Hi all, I have read up all the threads regarding riding up to Thailand.

1 2 check how far is Betong from the Thailand border and do they have any bikeshops that make thailand wordings license plate there??? n ard how much?

is it ok for a S4 to ride up straight to thailand meaning not stopping over for the night or so.

If i plan to stop over at KL for a night, can someone agar agar tell me from KL to thailand still need how many hrs?

Im planning to go alone... advisable???

Malay i noe little bit but thai i dunno...

Life Is Never Fair.

Some pple slog for the paper in their wallet.

Some slog to feed the paper to the pple w/o the wallet.

• Replies 55

Originally posted by lindavw@Sep 6 2006, 03:13 AM

1 2 check how far is Betong from the Thailand border and do they have any bikeshops that make thailand wordings license plate there??? n ard how much?

is it ok for a S4 to ride up straight to thailand meaning not stopping over for the night or so.

If i plan to stop over at KL for a night, can someone agar agar tell me from KL to thailand still need how many hrs?

Malay i noe little bit but thai i dunno...

now u riding up wat bike... so i can agak-agak for k...

http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b294/beruang30/Mensign.jpghttp://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b294/beruang30/thDSCF1267.jpg

BEAR30

cool... dunno my rvf 9yrs bike can make it or not.. haha

2005-2006: RXZ

2007: Y125Z & RVF400

2008: RVF400 & African Twin

2009: African Twin, GSX1300RK2, Renault Kangoo(A)

2010: GSX1300RK2, Renault Kangoo(A)

2011: GSX1300RK2

2012-2013: GSX1300RK2, Proton Savvy(A)

2014: Proton Savvy(A), Super 4(S1)

Present: Super 4(S1)

Originally posted by lindavw@Sep 6 2006, 03:13 AM

> yes..sticker type cost

> 700 km from causeway...

> 4-5 hours....

no problem....

answer in quote

The Prophet (blessings and peace be upon him) said, "Remember more often the destroyer of pleasures - death." In Memory Of Dr Bend......

http://lh5.ggpht.com/_KQlEXdWc6sc/S11EmtnFr4I/AAAAAAAADts/Ovr7K3cpY68/s640/DSC03391.jpg

> yes..sticker type cost

> 700 km from causeway...

> 4-5 hours....

no problem....

Qns again huh.

license plate got what types??? ex to make embossed ones? take how long?

I reached KL previously ard 350km liaoz... another 4-5 hours?

Im planning to detour to the penang bridge then go up thailand... like that will take how many hours cos i dun wan to reach thailand all the customs n shop close liaoz.

Im still planning to go alone... anyone 1 2 join??? hahaha

Im riding S4 Ver S

My S4 oso near 10 yrs already. I reach KL leh so can u i think... as long as u dun drag more than 150 all the way la...

Life Is Never Fair.

My previous s4 was somewhere near 10 years.

brought it to many places. hatyai,ko samui,chumphon,huahin,kanchanaburi,sa kheo,up to arranyaprathet (thai-cambodia border) :D

but at an average speed of 100- 120 throughout.

serve me very very well.

yes..sticker type cost

> 800km for entire NSH. another 60km to hatyai town. never been to betong

> at an average speed of 120, less than 5-6 hrs including reasonable refreshment time

that will depend how well and confident you know the route and riding condition. No comments.

how come only sticker type license plate everyone seems to buy?

anyway in betong or wherever got bike shop can do 1 already izit???

r bike shops common in thailand???

Life Is Never Fair.

When are you going in?

If you plan to go in again in the future with the same bike think you better ask your friends about the paperwork needed at the Thailand Customs.

i not confirm when going should be coming 23sep or 31dec.

got 2 dates bcos 23sep school term break so planning to go but if go on 23sep is go alone.

31dec got kaki going wif me but not too sure yet as may get to see aeroplane but if 31dec kaki put aeroplane still going alone.

anyone riding s4 or r1 1 2 join?

my kaki is riding r1

Life Is Never Fair.

i riding S4

count me in for the dec.

kindly contact me when the date is comfirm.

2000-Yamaha lc125/2001yamaha tzr125/2002Suzuki gsxr400r/2003-Honda TA 200/2005-Honda wave S 125/2005-Honda S4 spec 2/2007-yamaha yp400/2008-yamaha R6/2009-Honda CG 125/2010-Suzuki Dr200se/2010-Honda steed 400/2011-honda cb400sf pb1/2011-sym joyride 200/2012-honda wave

My frens n i going to Koh Samui on the 22nd. mayb stay at hattyai only for 1 nite only.Mayb we will meet by chance..:smile:

Are monkeys allow in SBF?

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=208575&d=1308762964

My trip is confirmed.

1st Jan 07 leaving Spore.

Any lao jiaoz here can advice wat is needed to pass the Thai customs? cos the stickys seem to be very old stuff leh hahaha.

anyone 1 2 follow... Im going on S4 Ver S my Kaki is going on R1 99.

* if we encounter any flooding states in msia which we cannot pass due to water, will enroute to KL instead then back to spore.

1st nite stopping at Penang/ipoh side b4 heading to penang bridge then into Thailand on 2nd day.

Life Is Never Fair.

Info on sticky is still accurate, except for maybe price changes for Thai insurance. If any changes to entry requirements, Simon has the function to edit posts as moderator. So no worries on that issue

As for flooding, from news reports problem areas are between Johor to KL.

Why stop at Malaysia? Just go straight to Thailand its only another 150+Km from Penang.

At the beach for Loy Krathong

Is insurance a MUST to buy??? im like going in for like 1-2 days if worst 3days MAX...

Stop at msia 1 nite is bcos i 1 2 go penang bridge take photo... if too many delay, eg stops, makan lunch, take picture... i scare reach thai custom too late cannot go in.

Life Is Never Fair.

Insurance is compulsory according to Thai Law. NTUC insurance only covers up to 50Km into Thailand. So if you are just staying at the border its not necessary, but if heading further in to Hatyai for example your insurance will not cover it. Check your insurance contract.

If anything happens along the way and you are not coverd by insurance then good luck to you. If stopped at roadblocks and asked for documents, then not having insurance will be a problem.

Leaving Sg at night will allow you to reach Thai by morning along the way you can hop over to Penang Bridge to take photos. It should be better at 5-6 AM coz theres no traffic then.

wow ur idea not badz... but = reach thailand flat out after whole nite riding ah?

now rainy season... i tried once whole night rain to reach KL...

this one thailand leh.. worst...

Life Is Never Fair.

Heavy Rain whether in the day or at night makes not much difference in terms of visiblity. In fact it might be even safer at late night coz theres less traffic. Only thing is you will be feeling much colder. But then again its another way to keep you alert. :smile:

ok... my insurance is NTUC...

if i go betong need to buy thai insurance anot??? 1 2 save money la heehee...

somemore what essential things need to find out or bring?

Life Is Never Fair.

Go read sticky for cost of insurance!!!

Short term insurance is cheap.

When entering other countries as a GUEST,

paying for such a small amount of money to follow their law

is well woth it. o_O

i think the sticky stated above 50km then need to buy insurance.... betong is only 30+km from the border as stated by others... so is insurance still needed?

im confused.

Life Is Never Fair.

ok thanks for the advice... if time permits i will see if i will make it to hatyai

Life Is Never Fair.