• Replies 1.5k

Hallo to all! sorry to disturb, but I have some trouble wit my s4.....cannot start! Lights & horn still in working condition, but when i press the ignition, only hear a clicking sound. Frens say its the starter/carbon brush....really? I went to a motordiam near lakeside, they say a new starter costs hundreds (never say exactly, he say " a few hundred leyyy.." then move his eyebrows up n down. "have to take out the tank, the carbs, the what what what..."

Die...

To change the carbon brush only?

"maybe about hudred plus..."

Plus your mother......:sian:

Anyway afren who has a cbr 400 says his change of carbon brush only costs 45 including labour.

What to do? can D.I.Y? How to do it? must remove carbs?:weep:

Thanx for the help!:thumb:

***Only 1 image allowed in signature***

http://bp0.blogger.com/_ES9JRO6fI4g/RgUtxP7he2I/AAAAAAAAAdM/80dbjgjm04U/s320/North+Thai+Laos+454.jpg

http://pistolwhipsite.blogspot.com/

hkl change starter carbon only $80, changed for my dad s4 b4.

http://i59.photobucket.com/albums/g313/funkyvtec/IMG-4077.jpg

Previous Rides: RXK 135, S4 Project Big 1, S4 Vtec1, ST1100 Pan European, Cbr954, K7 600, FJR1300 ABS, SilverWing FJS 400.

Current Rides: FIT 1.3 GF MoonRoof.

Originally posted by eraserhead@Oct 1 2005, 11:43 AM

Hallo to all! sorry to disturb, but I have some trouble wit my s4.....cannot start! Lights & horn still in working condition, but when i press the ignition, only hear a clicking sound. Frens say its the starter/carbon brush....really? I went to a motordiam near lakeside, they say a new starter costs hundreds (never say exactly, he say " a few hundred leyyy.." then move his eyebrows up n down. "have to take out the tank, the carbs, the what what what..."

Die...

Anyway afren who has a cbr 400 says his change of carbon brush only costs 45 including labour.

got cranking sound? or completely slient? might be ur carbon starter or jus tht ur batt old liao, so must change. carbon the most is 80 lah, batt also

changed carbon, problem solved. Went to racewerks in bkt merah. charged me $64 bucks based upon his past experience doing a vtec. But problem is, mine's a verS. Hah! a bit different. Besides removing the tank & carbs, theres also a coolant pipe plus the tensioner to be taken out....extra work!:cheeky:

wanted to change the blown rear bulb, but it turns out the wiring plus socket is also busted...blame it on the useless need for cup kia rearlight set. Mechanic said the bloody thing cannot tahan the voltage so it fcuks up easily.

***Only 1 image allowed in signature***

http://bp0.blogger.com/_ES9JRO6fI4g/RgUtxP7he2I/AAAAAAAAAdM/80dbjgjm04U/s320/North+Thai+Laos+454.jpg

http://pistolwhipsite.blogspot.com/

Originally posted by eraserhead@Oct 3 2005, 10:52 AM

changed carbon, problem solved. Went to racewerks in bkt merah. charged me $64 bucks based upon his past experience doing a vtec. But problem is, mine's a verS. Hah! a bit different. Besides removing the tank & carbs, theres also a coolant pipe plus the tensioner to be taken out....extra work!:cheeky:

wanted to change the blown rear bulb, but it turns out the wiring plus socket is also busted...blame it on the useless need for cup kia rearlight set. Mechanic said the bloody thing cannot tahan the voltage so it fcuks up easily.

so u mean to say he has no exp on ver S to change carbon starter? no leh, he changed my ver S carbon starter

Hello guys. Thou Im riding my S4 Ver S for almost 5yrs but I know nuts about it... guess it's like women, I can never fully understand them. :smile:

I've this problem. Every morning (and I only notice this at this time of the day), I saw a small pool of coolent on the floor near my stand. Tried to locate the source but cant see. The whole area of the water pump, pipes, etc seems dry.

Went to see Planet's boss Ah Chong, he said must replace water pump.:cry: But revv my engine while topping up my radiator, water level also drop (sucked inside from main radiator cap).

Anybody know 1) why coolent leak in the morning, 2) is it when you revv more, the water pump also suck more? Meaning my water pump ok is it?

Please help. Thanks.

I kenna something like that before. Was due to deteriorated seals/gaskets. They contract in the early morning cold and expand back when the sun rises. Suggest you check the interfaces in the early hours.... say 4am?

Originally posted by Bluewing2@Oct 7 2005, 01:11 PM

Hello guys. Thou Im riding my S4 Ver S for almost 5yrs but I know nuts about it... guess it's like women, I can never fully understand them. :smile:

I've this problem. Every morning (and I only notice this at this time of the day), I saw a small pool of coolent on the floor near my stand. Tried to locate the source but cant see. The whole area of the water pump, pipes, etc seems dry.

Went to see Planet's boss Ah Chong, he said must replace water pump.:cry: But revv my engine while topping up my radiator, water level also drop (sucked inside from main radiator cap).

Anybody know 1) why coolent leak in the morning, 2) is it when you revv more, the water pump also suck more? Meaning my water pump ok is it?

Please help. Thanks.

my guess wld be the same as ah chong since its near the stand

Did u top up ur coolant often? if so, it could just b a sign of overflow from the reserve tank. (cause it is located at ur right side board) remedy, stop adding coolant/water into the reserve tank.

As for adding of coolant when the engine is running, it should just be like boiling water. n not suck in. unless some where in it's route (no coolant liao) then this will happen.

Roy

Originally posted by royong@Oct 7 2005, 01:55 PM

As for adding of coolant when the engine is running, it should just be like boiling water. n not suck in. unless some where in it's route (no coolant liao) then this will happen.

Thanks guys. I think I'll just ask Ah Chong to change my water pump seals first.

Roy, sorry as my description was vague. This is only after I flush my coolant system. The more I rev, the faster water is sucked. If I release the throttle, the bubbles rises go blub, blub, blub.

Is the any other way ot check the water pump? Cos Ah Chong said "water pump spoil, you balls (cooked) can eat liao". So far the temp is normal and within my crotch tolerant level, even when Im fetching my wife from bedok to boon lay and back. (I think that long dist enuf :sweat: )

but actually, pump spoilt wouldn't leak. u c. so most probably it is the seal for somewhere else gone case liao. u might c the leak if u remove the cover for the coolant pump.

Royong

Originally posted by floppy@Sep 28 2005, 11:42 PM

how about...

spark plug change?

Thanks for your recommendation. After 3 mths of headache, i manage to get my CB400 ok now. That recent plugs were just for 4000 km run. Found to be short circuit. sh*t. Will throw that plugs to the shop's owner i bought its.

anione noes hw to tune the idling of s4?

whrs the knob?

FOR SALE (PM for more details)

-inline hockey guards,stick, gloves,pants

-ipod shuffle, 1GB, red, limited edition

Guest enHANZed

its under the engine ...yellow knob...remember to do only when engine is cooled

Hi guy, i am riding Ver S, may i find out that the adjustable front fork, turn which side is hardening it and turn which side is to soften the suspension? Hope you guys out there can help. Thank You ! :smile:

http://i28.photobucket.com/albums/c212/d33a33Vc/DSCN0327.jpg

... 夕阳无限好只惜近黄昏......

Sep 2001 --- Yamaha RXK 135

Dec 2002 --- Honda Super4, Ver S

Mar 2004 --- CBR400RR, L

Feb 2005 --- Honda Super4, Ver S

to all ppl that find that their handle keep wobbling at certian lo speed. do try go for wheel balancing.. it might solve the problem. i had this problem too. but after i change my tire to sportec m1 and wheel balancing. the wobbling stop.

to those that bike kept stalling. can try change back to the original denso spark plug that comes when u first bought the new bike. i first changed the spark plug to ngk, it keep stalling when engine brake or idling. but revered back to denso. that prob gone. at the same time clean air filter as well.

the abv 2 are just my prob that i have occur. ppl that have the same prob can try try. cheers

Guest quizesilver
Originally posted by eraserhead@Oct 1 2005, 11:43 AM

Die...

sorry may seem abit slow or prob solve did u on ur on/off starter switch?

Guest quizesilver
Originally posted by ralliart_ray@Oct 27 2005, 08:37 PM

any1 can teach me how to change EO?

come for the diy

Guest quizesilver
Originally posted by Metalmarine@Oct 20 2005, 10:49 AM

Hi guy, i am riding Ver S, may i find out that the adjustable front fork, turn which side is hardening it and turn which side is to soften the suspension? Hope you guys out there can help. Thank You ! :smile:

i suppse is same as screw.

turn right to tighten