go change rectifier 1st. u'll need a voltmeter to check if it's charging correctly. attach voltmeter across batt and observe the voltage. rev bike. if voltage increase steadily, rectifier is charging it.

if new rectifier and still got problem, change batt.

but some ppl prefer the other way round, ie, batt 1st, then change rectifier. it's up to you.

for coil.... well... that one i dunno how to check. but if u change batt and rect and still got problem charging.. then it's ya coil.

cost abt $270-285....

you buy bike is like that lah. these 3 have to change one. no choice. might as well change together...

batt and rectifier change every 1.5yr to 2yrs... coil... last abt 4-5yrs. this is typical of all honda bikes.

advert:

=====

to future cbr owners! pls come get my bike! i assure u no problem! hoho~ those who have seen it... can vouch for it! (i hope...) haha~

030803 - 240806 CBR400RR FL211*U

010906 - 301207 2005 YZF-R6 FY98*8M

120115 - 161015 2006 FZ600N. FBA828**

161015 - ?????? 2006 VFR800A. FBE81**

• Replies 48.6k

• Aalex82

• fx110

• honam24

• RYAN KEITH SMITH

Originally posted by alpha82@Apr 30 2006, 01:45 AM

go change rectifier 1st. u'll need a voltmeter to check if it's charging correctly. attach voltmeter across batt and observe the voltage. rev bike. if voltage increase steadily, rectifier is charging it.

if new rectifier and still got problem, change batt.

but some ppl prefer the other way round, ie, batt 1st, then change rectifier. it's up to you.

for coil.... well... that one i dunno how to check. but if u change batt and rect and still got problem charging.. then it's ya coil.

cost abt $270-285....

you buy bike is like that lah. these 3 have to change one. no choice. might as well change together...

batt and rectifier change every 1.5yr to 2yrs... coil... last abt 4-5yrs. this is typical of all honda bikes.

advert:

=====

to future cbr owners! pls come get my bike! i assure u no problem! hoho~ those who have seen it... can vouch for it! (i hope...) haha~

wah 1 coil is 270 arh.... :cry:

i change batt onli...

ur bike is UPZ :lovestruck:

2005-2006 TA150 FR36XXL

2006-2006 CBR400 FL32XXE

2006-2007 CB400 PB1 FN18XXB

2007-2010 CITI ACE110 FZ38XXZ

http://hometown-art.aol.com/htp/clipart/entertainment_and_arts/Looney32Tunes/source/porky2.gif

Wah.. siao liao lor.. but how to test the Coil? cos my mech everytime use multimeter test nth happens leh.. but when long distance then tio liao.. cos i buy from shop to still got wty if can test the coil then can change it before the wty period ends.. haha... any1 knows HKL tomolo got open?

http://w1.bikepics.com/pics/2006/04/17/bikepics-566090-150.jpg

ThEse aRe mOi haMmiEs tHey aRe cUte duN theY..

-----------------------------------------------------------------

2005 -> NSR150SP - FU3335H

2005 -> GSXR400P - FORGOT LO

2006 -> CBR400RRR - FP5868A

2006 -> VXR RUNNER - FBA9929H

2006 -> SUPER 4 SPEC III - FW56Y

------------------------------------------------------------------

DicKy diCky dOnkEy, moTheR hAd a bAybIe.. BayBie Die MoTheR CrY.. DicKy dIcKy dOnkEy

Originally posted by Me_No_Money@Apr 30 2006, 01:53 AM

wah 1 coil is 270 arh.... :cry:

i change batt onli...

ur bike is UPZ :lovestruck:

lolx

help me pass word around to any of ya friends if they are interested pls~ thanx!

Originally posted by alpha82@Apr 30 2006, 02:06 AM

lolx

help me pass word around to any of ya friends if they are interested pls~ thanx!

2005-2006 TA150 FR36XXL

2006-2006 CBR400 FL32XXE

http://hometown-art.aol.com/htp/clipart/entertainment_and_arts/Looney32Tunes/source/porky2.gif

Originally posted by number17@Apr 28 2006, 12:36 PM

Yes....Bike in SG, only coz engine blew up to pieces heheh....

Even if put plate go out not fierce la, I ride safely on the road one le :cheeky:

2002 - 2003 Yahama Tzr 125 (FH1687Z)

2003 - 2005 Honda Sp 150 (FR9672K)

2005 - 2007 Honda Cbr FireBlade 400 (FN543E)

2007 - 2010 Suzuki Gsx-R K7 1000 (AU222D)

2010 - 2011 Honda Civic FD2 (S*******)

http://i80.photobucket.com/albums/j165/honam24/Bikini%20Bike%20Wash/My%20Bike/IMG_2304copy.jpg

All the way across the board with no limitation

Originally posted by alpha82@Apr 30 2006, 02:06 AM

lolx

I got friend wanna buy Fireblade, but he can oni register Class 2A in july... Hahaha.... Guess ur bike would be gone by than, and aso, can't pay u straight cash as well.... Need to do a reloan, think its bo hua for u....

-= I live my life a quarter mile at a time. =-

http://i570.photobucket.com/albums/ss143/godsendworx/mesh/supporters/Prankster_Siggy.jpg

Originally posted by jeriwajac@Apr 30 2006, 12:44 AM

Hey guys, just came back from town. My bike failed for the 2nd time. Couldn't start. When press the ignition, the cranking sounds goes softer till eventually die down.

Had to push bike up the slope at the far east plaza carpark, then push start down the slope.

Damn siong! Any1 can point out the prob here? 2nd time alreadi leh.

1) battery old and weak.

2) magnet coil not charging the battery resulting in battery weak.

3 rectifier gone

My brand new phantom 200 have the magnet coil problem last time. Brand new bike push start every day for the first week. The magnet coil inside got one wire block the magnet from spinning hence the battery is not charged when the bike is moving. As the bike use up battery due to headlight and other stuffs, the battery will become weak and eventually after start a few time, it cannot start anymore, dont even have cranking sound.

I will suggest dont anyhow change first. Waste money if change wrong thing. Bring out a set of those red and black wire with big clips at the end if you have one set and you dont wish to push start. If you are good at push start, then u dont need that cable. To use that cable, u put your red clip on your battery +, then clip to the other person red clip on his battery +. Then the black clip on his battery - and your black clip to your chasis which is ground (not to your battery -, will explode). Then start his bike first and idling a while. Then one minute later start your bike, should be able to start becos u borrowed his battery power. Then maintain both bike idling for 5 minutes with all headlight off. Then trottle you bike more rev more to charge up the battery. After your bike is started you can take out the wire reverse order you put them. This method is for those with weak battery or battery no more charges. Alternatively, u may want to try out bring your battery to bike shop let them charge for few hours until fully charge pay them few dollar. Then u try at your bike. If after few rides again depleted of charge means your charging system (magnet coil or rectifier) not working if you your battery is still quite new.

If your rectifier is working, u will see the voltage at the battery rises everytime you rev the bike. Normal without starting will be abt 12.something volt. If weak battery will be abt 11.8 or 11.9 volt, lower than that your battery can change already. I always use old battery as my table lamp or diy lamp by connecting a 12v light tube across it. Throw away too wasteful. When u rev, the battery should rise to 13.5-13.8v, higher than that means your rectifier gone, it shouldnt reach 14v or higher. Job of a rectifier is to convert the ac voltage created by the battery spinning in the wire coil to dc voltage. And job of voltage stabiliser is to make the saw edge voltage smoother. But bike seldom install voltage stabiliser.

Even if all things are not working, rectifier, magnet coil, battery. You can still start your bike. Moto GP bike all no battery one. They push start. So its not the end of the world. Its only a small problem. Maintain the electric sytem properly by switching off headlight whenever not in use will lengthen your battery lifespan. I always see many riders on headlight, idling, smoking, waste battery. EVery battery got few thousand charging and discharging lifespan. If you always conserve battery energy and ride long trips to charge battery fully, you battery can last u very long. My car battery lasted me more than 1 years 6 months now, still very healthy. Some others 1 year 2 months die already. Those whose bike always travel short city trips with lots of traffic jam, their battery lifespan tends to be shorter. Try to maintain good electiric habits after u changed new battery or rectifier or magnet coil. The habits will help to lengthen the lifespan of your equipments.

X1R for sale: Fully stock Oct 2010 mileage 20k $6.5k

Originally posted by vtec88@Apr 29 2006, 01:01 AM

blown to pieces?

what happen?

Riding constantly thru the gears at 14k RPM whilst having a blown gasket and temperature needle at far right....I pushed the bike during a 5-lap race at PG knowing the gasket was blown....Not a good idea :lol:

1 (or 2) valve dropped, hit piston, and the block became like a blender. :cry:

Singapore Pets Forum

http://i40.photobucket.com/albums/e250/cbr17/Picture018-1.jpg SURELY IT DOESNT GET ANY BETTER THAN THIS

Originally posted by number17@Apr 30 2006, 11:58 AM

Riding constantly thru the gears at 14k RPM whilst having a blown gasket and temperature needle at far right....I pushed the bike during a 5-lap race at PG knowing the gasket was blown....Not a good idea :lol:

1 (or 2) valve dropped, hit piston, and the block became like a blender. :cry:

hehe this is wat they call a fierce rider

Nice... problem i think solve liao.. just change rectifier at HKL 75.. and the connector daytona cost 55.. dunno got kena tok nt..

any comments?

DicKy diCky dOnkEy, moTheR hAd a bAybIe.. BayBie Die MoTheR CrY.. DicKy dIcKy dOnkEy

wat is a connector daytona?

2005-2006 TA150 FR36XXL

2006-2006 CBR400 FL32XXE

a connector to connect the wires "a plug thingy" then pluck the plug into the rectifier.. instead of joining the wires 1 by 1 to the rectifier.. the connector's brand is daytona de..

dunno got kena tok nt leh..

my bike oso sometimes have problems starting... i press the start but no sound at all... ive figured out that my fuse socket is loose... everytime i cant start i just press my fuse socket tightly and it can work already...

anyway, yesterday my gear suddenly become very very stiff and hard to kick... especially when im trying to gear down, i really got to use all my strength to kick... den when im at gear 1 stop at traffic light wanna kick to neutral the gear just wun move up at all even though ive used alot of strength... wad could the reasons causing this?? clutch plate? engine oil nv change??

Originally posted by Me_No_Money@Apr 29 2006, 10:56 PM

aiming to pass..haha...so long nv train liao....

Slacker mood..

http://i80.photobucket.com/albums/j165/honam24/Bikini%20Bike%20Wash/My%20Bike/IMG_2304copy.jpg

Originally posted by jeriwajac@Apr 30 2006, 01:19 AM

Anyone planning to or recently wash carb and tune?

Planning to do and planet say must call 1 day earlier and leave bike there for abt 1 day.

Got any place to recommend? Prefer to have it done within half a day.

Try go sanfu.. i goin on tuesdae..

Free bikini babe wash.....

Originally posted by Junyi@Apr 30 2006, 03:16 PM

a connector to connect the wires "a plug thingy" then pluck the plug into the rectifier.. instead of joining the wires 1 by 1 to the rectifier.. the connector's brand is daytona de..

dunno got kena tok nt leh..

Mm. y dun take the orginal wan...

Agree....

original de is the old system de... just wire by wire itself connected to rectifier

i just added in a plug.. he say can connect better...

Originally posted by Junyi@Apr 30 2006, 06:09 PM

original de is the old system de... just wire by wire itself connected to rectifier

i just added in a plug.. he say can connect better...

hmmm....

my mech give my for free one..... don't think cost that much anyway...

think u got chopped le...

hais... topid.. no noe guides me.. haha

Yo, anyone wanna go JB pump petrol tmr nite? Please sms me at 91441545 if interested..... I'll then arrange a meeting point.

Yo, anyone wanna go JB pump petrol tmr nite? Please sms me at 91441545 if interested.. I will then arrange a meeting point.