Yes, agreed. After you mention about how the original clutch felt, i remembered that the original kinna felt better with the slippage cause it felt smoother except like you said the vibration at move off is wah lau eh like pimple on your nose:D

Anyway my scraping cornering video is gonna be up except don't know how to edit video. Felt kinna lose traction during a very low corner and low speed u-turn - bad idea almost fall hee hee :p

• Replies 6.1k

Hi guys letting go of my j.costa variator and mivv exhaust for downtown 125 anyone interested do pm me or text me 96969984

======================

=== :dozed: [=^:^=] :cheeky: ====

======================

2004-2005 :: Honda Nsr 150 SP (FP5711T)

2005-2006 :: VeSpA ExCeL (FP2371K)

2007-2009 :: YaMaHa X1 (FBA9195H)

2010-20XX :: Kymco Downtown 125 (FBE9X2XR)

New Kid coming to the block!

Another Choice in the class 2A Category

http://www.objectif-moto.com/upload/11222635_kymco-xciting-400i-2013.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v319/jeryll/3b3316a8.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v319/jeryll/0e2c5db1.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v319/jeryll/9d20b4f6.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v319/jeryll/2cf38336.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v319/jeryll/8253496d.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v319/jeryll/fd71529f.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v319/jeryll/d89c4209.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v319/jeryll/ef49c6c5.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v319/jeryll/bbbe739b.jpg

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ib37wSp_TwU

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v319/jeryll/8e75a13d.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v319/jeryll/e1c4ace1.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v319/jeryll/53fa38cd.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v319/jeryll/b1567067.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v319/jeryll/3597b796.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v319/jeryll/9be6a9ed.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v319/jeryll/babec0d7.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v319/jeryll/de997500.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v319/jeryll/924afe1a.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v319/jeryll/1e296774.jpg

Edited by parotae

Now the head got a body to match.

Look more symmetrical now.

The rear light design look like the mask of cylon from Battlestar Galactica.

On a closer look, those multiple bars below the rear LED tail lights look like BMW car style illuminated tail light that looks as though they are glowing when switch on.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v319/jeryll/924afe1a.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v319/jeryll/72ccdb09.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v319/jeryll/fc8b953b.jpg

Edited by parotae

Wah.... not bad. You really scrap like siao......lol

Btw, what is your suspension's setting? 3?

You really don't pull back on the corner, not that it is really low but I kind of go slower on the corner.

I think you were doing above 5k rpm around those corner that you scrap.

Bikes ridden:

89-YamahaLC125, 91-SuzukiRG125, 92-HondaCBR400J , 94-YamahaVirago400, 94-SuzukiGSXR400R, 94-YamahaTZR125, 94-HondaCBR400NFireblade, 96-HondaSteed400,

97-AprilaExtrema125, 97-HondaCBR400LFireblade ,98-HondaShadow400, 00-HondaCB400VTEC1, 01HondaSteed400, 05-PiaggioX9180, 07-HondaSilverwing400, 11-KymcoDowntown300

2014-Majesty 400 2015-Silverwing SW-GT400 2017-Yamaha Tmax530

Eh...depending on how sharp the corner is. If it is wide than can enter at a constant speed into it. If it is very sharp, a very slow speed is enough to push the centrifugal force for the lean.

Yup rear sus setting is at 3. Enough static sag and no bottoming out even with 80kg pillion :p

Not that I like to corner but actually I do ha ha due to some reasons. Firstly it's very wasteful to see the rear tire center bald and the sides is still thick. Secondly it's the nearest way to get near the road beside falling (I'm talking nonsense here :p) it also act as an indication that something is worn if it don't corner like it use to... Something like that. Hmmm sound like an excuse ha ha. Just that little joy out of riding.

Actually you guys keep saying clutch slippage, I really think it is the characteristics of CVT. I think the problem is only yr gear ratio where you need such a high RPM to maintain speed compared to my "older model"

hahaa very long never log in also.. was kinda busy with work lei haha

seems like everyone enjoyed the downtown n xciting ridez keke\

Wah, firesaint the man!

Long time never hear from you.

======================

=== :dozed: [=^:^=] :cheeky: ====

======================

2004-2005 :: Honda Nsr 150 SP (FP5711T)

2005-2006 :: VeSpA ExCeL (FP2371K)

2007-2009 :: YaMaHa X1 (FBA9195H)

2010-20XX :: Kymco Downtown 125 (FBE9X2XR)

Yes for CVT there will be slippage. It is the characteristic of dry centrifugal clutch system like in R/C nitro methanol cars also. While traveling, a sudden wide throttle may send the clutch slipping a bit for it rev up and get a stronger lock in accordance to the speed increase. No mechanical back ground, just my theory. My scoot is not slipping as a matter of fact. I am very happy with the performance after 4000rpm that is. It is the initial biting point that is making me very uncomfortable. I have use a smaller scooter like the Piaggio SKR150 and Gilera 180SP and they don't have biting point problems when dry.

You see the problem is the stop go and low speed riding during heavy traffic situation or squeezing through stationary vehicle that is very irritating. Speed as low as 20km/h are common in my case. The rpm will be around 3,500 in the range where you need it most it slow traffic and it's vibrating like grooorrr grooorrr groooor tut tut tut tut something like that (exaggerating here) where as with skipper and runner I can going through slow traffic with the no vibration and I can feel the clutch cutting in and out without vibration. Low enough to free wheel and high enough in the biting point to gently power the scoot forward. With DT it's like low enough to free wheel but struggle with vibration to power the scoot forward during biting point.

Do Silverwing have vibration during biting point of the clutch, let's say if you throttle it slowly until the clutch lock fully?

Synman maybe a different case from me altogether ha ha ha. Seems like same scoot with different character :p

And yes I don't have problems with Gilera Nexus 300i i just don't feel the kick like DT and it's less powerful but very smooth. It is actually not enough power and I feel like wah lau very slow leh and the next thing you know it's already 100km/h. So was surprise that so slow in pick up but reach 100km/h already and still don't know. Ha ha maybe sppedo something wrong too optimistic.

For me the issue lies in the half clutch thingy and fuel consumption.

Just saw Kymco new successor To Downtown I think. Well at least it look like it. The loergonomic suggests suggest that it might actually be a DT replacement.

K-XCT

K for Kymco?

X for Cross?

C for Country?

T for Tourer

Kymco cross country tourer? LOL!

Similar face, cannot stretch leg and T-Max style pillion grip handle.

Check it out here

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jDiJLc68Ugs&feature=youtube_gdata_player

Edited by parotae

Wah lau eh!!!

just watch the video after I post.

It's a Xciting 300i or K-XCT

I think the model name should have been Xcitown or K-XCDT (Kymco - cross xciting downtown.

If machines can have sex, this will be the love child of Xciting and Downtown LOL!!!

Wah lau again. Things we want don't have and things we don't want have.

I've have always wanted to be able to stretch my legs - same cannot stretch.

The DT underseat storage space is almost good enough - they have to do away to fit xciting 1 helmet storage. WHAT!!!

The right dash pocket seems good can pull out - What! A horizontal and shallow box! What can you put? You better don't open the box while riding with things in it, especially cash card.

Actually you guys keep saying clutch slippage, I really think it is the characteristics of CVT. I think the problem is only yr gear ratio where you need such a high RPM to maintain speed compared to my "older model"

Actually, I didn't suggest clutch slippage to the shop. They were the one who told me it is. I'm only complaining about the vibration and stuttering at the start.

Did mention to Herbert about the gear ratio, but he says CVT no gear ratio, maybe at the output part.... Can't really recall that conversation.

I was suspecting the power to move the bike off too. So was hoping to increase my fuel injection or something to increase my power. That is why I said that if the problem can be solve , I won't mind an increase in FC.

Anyhow, I'm starting to get used to the "thing". So just riding and hope maybe a miracle might happen one of these days. ;)

Bikes ridden:

89-YamahaLC125, 91-SuzukiRG125, 92-HondaCBR400J , 94-YamahaVirago400, 94-SuzukiGSXR400R, 94-YamahaTZR125, 94-HondaCBR400NFireblade, 96-HondaSteed400,

97-AprilaExtrema125, 97-HondaCBR400LFireblade ,98-HondaShadow400, 00-HondaCB400VTEC1, 01HondaSteed400, 05-PiaggioX9180, 07-HondaSilverwing400, 11-KymcoDowntown300

You see the problem is the stop go and low speed riding during heavy traffic situation or squeezing through stationary vehicle that is very irritating. Speed as low as 20km/h are common in my case. The rpm will be around 3,500 in the range where you need it most it slow traffic and it's vibrating like grooorrr grooorrr groooor tut tut tut tut something like that

This exactly what I experience or shall I say "used to" experience with my DT until last night.

Basically last night going back home from work, I was stuck in traffic for most of my journey therefore my lovely clutch gave me a horrible concert all the way :cheeky:. Once I got to my car park area, I decided to go aggressive with this issue, no more cleaning or sanding the clutch shoes. This time I opted for a solution recommended on the American forum:

“Pull in both brakes hard, open the throttle, let go of the brakes VERY SLOWLY and not completely.

That will make the clutch slip and burn a bit, and essentially fix the problem.

Repeat 2-3 times and it will be fine”

I did exactly that for like 10 seconds and another one for 5 seconds until I could smell the clutch burning (evil smile) and the scooter felt SOOO smooth straight after. One think I also noticed was that it needed about 4500 revs to get off the line (maybe the clutch needed to cool down) normally my scooter can pull away between 2500 and 3000 revs.

This morning the bike felt really smooth all over, even during stand still periods the vibrations were back to what I would call “normal”. Also the revs needed to pull away came back to normal.

I don’t know how much harm have I caused to the clutch or if the problem will be gone forever???

For now I am just enjoying the smoothness of my DT.

Edited by juanpauk

@Juan

Great idea!! Anyway they said will replace any parts during the 1st year. Lol...

We are after all trying things at our own risk for the benefit of the new Kymco riders

which in turn will generate more business for the distributor.

It normally becomes better after I have "whack" the bike. The last time I got so piss off,

I simply let the bike fly even though I was suppose to run in the bike.... :(

So if any damage, I don't think will be as bad as mine.... :p

So I suppose you let it move slowly? Will give it a try....

I'm kind of desperate....wahahahaha

Update you guys later today!

Oh btw, your clutch pad is the original one that comes with the bike rite?

I'll try with my current ones and if it works, I will change back to the previous ones

as I kind of like the previous clutch.

Edited by synman

Bikes ridden:

Hey synman, with the new scoot coming... Yeah! The future looks bright. We are getting there :D

Especially K-XCT, looks like using the same power plant.

They are improving with each turn, I mean how much better can a Jap bike gets to!

I mean they are good, but they are more or less at a standstill in technology. The smaller boys will play catch up, but the Japs will probably sell their R&D for profit since it is a matter of time before their R&D is being exploited.

Cause once their patent run out, someone can copy the engine and redesign it. So I suppose that is why Honda sells their engine design to the smaller boys.

By the same power plant, you mean the engine or the clutch system....... ;)

Edited by synman

Bikes ridden:

@parotae

Hey bro, you mention that Autobach sells the Motul300V for 2L for like $74.90 rite?

Anywhere else that sells it? I know future scootering sells it for like $33/L.

Bikes ridden:

Just tried out this afternoon the method that Juan was prescribing.

Held both my brakes tight and rev up to about almost 6000rpm on the 1st try. Held it for like about 10 seconds. Releasing very carefully just to move slightly.

Did a 2nd run for another 5 to 6 secs.

Like he said, the rpm seems to need about 4000 to move off initially.

Subsequently, it went back to normal.

Vibrations at the start drop by almost 80% to 90%. I'm guessing it is because Juan has

the Dr Pulley that make up the other 10% to 20%.

So far the ride has been really smooth.

Will change back to the original clutch pad and try again.

Bikes ridden:

Smell anything funny? Lol. Yes this might make the vibration lesser as the pads are force against the bell and mate the two surface more evenly. The only problems is heat. This cause the pads to heat up and thus if hot enough will cause brake fade. Brake fade cause by high heat will loose it's traction/friction until it cools down again hence higher biting point when very hot. Once it cools down it will engage normally again. It's actually like brake pads, same theory. If you do alot of hard braking you will find that the brakes are less effective thus need more strength at the lever to make vehicle slow down. That is why, sometimes during hot weather or the scoot gets very hot the vibration seems lesser.

Yes, can smell that it burn after the initial 10 secs as Juan describe.

Subsequently, no smell.

Will update again tomorrow after work and see how is the situation. Can't wait to change to fully synthetic oil.

The engine rather irritating for me rite now. 400km more to go lol.

Bikes ridden:

@parotae

Hey bro, you mention that Autobach sells the Motul300V for 2L for like $74.90 rite?

Anywhere else that sells it? I know future scootering sells it for like $33/L.

In the MaxSym thread, someone went to Malaysia at change oil there at night. Location is on the thread. He service his MaxSym and change oil with motul. Not sure if it is 300V but too cheap to be anyway, 2 bottles(1litre form I guess) RM40! WoW!

Aiyah, paiseh sorry it's normal motul oil hee hee

Here's the thread

went jb last nite to changeout my EO at 500km, cost me 40rm for 2 bottles of normal oil.

after dat, i ride and noticed i need to rev higher at 4.8 to 5rpm in order to cruise at 90km/hr

before dat was about 4.5-4.7rpm.

hmm.. now gotta live with it for the time being.. EO changeout at 1000km again to complete my run in period.

the motul EO selling 45rm for 1 bottle of fully syn. next time can go change.. much cheaper there than in sg

Hi Synman,

I am glad it made a difference for you. I have done 40 miles already and still feeling very smooth. I really hope this is a permanent solution.

And yes I have the original clutch, the only parts that I have changed are the rollers and the sliding pieces for the variator.

I have a feeling that the original clutch will work better for this method the material of the pads seems that will burn quicker :).

Parotae, how much damage can you cause using this technique? can the engine be compromised or any other part appart from the clutch?

Thanks,

Juan

Edited by juanpauk