hello..new gixxer rider here....i have a small problem..haha

cant seem to figure out how to take out my rear seat. i heard its using the key..but i cant seem to find a key hole anywhere...can anyone help?

• Replies 28k

• IceZ

• ben2306

• Arcfire

• paiseh

Originally posted by tyrant1983@May 09, 2007 06:21 pm

hello..new gixxer rider here....i have a small problem..haha

cant seem to figure out how to take out my rear seat. i heard its using the key..but i cant seem to find a key hole anywhere...can anyone help?

its the same key hole u use to lock ur helmet to the bike, instead of turning anti clockwise, turn it clockwise..... last time when i first buy the bike i also cannot find... hahaa... :sweat:

Don't be deceived by appearance;

Know the true essence that lies beneath,

This is what is the most important.

oh hahaha i see...thanks so much

i see u all going track soon..i oso wanna go but no dough haha sianzz...need to get a job first..get some proper gear

how often do u guys go track? mebbe i can join in next time u all go??

so 23rd on huh.

How many people going? Hopefully not any showboaters around.

One of the times i went, this fkin idiot of an RVF rider kept trying to goad me into pushing faster while I was lapping. Dont really want to get on the track with such people again.

Things done so far:

Brand new rear suspension, new rubbers in carbs, serviced carbs, double bubble windscreen, voltmeter, Pilot Sport tyres, Did o ring + VAZ sprokets, front brake pump, gaskets + waterpump oil seal, Maxima CoolAid, 2nd hand rear hugger, 2nd hand front brake disc, Fizz Power brake pads front and back, 2nd hand front and back rims, Yusa battery, Reconditioned 2nd hand carbs by Planet, Front sticker number plate, front wheel bearings, new clutch plates, fortuna paintwork sponsored by spastic driver, Keitin tank pad.

Need sugar mommy for : Hel brake lines and top end overhaul.

thinking of buying gsxr400..

however i heard ppl say although it may be cheaper but it is a problematic bike??

true??

thx..

Attitude is everything you need

31/10/06 - 12/09/07 FR 7325 B Honda SP

07/11/07 - 03/05/08 FQ 2462 B CB400 version s

10/05/08 - 26/11/08 FR 1206 B CB400 Vtec 1

27/11/08 - 09/01/09 FBA 1784 K Spark 135

07/02/09 - 31/10/09 FL 3809 E CBR 400 RRN

Originally posted by gkdozer@May 10, 2007 09:23 am

however i heard ppl say although it may be cheaper but it is a problematic bike??

true??

thx..

Hmmmmm......How Many times haf i heard this sentence....and its normally the same kinda sentence...."newbie/just pass....Gsxr400...problematic".....I guess the regular forumers here....haf read such sentence over and over again....Yet...we're still holding on to our G4...and this thread is still alive...eversince it started like 2-3yrs ago.....NO HARM nor OFFENCE intended....just sharing my tots....

Problematic it may be...but its still cheaper in repairing cost compared to a HONDA or KAWASAKI....

HONDA-known for expensive parts

KAWASAKI-known for inavailability of parts so parts can be expensive coz need to import in...

LUCK is what its all abt when u purchase a 2nd hand bike or electrical gadgets....there's only to certain extend of checking of the bike tat u can do....all may sound gd and intact and lites/signals all working....throttling is smooth....BUT...BUT....mechanism...is like a time BOMB...when the time comes for it to explode(spoilt).....it doesnt matter who hands the bike is in....

Plus like one of the guys here say in one of the previous thread.....u buy a G4 for $2k...if it dies on u or u need overhaul....the cost cld come to $1-2K.....its still cheaper...compared to buying an RVF/FIREBLADE at bike price of $4-5k or $5-6K

G4 = $2K(bike price) + $2K(if needs major repairing) = $4K

RVF = $5K(bike price + $??(major repairs)= $5K++

Fireblade=$4K(bike price) +$??(major repairs)= $4K++

So do yur maths bro....

If $$ is yur concern...then the fig above wld explain tings....

If u're enthusiast of a G4...$$$ is secondary....

If u just want to ride a 400cc bike....there's always Super4...or Hornet 250/400...XJR400....

Pls dnt get offended.....:cheer: :cheer:

http://i180.photobucket.com/albums/x222/polabears/sideways.jpg

Excellent :thumb:

Just to add in, CBR400 maintainence is roughly the same as a GSXR400. In terms of costs, i would say that parts for honda are more readily available and slightly cheaper.

Luck and experience plays a big part in looking for a gd bike, be it gsxr400 or any other bike. But like polarbear has mentioned, mechanical failures are often hard to predict.

So, it boils down to how much YOU are willing to pay for a bike. Remember, no matter what you buy, you will still need to set aside at least 500-600 for emergency repairs.

Look at it this way:

Gsxr400 : Buy price - 2K+-, Repairs 2K+- => Total cost = 4K+-

Sell off slightly less than 2K => total depreciation = 2K+

CBR400 : Buy price 4K+-, Repairs 2K+- => Total cost = 6K+-

Sell off price unknown but probably will drop to mabbe abt 3K => Total depreciation ~ 3K+-

Rvf : Buy Price 6K+-, Repairs 3K+- => Total cost = 9K+-

Sell off price Unknown but will probably be about 4-5K => Total depreciation ~4-5k+-

Gsxr is a bike that is already at its lowest market price and there is very little chance that the price will drop any further in the next few years. Taking into consideration that you will spend an equal amount on any other bike with the same condition, you get a bike for less and lose less in the short and mid term.

That said, there are only a handful of gsxr enthusiasts that actually keep their rides in gd condition thus making it harder to look for one.

CBRs are aplenty but how many are in gd condition i do not know. Perhaps it is better for you to check out the costs involved in getting a cbr and rvf at the respective threads and make a comparison. Look at things objectively and make a decision based on you own priority. Cheers.

Originally posted by gkdozer@May 10, 2007 09:23 am

true??

thx..

when i wanted to buy my g4 tats wat everyone told me... my bike proved them wrong... only prob i had wit this bike was when my cdi got spoilt.... i believe some of d forumers here may recall tat also... i believe every model of bike has gd n bad bikes... its how d previous owners take care of them... like wat arcfire said it boils down to how much u willing to pay... naturally a person who really takes care of his bike will wanna sell at a higher price cos he knows 4 a fact tat its worth tat price

http://photos.friendster.com/photos/12/46/4746421/125249541l.jpg

i'm not a racer, just an ILLEGALLY FAST RIDER...

Nov 2002 - Nov 2004 aprilia rs 125 (Suppu)

Nov 2004 - Jun 2006 chauffered by TIBS, SBS n SMRT drivers

Jun 2006 - May 2007 suzuki gsxr 400 (Benny)

Jun 2007 - ??? suzuki gsxr 1000 k1 (Spartan)

If u love ur baby ur baby will love u back

G4 is nt problematic its juz tat sometimes the previous owner nvr take care of them....

Its gonna b the same if u get a RVF or CBR wif a $^^#$%^& previous owner

Dun hestite on gettin a G4 coz its a really fun bike to hav n wif a gd condition G4 in ur hand can anytime say bye bye to a RVF or CBR on the rd

Get one n njoy it like wat i m doin nw

CHERRIOS :cheer: :bouncefire:

Motore Bici

For your Motorcycling & Lifestyle needs

Originally posted by DemonicSaint@May 10, 2007 12:04 pm

If u love ur baby ur baby will love u back

G4 is nt problematic its juz tat sometimes the previous owner nvr take care of them....

Its gonna b the same if u get a RVF or CBR wif a $^^#$%^& previous owner

Dun hestite on gettin a G4 coz its a really fun bike to hav n wif a gd condition G4 in ur hand can anytime say bye bye to a RVF or CBR on the rd

Get one n njoy it like wat i m doin nw

CHERRIOS :cheer: :bouncefire:

yeah man... my friend just full overhaul for his gsxr.... the engine is almost like new.... a major difference in mine and his.... cost??? very little compare to other bikes.... :cheer:

my bike in my present state can be on par with RVF if not faster in pick up.... tested... cos drag race with friend.... his after overhaul is even smoother then mine... dunno wat can it do yet cos still under run in..... :giddy:

Don't be deceived by appearance;

Know the true essence that lies beneath,

This is what is the most important.

G4.. :thumb:

Been using G4 for about a few months now..

and i must say its a good bike indeed..

rumors state that its problematic?

I own an aprilia which people states as problematic also but

in my opinion..

Both never gave me such major problems.. and im loving them both.. :bouncefire:

people just pass down rumors from mouth to mouth.. They dont even own the bike and still say what others say.. without having their own experiences with the bike..

Expensive parts doesn't win you races.

Problematic? Find me a >9 year old , 2nd , 3rd, 4th, 5th etc hand bike that isnt problematic?

Regardless of the model, cbr 400, RVF 400, GSX 400, GSX-r 400 and even the mighty super 4s are all problematic. Its just that super 4s may appear less problematic as those who ride it mostly have the "transport" mentality. Sportsbikes generally get ridden harder.

When a bike is gonna pass through so many owners, you are definately gonna get some who takes care of it and idiots who neglect it. Remember, damage cause by neglect is compounded. When a changes eo every 10 months, piston scratches appear. The scratches dont disappear even if the next owner maintains it well.

Its an old bike, not as old as most people think, my bike is actually newer then some cbr 400s ive seen on the road. And it is definately not more prone to problems due to manufacturers fault. Just pure wear and tear. So far the only regular problem i heard about the gsx that is justified is the carbs, they seem abit dodgy. Compare that with the long running complain that Honda makes shi rectifiers or was it alternators for cbr 400s.

I am not advocating any particular brand of bikes, though im a gixxer/yammy fan. Its just that it is very wrong to think of a certain brand or model of bike as "problematic" through no fault of its own.

I will admit 1 thing, the frame of the gsx 400 is butt ugly!!!!!!!!!! What were they thinking when they designed the frame man....

(PS. I was the one advocating the merits of getting a bike at +2k and overhaul compared to shelling 400 for an overpriced, equally old cbr400)

Things done so far:

Brand new rear suspension, new rubbers in carbs, serviced carbs, double bubble windscreen, voltmeter, Pilot Sport tyres, Did o ring + VAZ sprokets, front brake pump, gaskets + waterpump oil seal, Maxima CoolAid, 2nd hand rear hugger, 2nd hand front brake disc, Fizz Power brake pads front and back, 2nd hand front and back rims, Yusa battery, Reconditioned 2nd hand carbs by Planet, Front sticker number plate, front wheel bearings, new clutch plates, fortuna paintwork sponsored by spastic driver, Keitin tank pad.

Need sugar mommy for : Hel brake lines and top end overhaul.

Originally posted by TheSquid@May 07, 2007 11:18 pm

braking.

do lemme noe if you find any? cheers

btw for what model de...

i saw a lot at IDEA motor....

You can give a try there...

Honda Fit 1.3GE - Honda CBR600 (SOLD - 2009) - Yamaha FZ600 (SOLD 2010) - Honda ST1100 (SOLD - 2008) - Kawasaki KRR150 (SOLD) - Suzuki GSXR400RR (EXPORT) - ChunLan CM125 (SCAPE)

Guest TheSquid
Originally posted by TnT@May 11, 2007 09:00 pm

btw for what model de...

i saw a lot at IDEA motor....

You can give a try there...

am sure u meant ideal motors.

nope, to what i noe, they dun have :(

cm55 i believe.

thanks for the look out bro !

Guest TheSquid
Originally posted by Arcfire@May 09, 2007 09:35 am

Dun sell your gsx lah... keep.....hahaha

bro, i got 2 so have to let go of 1 to make space for an upgrade lah.

btw, when are u getting back to track!? lookin forward to a ride with u man

Originally posted by TheSquid@May 12, 2007 01:53 am

bro, i got 2 so have to let go of 1 to make space for an upgrade lah.

btw, when are u getting back to track!? lookin forward to a ride with u man

Lol...... not so fast lah..... still getting used to my burgy ... and to bring to track i still need to take out main stand which is really a pain.....

Plus i got no full suit..... this bugger really easy to lose traction in a corner.

Guest TheSquid
Originally posted by Arcfire@May 12, 2007 03:20 pm

Lol...... not so fast lah..... still getting used to my burgy ... and to bring to track i still need to take out main stand which is really a pain.....

Plus i got no full suit..... this bugger really easy to lose traction in a corner.

awwww!!! havent had the chance to track with u bro.

really lookin forward to it.

er.. but maybe on a diff bike?

imagine u at track with burgman :giddy: :giddy:

give me the shudders la bro.. u damn scary guy

Originally posted by gryffindor88@May 13, 2007 02:56 pm

hi, since u guys were talking about new 2a riders getting a g4, i would like to know if the parts for g4 is still readily available even from the authorised distributor.

Yeah, new and 2nd hand parts are quite easily available at some shops.

Originally posted by TheSquid@May 12, 2007 06:02 pm

awwww!!! havent had the chance to track with u bro.

really lookin forward to it.

er.. but maybe on a diff bike?

imagine u at track with burgman :giddy: :giddy:

give me the shudders la bro.. u damn scary guy

No lah..... i'm not scary...... i'm a noob on track........ :sweat:

Guest TheSquid
Originally posted by Arcfire@May 13, 2007 06:41 pm

No lah..... i'm not scary...... i'm a noob on track........ :sweat:

i really have doubts in that. hahahhaa

cheers mate! see ya in track! :p

hey arc, saw ur old gsx400 at bishan inspection centre. was wondering how come female rider riding a gsx400 then saw her, think i seen her b4,so weird. after she park,then i realised its ur bike, and its her i seen in the worshop b4.haha...really coincedental. anyway, i'll be enrolling for my 2a 25may,and hope to complete b4 july.caz i got a bike waiting to be ridden. just bot it, its a suzuki gsx series bike.not ur RR though.so dun outcast me!! :cheeky:

mine's a gsx400fws.built in 1984. 59bhp.but i must start repairing and stuff. so gimme 1-2 mnths and i'll join u guys soon!

Trading Xbox 360 games. PM for any titles available for exchange.

Originally posted by swirlacer@May 13, 2007 10:04 pm

hey arc, saw ur old gsx400 at bishan inspection centre. was wondering how come female rider riding a gsx400 then saw her, think i seen her b4,so weird. after she park,then i realised its ur bike, and its her i seen in the worshop b4.haha...really coincedental. anyway, i'll be enrolling for my 2a 25may,and hope to complete b4 july.caz i got a bike waiting to be ridden. just bot it, its a suzuki gsx series bike.not ur RR though.so dun outcast me!! :cheeky:

mine's a gsx400fws.built in 1984. 59bhp.but i must start repairing and stuff. so gimme 1-2 mnths and i'll join u guys soon!

Lol... cool

Sounds like a real neat bike. Hope to see you soon on the roads!

Originally posted by gryffindor88@May 13, 2007 02:56 pm

hi, since u guys were talking about new 2a riders getting a g4, i would like to know if the parts for g4 is still readily available even from the authorised distributor.

scrap yard got plenty! what u wan, the uncle will find for u! as easy as abc!

Speed within Your Control STAY ALIVE