• Replies 28k

• IceZ

• ben2306

• Arcfire

• paiseh

See lah...... dun buy my bike lah......now everyday at motordiam.....

Lol..... juz joking ah........ dun burn my bike hor..... :sorry:

What happened to the bikes? :cheeky: mabbe i can help

Originally posted by redhotchilli@Nov 16 2006, 10:50 PM

hey my bike is also at the bike shop.... maybe same problem as u... hahaa :sweat:

already 2 weeks no see it le.... :sian:

YA....bros.....what the hell happen to both your bikes....

Mitosis= i tot your bike just came out...and it was just some minor prb the other day.....

redhot=hmmm.....must be something damn serious ah......

So sori to hear abt both your bikes....which shop is it at....then maybe we can go down and see and see and see...and Use eye power to help it....live again.....hehehe....

Dnt get offended ah....Just joking.....

http://i180.photobucket.com/albums/x222/polabears/sideways.jpg

this may seem like a dumbass question, but wats d valve clearance 4? n how much does tat cost? n there's a lot of carbon in my pipe... i whack n clear also after 2 or 3 days its d same... n i'm using 98 4 petrol now b4 was 95 n still d same... dunno if tats a factor

http://photos.friendster.com/photos/12/46/4746421/125249541l.jpg

i'm not a racer, just an ILLEGALLY FAST RIDER...

Nov 2002 - Nov 2004 aprilia rs 125 (Suppu)

Nov 2004 - Jun 2006 chauffered by TIBS, SBS n SMRT drivers

Jun 2006 - May 2007 suzuki gsxr 400 (Benny)

Jun 2007 - ??? suzuki gsxr 1000 k1 (Spartan)

Originally posted by diablo_gixxer@Nov 17 2006, 11:31 AM

this may seem like a dumbass question, but wats d valve clearance 4? n how much does tat cost? n there's a lot of carbon in my pipe... i whack n clear also after 2 or 3 days its d same... n i'm using 98 4 petrol now b4 was 95 n still d same... dunno if tats a factor

Wacking your bike can only clear the recently deposited carbon. Those that have been left there since the beginning of time is difficult, if not impossible to remove as hardly people open their exhausts and headers to decarbonise 4 strokers. They usually only do that for 2 strokers. I'm not sure if its possible for 4 strokers anyway.

Carbon deposits do not depend on the type of fuel that you use(well...mabbe abit). The main issue is the tuning of your bike. Carbon is the product of incomplete combustion->Simply means that your bike is not burning fuel efficiently. This in turn points to the tuning-air/fuel ratio is incorrectly done, resulting in larger amounts of carbon deposits.

Basically valves control the power of the bike, when the rpm of the bike reaches a certain level, the different valves will open allowing more fuel/air to enter the combustion chamber.

When valves become too worn out, they become ineffective in regulating the amount of fuel/air into the combustion chamber thus affecting the overall effectiveness of the machine.

I'm not sure how much it costs... probaby in the range of a hundred or 2. Take note that the shims will cost $$ as well to replace. And while you are at it... get the mech to check on the timing chain and other components as you will seldom open the engine. And this will probably take days to a week.

Guest TheSquid

if ya doin that, do that note that u'll be drainin the coolant as well.

(esp for those who use water wetter or maxima blablabla. pls brin along ur coolant and distilled water. do check on coolant hose/pump, radiator cap etc also)

and since the carbs will be out, i usually check on them as well.

good chance for u to see if all the gaskets/jettings etc are workin fine

wat i did was to grind the valves + clean the ports/piston heads etc at the same time.

but since this MIGHT lead to carbon deposits 'droppin' in, i'll change the 4t as well.

since we dun open up the block that often, my as well do a through job while we're at it eh?

for those who are keen, the headers should be out also. good chance to play ard with em.

amazin... the rubbish i can type in my free time. hahahahhahaa

u guys r like d manuals printed out 4 g4s! haha! thanx man... or shud i say men... and how would i know if my valves needs servicing or repair?

Guest TheSquid

tick tock tick tock (think peter pan?) hehehe

anyways, i usually do it no matter what when i get a 2nd hand bike :p

Originally posted by TheSquid@Nov 17 2006, 01:00 PM

tick tock tick tock (think peter pan?) hehehe

anyways, i usually do it no matter what when i get a 2nd hand bike :p

Yeah same here... rode mine for a year and when the time came for tuning i did everything together. :cheeky:

But it also depends on the age of the bike.... for old bikes like ours, its better to do it at least once while you are riding it. Cos you don't know if the previous owner has done it before and when tat was done.

Originally posted by Arcfire@Nov 17 2006, 01:37 PM

Yeah same here... rode mine for a year and when the time came for tuning i did everything together. :cheeky:

But it also depends on the age of the bike.... for old bikes like ours, its better to do it at least once while you are riding it. Cos you don't know if the previous owner has done it before and when tat was done.

i wanna sent my bike for tuning ard jan next year.... a bit chim dunno wat u all saying... how much will it cost ard????

Don't be deceived by appearance;

Know the true essence that lies beneath,

This is what is the most important.

Guest TheSquid
Originally posted by redhotchilli@Nov 17 2006, 02:29 PM

i wanna sent my bike for tuning ard jan next year.... a bit chim dunno wat u all saying... how much will it cost ard????

which part do u find chim and need help in?

when u say tuning, i presume u r talkin bout the carbs.

servicing (cleaning) and synchronisin ur carbs usually cost $80

price does not include replacement of faulty parts

(eg. carb floats, main/pilot jets etc)

Originally posted by TheSquid@Nov 17 2006, 12:19 PM

if ya doin that, do that note that u'll be drainin the coolant as well.

(esp for those who use water wetter or maxima blablabla. pls brin along ur coolant and distilled water. do check on coolant hose/pump, radiator cap etc also)

and since the carbs will be out, i usually check on them as well.

good chance for u to see if all the gaskets/jettings etc are workin fine

wat i did was to grind the valves + clean the ports/piston heads etc at the same time.

but since this MIGHT lead to carbon deposits 'droppin' in, i'll change the 4t as well.

since we dun open up the block that often, my as well do a through job while we're at it eh?

for those who are keen, the headers should be out also. good chance to play ard with em.

amazin... the rubbish i can type in my free time. hahahahhahaa

Bro judging from what you typed.....the grinding u do it on your own....plus the other stuffs as well....???

Originally posted by TheSquid@Nov 17 2006, 03:03 PM

hahahaha... no la. i only kpo kpo only.

Chet...!!!!....Kena cheat again.....hehehhehe....tot u really did it....then...wondering how u get teh equipment and where did u find the space to do all those work.....

Careful with that smiley man... you might just get a warning letter.....

Anyway the cost of valve clearance, tuning, checking, replacing worn out parts etc etc should set you back by about $400 or so.

So start saving up if you are going to do it! :giddy:

Guest TheSquid
Originally posted by Arcfire@Nov 17 2006, 03:18 PM

Careful with that smiley man... you might just get a warning letter.....

Anyway the cost of valve clearance, tuning, checking, replacing worn out parts etc etc should set you back by about $400 or so.

So start saving up if you are going to do it! :giddy:

thanks bro kakakakaka

hope mods nvr see. :sorry:

ytd i go hkl tuning, after tat when i ride my bike, the feeling it gave me is jus like low fuel tat kind of feeling.. and when i stop, the engine stalled.. is the tuning not done correctly or annything wrong wit my bike ? can anyone gimme advice on tis ?

Originally posted by kohjiasheng85@Nov 17 2006, 05:34 PM

ytd i go hkl tuning, after tat when i ride my bike, the feeling it gave me is jus like low fuel tat kind of feeling.. and when i stop, the engine stalled.. is the tuning not done correctly or annything wrong wit my bike ? can anyone gimme advice on tis ?

go back find them.think they never synchro properly ba,or ur idiling too low. Worst case is ur carb float need to change and tat's gonna be expensive .

http://i133.photobucket.com/albums/q48/davidww81/gsxr400.jpg

2001 Kawasaki ZX150 FS9884K

2002 Aprilia RS125 FN8800K

2002-03 NSR150 FS7287Y

2003-04 Kawasaki ZX150 FT4246E

2004 ZXR400L8 FS8706Z

2005 Piaggio 125 FL6767Y

2005-06 CBR400RRR FQ3681D

2006-2007 Suzuki GSXR400MSP FK1005B

2006-2008 Wave-S FW4357C

Originally posted by kohjiasheng85@Nov 17 2006, 05:34 PM

can't say much.... need to feel it den can know. mabbe it WAS low on fuel?

Try riding it till its warmed up and see if it still stalls. Check on your idling as well... should be ard 1k+ abit.

Another thing to test. While riding and holding constant throttle, do a sudden increase in throttle and hold it. If the bike seems to struggle for a moment and slowly climb its way up den you are indeed low on fuel.

This also applies when your spark plugs have fouled. Tell tale symptom of fouled plugs would be a chopper sounding exhaust when you start your bike. Lousy response from bike when revving. Lack of pulling power and lastly, take some water to your bike before you start it and apply onto the headers. den start your bike and rev. If any of the headers evaporate the water much slower than the others than congratulations you have a fouled plug.

Otherwise if you live near boon lay i can help you take a look tonite. gimme a call if you need help. my no can be found in the link in my siggy.

got any shop to recommend tat does very gd tuning?