Can't wait to put in full synthetic oil to see how it will change the performance of the bike.

Bro Parotae, are you planning to do the clutch swap they mention on the Taiwan forum?

It was either that or was thinking of changing to the Malossi ones later on.

For me, I'm fine with the bike after it is running. Just don't enjoy the moving off part and

how the clutch perform at low speed.

It seems in taiwan most facing this problems. Until 1 guy says he don't want to think about it anymore :p It seems in UK too having symptoms totally like yours too.

US model no one complaint of this issue. Maybe US using different parts? Need to confirm :)

For me, the vib is almost acceptable liao after the shoes thingy, still got 2 more parts i need to try.

Yup will try to get the rear torque driver to try. Don't know how much? :p

Then after that the variator.

Edited by parotae
  • Replies 6.1k

Looks like won't be changing the 2 items after all. Maybe not for the time being.

I just treat it as a modification lor :D because after change this change that comes to the same.

The parts that came with DT is already the upgraded modified version, wah if put Dr Pulley sure fly and fuel consumption goes up ha ha.

Whoa! Fortunately I'm riding the DT 125i, with a lot less power than the DT 300. Haha!

"---- Still trying to lose weight ----"

Class 2B: 20 Oct 2011

Class 2A: 04 Jan 2013

Class 2: 01 Apr 2014

Class 3: 05 Mar 2012

Class 4: 24 Mar 2015

PPCDL: 06 Sept 2012

Whoa! Fortunately I'm riding the DT 125i, with a lot less power than the DT 300. Haha!

Oh, sorry to disappoint you. Same chassis, so yours also will have the magic wobble :p

At what mileage did you notice this wobble?

For now, the scooter is working fine for me! =)

Today Kenna suan by people. I say wah I can corner so low can even scrape the lower plastic garnish that are not suppose to after the higher clearance. The person say I must have scrape against a high kern or corner on an uneven surface. I told him I corner 3 times all got sound coming out plus if road uneven I dont even dare to corner less I fall. If strike kerb due to carelessness I agree but not leh. Wah make me feel like goondoo ha ha ha :D

Can't wait to put in full synthetic oil to see how it will change the performance of the bike.

Wah so many choices!

Which one? Which one? Which one?!

;D

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v319/jeryll/b25a36a0.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v319/jeryll/4b5417e0.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v319/jeryll/127f6d08.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v319/jeryll/fd814715.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v319/jeryll/1eab3efc.jpg

Any one knows why Kymco only recommend 5W50 instead of 40? Although can use also?

Can you spot the Redline 15W50? Good stuff too - grade 5 oil

At what mileage did you notice this wobble?

For now, the scooter is working fine for me! =)

No issue lah if you don't let go of both your hands. Don't notice it lah until today when I realease both my hands to adjust my glove around 65km/h, as the speed drop while adjusting my gloves, the steering start to wobble and becomes more violent if you leave it longer. Had to grab it immediately ha ha like doing tricks. So I tried a few times and it only happen at the magic 60km/h ha ha. I remember back then when I rode 2 of my friends Vespa GT200 same thing but happens only at 30km/h.

Lol. Very dangerous man, ride without hands.

I prefer to keep my two hands on the handlebar. Haha.

Currently, am getting 35km/L even with "aggressive" riding - full throttle moving off and on the expressway.

Mileage now stands at almost 2100km.

Wah very good fuel consumption you've got there man and this remind me of a story yesterday. I kenna suan again, I said wha my scoot jiak oil. Then someone talk among them self I over heard but may not be talking about me. Got money buy bike but no money to pay for petrol. I bit not happy, though they maybe talking about other things and I cut in and say. If bike suppose to drink petrol I can understand ( like silver wing or sport bike or bigger bike) but bike that not suppose to drink petrol, drink more than necessary then something is wrong. Then I walk away.

If you bike go 40km/l and mine go 50km/l what am I gonna say? Are you gonna accept if I say "Aiyah don't be so neow lah 40km/l still save more than other bike, why you got money buy bike no money to pay for petrol huh?" you think you gonna keep quiet and ok ok I neow I go back eat salt fish and porridge is it? Ha ha :D

Today Kenna suan by people. I say wah I can corner so low can even scrape the lower plastic garnish that are not suppose to after the higher clearance. The person say I must have scrape against a high kern or corner on an uneven surface. I told him I corner 3 times all got sound coming out plus if road uneven I dont even dare to corner less I fall. If strike kerb due to carelessness I agree but not leh. Wah make me feel like goondoo ha ha ha :D

...Continue

Then he don't believe me and proceed to lean my scoot all the way till the rear tyre contact patch is at it's limit and I was like huh!...... How come the lower garnish never touch the ground like it should when I corner???

So I LL tiam tiam, except for cannot be leh I got scrape leh. So I look like a bloody fool and liar then :p

Did u ask him to press the bike down coz the back suspension will also depress during the cornering?

Anyway, like I said, no issues with the bike after it has move off. The clutch slipping thing is more bearable

than before. If resolving it totally means changin a few more parts, I wun mind. Even if FC drop, I also wun mind.

Coz the FC is not really a major concern for me unless it is ridiculously high. I would prefer a more stable

performance.

Bikes ridden:

89-YamahaLC125, 91-SuzukiRG125, 92-HondaCBR400J , 94-YamahaVirago400, 94-SuzukiGSXR400R, 94-YamahaTZR125, 94-HondaCBR400NFireblade, 96-HondaSteed400,

97-AprilaExtrema125, 97-HondaCBR400LFireblade ,98-HondaShadow400, 00-HondaCB400VTEC1, 01HondaSteed400, 05-PiaggioX9180, 07-HondaSilverwing400, 11-KymcoDowntown300

2014-Majesty 400 2015-Silverwing SW-GT400 2017-Yamaha Tmax530

I have always like the Motul 300V , I suppose because of the Double Ester. But price very ex nowadays and

Motorsport doesn't carry them.

They recommend Silkolene instead. So I'm still thinking about it 1st. Afterall I have another 750km to go

before next oil change....

Bikes ridden:

89-YamahaLC125, 91-SuzukiRG125, 92-HondaCBR400J , 94-YamahaVirago400, 94-SuzukiGSXR400R, 94-YamahaTZR125, 94-HondaCBR400NFireblade, 96-HondaSteed400,

97-AprilaExtrema125, 97-HondaCBR400LFireblade ,98-HondaShadow400, 00-HondaCB400VTEC1, 01HondaSteed400, 05-PiaggioX9180, 07-HondaSilverwing400, 11-KymcoDowntown300

@synman

Yup I was wondering when he lean my scoot, how come never touch. Then I guess it must be my 80kg weight plus centralfugal force also.

I must fix a camera and video it and post here to proof it ha ha. That would mean landing my scoot on it's side and crushing the camera ha ha. Just feel like doing for the heck of it. Maybe this evening. So watch out heh heh heh!

Wah Motul 300V@ autobac $47.90 for only 2litres.

@synman

Yup I was wondering when he lean my scoot, how come never touch. Then I guess it must be my 80kg weight plus centralfugal force also.

I must fix a camera and video it and post here to proof it ha ha. That would mean landing my scoot on it's side and crushing the camera ha ha. Just feel like doing for the heck of it. Maybe this evening. So watch out heh heh heh!

Wah! Motul 300V@ autobac $74.90 for only 2litres.

Wah DT not worth to land sideways. Lots of things to change :p

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v319/jeryll/e206d020.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v319/jeryll/c467b948.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v319/jeryll/90a73c27.jpg

Sorry for bad picture quality from my iPhone 3GS no HDR :p

@synman

Wah! Motul 300V@ autobac $74.90 for only 2litres.

Anyway, though I dun play cornering, but the usual tilt tells me that this guy can go down more. ;)

Just a feeling.

U mean $74.90 for 2 litres? Wah that is ex. If $47.90 for 2 litres can consider.....lol

Bikes ridden:

Hey paithorn, I just discover the magic 60km/h wobble. It only happens at 60km/h only. not higher not lower. So magical ha ha.

Yes!!!! 60kmh when on idle throttle!!!! Damn irritaing!! But not always....

Side note, I also feel like changing spark plug lei....might need you to conduct a DIY session in future!

@ synman evening going home after work fix my iPhone to airbox side and ready to go. Once outside started drizzling haiz sian cannot film Liao. Remove go home. See how tomorrow.

Ya if 300V $47.90 I will inform you, we go stock up ha ha.

@ paithorn quite easy to change spark plug anytime any where but mind you, no difference in performance just longer service interval. Then again synman so sensitive maybe he can tell the difference ha ha :D

Bro Parotae, are you planning to do the clutch swap they mention on the Taiwan forum?

It was either that or was thinking of changing to the Malossi ones later on.

For me, I'm fine with the bike after it is running. Just don't enjoy the moving off part and

how the clutch perform at low speed.

I am an owner of a Downtown 300i SK60A, I have been in contact with bro :) Parotae, We have exchanged a lot information about our bikes and as he says, I have the same symptoms as Synman.

I have changed the rollers to the Dr. Pulley 20x12 x 14g and the vibrations when running on low revs were reduced quite a bit but now I seem to feel more vibration when the bike is stand still, maybe I am just getting to paranoid about vibrations.

My next move will be to replace the Clutch, I am waiting for a friend of mine to try the Dr. Pulley HiT , I think I have seen a Malossi clutch somewhere for the Downtown 300i but I cannot find it anymore :).

It is a bit annoying having to change parts so early but I guess that is the price you have to pay when buying a Kymco.

Please do not get me wrong, I love the bike it is amazing I upgraded to it from an agility City 125 and it feels like moving from a Renault to a BMW :), putting aside this very few issues I am very happy with the purchase.

Hi Juanpauk, first of all welcome to sgbikes forum :)

Your consumption is the same as mine. City riding will have higher fuel consumption. I have been riding on the street most of the time and very seldom go above 80km/h. I was riding in a mix of highway and city and I get 25km/l and recently I've been riding lots of city and I got 22.5km/h.

I have gather the information collected from paithorn and made an assumption that our current model will have the same consumption at a higher speed say maybe 130km/h -140km/h since paithorn get 25km/h when on touring.

We lose in consumption due to the LGE5 as compared to bro paithorn LEA7 when below the speed of 110km/h. I guess the switch from LEA7 to LGE5 variator is to improve the response of the engine by shortening the timing needed to rev the engine to the maximum revolution. I believed that LGE5 Variator will perform better in terms of acceleration.

There are many reason I can speculate here ha ha, just for fun to see what crazy idea or story I can come up..

Another reson could be due to the lower hp as compared to the 1st batch of DT which has around 33hp and later due to euro3 emission has lowered the DT hp to say maybe 27 hp. Imagine a powerful 33hp with a LEA7 should feel just as powerful as a 27hp LGE5. So imagine a 33hp LGE5 I believe can even do a burnout easily. So the incorporation of LGE5 to the latest DT could be that in order to compensate the lost of 5 horses which LEA7 variator may actually feel slower and weaker had Kymco putting in the LGE5 to make it on par to the previous version. It's all my assumption only, well ain't my story seems credible :p like telling stories ha ha.

I must gather the Taiwan forum article and make a note so I do not forget the important improvement that they had done so we may benefit from it. I regretted that I did not make a note and have to go through all the article again to find all the important points :p

I have discover from Taiwan forum that there is this sudden drop in rpm when the speed is increasing. I have tried and observe that it happens from 40km/h to 60km/h when you hold a steady throttle. When you hold your throttle when moving off say 5000rpm and when you reach 40km/h your rpm will start to drop, when you reach 50km/h it will be at 4500rpm. At this point the rpm will increase together with your speed to 60km/h and back to your original 5000rpm. I notice during this range there will be something like a twilight zone effect where you feel lost and disorientated as in my case and especially if you decide to give it more gas. To me, I have come to associate it with a 2nd gear change as like R/C cars running on nitro methane with 2 speed gearing. So DT do change gears no? 1st gear is 0-40km/h and 2nd gear is 50km/h and up. Just like a 2 gear motorcycle LOL!!!

In the meantime, just ride like it is :D

This will be a memorable scooter for me, where the fun is improving the comfort as we got too much performance ha ha ha!!!

Edited by parotae

I remember you mentioned this drop of revs before. For the last couple of weeks I have kept an eye on the counters and I cannot replicate this, my acceleration is steady and constant unless I ease off the gas.

My acceleration of the line is pretty good and now with the new rollers I can feel the extra power so you may be right the new variator is compensating for the loss of hp.