used to like this bike a lot.

very classic and muscle look coming from Kawasaki....

anyone riding this?

1100 and 750cc versions....

i'm keen to buy too.

• Replies 179

no one at all riding this monster?

wah lau..........

Originally posted by Throttle@May 29 2005, 03:43 AM

no one at all riding this monster?

wah lau..........

I think most of the guys riding this bike are older guys... I've seen a few of these riden by older men of cos....:smile:

youner riders are mostly only interested in fast new bikes.....zrrrroooooommm.....

like you I too like older model bikes(CB750, CB1000, Zephyr, EN500, Dominator, etc).... but the only thing I've no money to buy them all and also no place to store them ....:thumb:

have only see the 750 version on the road before. Not the 1100 version. But mostly old plates. It looks really classic, same as the ZXR1200, both of which have timeless design.

http://www.beepworld.de/memberdateien/members39/z1000/auspuff1.jpg

I miss my golden pipes...

how abt kawa concourse?

i tink its 1100cc

FOR SALE (PM for more details)

-inline hockey guards,stick, gloves,pants

-ipod shuffle, 1GB, red, limited edition

concourse is diff category lah .....

Originally posted by Throttle@May 28 2005, 12:31 AM

anyone riding this?

i'm keen to buy too.

My elder bro use to ride the 1982 Z750, the grandfather of the Zephyr I guess. Standard inline 4, air/oil cooled and really nice growl to its engine. That bike could be ridden forever man! Simple and basic, just like what I am riding now, a CB750. :offtopic:

Don't tell God you have a big problem. Tell the problem you have a big God!

Was thinking of getting a Kawi Zephyr 750; the one in the classifieds. Was wondering if anyone on the forum rides the same? I don't have the requisite license yet, so will be buying mainly to restore it piece by piece, until it's close to when I can ride it. Wanted a retro vintage naked bike!

If anyone has the bike or has owned it at any point in time, could you please answer a few questions for me?

1) Assuming the bike is in not too bad a condition, what are the regular maintenance points that come?

2) How reliable is the engine?

3) Does it share parts with the ZX-7R ninja? Internal engine components, that is. I'm guessing that even if you don't have the external parts, we can make do with other bikes' parts.

4) Any workshop in Singapore specializing in helping out with the restore?

5) Anyone with the Haynes repair manual that I can take a copy of? :cheeky:

If there is anyone with experience with the bike, could you please PM me?

Thanks bro!

Ride 'em like you stole 'em...

Hello there!

I was once riding a ZR 750(sold it off, regret, and now still trying to get back the bike).

Bike is easy to maintain. just do the normal engine oil/filter and air filter servicing every 5K. Engine is sturdy and strong, just that the clutch and camchain makes some rattling sound. Don't know about swapping parts with ZX 7 though, never tried it. Bought mine from Eugene of Bike Connection, some guy had it restored to its prestine condition, had to sell cause I bought a Z1' 03. There are senior mechanics who are still good at servicing the ZR. There was a Malay mechanic at Sims Avenue who was said to specialise in Kawa engine especially the Zephyr. Still have the Haynes copy with me.

Hi Zedlite,

The zephyr you bought from Eugene, was I who sold it. Guess what, I bought it back again as you change to Z1. There are 2 more unit in Eunos. New Tech Motor.

rgds:thumb:

I love the look of the zephyr 750. Looks very alike to its presuccessor of the Legendary Z1~King of the Bikes in 70s! I also saw one black and white zephyr 750 roaming around in Ubi at times and mistaken it for Z1 . Gd looks and robust engine I heard. How much did u guys buy your zephyr for?

Hell Yeah!

Originally posted by desky88@Sep 8 2006, 07:17 PM

I love the look of the zephyr 750. Looks very alike to its presuccessor of the Legendary Z1~King of the Bikes in 70s! I also saw one black and white zephyr 750 roaming around in Ubi at times and mistaken it for Z1 . Gd looks and robust engine I heard. How much did u guys buy your zephyr for?

MMmm.AMK selling one at less then 4k ba.Sms me if you keep.i help you ask. :cheeky:

Current Ride:

W650 Cafe Racer

FXSTC Softail Custom

TW200 Tracker

Zephyr ZII Custom

CB750K

CB400four

http://i112.photobucket.com/albums/n166/sgstreetbiker/IMG_0627_zps0816850b.jpg

http://i112.photobucket.com/albums/n166/sgstreetbiker/EBC0B2D1-5DB8-412B-BE85-D4E7DE4F0247-9859-000001DA1BB41B2E.jpg

Hi Pango

I ever saw your zephyr in bike connection. I owned two before and I regret to sell them. I tried to look for one but to no avail. May I know which block does new tech motor situated. I must try my luck again.

Originally posted by pango@Sep 7 2006, 05:11 PM

Hi Zedlite,

The zephyr you bought from Eugene, was I who sold it. Guess what, I bought it back again as you change to Z1. There are 2 more unit in Eunos. New Tech Motor.

rgds:thumb:

Hi Pango!

Just came back from outstation. Still ridding the Zephyr? That's a well restored bike you have there. Nothing like the original inline four monster. Like your paint job. Take care.:thumb:

Originally posted by Zedlite@November 08, 2006 05:59 pm

Hi Pango!

Just came back from outstation. Still ridding the Zephyr? That's a well restored bike you have there. Nothing like the original inline four monster. Like your paint job. Take care.:thumb:

Hello abang Zedlite, nice meeting you at JR the other day.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v198/Phang/3-2.jpg
Originally posted by Phang@February 07, 2007 11:10 am

Hello abang Zedlite, nice meeting you at JR the other day.

Hello there Phang!

It was nice to see you too. Good to hear someone still ridding the monster. Miss mine though. Hope to see you on the road. Take care.

ps. Saw another red Zephyr at bike shop along Ballestier, wonder whose gonna buy it???..hmm....

Originally posted by qebalt@February 15, 2007 07:09 am

hi, I'm new here. I have one. it is still good for me although the bike was 15 years old. the engine noise are normal actually. it is because of the bike timing chain (I was told). I like it because it looks really grunt.

After reading many zephyr related postings in the internet, I believe the clunking sound of my bike is generated by the primary chain rather than the timing chain. Kawasaki solved this by installing a primary chain tensioner on 2001 models and onward. Unfortunately the tensioner cannot be retro fitted to earlier models. The consensus is to live with the sound rather than fix it by changing the primary chain (a major work that require crankcase splitting and the sound will come back again in less than 10K km) as it will not cause any running and reliability issue. My timing chain is rather quiet, probably drowned out by the relatively louder primary chain noise.

http://houseofmotorcycles.bikebandit.com/partsbandit/assets/schematics/Kawasaki/1991ZR750C1US_E1321.gif

http://houseofmotorcycles.bikebandit.com/partsbandit/assets/schematics/Kawasaki/2000ZR750F2US_E1321.gif

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v198/Phang/3-2.jpg

huh. so, it is because of that ya? I thought it is because of the timing chain. sorry for the misunderstanding guys.

therefore the noise of the engine of my zeph come from the primary chain.

anyway, is it possible to fit the newer model of ZR-7S's engine to the earlier version (ZR 750 C2)?

Click here to visit Biking and Travelling Blog!

http://i174.photobucket.com/albums/w103/qebalt/logo.jpg

Feel free to join us!

Originally posted by phuketdreams@March 17, 2007 08:14 pm

hi riders! i have a set of exhaust pipe for the zephyr 750, its a 4-in-1 header with a supertrapp muffler..any zephyr interested? can reach me at 91097733(sms) thanks!

bro?

wats ur asking price??

Hi I have just bought a Zephyr 750 purple colour.

I too am an old guy, belly to big for sports bikes now!!

Im from UK and working here in Singapore.

rob :thumb:

Manage to buy one recently but it needs a top end overhaul. Unfortunately

evershine does not have the engine gasket so I've to lay up for at least 3

mths pending the arrival of the new stock. I'll rebuild it totally and turn it

into a retro classic.

anyone riding this?

i'm keen to buy too.