Need advise on which crusier to buy.. Daystar or Phantom??

Currently driving car.. bike will only be use for leisure (most probably own it for 1 year only).. Do not wish to huge depreciation.. HELP PLS...

Also where to buy? Thanks for help....

• Replies 17

Go buy a Daystar lah. Go bike shop and buy. I think the price now is about $500 for a year 2000 one. If more than that, don't buy. Very few people want to buy one, so you should bargain hard with the bike shop. Tell the bike shop owner that if you don't buy, nobody will buy. Then after one year, I think you can still sell for a few hundred.

erm.. clarify a few stuff first ar.. dun expect to get a daystar at 500.. not even 1k.. n if u did pay attention on e road there's more n more daystars around liaoz.. new ones for dat matter.. n true daelim bikes r not bad, but their original spare parts r ex compared to most other spare parts..

personally if i could afford it, i'd get a daystar to a phantom.. phantoms r juz too common.. n i hate e tot of it.. no offence, juz personal opinion.. once i was eating in sch, n i saw like 8 phantoms parked side-by-side at e carpark.. n dats it, i told myself i'd nv get a phantom.. phantoms r oso small, so to say, esp when compared to a daystar.. so if u'r thinkin of upgrading to 400cc cruisers in a yrs time, i think daystars r gd practice.. given e weight factor.. i ride a daelim magma now, 150kg, heavier den most bikes in class 2b range, but still 100kg lighter den shadow..

performance wise i wouldnt like to comment too much, coz i've not ridden either.. n juz for info, daystar got 2 versions, 125 n 150cc.. e older daystars may be 125cc, new ones all 150.. den phantom got 150 n 200cc, wif e 150cc using sp engine, drinks petrol in my opinion, abt 21 odd km per litre.. 150cc's cheaper anw.. 200cc's more ex, but has much better mileage, abt 40km/litre..

phantom 150 costs abt 1k-1.5k, phantom 200 abt 2-3k, daystar i realli not sure abt private seller price now, coz not many sales on sgbikes, but a gauge wld be abt 2-3k too.. dun bother getting from shop in ur case, since u onli intend to ride a yr.. depreciation wise i think phantom gives better security ba.. so far their juz as sought after yr in yr out, prices been rather stable.. if u maintain ur bike well, i'm pretty sure u'd be able to sell it a yr later at e same price u got it.. daystars might be harder to get rid of, but dey'r definitely not as shunned as previously mentioned..

Originally posted by maniahk@Oct 25 2006, 11:26 AM

if u maintain ur bike well, i'm pretty sure u'd be able to sell it a yr later at e same price u got it...

This is impossible. No modern bike has 0% depreciation.

Are you sure about the pricing or not? Don't sabo people leh. I bought a Daystar more than 2 years ago at close to a thousand dollars only. At that time I went to a bikeshop and it was selling at one thousand plus only. At the start of this year, there was this guy who was selling his Daystar for $600-$700 also lor. Anything above a thousand dollars for a Daystar, please don't buy hor. You will lose a lot of money.

How about a Suzuki GN125?

Cheap and reliable machine. I rode it as my first bike for 3+ years. No problems, light with good pickup, easy to handle, easy and cheap to maintain.

1992: Suzuki GN125

1995: Suzuki Intruder 400

2000: BMW R1100R

2006: Harley Davidson Sportster 1200 Low

2008: BMW F800ST

2011: BMW R1200R Classic (still riding)

2015: Harley Davidson Low Rider

Originally posted by cgl@Oct 25 2006, 02:22 PM

How about a Suzuki GN125?

Cheap and reliable machine. I rode it as my first bike for 3+ years. No problems, light with good pickup, easy to handle, easy and cheap to maintain.

Good pick up for the GN 125? I was told by a previous owner that they are weak and puny. I don't know, that's what I was told.

Depends on what you are comparing with. For a 2B bike, it is quite okay as it is light. Doesn't pick up as fast as RXZ or the likes, of course.

1992: Suzuki GN125

1995: Suzuki Intruder 400

2000: BMW R1100R

2006: Harley Davidson Sportster 1200 Low

2008: BMW F800ST

2011: BMW R1200R Classic (still riding)

2015: Harley Davidson Low Rider

get a magma lah... FQ FR plate can liao. Costing will be less than a thousand. I saw one 4 years ago selling for $1200. My friend bough one recently at $600. Its a good bike but since its an old machine, it requires a bit of care. Daystar is nice too, but I personally prefer magma coz it looks fiercer. Daystar has more of a classic look.

If you can find a good deal for the shadow 125, that would also be a good buy. :smile:

VTX 1800 R2 - My Red AXE

http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1277/1364068165_c2c3d6b1e3.jpg

ENDLESS ROADS ~ TAKE THEM SLOW

Originally posted by kiamh@Oct 25 2006, 01:39 PM

This is impossible. No modern bike has 0% depreciation.

Why not? :confused: Just need to wait for quite a while that's all.... I sold off my previous bike at a higher price than what I bought it for.

Can be done.. with a bit of patience and luck. Appearance and maintenance of the bike plays a big part. Else, it's down to your salesmenship.

Cheers :smile:

VTX 1800 R2 - My Red AXE

http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1277/1364068165_c2c3d6b1e3.jpg

ENDLESS ROADS ~ TAKE THEM SLOW

Originally posted by Penguin@Oct 25 2006, 09:46 PM

Why not? :confused: Just need to wait for quite a while that's all.... I sold off my previous bike at a higher price than what I bought it for.

Can be done.. with a bit of patience and luck. Appearance and maintenance of the bike plays a big part. Else, it's down to your salesmenship.

Cheers :smile:

How long did u have the bike? If you sold it after 1 year at a higher price, then I'm very surprised... congratulations though.... :thumb:

Great Advises!! definately help newbie like me make a sound decision. btw last question any specific shop i should go to for purchase (and any shop is should aviod)?

I would advise against going to CKA to buy Daelim bikes. You buy one today at $4000, tommorrow you want to sell $2000 also got problem. There's this shop at Macpherson Rd, opposite the Mazda showroom got Daystar I think. Should be not very expensive. But condition you must check it out yourself.

Originally posted by tleong@Oct 29 2006, 04:31 PM

Great Advises!! definately help newbie like me make a sound decision. btw last question any specific shop i should go to for purchase (and any shop is should aviod)?

If you are going to upgrade your bike to another class in a year time, better to wait around lurking in the forum for a good bargain instead.

Four wheels move the body. Two wheels move the soul.