Cagiva Planet

Originally posted by Gauntlet@Jun 9 2004, 02:45 AM

i believe the 1.5 liters is inside just cant get into the carbs...

u have the same prob?

any kinked hoses around the carb area?

small particles in the hoses?

• Replies 1.2k

hi guys, finally got my bike back in working condition. replacing the piston cost $300. Heartpain, but what choice? Also, because there were no spare parts on hand to replace my choke cable, I now have a mito choke lever located under my fuel tank. haha.

a question i have, what tyres do you all recommend using? cause might need to change mine within the next few months.

Originally posted by Gauntlet@Jun 20 2004, 03:27 PM

nothin seems wrong leh..

everyting looks okie..

okie, let me see if i get you correct,

when ever the fuel tank is low on fuel, your bike goes dead even though you are suppose to have at least 1.5 - 2 litres of fuel left?

or you ran till your bike have absolutely no fuel, when you pump petrol, you can only get in 11 litres?

carbs will contain some fuel, so will the fuel line from the tank to the carb. but that should not take one litre.

actually, you better describe the problem to me again. i'm a bit confused now.

Originally posted by biscuit@Jun 20 2004, 07:11 PM

a question i have, what tyres do you all recommend using? cause might need to change mine within the next few months.

i recommend GPR70Sp from dunlop. 110/70 front, 140/60 rear. stock for rear is 150/60. your choice. wider contact patch for 140 rear when you lean. both are fine.

price wise is around $230 - $280. depending on where you get it. Excel has it but it's around the $280 range. HKL has it cheapest. but just change your tires only and insist on your specs.

it's race compound. soft and sticky when it's warmed up. gives confidence when you lean. not bad in the wet.

previously i had the stock tires. michelin pilot sport. expensive and it's Z rated, so quite a silly choice for stock tire by cagiva. never gets warmed up enough to get sticky.

another would be Pirelli dragon. i have never tried this tires before, so no comment. just get H rated ones.

fyi , heard cagiva has released a new planet n named it cagiva raptor 125 . exhuast is the small one .

i think my bike batt is dead.

starting problems coming up again... more and more trouble.. hmm...

boring....going for a checkup soon..

the yb9b yusa batt... sg got yusa sole agent or not ?

if not get from where.. ard how much?

i having been redlining my bike almost all the time... rushing from place to place..

i was wondering if that will damage the planet charging system or electrical system in anyway? or probably damage the mechanical side of things???

saw my charging for batty todae.. max i can achieve is 13v

if my charging is dead .. wat are the list of parts i gotta chaange??

might wanna go find the scrappy planet i saw the other day.. and purchase those part .. fit them on my bike and try again..

now probably the mechanical part..

top end seems no power...

maybe i need to try other planets and compare before i can make this comment.

or rather i need someone to try my planet to see if its normal or not ....

freak day...

nrealy got into 2 accidents during peak hrs in the cbd..

nearly died.... after missing the close shave ... i just frozed.. nearly placing a blue sign board on the rd just now man.

maybe one day if my planet died .. i would be happier... as least i am safer off the rd.

the fuel problem thing.

i was riding happily until suddenly .. the bike died on mi.

tried to push start.. cannot work... electric start... its cranking but just cant work..

after shaking my bike ( hold brakes and shake) for ard 5 mins... start again. .can start... move ard 3 km .. die again...

then totally cant start. ( push start or electric start)

from this time .. i check my fuel tank ( open up and look) inside still got fuel... ( used a torch lite to light up and see inside) i shake ... i can hear sounds..)

tried starting the bike (push or electric) cannot start... got crank but cannt start.

i pushed to nearest petrol station and i started to pump till full tank. ( to the brim)

i only managed to get in 11 liters only.

this leads to 2 qns

1) our tanks hold 12.5... that day i pump in full... 11 liters...

which mean in my fuel tank.. before i pump to full.. i shld have 1.5 liters at least or 1 liters at least in my tank. eunff to go for at least 17 clicks to save my sorry ass. Y cant i start the bike like usual that day? i wasnt even riding hard. hmm...

curious.. so i posted this thread .. dun flame mi... i was just puzzled. sorri.......

2) i got 1.5 liters of water in my tank?!

a recent trip with hangten to jb pump petrol.. i managed a exact 11 liters again pumping to the brim ...

i was shocked... becuase any more further i go... i think i probably have to push bike to petrol kiosk in jb.

super mar lu if it happened lor..

i check the hoses.. they are good...

shld i drain out the whole thing?... hmm...might be a good way to test..

wat was the max u have ever pumped terry? 12 liters? the remaining 0.5 is not so good to play with already... since it would be death is eminent if u are on the highway....

after this incidents .. even if i go jb pump petrol.. i will still go sg to pump 1 liters of 95 before going in..

dun wanna die on the rd man..

my advise ... when u feel the tank is low on petrol or reaching its limit .. better go pump.. never knoe where u gona die off... or maybe it just happening to mi..

long post.... sorri guys.. i am probably just sulking ... things are going veri well in the last few days..

Originally posted by Gauntlet@Jun 25 2004, 01:07 AM

the yb9b yusa batt... sg got yusa sole agent or not ?

if not get from where.. ard how much?

this one, can't help. i only know Excel will have the right battery. ask from your bike shop la.

i having been redlining my bike almost all the time... rushing from place to place..

i was wondering if that will damage the planet charging system or electrical system in anyway? or probably damage the mechanical side of things???

no you won't, no worries. mechnical wise, jus make sure your 2T pump's working an the intake level is good. meaning if you top up 2T every month, then suddenly change to 1 and 1/2 months, check hoses for leakage.

saw my charging for batty todae.. max i can achieve is 13v

if my charging is dead .. wat are the list of parts i gotta chaange??

like i always say, clean the rectifier connectors / battery connectors and see how it goes. should be able to go up to 14V.

if cleaning connectors don't help. 1st thing to change is always the cheapest thing.

1 )battery

2) rectifier (i got spare, if spoilt PM me)

3) alternator (very expensive , 400 and above)

there is a fault finding chart in this planet thread. read up on that.

top end seems no power...

meaning full throttle already no power? singapore got road for you to full throttle ah? lots of possiblilities.

1) sprocket sizes

2) loss of compression ( time to change piston ring or piston) usually above 70k milage

3) ass too fat. (time to load that coke light and stop munching burgers)

nrealy got into 2 accidents during peak hrs in the cbd..

nearly died....  after missing the close shave

spend some money on a riding jacket, mesh is cool.

snell approved full face is mandatory.

or load up on the insurance policy.

ride defensive or dun ride. lots of idiots on the roads.

which mean in my fuel tank.. before i pump to full.. i shld have 1.5 liters at least or 1 liters at least in my tank

owing to the different shaped fuel tank we have, it is possible to have certain areas where fuel is trapped. pumping full tank means pumping to the brim. do you do that?

a recent trip with hangten to jb pump petrol.. i managed a exact 11 liters again pumping to the brim ...

i was shocked... becuase any more further i go... i think i probably have to push bike to petrol kiosk in jb.

i have never tried to used up all my fuel, so i can't answer that question. i suggest you always pump when you use up 10 litres, easier to calculate also. i also suggest a trip to JB, via the second liink when my bike has run in completely and jettings all correct. that way, we will know for sure what is wrong. but it will take at least a month or 2, cos i super busy theses days.

then we can solve your top end question and battery qn all together. although top end is harder to compare as i weigh 78kg.

additional update info..

changed to yb9-b yusa batty at minvera.

there are stock for them.. but pls call to double check..

they would reccomend u to let the batt charge overnite by them and collect to install the following day..

which is wat i did..

those who need a batty change... hmm try going there?

my charging is at 14V after the batty change ! ... hmm....

werid..

over and out ! :cheeky:

Originally posted by Gauntlet@Jun 26 2004, 03:58 PM

changed to yb9-b yusa batty at minvera.

there are stock for them.. but pls call to double check..

they would reccomend u to let the batt charge overnite by them and collect to install the following day..

which is wat i did..

my charging is at 14V after the batty change ! ... hmm....

werid..

good to hear.

what they say about charging overnight is correct and very professional. they would use a trickle charger.

well, at least the price justifies the service.

for electrical problems, always start from the easiest/cheapest way to solve the problem before jumping to more expensive conclusions.

hello to all. Bear with me for asking a simple question. Having just replaced my piston, i was wondering what is the correct way of running in the piston. I heard from a friend that i should replace the engine oil every 500 km to remove any metal fillings that might have been worn off the piston, to prevent it from damaging the engine and gears.

Which leads me to my next question: where do we change the oil for the engine on the planet? I only know the tank for the coolant and 2t.

I only ride around 70kph on the eway, and the advice given by my friend is to do so until around 5000k. Is that too long?

As for performance, the acceleration on my bike has suffered since the piston change, but again this was attributed to a new piston, once it has been runned in, my acceleration should pick up. Is this correct?

All in all, so long as my bike runs, I'm a happy camper. Thanks for reading, any advice is much appreciated.

heard from a friend that i should replace the engine oil every 500 km to remove any metal fillings that might have been worn off the piston, to prevent it from damaging the engine and gears

your friend most certainly do not ride a stroker. 2 stroke bikes runs on gear oil. plse refer to this site for a very good explanation and not your friend who is giving you advice on how to cut a watermelon when all you have is an apple in your hand. :sian:

http://science.howstuffworks.com/two-stroke1.htm

read and you will realise the difference and where the 'metal fillings' that you friend says goes to. not into the gear oil my friend. read on the 4-stroke while you are at it.

recommedation of a good fully syn 2T to be used during the run in phase. motul 600 is good. available at HKL for $18.

only ride around 70kph on the eway, and the advice given by my friend is to do so until around 5000k. Is that too long?

ride with varying speeds up to 80km/h, with frequent gear changes for up to 1500km. you are jus running in the piston. not the piston and the block. try not to stick to a gear for too long.

accleration should not suffer. you should check if the valve checking sound when you turn on the ignition key is still there. 2 sounds should be heard. but the valves should have been cleaned when you last replace the piston.

i'll try to get the gear oil changing procedure up soon. very very busy theses days.

Guest Zellus
Originally posted by Gauntlet@Jun 25 2004, 01:22 AM

the fuel problem thing.

i was riding happily until suddenly .. the bike died on mi.

tried to push start.. cannot work... electric start... its cranking but just cant work..

after shaking my bike ( hold brakes and shake) for ard 5 mins... start again. .can start... move ard 3 km .. die again...

then totally cant start. ( push start or electric start)

from this time .. i check my fuel tank ( open up and look) inside still got fuel... ( used a torch lite to light up and see inside) i shake ... i can hear sounds..)

tried starting the bike (push or electric) cannot start... got crank but cannt start.

i pushed to nearest petrol station and i started to pump till full tank. ( to the brim)

i only managed to get in 11 liters only.

this leads to 2 qns

which mean in my fuel tank.. before i pump to full.. i shld have 1.5 liters at least or 1 liters at least in my tank. eunff to go for at least 17 clicks to save my sorry ass. Y cant i start the bike like usual that day? i wasnt even riding hard. hmm...

curious.. so i posted this thread .. dun flame mi... i was just puzzled. sorri.......

2) i got 1.5 liters of water in my tank?!

i check the hoses.. they are good...

shld i drain out the whole thing?... hmm...might be a good way to test..

wat was the max u have ever pumped terry? 12 liters? the remaining 0.5 is not so good to play with already... since it would be death is eminent if u are on the highway....

after this incidents .. even if i go jb pump petrol.. i will still go sg to pump 1 liters of 95 before going in..

dun wanna die on the rd man..

my advise ... when u feel the tank is low on petrol or reaching its limit .. better go pump.. never knoe where u gona die off... or maybe it just happening to mi..

long post.... sorri guys.. i am probably just sulking ... things are going veri well in the last few days..

Yoz bruddah~!~! long time nv come in here liao,looks like u are having a bad patch with ur planet huh, well, juz to share some experience, I had push my bike to a petrol station 2 times so far, damned tiring, haha, now i make sure that whenever i feel e petrol is low, i will go top up my petrol liao, dun be lazy is the key word, haha, and there was once when I push my bike to top up my petrol, my bike still won't start, den i scared malu, so i push back to a carpark, den e next day i go back n try start, it started, so strange, duno why, juz sharing aniwei, gd luck to all bros riding planet.

Originally posted by Zellus@Jul 3 2004, 09:02 PM

I push my bike to top up my petrol, my bike still won't start, den i scared malu, so i push back to a carpark, den e next day i go back n try start, it started,

next time, use the choke. it will definitely start. :goodluck:

Bros, I'm gonna want to repaint my planet due to some blemishes n chips to the tank... I would want to repaint the bike at the same time (single color).

My shop says that its plastic tank is difficult to spray, comments??

Plan to head down to yeow motors to get it done...

cheers bros

Originally posted by sky77@Jul 4 2004, 03:15 PM

My shop says that its plastic tank is difficult to spray, comments??

Plan to head down to yeow motors to get it done...

shouldn't be a problem, cos i have seen resprayed planets nicely done. i have seen white/red, silver/red, blue/black, orange/blue combos. all done nicely. dun know where they did it though.

tried ong and sons at defu lane? they have a good reputation.

Originally posted by terry@Jul 3 2004, 12:15 PM

recommedation of a good fully syn 2T to be used during the run in phase. motul 600 is good. available at HKL for $18.

i'll try to get the gear oil changing procedure up soon. very very busy theses days.

hey lets do oil change together as a grp la? steady?

maybe u post your free time terry then we try to match yours?

at the same time do some catching up and chit chat

welcome to the federations of planets sky77!

1)Terry

2)Hangten

3)Gauntlet

4)King_clement

5)Zellus

6)Seraphim

7)ryan lee

8)kin chong

9)biscuit

10)sky77

maybe we shld have a planet named after our bikes?.. kekke..

mars, jupiter, saturn?? whahaa..

kidding... :cheeky:

Guest Zellus

nice idea, but do we hav 10 planest in our solar system? heehee my sicence is bad, :sweat:

aniwei do u guys know wat shall i do before i send my bike for inspection? do i hav to send my bike to my mech to do a check first?

Originally posted by Zellus@Jul 4 2004, 10:29 PM

aniwei do u guys know wat shall i do before i send my bike for inspection? do i hav to send my bike to my mech to do a check first?

as long as all signal lights, headlights, brake lights are working. not too much white smoke, all brakes working.

should be easy to pass.

Originally posted by biscuit@Jul 3 2004, 09:38 AM

hello to all. Bear with me for asking a simple question. Having just replaced my piston, i was wondering what is the correct way of running in the piston. I heard from a friend that i should replace the engine oil every 500 km to remove any metal fillings that might have been worn off the piston, to prevent it from damaging the engine and gears.

Which leads me to my next question: where do we change the oil for the engine on the planet? I only know the tank for the coolant and 2t.

I only ride around 70kph on the eway, and the advice given by my friend is to do so until around 5000k. Is that too long?

As for performance, the acceleration on my bike has suffered since the piston change, but again this was attributed to a new piston, once it has been runned in, my acceleration should pick up. Is this correct?

All in all, so long as my bike runs, I'm a happy camper. Thanks for reading, any advice is much appreciated.

yeah terry is right... i dont ride a planet but i ride a 2 stroker, so mayb this will help. the main confusion for most pple comes cos for 2 strokers, the procedure for running in a new BIKE and a new PISTON/BLOCK is totally different...

new bike = u have to run in both the block n the gear system for about 2000km. as the gearbox is affected regular gear oil changes are needed. this will flush the dirt out from the gear system of the new bike and is in addition to the procedure for running in block.

new piston/block = no need for regular gear oil changes since the gears are already run-in. u r only running in the piston n block. the run-in distance differs from person to person... some mechs will say 500k can already others will recommend at least 1000k. for me i find it is a very "feeling" based thing as your bike speed, power and response will slowly increase as the piston rings bed into ur block... the important thing is just dont push it over its limits and cause a piston jam. the first few days you will have to take it easy, no more than 60kmh as ur bike will feel lazy and slow... when you feel the power beginning to come back increase your average travelling speed bit by bit, giving the bike time to adjust... push it just over the limit every once in a while... similarly if the bike gives signs of complaining take the speed down and give it a break. listen to your bike... the signs of over-pushing your bike are very very obvious.

stay off the expressways as they often force u to go faster than what your bike can take... as terry mentioned vary the rpms, dont cruise, this is to allow ur piston ring to bed in, and use a good fully synthethic 2t, premix a little into the fuel tank if u have to. i use mobile racing 2t.

she's got a smile that seems to me // reminds me of childhood memories // where everything was as fresh as the bright blue sky // woah... sweet child of mine // (guns n roses)