Hi, newbie here, been riding a spec3 since last Aug. Today my bike can on but can't start. Want to start engine, but there a vibrating sound instead. Wat could be the problem?

S4 Spec3 Aug 2007 - Mar 2010

GSR400 July 2010 - Oct 2011

• Replies 1.5k

there a vibrating sound instead. Wat could be the problem?

Not sure what you meant by "vibrating sound"?...would help if you can be more elaborate on the "sound". Did your starter cranked or not? If so and your bike nots firing..I suggest you check your plugs cable..may be some one disturb it like pulling it off the plugs. Your bike is too new to have such problem unless its a second hand one that is already a few years old.

Stupid Hurts!.:giddy:Speed doesn't kill, mistakes does :faint:

BEER!...it's cheaper than fuel now! DRINK!..DON'T RIDE!

Its ok guys, thanks. The battery need to change thats all. $160 for the battery.

S4 Spec3 Aug 2007 - Mar 2010

GSR400 July 2010 - Oct 2011

$160 for the battery

That's too expensive for a S4 battery...do you mean with a new recitifier? Original YUSA is about $55 to $$65..rectifier about $95.

guy .. my a vtec 1 .. my rear brake dun seem to b workin leh whenever i press .. what's the problem ar ? dun tink is brake pad leh .. cau dun hav scratching sound .. or vtec 1 rear brake is liddat de ?? need advice ty ..

scratching sound

Your brake pad leow lah!...change new one before brake disc get scrotch badly.

.. cau dun hav scratching sound ..

Sori..read this, tot of sound only..also don't knw what is "cau dun"

my rear brake dun seem to b workin leh whenever i press ..

In this case, I can think of only that your hydraulic oil is not getting to your caliper piston to push the pad out to grip the disc..could be pump problem, could be water or air in your hose (if it feels spongy at times). Other than that, I think your friendly neighbourhood spidy man squird some oil on your disc...LOL! Better have it check and rectified soon...good braking habit and art of good braking start with the back brake. (yeah...something not taught in riding school).

yeah i goin dwn planet tis thursday to let ah cheong chk it liao .. but i jus went inspection but i pass my inspection .. when testing the rear brake it can stop the wheel but jus got to step harder ..

but jus got to step harder ..

Than you can adjust the link of the brake pedal shorter so that don't have to step so hard.

during engine idling ,when i clutch in,i can hear some rattling sound or like something blending in that area where the clutch cable is link to.

what's happening, any veterans knows??:(

during engine idling ,when i clutch in,i can hear some rattling sound or like something blending in that area where the clutch cable is link to.

what's happening, any veterans knows??:(

I have the same problem as you even when my bike is new. However, it's only during the first time start in the mornings. Usually, after a few press and release of the clutch lever, the rattling sound is gone. Alternatively, it will also cure by itself after traveling for a few seconds.

Probably it could also be due to the engine oil not lubricating the clutch bearings adequately after leaving it overnight. I think it is not serious and I don't bother to complain (to Boon Siew) either. Otherwise, I fear that once they open up the clutch mechanism, more (other) problems may occur if a good job is not properly done by their mechanic.

What Einners said is true but if it is consistent, its a tell tale sign that your clutch plates may e wearing out or EO not enough. Try adjusting your clutch or check your EO level. Low EO vercosity also can have this problem.

My XR200 had this problem and it was the clutch plate assembly worn out.

I have the same problem as you even when my bike is new. However, it's only during the first time start in the mornings. Usually, after a few press and release of the clutch lever, the rattling sound is gone. Alternatively, it will also cure by itself after traveling for a few seconds.

Probably it could also be due to the engine oil not lubricating the clutch bearings adequately after leaving it overnight. I think it is not serious and I don't bother to complain (to Boon Siew) either. Otherwise, I fear that once they open up the clutch mechanism, more (other) problems may occur if a good job is not properly done by their mechanic.

yes bike about 6 months old...problem still persist even after some run..it is not very loud but still irritated by it whenever i tried to go near it and listen,hoping it will go off by itself...:(

What Einners said is true but if it is consistent, its a tell tale sign that your clutch plates may e wearing out or EO not enough. Try adjusting your clutch or check your EO level. Low EO vercosity also can have this problem.

My XR200 had this problem and it was the clutch plate assembly worn out.

yes ah pek...that was what i was being advised by a mechanic too...but how high is the chances or under what usage will clutch plates be wore out for a half a year old bike?

For new bikes below 1 year (like mine is only 8 months old), I don't think it's due to the wearing out of the clutch plates. Under normal use, the clutch plates should last for at least 50,000 km. I still think it's due to insufficient lubrication of the clutch bearings during the early morning starts. Even mine until today is still with the rattling sound during early morning starts. I'd changed from the original ESSO 10W/40 to the MAXIMA 15W/50 engine oil, but it's still the same. Anyway, since it's not a permanent issue because the noise will go off after a few seconds of traveling, I'll leave it alone for the time being.

due to the wearing out of the clutch plates. Under normal use, the clutch plates should last for at least 50,000 km.

What you said is true especially when its new. As for wearing of clutch, it does matter when you come to using it. When we race the bike, fanning and half clutching is intensively used during dragging. The other possibility is that the biting point may not be set right, do check the free play of your clutch level..should have a small gap before the cable fully sits in..it's stated in the manual the distance. The above said can wear your clutch plates fast.

Not sure about how wet mesh works...that is the clutch plates are all soak in eo. There must be a flow path..may it partially clogged and not enough eo flows to it in the early morning after sitting a long time over night. After when you start and it warms up..may be the pressure force more eo into that area and the noise is gone. This is just a guess work.

But like you said, the noise does goes away and not continuosly through out..but do consider a 1000 morning noise making bearing can do to your bearing...LOL!..better find another mechanic for second opinion...may be something may not be sitting in place inside. Do know thateo has to be drained..I think..if its new, asked the mech to save the content for reuse.

What you said is true especially when its new. As for wearing of clutch, it does matter when you come to using it. When we race the bike, fanning and half clutching is intensively used during dragging. The other possibility is that the biting point may not be set right, do check the free play of your clutch level..should have a small gap before the cable fully sits in..it's stated in the manual the distance. The above said can wear your clutch plates fast.

Not sure about how wet mesh works...that is the clutch plates are all soak in eo. There must be a flow path..may it partially clogged and not enough eo flows to it in the early morning after sitting a long time over night. After when you start and it warms up..may be the pressure force more eo into that area and the noise is gone. This is just a guess work.

But like you said, the noise does goes away and not continuosly through out..but do consider a 1000 morning noise making bearing can do to your bearing...LOL!..better find another mechanic for second opinion...may be something may not be sitting in place inside. Do know thateo has to be drained..I think..if its new, asked the mech to save the content for reuse.

But my case is quite unique because I usually use my bike only on weekends. So it seats around for 1 week without starting and hence I suspect most of the engine oil would have flowed back to the sump by then. Also, my mileage is very low at only 2,800 km presently.

Also, I was thinking that if I bring to Boon Siew, I cannot simulate the problem to them unless I leave the bike overnight there, which I don't want to. So, I'll just live with it for the time being but will monitor if the condition will get more serious later.

Previously when using 2-stroke bikes, I used to add "moly" additives into the gearbox oil and it greatly reduces any noise from the gearbox and also for a smoother gear change. But with 4-stroke bikes, I can't because the same oil is also used for engine lubrication and if the additives added is not the proper type, it'll be a big disaster.

Also, I was thinking that if I bring to Boon Siew, I cannot simulate the problem to them unless I leave the bike overnight there, which I don't want to. So, I'll just live with it for the time being but will monitor if the condition will get more serious later.

when to a few reputable workshop,some mechanics said it's normal for Vtec..some said it's serious as it might led to others fault...haiz...so which is which? only the bike knows..:cheeky:

but i'm wondering why some have the sound,some dun have the sound...maybe it's like a saying ''not all your fingers are of the same length''..

in the end when to boon siew..and guess what they say..........

It's NORMAL..:p

my mileage is very low at only 2,800 km presently.

Wa_Lau_eh!...so freaking new harh!??...I know I won't bother to answer you leh..I would have said "Its NORMAL" too :)

haa..that's a :thumb: one...

Why you say "It's NORMAL"? It should be all the more important why a new bike is already having this abnormal sound right?:confused:

Aiyah!...this type of things also don't know :angel: Boon Siew say "OK"...we also "OK" lah...talk and suggest so much afterward something goes wrong we all kana "KO" by ah ray how?..that time we all Lan_lan :giddy: as if we screwed his new bike...and ah ray asked us to pay & we all :cry:

Boon Siew mech should be the expert what...once awhile Japanese mechanic visit them and they also send occassionally their new employee for oversea training on certain bike..that's what I know lah..so.."normal"..we also normal lor. :angel: I clever hor :angel: