[Ride] Northern Thailand Trip (Chiang Mai) : May or Jun 09

Anyone planning to ride to Northern Thailand in May or Jun 09? Or anyone riding to Hatyai during May/Jun 09? Am planning a trip up Chiang Mai - 2nd trip if after my first trip in Apr to Hatyai for songkran festival.

Likely departure date on 11 or 12 Jun - most probably on solo trip up :D

Edited by Nozumi
  • Replies 24

just a side note, it will be really hot and wet up in the northern provinces during that time of the year. Not too good weather for riding the Mae Hon Son loop.

Thanks for the info. Will take note.:thumb:

Will be heading north east... heading for kon kean :cheeky:

Ok, if you finalised your trip - let me know when:cheeky:

Will see if can join you to go up to Thailand.

Thanks.:cheer:

just a side note, it will be really hot and wet up in the northern provinces during that time of the year. Not too good weather for riding the Mae Hon Son loop.

really hot & dry it will be.

other than the curves, nothing much u could expect in MHS at this time of the year.

Simon Soh

It's not the destination we conquered but ourselves.

Chiang Saen, Land of Golden Triangle

http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5254/5500744953_52f8f8de37.jpg

26th Dec 05' - 9th Jan 06' Northern Thailand Trip

ya lor..... the cool weather really bery song, very addictive also. :D

Simon Soh

Back from my 1st riding trip to Hatyai.

Smooth riding all the way up & back(didn't need to use any rain jacket:smile:)

Great fun :cheeky: at Songkran Festival in Hatyai. Yummy food :lovestruck:

My S4 didn't give me any problem :thumb:, only my additional 2 side boxes :sweat: - need to do some adjustment back at the workshop.

Coming up, preparation for the next trip up to Chiang Mai or further :D.

really hot & dry it will be.

other than the curves, nothing much u could expect in MHS at this time of the year.

Hot, yes. Dry, great. But frigging hazy due to the forest fires! Pity, cos the view is very nice, can't imagine if the air is clear.

But its still a fantastic ride.

hows ur ride?power?

I'm one with the machine! Haha.

Yes, my ride is perfect. Very reliable, very efficient. Can tahan 30 minutes of 1st gear crawling uphill without overheating.

hi, Neo, hope it could help u... ride safe... :cheers:

http://www.mapjack.com/

I'm one with the machine! Haha.

Yes, my ride is perfect. Very reliable, very efficient. Can tahan 30 minutes of 1st gear crawling uphill without overheating.

fn328k.multiply.com/photos

Life is short, Ride hard..........

Anyone going up Northern Thailand from 2nd or 3rd week of June? Expecting 3~4 weeks of travelling in Thailand - Free & Easy (may extend longer if cross border to Mynmar)

Cheers :cheeky:

Currently you can only get 14days visa at the border (Sadao etc), so if you want to do more than 14 days, gotta do a border run.

Some Myanmar borders don't count.

Oh.. thanks for the 14 days visa reminder. Any idea, which Myanmar borders can cross and get passport extended? Thanks.

Anyone going up around 11 Jun, can still PM me before this date.

Moderator - Please close this thread. Thank you.

Edited by Simon Soh
Anyone going up around 11 Jun, can still PM me before this date.

Moderator - Please close this thread. Thank you.

ride safe bro... enjoy ur trip.

its really hot at this time of the year, hydrate urself very well. :thumbsup:

Simon Soh