So kongfu, did you get your rain-coat??

Not yet...still considering if I should just get it or get another normal one lol.....Furthermore, only 1 series comes with the hood. The rest doesn't :(

• Replies 6.1k

Er... the better the grip, the better the traction which means less slip. Sticky, slick, whatever you call it won't 'stick' the bike to the floor for better grip and causing drag. You should get better F/C. Where you get your kopitiam theory from? lol

Anyway, downtown chassis is heavy, 125cc is under-powered to propel it, hence the worse F/C than an engine which is double the cylinder capacity. 125cc is 125cc, want faster machine, buy a faster one next time, no need change too much. They may give you better response, slightly higher top speed, or better F/C, but they all may be just placebo effect. Use the money pump more fuel or save up for the next tax/insurance renewal cycle better.

Anyone can ride a bike. Being a biker, is a state of mind.

Huh?? Softer compound tires will grip the road more, which WILL increase fuel consumption. The Stock Maxxis tires is like low rolling resistance tires - sustains the movement of the vehicle without power aka less grip.

Less grip, less friction, better fuel consumption.

More grip, more friction, higher fuel consumption....

And yes. I agree, no replacement for displacement.

"---- Still trying to lose weight ----"

Class 2B: 20 Oct 2011

Class 2A: 04 Jan 2013

Class 2: 01 Apr 2014

Class 3: 05 Mar 2012

Class 4: 24 Mar 2015

PPCDL: 06 Sept 2012

Please get your facts right. I do not want to argue over this. I am not shooting you cuz you p-plate or anything. Anyway, your fc is none of my regards. I shall not talk about this further.

Anyone can ride a bike. Being a biker, is a state of mind.

@topgear

Nope it still come with the shad i actually top up a little for de kappa

@parotae

Not only look like clown but chances are the collar wont fit your neck n water will sip in.

Btw i tot motoworld is at khaki bukit no? Which 1 did u get out of the 3? Anyway did it does what it is supposed to do on your 1st wear?

I bought the $140-$150 one.

If i were to buy again, i probably will buy the one without any lining inside but more expensive. Those with lining will be more comfortable wearing as it absorb the sweat and the rain coat won't stick to your skin when you sweat but one the lining absorb sweat over time and dont wash it, there will be a sour spicy smelly stink (hmmmmmmm nope not tom yum, tom yum smell nice)

I go for the non lining one as it's almost maintenance free. If sweat stick to skin, after take off or go home use water spray and hang dry. No smelly lining sweat smell after some time.

No lining is also more compact, hence very high price.

I dun own a scoot lah.I only have a small Honda cub(with only class 2b licence only).I noobs to motorcycle.

ignore the top sentence...hahaha.

why DT300I.

1-good fc(30-35km/L)

2-decent fuel tank (12.5l,1tank can travel at least 360km)

3-cheap servicing(1bottle plus eo,1plug,gear oil)

4-40k km belt,roller,u shoe replacement

5-FI

6-under seat storage

7-travel in sg is more than enuff

8-machine is much much cheaper compare to swt 400

9-able to travel at 110-130km(gps speed)when go touring

10-300cc single cylinder engine is decent

btw,I can ride shunoski bikes and he can ride mine as well.

My fuel consumption is at 25km/l since new :p Now use to it liao( Weekdays short distance and below 100km/h, weekend 2 up)

Wee Keong at first like my fuel consumption. Now his consumption around 30km/l.

He mention that if travel around 120km/h constant can get good consumption, if travel below higher fuel consumption.

Take it as a reference.

The best i like about downtown is the tires, so much cheaper that bigger size ones.

Maxsym is like double the price, WOW!

Have tried open full throttle almost all the time to lumut and back.

Am very impress with the engine. I just wack only, if not cannot catch up :p

Engine sound still swee swee.

The engine are more or less proven reliable.

Relatively low cost in maintenance.

Class 4 license fun or not? I also wanna get when I turn 21 (min age requirement).... =D

Can drive prime movers right??

prime mover u need class 5 and need to go psa take course and test.

the bigger the machine the harder to control.

try driving a 15ton truck into landed area,the whole road is yours,only left 2"/side.

2000-Yamaha lc125/2001yamaha tzr125/2002Suzuki gsxr400r/2003-Honda TA 200/2005-Honda wave S 125/2005-Honda S4 spec 2/2007-yamaha yp400/2008-yamaha R6/2009-Honda CG 125/2010-Suzuki Dr200se/2010-Honda steed 400/2011-honda cb400sf pb1/2011-sym joyride 200/2012-honda wave

Are you on stock tires?? Maxxis?? If that's so, that explains your decent fuel economy and sucky tire grip.

With Maxxis, I ride sensibly at legal speeds, can get 35km/L. Ride fast fast 33km/L. Then change to Metzeler tires (sticky grip I'd term it), drop to 30.5km/L. Then now Dr. Pulley 27km/L.

keep to stock parts for transmission.the engineer are clever.using aftermarket might cause faster wear and tear.

2000-Yamaha lc125/2001yamaha tzr125/2002Suzuki gsxr400r/2003-Honda TA 200/2005-Honda wave S 125/2005-Honda S4 spec 2/2007-yamaha yp400/2008-yamaha R6/2009-Honda CG 125/2010-Suzuki Dr200se/2010-Honda steed 400/2011-honda cb400sf pb1/2011-sym joyride 200/2012-honda wave

prime mover u need class 5 and need to go psa take course and test.

the bigger the machine the harder to control.

try driving a 15ton truck into landed area,the whole road is yours,only left 2"/side.

Actually, by prime mover, I meant the truck only, and without the trailer. So do I still need Class 5 to drive? I heard from a prime mover driver while learning 2B that last time he needed Class 5 to drive, but now Class 4 can already..... Is it true??

Otherwise, Class 4 to drive those 14" Lorries also shiok what. Haha.

keep to stock parts for transmission.the engineer are clever.using aftermarket might cause faster wear and tear.

Well, the only reason why I changed to Dr Pulley rollers is cos it was wear and tear replacement for me stock rollers. And since it costs me $45 VS $5x6 = $30 for stock rollers, I wanna give it a try lor.

Erm, to me, I believe - Engineers who designed and engineered the vehicle is to give the best wear and tear, but doesn't mean aftermarket products ruin the vehicle. The faster wear and tear doesn't stem from the products itself per say, but the way we ride the bike/ scoot or drive the vehicle IMO. With parts that make our vehicle go faster for instance, the tendency to ride faster will come onto its own. If we were to ride at the same speed as stock parts, I reckon, both will wear around the same time, give or take 5% mileage.

I bought the $140-$150 one.

If i were to buy again, i probably will buy the one without any lining inside but more expensive. Those with lining will be more comfortable wearing as it absorb the sweat and the rain coat won't stick to your skin when you sweat but one the lining absorb sweat over time and dont wash it, there will be a sour spicy smelly stink (hmmmmmmm nope not tom yum, tom yum smell nice)

I go for the non lining one as it's almost maintenance free. If sweat stick to skin, after take off or go home use water spray and hang dry. No smelly lining sweat smell after some time.

No lining is also more compact, hence very high price.

Bro you bought at mw khaki bukit n when u bought it? I need to go down n hv a look liao

Btw the non lining one oso drymaster?

Sorry for the late reply.

I bought from here.

MOTOWORLD BOUTIQUE SHOWROOM

161 Lavender #01-12 Singapore 338750

Tel : 63361126, 6336 0654

The sales guy (lavendar Branch), can't remember his name (John?) is very friendly and he will explain the product you are going to buy. Kaki bukit must see your face, if like you will explain, don't like you then minimum answers, that's how i feel but overall still ok. More range at Kaki bukit also.

I bought in March this year.

Yup non inner lining also Dry Master.

Go for what you like. I will choos the no liner one for storage and no sweat smell.

Water will glide off rain coat. I think have silicone coating that won't last.

Oh. Just realised, the front part of the underseat compartment cannot take a full face helmet. It can only take a half face/ open face at best.

Hmm....

Anyone knows how much does a Kappa 49L top box cost???

Decided to change back to stock rollers today (Got a new set). The Dr Pulley Rollers got cut, and that's why top speed is limited to 80kph at 10000rpm. I first experienced this 1000km after I first changed to Dr Pulley (Before hand, the rpm will change down, like it's changing gear). Took it out then put it back again, and it didn't have problems till 200km after.... So I thought to myself, aiyah, save the trouble and go back to stock rollers.

Also changed belt (it costs $84 excluding installation), as well as K&N air filter, which the mechanic cut out, and glued it onto the casing/ holder (Whatever it's called. Haha).

Total spent on air filter + stock rollers + belt + installation = $190.

Sorry for the late reply.

I bought from here.

MOTOWORLD BOUTIQUE SHOWROOM

161 Lavender #01-12 Singapore 338750

Tel : 63361126, 6336 0654

The sales guy (lavendar Branch), can't remember his name (John?) is very friendly and he will explain the product you are going to buy. Kaki bukit must see your face, if like you will explain, don't like you then minimum answers, that's how i feel but overall still ok. More range at Kaki bukit also.

I bought in March this year.

Yup non inner lining also Dry Master.

Go for what you like. I will choos the no liner one for storage and no sweat smell.

Water will glide off rain coat. I think have silicone coating that won't last.

Oh will go to de khaki bukit branch as its nearer to me. If they ai mai ai mai den i dun buy lor lol :p.

At this point i prefer de model with the hood but will decide when there la

Anyway thanks alot bro :)

Decided to change back to stock rollers today (Got a new set). The Dr Pulley Rollers got cut, and that's why top speed is limited to 80kph at 10000rpm. I first experienced this 1000km after I first changed to Dr Pulley (Before hand, the rpm will change down, like it's changing gear). Took it out then put it back again, and it didn't have problems till 200km after.... So I thought to myself, aiyah, save the trouble and go back to stock rollers.

Also changed belt (it costs $84 excluding installation), as well as K&N air filter, which the mechanic cut out, and glued it onto the casing/ holder (Whatever it's called. Haha).

Total spent on air filter + stock rollers + belt + installation = $190.

The belt for downtown is so cheap?

I was told my xciting belt will be 200+ zzz

Anyway, i guess i wont have de chance to change the belt for this bike ba lol

125cc and 300cc using different belt, that's why difference price. Haha.

My fuel consumption is at 25km/l since new :p Now use to it liao( Weekdays short distance and below 100km/h, weekend 2 up)

Wee Keong at first like my fuel consumption. Now his consumption around 30km/l.

He mention that if travel around 120km/h constant can get good consumption, if travel below higher fuel consumption.

Take it as a reference.

The best i like about downtown is the tires, so much cheaper that bigger size ones.

Maxsym is like double the price, WOW!

Have tried open full throttle almost all the time to lumut and back.

Am very impress with the engine. I just wack only, if not cannot catch up :p

Engine sound still swee swee.

The engine are more or less proven reliable.

Relatively low cost in maintenance.

How's your seat? project done?

Ok. My mechanic told me the steering cone of me scooter is actually lose - No wonder the front suddenly felt light, and one will have to do minor adjustments to the handlebar to keep the scoot straight.... That's what I'm doing and experiencing.....

For those like me who don't know what a steering cone is, here's a link I found on the web:

http://www.graham.curtis.dsl.pipex.com/Workshop/Steering/steering.htm

Will fix it soon. I think it's a cheap fix, just tedious.... Gotta take out the bearings....

Ok. My mechanic told me the steering cone of me scooter is actually lose - No wonder the front suddenly felt light, and one will have to do minor adjustments to the handlebar to keep the scoot straight.... That's what I'm doing and experiencing.....

For those like me who don't know what a steering cone is, here's a link I found on the web:

http://www.graham.curtis.dsl.pipex.com/Workshop/Steering/steering.htm

Will fix it soon. I think it's a cheap fix, just tedious.... Gotta take out the bearings....

Might as well get de mech to fix it instead of going thru de hassle

How's your seat? project done?

Yup done already. Not happy with the results. Drilled 4 holes under the seat to tension the cover. Then staple the strings (that tension the seat area) to the seat plastic.

The increase support at the lumbar section too rounded thus create pressure point at the back.

Overall still better than no back support but when dont want the back support cannot remove ha ha.

Oh will go to de khaki bukit branch as its nearer to me. If they ai mai ai mai den i dun buy lor lol :p.

At this point i prefer de model with the hood but will decide when there la

Anyway thanks alot bro :)

Yup buy what suit your needs.

As i use only for only scootering, the small and simpler raincoat is best.

If you are going to use it beside scootering then the hooded one will look more stylish to wear and walk around in the rain :p

Oh. Just realised, the front part of the underseat compartment cannot take a full face helmet. It can only take a half face/ open face at best.

Hmm....

The front seat compartment can take a full face helmet, just not any full face helmet.

The front seat compartment cannot take an any open face helmet. Those cannot fit won't fit but those can fit will fit in.

My Fullface HJC Symax can fit the front

My Openface Mfizz EvolutionII cannot fit the front.

Conclusion: The front seat compartment can only fit certain full face/open face helmets.

The last time I put a helmet in the front part of the under seat was the free open face helmet MS gave with the bike. That was M size. Me head is L size.... Haha.

Kymco should learn from SYM on how to make deeper underseat compartments.... Make full use of the chassis and space available, and also to add front glove compartment storage area....

It's a maxi-town-scooter, and having small storage space really isn't good enough.

*And by the way, when I say I will fix the steering cone soon, I meant letting the mechanic fix it during my next service. Haha.

Yup buy what suit your needs.

As i use only for only scootering, the small and simpler raincoat is best.

If you are going to use it beside scootering then the hooded one will look more stylish to wear and walk around in the rain :p

Lol not stylish la but sometimes you might just need the hood so its better to have it there btw i oso mostly use it when i'm riding nia lol