking ah... If you wipe it off will it still leak???? Its odd to have oil from there most prob is grease... but if its grease you should have seen it rite after you change the cone.

Hmmmmmmm..... I think you should ask one of the forumer Ah Pek... Mabbe he knw...

I changed my cone bearing 11 mths ago. I tink there is no leakage of ani grease after the replacement. Only few days ago I notice the leakage.

after wiping off, its seemss quite fine. I am still monitoring currently.

Oso I would like to know cone bearing so fast spoilt 1 mehz? I thought it sld at least last a few yrs.. plz kindly enlighten mi.

Actually, I oso guess chances might be the cone bearing and/or the cone bearing seal is damaged. Cos my bike wobble slightly when cornering. Oso when stationery, I turn my handlebar to certain angle there is tak sound . Same goes for when doing heavy braking.

time to replace your steering cone.

Your cone bearing lower locking ring is loose. Get the mech to retighten and also the top big nut...size 30 I think. Yes..grease mixed with water and the small ball bearings are expose...hope no rust though. Normally cone nearing last easily 3 years or more.

Stupid Hurts!.:giddy:Speed doesn't kill, mistakes does :faint:

BEER!...it's cheaper than fuel now! DRINK!..DON'T RIDE!

WOoooooooo Salute you sia ah pek hahaha... Porrrrrrfessional.... :D :thumb:

Harh!...so fast problem solve already meh? I hope so lah.:angel:

Actually can DIY lah. Just use a long flat head scewdrive and lodge it on the catch of the gear like locking ring and use hammer to tap it in clockwise direction till its tight but not too tight. The problem is having the size 30 ring spanner..that I have lah. Anyway..its a free job at any mototiam.

Your cone bearing lower locking ring is loose. Get the mech to retighten and also the top big nut...size 30 I think. Yes..grease mixed with water and the small ball bearings are expose...hope no rust though. Normally cone nearing last easily 3 years or more.

Dunnoe gt rush ant but I tink I will send to motordiam 2 get the cone bearing replaced. hope $80 can solve the problem. At least can hav a peace of mind after replacin it. Afterall, I love cornering...hee.

Yup it should but constant up and down kerb might make the corn spoil faster BUT definately not so fast as 11 month...

I tink the previous mechanic did not do his job well, tts y so fast cone bearing finish liao...haiz...sad. $$$ gone again.

guys...i jz gt my problem done. Handling of bike is gd nw! The cone bearing & the front wheel bearing are faulty. Sob...front wheel bearing was onli replaced a year ago onli. Hope tis time it can last a couple of years.

The reason why your wheel bearing fail within a year is because of your rubber seal (that prevents water from coming incontact with the wheel bearing) is worn. Plus the wheel bearing that your using is metal shield not rubber sealed. Was recommended by a bikeworkz mech to change my rubber seal every 6-8 months as i always travel up to KL.

http://sphotos-c.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/582610_512257702123995_1975741852_n.jpg

The reason why your wheel bearing fail within a year is because of your rubber seal (that prevents water from coming incontact with the wheel bearing) is worn. Plus the wheel bearing that your using is metal shield not rubber sealed. Was recommended by a bikeworkz mech to change my rubber seal every 6-8 months as i always travel up to KL.

can u plz kIndly explain in detail wat is e meanin of "plus the wheel bearing that your using is metal shield not rubber sealed."

I wanna know e method to maintance my wheel bearing & cone bearing to increase its lifespan. thank u.

can u plz kIndly explain in detail wat is e meanin of "plus the wheel bearing that your using is metal shield not rubber sealed."

I wanna know e method to maintance my wheel bearing & cone bearing to increase its lifespan. thank u.

Okay bro forget to modify the sentence, "Plus the wheel bearing the your using might be metal shield,not rubber sealed."

The rubber sealed ones peform better as they prevents contaminants for entering the bearing race. However if you are using metal sheild ones,just make sure that the outer rubber seal is in good condition.

Left one is metal shield and on the Right is rubber sealed.

Stainless-steel-Bearings-608ZZ.jpg

abec7shield3.jpg

Okay bro forget to modify the sentence, "Plus the wheel bearing the your using might be metal shield,not rubber sealed."

The rubber sealed ones peform better as they prevents contaminants for entering the bearing race. However if you are using metal sheild ones,just make sure that the outer rubber seal is in good condition.

Left one is metal shield and on the Right is rubber sealed.

Thank you for yr kind & clear explaination. Dut I dunnoe which type I am using. But I tink mine look more like metalshield

anyone has problem with the fork tube? that is being compressed in 1?

went to mech because the fork leak oil. changed the dust cover and oil.

but mech has the tube has some scatches on it and small holes cause by those sands or stone. then even change dust cover already, it still will leak after some time because of those holes already.

any better solutions to solve? rather than changing the whole tube?

think cost around 190 for 1 piece of rod ar? then total around 400 for 2. OMG!

http://www.northbaysportriders.com/forums/uploads/monthly_03_2009/post-834-1237957022.jpg

pek-i-pedia to the rescue!

Mod-ed Ride.. Mod-ed Rider....

2007 - Gilera Runner SP180 (FS 3139T)

2007-2008 - Honda Phantom 200 (FV1428G)

2008-2009 - Honda Super 4 Spec 1 (FT 9543P)

2009-2010 - Kia Cerato Forte (SJS 4772K)

2010 ~ Present - Honda Civic VTi-S ES1 1.7M (SKA 543*Z)

http://i182.photobucket.com/albums/x275/1Seth1_FXRSP/edit.jpg

anyone has problem with the fork tube? that is being compressed in 1?

went to mech because the fork leak oil. changed the dust cover and oil.

but mech has the tube has some scatches on it and small holes cause by those sands or stone. then even change dust cover already, it still will leak after some time because of those holes already.

any better solutions to solve? rather than changing the whole tube?

think cost around 190 for 1 piece of rod ar? then total around 400 for 2. OMG!

Yes must changed..just changed the one that is leaking only. Done that b4. Got it from LAB at about $155.00 long time ago..orginal of cource.

does it include the dust cover and the oil too?

LAB is lim ah boy or bikelab? what is the address ar??

might change already when it gets to leak again. yesterday just change the dust cover only..

http://www.northbaysportriders.com/forums/uploads/monthly_03_2009/post-834-1237957022.jpg
does it include the dust cover and the oil too?

LAB is lim ah boy or bikelab? what is the address ar??

might change already when it gets to leak again. yesterday just change the dust cover only..

LAB is LAB..what BikeLAB? Kelantan Lane Tel:62968035

Useless to change dust cover.

"does it include the dust cover and the oil too?"..tube is tube.