Hihi.. i got few issues i need help on...thx...

Im waiting to clear tp at ssdc..my friend is giving me his SP..currently bike is at the bike shop and has to take back by latest 31 March..here comes the issue..

my friend who is giving the bike is actually the 2nd rider...so the owner is another person..in fact a friend's mother of his..the road tax and insurance both have expired and the bike has been in the bike shop since oct 08..

im trying to find the best way to work things out..

1. Road Tax

From what I know, my friend has to pay a $45 penalty and the road tax up till today's date which is $19..and he will pay a layup fee of $5.35 for me (coz i haven't pass, so cannot ride:()as well..

to settle this...they dont need a valid insurance right?just have to pay and that's it right?

n actually i called LTA to check if the penalty can be waived coz the letter of late payment was sent to the owner and since the bike was all along in the bikeshop..they said they go case by case ..so wondering if anyone has tried before?

and i need to move the bike to my house nearby carpark..but no one has a valid insurance for the bike and is going to be layup...i think the only way to get the bike out of the bike shop is by towing right...or is there any other way?

how much is the towing fee? i saw in some thread was $15 &$20, where can i get them? actually i gt a fren who owns a lorry...but im puzzled how to get the bike up n off the lorry coz is quite high n SP isnt that light :sian:

2.Ownership transfer

since the owner will b there to settle the road tax...can i actually do the transfer at the same time...but the problem is, i havent get my license and insurance...can anyone advise?

3. After i get my license

let's say all the above are settled n the bike is layup in my house nearby carpark..and assumed i finally got my license..the thing i have to do is to bring the bike to inspection, buy insurance, pay road tax then i can start riding? these things can b done in a day?or more than that?

im not sure if im missing out anything..so please point out anything if i dint mention k? thanks alot~

Edited by vion
  • Replies 21

For towing, you got try putting a plank and pushing it up? I think thats how they get the bike up

http://tickers.TickerFactory.com/ezt/d/4;10747;127/st/20080103/e/Class+3+tp%21%21%21/dt/13/k/1b81/event.png

2b failures...

Fell once on a bike,

Dropped bike twice, in 1.01 and SP.

1. aiya just ride to ur carpark loh. if tp catch den tell him u just bought the bike so need to ride off to settle all the stuff.

2. get ur licence first. dun rush to take over it.

3. no need for inspection. until u receive letter asking u to go for inspection. buy insurance and road tax is a must. road tax can buy on the spot. insurance must wait a while for it to be processed. both can be done on the day.

For towing, you got try putting a plank and pushing it up? I think thats how they get the bike up

oh...whr to get the plank?will it b beri hard?my fren lorry is those type u can c like gt many bangala bhind tt big big kind oh..

1. aiya just ride to ur carpark loh. if tp catch den tell him u just bought the bike so need to ride off to settle all the stuff.

2. get ur licence first. dun rush to take over it.

3. no need for inspection. until u receive letter asking u to go for inspection. buy insurance and road tax is a must. road tax can buy on the spot. insurance must wait a while for it to be processed. both can be done on the day.

1. I dun haf license yet..if he wan c license i sure die...so dun tink can..

2. hmm..actuali i wanted to do the road tax n the owership transfer so i wun trouble the owner 2 times...cuz she might nt b beri free..

3. oh..so wn i get my license, i jus nid to go LTA pay the road tax n do the transfer jiu can ride ler?dun even nid to bring the bike down rite?u were saying insurance nid to wait a while..so means i haf to apply beforehand or i can ride on the dae i apply even thought i haben get the insurance cert?

oh...whr to get the plank?will it b beri hard?my fren lorry is those type u can c like gt many bangala bhind tt big big kind oh..

1. I dun haf license yet..if he wan c license i sure die...so dun tink can..

2. hmm..actuali i wanted to do the road tax n the owership transfer so i wun trouble the owner 2 times...cuz she might nt b beri free..

3. oh..so wn i get my license, i jus nid to go LTA pay the road tax n do the transfer jiu can ride ler?dun even nid to bring the bike down rite?u were saying insurance nid to wait a while..so means i haf to apply beforehand or i can ride on the dae i apply even thought i haben get the insurance cert?

You need to bring down the bike for inspection, before u can pay road tax.

16th Aug 2006 - Class 3 Passed.

11th March 2009 - Class 2b Pending.

I think the first thing to do is to get the owner to have the bike inspected and clear the road tax.

You don't want to get into trouble with the authorities.

Then push the bike up your other friend's lorry using a thick board/plank.

Best get those that are reinforced with metal strips. (SP not that heavy, I have seen 1 guy push his GSXR up a lorry by himself using a plank, and that's heavier than an SP)

When you get to your house's carpark, park the bike and put a coupon on it.

Next, take over the bike by going to the LTA to settle the paper work.

Both of you (buyer and seller) need to be there.

Assuming that you will not have your licence yet. Get the Bike laid up right there and then while you are in the LTA building. You will have to inform the LTA of the lot number the bike is in. After the lay up you are not allowed to move the bike, not even from 1 lot to another lot for warm up. After that, get a season parking for your bike.

Hope that helps.

You need to bring down the bike for inspection, before u can pay road tax.

Yea...I tot so too...Once u laid-up a bike,u nid to send for inspection if u wan to renew road tax...I tink..:cheeky:

ALL THINGS CAN BE DONE IF U HAVE CASH.

HOW TO CONTACT IF U HAVE NO CONTACT LEFT BEHIND

TS,

You know what's the first thing you need to do? Improve your typing/spelling... Too much SMS does this but now you have a full-bodied keyboard to type on...

Anyway, why don't you check with the bike shop if they can settle it for you. Of course you have to pay them some labour fees but that is if you find it too much of a hassle.

But do check on the road tax part. Oct 08 to now is a full 4 months so LTA may not be so lenient on the matter.

"Keep your friends close but your enemies closer"

hi there bro.. mebbe this will help.. faced a slightly familiar prob many years back.. unless there's a change of rules

1. Road Tax

From wad I noe, my fren has to pay a $45 penalty and the road tax up till today's date which is $19..n he will pay a layup fee of $5.35 for mi (coz i haben pass, cannot ride:()as well..

to settle this...thy dun nid a valid insurance rite?jus haf to pay n that's it rite?

n actuali i called LTA to check if the penalty can b waived cuz the letter of late payment was sent to the owner n since the bike was all along in the bikeshop..thy sae is case by case de..so wondering if anione tried b4?

U'r friend need to pay the penalty up front before the bike can be laid up. It's the duty of the owner to make sure the bike's roadtax is not expired.

After ur friend has paid up the laid up fees, the officer will pass u a roadtax disc which indicates the bike as laid up. And u will need to display on the bike even if u'r parking it at the carpark.

change of ownership do not need insurance. U only need insurance if u'r riding it. To make the process much easier and smooth, bring the owner along for the change of ownership and all the necessary documents needed.

and i nid to move the bike to my house nearby carpark..bt no one has a valid insurance for the bike n is gona layup...i tink the only way to get the bike out of the bike shop is by towing rite...or is thr ani other way?

no other way.. u need to tow the bike to the carpark. No riding.

Riding a laid up bike is a major offence. Imagine riding a laid up bike with no valid insurance and road tax. BIG fine, might be a jail term plus all ur effort and money getting a license goes down the drain. I'm sure there's a driving ban as well after all those.

U might want to argue, it i am not caught then everything will be fine if i ride it to my carpark. But have u seen the other side of the story if u'r caught.? Are u willing to take the resposibility? What if u'r involved in an accident that incur injuries to a 3rd party? THINK!

MY advise is IT"S NOT WORTH IT..

Get a tow truck or u'r friend's lorry is also good.. As long as u'r not riding on the bike

2.Ownership transfer

since the owner will b thr to settle the road tax...can i actuali do the transfer at the same time...bt the problem is, i haben get my license and insurance...can anione advise?

yes u can. Changing of ownership does not require insurance unless ur renewing the roadtax.

3. After i get my license

let's sae all the above r settled n the bike is layup in my house nearby carpark..n assumed i finally got my license..the thing i haf to do is to bring the bike to inspection, buy insurance, pay road tax tn i can ride ler rite..these things can b done in a dae?or more than that?

It can be done in a day.. Bikes that are laid up must go thru inspection before roadtax can be renewed.

1. Get a tow truck. Tow the bike to any inspection centre. Get the bike inspected.

- If PASS inspection, leave the bike at the inspection centre. U'r still not allowed to ride the bike as there's no valid insurance and roadtax. The inspection centre will give u a certificate that is valid for 3months from the passed inspection date.

- If FAIL inspection, u need to call a tow truck again to bring the bike to a bike shop to rectify the failed items. Tow the bike back to the Inspection centre to get it inspected. This process will be repeated if u keep failing the inspection. ( to make matters easier, just tow the bike to a bikeshop, let them send inspection for you at a cost..it definitely won't be done in a day.. Once the bikeshop pass u the inspection certificate, then u can go the next step below..)

2. Buy vehicle insurance for your bike at any authorised Vehicle Insurance Agents.

3. Go to LTA with ur inspection certificate and insurance. Inform them u want to "unlaid up" ur bike. Once process is done, u'll be given a new valid roadtax disc.

4. Go back inspection centre or bikeshop where u left ur bike, and u can happily ride ur bike home with no problems or worries.

Note : U can send ur bike for inspection earlier if u want as inspection certificate is valid for 3months. U can also buy insurance earlier but i suggest u buy ur insurance on the date u want to "unlaid up" your bike so the insurance and roadtax expire together. Much easier to settle in the near future.

Bad advice bro..

TP won't be lenient with this sort of offence. MAJOR offence for riding a bike without a valid insurance and roadtax. Stuff must be settled before u can ride the bike.

Not only the TS will lose his just gotten riding license(if he has gotten it), he will lose all his other licenses (if he has any) and also a big fine with a probable jail term to go with it...

anyway, what will happen to the TS if he is involve with an accident that incur injuries to a 3rd party? No insurance, the injured party or family can civil sue the TS for injuries caused by the TS,,

I think the first thing to do is to get the owner to have the bike inspected and clear the road tax.

You don't want to get into trouble with the authorities.

Then push the bike up your other friend's lorry using a thick board/plank.

Best get those that are reinforced with metal strips. (SP not that heavy, I have seen 1 guy push his GSXR up a lorry by himself using a plank, and that's heavier than an SP)

When you get to your house's carpark, park the bike and put a coupon on it.

Next, take over the bike by going to the LTA to settle the paper work.

Both of you (buyer and seller) need to be there.

Assuming that you will not have your licence yet. Get the Bike laid up right there and then while you are in the LTA building. You will have to inform the LTA of the lot number the bike is in. After the lay up you are not allowed to move the bike, not even from 1 lot to another lot for warm up. After that, get a season parking for your bike.

Hope that helps.

the inspection is when i want to start riding again when i got my license right? or even if i want to lay up the bike, i also got to bring for inspection?

any idea where to get those kind of plank, in fact i thought towing will be a better way, but i don't know who to contact.

TS,

You know what's the first thing you need to do? Improve your typing/spelling... Too much SMS does this but now you have a full-bodied keyboard to type on...

Anyway, why don't you check with the bike shop if they can settle it for you. Of course you have to pay them some labour fees but that is if you find it too much of a hassle.

But do check on the road tax part. Oct 08 to now is a full 4 months so LTA may not be so lenient on the matter.

Edited my starting post, will take note of that in future. will try checking up with the bike shop. my friend say he will take care of the road tax part.

hi botz,

1. for the change of ownership, do i need a valid license? coz i havent pass my tp yet.

2. Don't worry, i don't intend to ride it back, do u who i can contact to tow the bike? and if you know how much is the fee?

3. I know the inspection fee is $31, but how much does it roughly cost if i will do it at the bike shop? is the towing fee included?

Thx alot..

change of ownership dont need valid license

tow, inspection services varies

http://i44.tinypic.com/54c3gg.gif
hi botz,

1. for the change of ownership, do i need a valid license? coz i havent pass my tp yet.

2. Don't worry, i don't intend to ride it back, do u who i can contact to tow the bike? and if you know how much is the fee?

3. I know the inspection fee is $31, but how much does it roughly cost if i will do it at the bike shop? is the towing fee included?

Thx alot..

change of ownership dont need valid license

tow, inspection services varies

barefoot has answered ur question but let me break it up more for you...

1. No need a valid license to own a vehicle.

2. I do not have a towing number. Mebbe u can ask around. I normally let my regular mechanic call a tow truck for me if i have issues with my bike.

3. If u seek services from a workshop to do inspection for you, prices varies from each workshop. Price also depends on the number of mods on the bike. Towing fees is not included. Normally the bikeshop will pay in advance when ur bike reaches the bikeshop, you'll pay for the towing fees when u collect your bike + inspection services (modification corrections work to make the bike pass inspection or changing of any components that will fail the inspection) + inspection fees.

good luck!

http://i11.photobucket.com/albums/a169/changmao/ninedragoncafe.jpg

hi botz,

Thx alot..

1.no. change of ownership no need valid licence.

2. since the bike is physically at a bike shop...ask the bike shop for their towing services.usually from 20 to 30 bucks...no need to think about where to get plank and ur bike will be strapped down during transportation...I am quite sure ur bike shop has lobang for towing.

3. I dunno why ur inspection fee so expensive...mine is less than 20 bucks...but then I wasnt trying to inspect a laid-up bike...so...:sweat:

as mentioned by botzz...pay a bit more and get the bike shop to handle everything for U...just call and tell them what U want and get a quote lor...

FN XXXX L - Yamaha RXZ - 2008 to 20??

To be old and wise, you must first be young and foolish.

What are the odds of having two punctures, on the same tyre, on separate occasions, in a 223km ride?:dozed:

Bad advice bro..

TP won't be lenient with this sort of offence. MAJOR offence for riding a bike without a valid insurance and roadtax. Stuff must be settled before u can ride the bike.

Not only the TS will lose his just gotten riding license(if he has gotten it), he will lose all his other licenses (if he has any) and also a big fine with a probable jail term to go with it...

anyway, what will happen to the TS if he is involve with an accident that incur injuries to a 3rd party? No insurance, the injured party or family can civil sue the TS for injuries caused by the TS,,

I agree....share with U all this article...its about car but still applicable to bikes lar..

Source : http://newpaper.asia1.com.sg/news/story/0,4136,193597-1235339940,00.html?

10m drive, one-year ban

Man fined, banned for letting friend drive his car with no insurance cover

By Hedy Khoo

February 22, 2009

THE car moved at a walking pace for no more than two car lengths. That short trip cost a man $500 and a one-year disqualification from driving.

Car owner Leo Chin Hao, 38, had let his friend try her hand at driving his car at the National Stadium carpark.

It moved at a 'slower than walking' pace for 10m before he and friend Christina Pan were booked by two traffic cops for allowing her to use his car without insurance cover.

Ms Pan was also booked for driving without a licence.

Both were fined $500 and disqualified from holding or obtaining a driving licence for 12 months for all classes of vehicles.

The incident took place on 8 Apr last year at about 10.45pm at Carpark F at Stadium Walk, next to the Indoor Stadium at Kallang.

According to Mr Chin Hao, Ms Pan was planning to take driving lessons and he had merely wanted to let her 'have a feel of driving a manual car'.

He drove to a 'deserted and empty' part of the carpark and showed her how to drive it.

She then got behind the wheel and drove it, while he sat next to her in the front passenger seat.

He claimed that the car was 'moving at an extremely slow speed, even slower than walking, on first gear'.

Found out

Two traffic policemen who were at the scene noticed the jerking movement of the car and approached the pair.

It was then that they discovered that Ms Pan did not have a licence.

In mitigation, defence counsel Rajan Nair said that throughout the time that she was driving, Mr Chin Hao had one hand on the handbrake and the other on the steering wheel of the car to ensure he could stop and control the car when necessary.

He also claimed that he did not plan to let Ms Pan drive out of the carpark or to teach her how to drive.

Mr Nair added that the carpark was not in a housing estate and was deserted at the time of the offence.

But one of the two traffic police officers, Corporal Cheng Chee Mun, said the carpark was not empty during that time.

District Court Judge Salina Ishak, in passing judgment, said that the disqualification was a warning to potential offenders about the seriousness of driving without insurance coverage.

She felt that there would have been a possibility that Ms Pan have met other road users and become a danger to them.

Judge Ishak added that Mr Chin Hao was not a driving instructor and while he said that he didn't plan on teaching Ms Pan, he had, in fact, given her driving instructions.

Mr Chin Hao has appealed against the decision.

FN XXXX L - Yamaha RXZ - 2008 to 20??

To be old and wise, you must first be young and foolish.

What are the odds of having two punctures, on the same tyre, on separate occasions, in a 223km ride?:dozed:

Temptations comes together in the package when you buy a vehicle without the required class of license. Are you sure you can withstand that temptation? I leave that up to you to judge. In the event that you succumb to it, just make sure you don't run over anyone or any small animals.

http://i11.photobucket.com/albums/a169/changmao/ninedragoncafe.jpg

Temptations comes together in the package when you buy a vehicle without the required class of license. Are you sure you can withstand that temptation? I leave that up to you to judge. In the event that you succumb to it, just make sure you don't run over anyone or any small animals.

Hahahahahahahahaha!!!

"Keep your friends close but your enemies closer"

Sorry, question again.

If say the previous bike owner has the inspection done in Oct 08, do i still need to bring it for inspection be it if i want to laid up or unlaid the bike? let's say if i laid up on 20 March 09 n unlaid it on 20 May 09.

Thank a lot:)