my car is mt & i'm new to driving so like to check with you guys about this which i think has no logic.

i was passenger in this car, then he told his wife he pumped v-power, normally he pumped esso. funny thing starts, he said v-power is gd!! cos when he pump esso, his car changed to 4th gear @ 100km/hr. when he pump v-power, changed 4th gear @ 120km/hr!! i was thinking is it possible?!!!

• Replies 21

my car is mt & i'm new to driving so like to check with you guys about this which i think has no logic.

i was passenger in this car, then he told his wife he pumped v-power, normally he pumped esso. funny thing starts, he said v-power is gd!! cos when he pump esso, his car changed to 4th gear @ 100km/hr. when he pump v-power, changed 4th gear @ 120km/hr!! i was thinking is it possible?!!!

what the driver talking man :lol: same rpm but he achieve higher speed just with different? his final drive just self upgraded by pumping v power? :cheeky: lydat i must also go pump liao since got discount now :angel:

thats why i was thinking the final drive should be set in a way. unless you change final drive. anyway, i just kept quiet & laughing in heart. but v-power really power, can make your mind power!!!

For AT cars, if you step harder, it will drag to a higher RPM before changing gear.

Maybe it's psychological that V-power is faster la. Subconsciously he stepped the accelerator harder, thus causing the AT to change gear at a higher RPM as compared to his normal Esso fuel. Which explains the higher speed for changing gear. :lol:

Soon he will realise the FC of the car goes higher. :lol:

http://i223.photobucket.com/albums/dd13/eedwinn89/IMG_4518-1-1.jpg

You can do the same at gear 3 or even gear 2, depends on what car you're driving. Petrol won't affect much unless you're driving specific continental cars which is proven with the change of petrol rating. :thumb:

what the driver talking man :lol: same rpm but he achieve higher speed just with different? his final drive just self upgraded by pumping v power? :cheeky: lydat i must also go pump liao since got discount now :angel:

:lol: you car maybe not, MS's car can. Proven :cheeky:

You can do the same at gear 3 or even gear 2, depends on what car you're driving. Petrol won't affect much unless you're driving specific continental cars which is proven with the change of petrol rating. :thumb:

:lol: you car maybe not, MS's car can. Proven :cheeky:

same rpm if increase little i still can believe, but ts say the driver said "120km" :lol:

aiya mine is pump wat also no diff de la :cheeky:

what i'm saying is for AT cars, when does it change gear? base on rpm or wat? i didnt say same rpm but higher speed. i didnt manage to see the meter. base on wat he said only. normally, his car change to gear 4 @ 100, now till 120 then change gear 4. possible??

Edited by ben2306
For AT cars, if you step harder, it will drag to a higher RPM before changing gear.

Maybe it's psychological that V-power is faster la. Subconsciously he stepped the accelerator harder, thus causing the AT to change gear at a higher RPM as compared to his normal Esso fuel. Which explains the higher speed for changing gear. :lol:

Soon he will realise the FC of the car goes higher. :lol:

i sat in his car always gota pray:bow::help:, man! he drive like crazy! i think he step on accelerator all the way 1. so i think there's no harder or not harder.:lol:

Final drive is the part of the last driven gear. Automatic gearboxes come in multiple variations now. The more common ones are the torque converter powertrain with planetary gearbox system.

Overdrive is the gears that create a gear ratio that equals to 1 or lesser.

The auto powertrained gearboxes like torque converters, automated clutches, LuK win clutch, ZF Dual Wet Clutch all these have a plus point. Normal manual clutches allow the drivers to clutch in and change the gear anytime he wants. So the speed, fuel consumption, all these are highly dependant on the driver’s skills. Whereby auto powertrained gearboxes change gears at a certain stipulated RPM when your throttle is engaged.

But there is such a thing called the gearbox kickdown. This is underneath the accelerator or within the throttle line. When the driver suddenly slams the accelerator hard, the kickdown sensor registers it as a ‘demand for more speed’ will either drop the gear to the suitable gear for optimized acceleration depending on the ECU or maintain the same gear and hold it longer till it reaches a higher RPM depending on the throttle input and the ECU program design.

Final drive is just the last part of the gearing. Gear 6 for a 6 speed gearbox and 7 for a 7 speed gearbox. Automatic gearboxes that operate on the planetary gearbox design does not have synchronizers to help engaging the gears. They use clutch and brake combination within the gearbox operated by valve bodies or mechatronics in newer models to create the correct gearing.

The correct RON helps to eliminate or reduce pre detonation. Which means before the piston hits TDC, the fuel is not supposed to be detonated. The fuel is only supposed to detonate with the ignition of the spark plug. So it does not help to change gears later.

jB has seen a cut out of a 5 speed automatic gearbox powertrained by a torque converter before. Should let him do the explanation.

Anyway, this training module 6 speed automatic transmission for BMW will be conducted in jB’s school on 26 June. Interested parties, let him know and see if he can make special arrangements for your participation.

what i'm saying is for AT cars, when does it change gear? base on rpm or wat? i didnt say same rpm but higher speed. i didnt manage to see the meter. base on wat he said only. normally, his car change to gear 4 @ 100, now till 120 then change gear 4. possible??

...........the speed, fuel consumption, all these are highly dependant on the driver’s skills. Whereby auto powertrained gearboxes change gears at a certain stipulated RPM when your throttle is engaged........

AT- Auto.. so dun have to bother when it change gear.. Juz let it change by itself.. why bother so much..

MT - Manual.. have to bother.. no no drag..

R r still blur after so many ppl reply u...?

Hopefully not..

Primary of a car - A shell with 4 wheels.. Oppsss.. tats my level of need.. hehe:cheeky:

We the safe riders, pledge to be alert at all times,considerate to other road users and follow all traffic rules so as to make riding a safer and more enjoyable experience.

We pledge to ride safely and stay alive.

Your friend is talking bulls.

Didn't know that changing petrol is able to change the gear ratio. :)

Past Rides

Honda NSR125R, Kawasaki ZX400-L9, Yamaha YZF-R1 2001, Yamaha YZF-R1 2006, Suzuki GSX-R1000 K2

Current Rides

Mitsubishi Lancer

My car put sticker become faster

Riot-Bike Co.

http://i90.photobucket.com/albums/k273/Riotbike/02ba5dfd.jpghttp://i90.photobucket.com/albums/k273/Riotbike/SimonsSideCarBike-1.jpg

Need sidecar for wedding photoshoot? PM me

You mean the "藤原豆腐店(自家用)"?

Past Rides

Honda NSR125R, Kawasaki ZX400-L9, Yamaha YZF-R1 2001, Yamaha YZF-R1 2006, Suzuki GSX-R1000 K2

Current Rides

Mitsubishi Lancer

something like this :D :lol: http://static.flickr.com/95/256555516_9d41a7c235.jpg

http://i60.photobucket.com/albums/h10/WesT_Spec-1/DSC00090-1.jpghttp://i60.photobucket.com/albums/h10/WesT_Spec-1/WESTSPEC.jpg

The Light Began to dim.. Music Fading out.. I Begin to Miss You

......................The Visual Cycle..........................

AT- Auto.. so dun have to bother when it change gear.. Juz let it change by itself.. why bother so much..

MT - Manual.. have to bother.. no no drag..

R r still blur after so many ppl reply u...?

Hopefully not..

Primary of a car - A shell with 4 wheels.. Oppsss.. tats my level of need.. hehe:cheeky:

hello, i'm not blur in the 1st place. if you wana play keyboard warrior with me, dun waste your time. keep those stupid "blur" words to yourself.

bludder... take it ez. sister nee is only joking. :cheers:

Take a chill pill dude. Think he don't mean it in a bad way.

Past Rides

Current Rides

Mitsubishi Lancer

uncle dun angry la ..

i tell u la wan ?

i think different cars change gear at different RPM/

my friend keep his Altis at 2RPM

mine chnage at 2.5RPM.

got taxi cannot tahan my slow acceleration

behind horn and flash me ..

but with V power , i think my RPM is lower at a certain speed leh

Alright, my bad. maybe i should use proper english word.. a better one, unclear.. as u did mention whether is it possible?!!

bludder... take it ez. sister nee is only joking. :cheers:

Been some time we didnt meet up.. maybe is time to meet up..

kranji?

thomson rd prata?

potluck? maybe u have new dish for us?:p

We the safe riders, pledge to be alert at all times,considerate to other road users and follow all traffic rules so as to make riding a safer and more enjoyable experience.

We pledge to ride safely and stay alive.

same rpm if increase little i still can believe, but ts say the driver said "120km" :lol:

aiya mine is pump wat also no diff de la :cheeky:

maybe downslope? :cheeky: your car pump whatever as long as don't ping or require towing can liao :p

possible, drag :thumb:

jB has seen a cut out of a 5 speed automatic gearbox powertrained by a torque converter before. Should let him do the explanation.

Anyway, this training module 6 speed automatic transmission for BMW will be conducted in jB’s school on 26 June. Interested parties, let him know and see if he can make special arrangements for your participation.

:lol: don't saboh me leh, I'm very low profile now already. I don't know anything about cars! :cheeky: I'm only trying to build one nia :angel:

Your friend is talking bulls.

Didn't know that changing petrol is able to change the gear ratio. :)

Hehe I don't htink he was talking about gear ration lol.. maybe HP gain? Which hardly affects asian cars IMO.

I put road tax sticker I can go a lil faster :p I got pay to use the road okay! :angel:

You mean the "藤原豆腐店(自家用)"?

I paste pizza or mac-no-nald can? then maybe can go velly fierce too while delivering food :)

something like this :D :lol: http://static.flickr.com/95/256555516_9d41a7c235.jpg

Not HKS? :cheeky:

Alright, my bad. maybe i should use proper english word.. a better one, unclear.. as u did mention whether is it possible?!!

Been some time we didnt meet up.. maybe is time to meet up..

kranji?

thomson rd prata?

potluck? maybe u have new dish for us?:p

Waseh food! :thumb: Lets talk in the TCSS thread :cheeky:

uncle dun angry la ..

i tell u la wan ?

i think different cars change gear at different RPM/

my friend keep his Altis at 2RPM

mine chnage at 2.5RPM.

got taxi cannot tahan my slow acceleration

behind horn and flash me ..

but with V power , i think my RPM is lower at a certain speed leh

not angry @ all. its just that "you dont know then shut up. dont act as if you know something, unwilling to post." seems to me like clocking post only.