Haha we can hv a few stoppages somewhere we dun hv to reach there the fastest mah juz enjoy the senery. haha nieway wats the newest plate for G4? I've seen a FL any newer?

Leave the racing in the track

Orlando85

My bikes: 1st: Yamaha TZR 2nd: Honda CG 125

3rd: Hasquvana SM 125 4th: Kawa KRR

5th: Yamaha X1 6th: Suzuki GSX 400

7th: Gilera VXR 8th: Suzuki K4 750

9th: Honda CBR150 Now: KTM 200, RX-K

My cars: 1st: Mitsubishi Lancer GLX

Now: Honda Airwave

• Replies 28k

• IceZ

• ben2306

• Arcfire

• paiseh

Originally posted by orlando85@February 26, 2007 08:03 am

Haha we can hv a few stoppages somewhere we dun hv to reach there the fastest mah juz enjoy the senery. haha nieway wats the newest plate for G4? I've seen a FL any newer?

Orlando-latest i've seen is FM plate....but i heard there's a FN plate too...As for Pumping petrol in Jb...its just a small chilling out wif some of G4 riders..

Bear - Dnt worry shldnt be a prb to invite u as well..As for those who visits the forum often enuff...pls do come along for any outings....is great t see lotsa G4 all at one shot....

diablo- wah!...go PG ah....track testing ah.....hmmm..

http://i180.photobucket.com/albums/x222/polabears/sideways.jpg

G4 MARCH OUTING

Date: 17 march 2007 (SAT)

Venue : Kallang KFC

Time: 10pm

Members going:

1)empty (autoadd)

2)david + gf

3)polabears + Gf

Everyone is welcome....Please do leave yur contact no....tis is more for those who is a 1st time to the outing....Coz i believe frm the last outing....most of us here have already exchange contact nos...

Originally posted by polabears@February 26, 2007 10:42 am

G4 MARCH OUTING

Members going:

1)empty (autoadd)

2)david + gf

3)polabears + Gf

4)wizardofoz0531

Everyone is welcome....Please do leave yur contact no....tis is more for those who is a 1st time to the outing....Coz i believe frm the last outing....most of us here have already exchange contact nos...

I'll be glad to join in too.... By the way, anyone knows how much a riding jacket costs? And what brand to look out for? What about fullface helmets?

Originally posted by wizardofoz0531@February 26, 2007 11:16 am

I'll be glad to join in too.... By the way, anyone knows how much a riding jacket costs? And what brand to look out for? What about fullface helmets?

The prices range from 100+ to 900+ depending on brand, material of the jacket. Most importantly you must know your budget and what kind of jacket you are looking for.

Basically there are 3 types of jacket. Mesh, Textile and Leather. These 3 have different purposes/usage.

Mesh jackets are more cooling but some are not waterproof. Actually all mesh jackets are not waterproof but some comes with an extra raincoat or an innerlining that is waterproof. These provide the minimum protection as mesh is not the strongest material ard.

Textile jackets are usually waterproof, offers much more better protection(depending on the material as well). But of course its more hotter to wear. Some comes with a thermal liner which is great for rides up north and night riding. Being waterproof you save on bringing the extra raincoat ard.

Leather jackets offer the most protection. These usually are either cow hide or kangaroo leather. Kangaroo leather is the top in leather protection. Lighter yet stronger than cow hide. Much more costly as well. Cow hide is still stronger than textile of course but also heavier. Being less breatheable than textile makes city riding abit of a sweat.

So when you want to get a jacket you have to consider which one you need. Mesh is for hot weather riding as textile jackets are often not very breatheable. You should get a jacket that you will wear all the time. Not something you buy and then think its too troublesome to wear and leave it at home. It completely defeats the purpose of buying it in the 1st place.

Next for helmets, also set a budget for yourself but don't limit yourself completely just cause of the budget. Same goes for the jacket. You might have to spend a few more dollars for it but it'll probably be better than the other jacket by alot more than that few bucks.

Depending on your budget yet again, full-face helmets range from 100+ to 800+.

Brands range from mfizz, rjays and an assortment of jiapalang brands to the more branded ones like arai, shoei, agv and ogk.

For helmets, the most important is the fit. Different manufacturers have shells of different shapes so its best that you try out all the different helmets before you decide. Take note which helmet fits your head the best. It shouldn't give you a splitting headache when you wear it, yet able to hold on to your head like second skin.

Y not you give a budget of how much you are willing to spend and we can give you some comments.

Arcfire, thanks a lot for your detailed explaination. Honestly, I have not decided on a budget but i guess 100 - 200 for a riding jacket with special protection and padding will be good, hopefully with breathable material but of course the leather ones look great..... For a helmet, around 200 -300, been looking for a complete black one but its difficult. What do you think? Is it reasonable? Any shop around where i can walk in to try on a jacket and helmet??

Originally posted by wizardofoz0531@February 26, 2007 12:43 pm

Arcfire, thanks a lot for your detailed explaination. Honestly, I have not decided on a budget but i guess 100 - 200 for a riding jacket with special protection and padding will be good, hopefully with breathable material but of course the leather ones look great..... For a helmet, around 200 -300, been looking for a complete black one but its difficult. What do you think? Is it reasonable? Any shop around where i can walk in to try on a jacket and helmet??

Bro....u can try to go Chiap Lee Or REGINA.....they are just opposite each other....location-they're near AH-boy.....in kelantan lane(serangoon rd)....there's a variety and quite a few ranges....as for totall black helmet....its not really tat difficult...Arai/Shoei/OGK has it...if u want to check those tings out...gif me a buzz...dnt mind accompanying u....

G4 MARCH OUTING

Members going:

1)empty

2)david + gf

3)polabears + Gf

4)wizardofoz0531

5)bear aka xiong - 81578957

***)Almost forgot e lurkers~

-empty- â„¢

Originally posted by wizardofoz0531@February 26, 2007 12:43 pm

There is a handful of shops that you can walk-in to try out the jackets n sizing etc.

Mostly are along serangoon area. Chiap Lee for Arai, clover and abit of Rev'It stuff.

JR for Dainese jackets, Regina for Shoei, Alpinestars, Rjays. Chong Aik for Shoei.

Over at Short street you can find Motoworld for Shark, HJC, RS Taichi, Spidi.

For your budget, I'd be tempted to recommend you either rjays or fieldsheer. Fieldsheer is not available in SG buy you can get them through various stores in the US. In the range of 100-200 inclusive of shipping. Pretty value for money and some look quite gd. If you can spare the extra cash I recommend dainese or alpinestars. Go over to Regina to try out the sizes, then get them on ebay, you'll save a hell of alot of money. I'd stay away from the jackets at motoworld namely the rs taichi ones. They look damn hell filmsy to me.... not worth my money IMHO.

For helmets, i've heard pple complaining about the staff at chiap lee saying that they say muz pay $$ den can try size. Might be try so if they do... screw them and go elsewhere. For your helmet i would recommend HJC. They have pretty gd and light helmets. Motoworld carries them but sadly no approval sticker so if you can live with that then it'll be a gd buy.

Less expensive ones would be the Rjays and Mfizz ones. Quality wise up to you to decide. Some pple like to say, "Buy a helmet which you think your head is worth".

If you need any more specific details about various stuff can just ask.

hey thanx bro for the detail.. Mine is FL plate hmm wonder how old is it...Nieway abt the outing i can only comfirm on the 15 of March I'll PM u guys wether I'm joining or not. LOL I'm crossing my fingers that i hv no N.S commitment that day need u guys to check out my bike mayb you guys can detect early problems on my bike repair is still free coz on 1 mth gurentee frm shop.

Safety Rider Signing off

Orlando85

msn: [email protected]

friendster: [email protected]

Leave the racing in the track

Orlando85

My bikes: 1st: Yamaha TZR 2nd: Honda CG 125

3rd: Hasquvana SM 125 4th: Kawa KRR

5th: Yamaha X1 6th: Suzuki GSX 400

7th: Gilera VXR 8th: Suzuki K4 750

9th: Honda CBR150 Now: KTM 200, RX-K

My cars: 1st: Mitsubishi Lancer GLX

Now: Honda Airwave

G4 MARCH OUTING

Members going:

1)empty

2)david + gf

3)polabears + Gf

4)wizardofoz0531

6)abgnerd + no more gf *cry* (pending)

heh see u guys there. sorry ah cannot confirm cos I may have a sch camp one of the weeks after the march hols.

Originally posted by polabears@February 26, 2007 10:39 am

diablo- wah!...go PG ah....track testing ah.....hmmm..

hehehe i go c c look look only but very tempted to try...gonna start saving 4 suit n all d necessary stuff already... but 1st need to tune d bike coz after changing my exhaust not yet tune

http://photos.friendster.com/photos/12/46/4746421/125249541l.jpg

i'm not a racer, just an ILLEGALLY FAST RIDER...

Nov 2002 - Nov 2004 aprilia rs 125 (Suppu)

Nov 2004 - Jun 2006 chauffered by TIBS, SBS n SMRT drivers

Jun 2006 - May 2007 suzuki gsxr 400 (Benny)

Jun 2007 - ??? suzuki gsxr 1000 k1 (Spartan)

Originally posted by Naz@February 25, 2007 07:38 pm

Yep. Keep it between 2-3K RPM for a while till you feel it's nicely warmed up.

More than that for the first few distances, too many times, will kill your piston rings.

hi bro, thanks!! :)

changed the plugs and tried the bike again.

moving off, abit jerky..... like when we are out of fuel like that kind of feeling. kept jerking....is it normal? after about 1km of riding, then it went away.............smooth again...... is it a problem? or normal? i didnt change or do anything else to the bike, just changed the plug that is spoiled...

Bogey.

check is ur spark cable damage..

when u start ur bike ... do u hear any tick tick sound near the headers?

Actually the best way is to start and let it rest for a short min or so, and move off at low speed low rpm below 5.

There has been question asking, about whether to idle bike for 5 mins or just rode off,

and the best was rode off.

try surf around and u will find the answer..

Originally posted by abgNERD@February 26, 2007 09:26 pm

G4 MARCH OUTING

Members going:

1)empty

2)david + gf

3)polabears + Gf

4)wizardofoz0531

heh see u guys there. sorry ah cannot confirm cos I may have a sch camp one of the weeks after the march hols.

hey...no worries.....be happy....life's is abt having fulfillment and accomplishments....Join us and be merry....

diablo - i tot u've already started to race....but look C ...look C....is ok too.....if u're hands are ithing to try the track....do go ahead...its agd experiance...

bogey - Hmmm...personally...i do let my engine idle for awhile...abt 2-3mins...then still ride off slowly....

Guys.....those who may seem to haf prbs wif their bikes...do come down for the outings...then...those who are there...cld try out yur bikes....then we can haf a sharing session...

Originally posted by 102.1@February 26, 2007 11:02 pm

hi bro, thanks!! :)

changed the plugs and tried the bike again.

moving off, abit jerky..... like when we are out of fuel like that kind of feeling. kept jerking....is it normal? after about 1km of riding, then it went away.............smooth again...... is it a problem? or normal? i didnt change or do anything else to the bike, just changed the plug that is spoiled...

u saw any smoke after you change the plugs?

If there are, then your liners are wet due to the shot plug. Just a long ride will clear it off, no worries.

If it's smooth, then leave it and ride on.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v514/triprider/imgphp.jpg

Fer everyday...

is an adventure...

when you're astride...

a green monster..

WE SOLD OUR SOUL FOR ROCK N' ROLL

Hee.. i only can sit here n learn from everyone experience.. x)

too bad.. cant go outing.. if got.. oso take bicycle.. lols

Past Ride: FV5283E(KRR150) FL1135D(GSXR400RP) FQ1692K(CBR400RR) FQ2815S(NSR250RSP) FY7366X(Y125Z) FS366Z(YZF-R6S) FX8000A(Y125Z) FQ6261M(NSR250RSP) FBD1686U(GSX-R 1000 K8) FX8000A(SYM NEW FIGHTER 150) FBL2085E(YZF-R1 RN22)

Present Ride:

Live To Ride :popcorn:

Originally posted by RYANS@February 27, 2007 08:48 pm

Hee.. i only can sit here n learn from everyone experience.. x)

too bad.. cant go outing.. if got.. oso take bicycle.. lols

Ryanss- Dnt be a rush to ride.....when the time comes....u will enjoy riding too.....Bicycle is ok too.....tie yur bike to one of the G4...then pull u ah...hehehhehe....

G4 MARCH OUTING

Members going:

1)empty

2)david + gf

3)polabears + Gf

4)wizardofoz0531

lol.. Tie ar? like dat i prefer to clip 1cart to ur ride can?

like those selling ice-cream :hungry:

Past Ride: FV5283E(KRR150) FL1135D(GSXR400RP) FQ1692K(CBR400RR) FQ2815S(NSR250RSP) FY7366X(Y125Z) FS366Z(YZF-R6S) FX8000A(Y125Z) FQ6261M(NSR250RSP) FBD1686U(GSX-R 1000 K8) FX8000A(SYM NEW FIGHTER 150) FBL2085E(YZF-R1 RN22)

Present Ride:

Live To Ride :popcorn:

guys, gsxr1000 forum doing MO for gixxer tee... check it out if u wanna buy

http://photos.friendster.com/photos/12/46/4746421/125249541l.jpg

i'm not a racer, just an ILLEGALLY FAST RIDER...

Nov 2002 - Nov 2004 aprilia rs 125 (Suppu)

Nov 2004 - Jun 2006 chauffered by TIBS, SBS n SMRT drivers

Jun 2006 - May 2007 suzuki gsxr 400 (Benny)

Jun 2007 - ??? suzuki gsxr 1000 k1 (Spartan)