I would like to take class 3 preferbly in 4 mths. Which would be possible? School or private?

I made an observation at ppl learning car at driving centre, the ratio of school learners and private learners are abt the same. If private is way cheaper, why would people still go to driving schools?

However almost all my friends are taking or took pte.

i most likely didn't mind spending abt 1.5k is licence attainable at this rate with sch?

pls advise tks...

• Replies 19

think first of all, if u learn from private is he able to book ur tp at ur expected date. I took private, imo better than school coz i no need to wait at circuit for the cars to move slowly... I learn in car park. My last 2 lesson in circuit really curse n swear man, book 11/2 hr only like 1/2 hr practicing.

Nobody dies a virgin coz life screw u up

if u really want a pte instructor, u can refer to here

if nt i can oso recomment u my driving instructor which i thk is good too... But he is at CDC. I only took a lesson a wk and gt my license within 3 mths...

if u really want a pte instructor, u can refer to here

if nt i can oso recomment u my driving instructor which i thk is good too... But he is at CDC. I only took a lesson a wk and gt my license within 3 mths...

that was fast... bt BTT and FTT will take abt 2 mths min to attain. That means u learn all the pracs in a mth?

I don't lnow about others but my opinion school is better. My mum took private many years ago and she made all my siblings old enough to drive, 4 of us go to driving school to take our class 3. When she was taking as private, the instructor was so half past six and taught her the techniques half way through.

I went to CDC for my class 3 and although it was more expensive, it was worth it. The cars have little "triangle" markings in the car for you. So it was like if the pole touched that marking, you turn 3/4 to the left, that kind of thing. So you just remember the sequence and when park, like pro like that. I remebered for my TP Test my tester gave me points for parallel parking. I asked him why and he said i parked TOO FAST so he gave me points on safety check. I parallel parked my car under 1 minute becuase it was so damn easy. I passed anyway.

To sum it up, it is really your choice. If you think you can drive, go to private. I prefered school because everytime got different instructor. Then they all got different technique. So can ask what technique can suit you the best. I recalled that once i even scolded an instructor in his face sia! He was critisizing my driving and not teaching me how to drive! He gave me my deserved chops and when i went to other instructors and told them about him, they say it was good for me to scold because everyone has different techniques for driving to suit you best. An example would be that although i am tall, i like to go near to the steering wheel. Different people got different preferences.

Just to note, i have a friend who passed on his TP 4th time and spent about 2.5k with a private instructor and i spend 1.4 k in school.

Sch goes by system.. so lesson is fixed with time slot.. and selection of particular or random instructor..

Private learn at flexible time..

For fee.. u need abt $2k for sch.. for private will be less den tat.. i only spent $1K..

If going for Private.. den enrol urself at centre to get ur BTT and FTT done den apply for PDL.. tat will make save a little cost and shorten time..

As for sch, enrol at centre, book BTT can also book for lesson only in circuit.. until u pass BTT get PDL, u can start going out to road.. after passing ur FTT go for trial test, u den allow to book for TP test.. it a longer process and time consume..

We the safe riders, pledge to be alert at all times,considerate to other road users and follow all traffic rules so as to make riding a safer and more enjoyable experience.

We pledge to ride safely and stay alive.

I'm currently taking school now and kind of regretted doing so since there's so many modules that I am familiar with due to the fact that I have a 2B license and I have to complete it for the sake of completing it.

However school has the advantage that you can practice on both manual and auto cars if you're taking your class 3 Manual Transmission lessons. Plus, school you'll learn the SOP's from a carefully crafted program modules instead of being taught halfway like some private instructors do.

:lol: I never believed in paying more and taking the school's system other than the 3 motorbike licence. Took private at bbdc, 3 months and I got my licence in one attempt whilst a friend who enrolled earlier than me took 6 months school. :rolleyes:

But then again if you're good i suppose the instructors will let you passs the modules. I remember i got 7 "stamps" at one time and i completed the whole sylabbus in just 11 lessons!

that was fast... bt BTT and FTT will take abt 2 mths min to attain. That means u learn all the pracs in a mth?

no la... i passed my btt and ftt 1 yr 8 mths b4 i go and enrol driving lessons... lol coz i scare FTT if i retake, no confidence to pass again... haha...

soooo how much did you spend in total and the cost?

1.4k i think. Can't really remember. I know. Expensive compared to private. I was taking my 2B together with my class 3. So i bo pian had to "go all the way and give it my best". Short of time and money.

i still believes if you dunno how to drive, ssdc will be the place for you. At least they will imply slighty more stuff than private instructors who will just sit beside you and busy seeing minahs or ah lian on the road.

This is a long term investment.. who knows it might save your life one day

Thanks for all the opinions, really appreciate.

One thing i don't like about schools are the redundant stuffs like automatic lessons... die die must take.

Pte wise, a PDL is needed before u can drive.... that would take months :sian: i'm itching right away...

crazydj: ur frd took pte TP for 4 times = $2.5k, my sis took sch TP 4 times = $4K :lol:

One thing i don't like about schools are the redundant stuffs like automatic lessons... die die must take.

Pte wise, a PDL is needed before u can drive.... that would take months :sian: i'm itching right away...

crazydj: ur frd took pte TP for 4 times = $2.5k, my sis took sch TP 4 times = $4K :lol:

haha correct school is stupid for those who knows how to drive or ahve road exp.

Class2B>TP on 22 May -Passed

Class 3>TP on 11 March -Passed

Class 2A>? start by 2009 may 22

Class 4>? start by 2009

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=92543&d=1235736836

I enjoy DIY:cheeky: always can reached 98475561/kwanheng"Jason"

1.4k i think. Can't really remember. I know. Expensive compared to private. I was taking my 2B together with my class 3. So i bo pian had to "go all the way and give it my best". Short of time and money.

:lol: so expensive, almost twice the price of my private which I already found it expensive because I took many extra lessons to be safe :cheeky:

I prefer to go for cheapest and/or fastest way to pass :thumb:

i still believes if you dunno how to drive, ssdc will be the place for you. At least they will imply slighty more stuff than private instructors who will just sit beside you and busy seeing minahs or ah lian on the road.

This is a long term investment.. who knows it might save your life one day

:lol: its the swimmer, not the swimming instructor :angel:

Choose wisely. ur goal is juz to obtain the Driving Licence..

in order to get tat learning is important.. process long or short is up to fate..

All the best.. :cheeky:

We the safe riders, pledge to be alert at all times,considerate to other road users and follow all traffic rules so as to make riding a safer and more enjoyable experience.

We pledge to ride safely and stay alive.

ya loh kY no need to rush, even pass liao also need to wait to buy car, after buy car also need to wait for COE to bid successfully.

well u left out one main one.. when one obtain his/her licence its a diff senario n issue tht they face be it fr sch or private. As nowadays most driver are less forgiving or lack of patience for newbie on e road http://thm-a01.yimg.com/image/e8f71883def51aaa. :)

http://i60.photobucket.com/albums/h10/WesT_Spec-1/DSC00090-1.jpghttp://i60.photobucket.com/albums/h10/WesT_Spec-1/WESTSPEC.jpg

The Light Began to dim.. Music Fading out.. I Begin to Miss You

......................The Visual Cycle..........................