Originally posted by rajeh_bp@Jan 28 2006, 11:28 AM

where to do it? is the riding more stable? any side effects? will it effect the bike performance?

even my mechanic raised his own ST's handlebars. side effects i'm not quite sure, but i think his handlebar can only lock in one position and not the other (not that it matters to him anyway).

stock handlebars makes the rider slightly prone forward. i'm used to that, but i think having them raised a couple of inches or so relieves slight pressure off your arms and maybe.. back also?

Drink. Ride. Bloody Idiot.

RedSTer #5025

• Replies 6.6k

Originally posted by Blitzkrieg@Jan 29 2006, 10:39 PM

Hi everyone!

i'm a newbie here..just got my ST 2 weeks ago and hv been enjoy riding it ever since.but i encounter some problem which i hope u pplz here can give me an advise.thanks in advance.

1,would like to know if any1 here ever hv problem with the front brakes?i can hear a knocking sound when i apply the front brakes..my forks r not leaking n still in pretty gd shape..

2,when i start bike in the morning,i can hear a ticking sound from the engine..does tat mean it's time for me to do valve clearance?would love to know how much will it cost and will the sound dissappear?any difference?

Thanks..

hi Blitzkrieg,

1 - it could be loose steering cone OR brake housing need servicing(cleaning & touch grease on it).

2. it's pretty norm for all bikes to have tick2 sound during cold start cuz engine is not properly heat up, nothing to be alarm, 'fuel addictive of ability to cleanse internal gums deposits & other carbon' should solve the annoying sound, valves' re-setting will be the last resort, but then in future the gap could be narrowed after u start using fuel addictives.

service fee for valve checking is less than a hundred, every shim replaced usually is $10. this task can be DIYed, each shim cost $4.

hope it help... :smile:

Simon Soh

It's not the destination we conquered but ourselves.

Chiang Saen, Land of Golden Triangle

http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5254/5500744953_52f8f8de37.jpg

26th Dec 05' - 9th Jan 06' Northern Thailand Trip

Originally posted by kobane@Jan 29 2006, 11:15 PM

even my mechanic raised his own ST's handlebars. side effects i'm not quite sure, but i think his handlebar can only lock in one position and not the other (not that it matters to him anyway).

stock handlebars makes the rider slightly prone forward. i'm used to that, but i think having them raised a couple of inches or so relieves slight pressure off your arms and maybe.. back also?

do you know of anyone who's willing to let us test their raised handlebars... wanna try the difference before deciding on doing it... probably can msg me at 93831441... thanks

:bouncefire: :help: :help: :help: :help: :bouncefire:

Rajeh | Triumph Rocket 3 Touring | +65 8722 1313 :thumb:

hai there st bros!! my dad juz got his st 4daes ago from "teacher John" hehehehe st california version... lookin 4 alarm to fix and diy assistant needed to help fix the alarm. saw fusionzone alarm dat cost $50. anyone had it fixed b4, can guide me? im gettin my st next mon hopefully...been enjoyin my dad's st as im the 2nd owner... damn shiok!!

http://i59.photobucket.com/albums/g313/funkyvtec/IMG-4077.jpg

Previous Rides: RXK 135, S4 Project Big 1, S4 Vtec1, ST1100 Pan European, Cbr954, K7 600, FJR1300 ABS, SilverWing FJS 400.

Current Rides: FIT 1.3 GF MoonRoof.

Originally posted by rajeh_bp@Jan 30 2006, 06:23 AM

do you know of anyone who's willing to let us test their raised handlebars... wanna try the difference before deciding on doing it... probably can msg me at 93831441... thanks

:bouncefire: :help: :help: :help: :help: :bouncefire:

My handlebar was raised by one inches.I like it very much very easy 2 make a small u-turn n when u ride 4 long distance like 6 or 7 hours no stop u feel yr both arms n shoulders not so tired n hit top speed at 240km also no problem with the raised handlebar.:thumb:

any diy session??? love to diy my previous bike vtec. need help and assitant frm u all lau cheow st riders :smile:

Previous Rides: RXK 135, S4 Project Big 1, S4 Vtec1, ST1100 Pan European, Cbr954, K7 600, FJR1300 ABS, SilverWing FJS 400.

Originally posted by Simon Soh@Jan 30 2006, 01:51 AM

hi Blitzkrieg,

1 - it could be loose steering cone OR brake housing need servicing(cleaning & touch grease on it).

2. it's pretty norm for all bikes to have tick2 sound during cold start cuz engine is not properly heat up, nothing to be alarm, 'fuel addictive of ability to cleanse internal gums deposits & other carbon' should solve the annoying sound, valves' re-setting will be the last resort, but then in future the gap could be narrowed after u start using fuel addictives.

service fee for valve checking is less than a hundred, every shim replaced usually is $10. this task can be DIYed, each shim cost $4.

hope it help... :smile:

Thanks so much for the advise bro.. :smile:

by the way,do u hv any particular brand of additive to recommend?thanks again

Originally posted by ST BOB@Jan 30 2006, 03:34 PM

My handlebar was raised by one inches.I like it very much very easy 2 make a small u-turn n when u ride 4 long distance like 6 or 7 hours no stop u feel yr both arms n shoulders not so tired n hit top speed at 240km also no problem with the raised handlebar.:thumb:

hI there.Does it affect the cover for the handlebar when it is raised?How much it cost you?

Originally posted by cbkooky@Jan 30 2006, 07:25 PM

hI there.Does it affect the cover for the handlebar when it is raised?How much it cost you?

NO problem with that 1 inches raised cover still can be cover the handlebar.u can buy the handlebar raiser from mountain bike workshop or D I Y yourself cost u $2.00 no joking buy the long nut size (M 8).

Originally posted by ST BOB@Jan 31 2006, 12:15 PM

NO problem with that 1 inches raised cover still can be cover the handlebar.u can buy the handlebar raiser from mountain bike workshop or D I Y yourself cost u $2.00 no joking buy the long nut size (M 8).

Thanks Bob.. will check out some mountain bike shops..

i think raise 1 inch the standard key still can use with cover, but if raise higher got a couple of options, i read on st1100.org can extend key or go make a longer key or cut the cover...

***Ride Safe***

Originally posted by Blitzkrieg@Jan 30 2006, 06:48 PM

Thanks so much for the advise bro.. :smile:

by the way,do u hv any particular brand of additive to recommend?thanks again

try Redex 'Petrol Treatment', many of our ST1100 bros r sastified with this product. ;)

paiseh.... :offtopic: :sweat:

Simon Soh

Originally posted by FunkyChicken@Jan 30 2006, 01:39 PM

hai there st bros!! my dad juz got his st 4daes ago from "teacher John" hehehehe st california version... lookin 4 alarm to fix and diy assistant needed to help fix the alarm. saw fusionzone alarm dat cost $50. anyone had it fixed b4, can guide me? im gettin my st next mon hopefully...been enjoyin my dad's st as im the 2nd owner... damn shiok!!

Hey hey.... hmmmm so ur dad is the Take-Over of Teacher John beaST huh...

welcome onboard ....

But hor... why u also want the same bike huh... since ur dad riding and u sub-rider... good enough liao lor.... can share share ma...

Anyway regards to your "Alarm" enquiries.... wait and see other bros advise...

Me no fix anything de.... heehee paisei

Ride Safe bros.....

Yamaha LC125

Yamaha TZR125

Kawasaki KDX200

Suzuki Savage400

Kawasaki Ninja400

Honda Steed 400

Yamaha XJ600

Harley Davidson Hugger883

Yamaha V-Max 1200

Honda ST1100Y P.E

Little Lamb X9

any guys outhere has the manual or technical info how to diy or specs of both st1100, wanna learn how to strip the bike and diy as much as possible.. if any1 of u care to diy, pls pm me, i wud be mre than interested to join the session.

btw PearlST, nice bike..colour outsanding. i wanted to get the same bike cuz ive ride it and im in love with it. no motosiaw wana play,, get mre respect on the road.

dad juz came back frm pahang, 4hrs trip. he so damn kamchiong neva wait for my bike to come out..hehehe

Originally posted by FunkyChicken@Feb 1 2006, 12:53 AM

any guys outhere has the manual or technical info how to diy or specs of both st1100, wanna learn how to strip the bike and diy as much as possible.. if any1 of u care to diy, pls pm me, i wud be mre than interested to join the session.

btw PearlST, nice bike..colour outsanding. i wanted to get the same bike cuz ive ride it and im in love with it. no motosiaw wana play,, get mre respect on the road.

dad juz came back frm pahang, 4hrs trip. he so damn kamchiong neva wait for my bike to come out..hehehe

mine is a Pearl White... custom paint work....

but honestly... very difficult to maintain clean

Yamaha LC125

Yamaha TZR125

Kawasaki KDX200

Suzuki Savage400

Kawasaki Ninja400

Honda Steed 400

Yamaha XJ600

Yamaha V-Max 1200

Honda ST1100Y P.E

Little Lamb X9

Howdy my old pals!

Hopefully you guys still kicking well...

Anyway .. Who is riding the FV2001 now ?? the bike is now residing in balam road... Pls advise ..

HAPPY NEW YEAR !!

my battery went flat after playing with my new alarm too much...

but push start with 2 guys still couldn't get it to work...

any of you ever push start successfully?

***Ride Safe***

Did u try using 2nd - 3rd Gear ??

Dont Use 1st Gear... too power liao....

If u are able to find 2 help.... then should not be a problem

Yamaha LC125

Yamaha TZR125

Kawasaki KDX200

Suzuki Savage400

Kawasaki Ninja400

Honda Steed 400

Yamaha XJ600

Yamaha V-Max 1200

Honda ST1100Y P.E

Little Lamb X9

Originally posted by philiplolc@Feb 6 2006, 07:42 AM

my battery went flat after playing with my new alarm too much...

but push start with 2 guys still couldn't get it to work...

any of you ever push start successfully?

philiplolc,

if it happen again, use higher gear like gear 2 or 3 to push, use ur lower ribs to lean against the tank & go, or find any down slope to make the 'jump start' easier. :smile:

check ur battery condition, it should be in reasonably good condition & not sulphated(bloated or swollen). also ensure terminal r properly intacted.

which year model is ur ST1100...?

Simon Soh

hi PearlST, Simon,

i used 2nd gear then 3rd, but no chance... batt probably completely flat...

my bike was registered early 2002... guess the batt was dying anyway... and the damn alarm was the last straw :)

but so laychay once the batt is gone... can't do anything...

when you guys go touring do you bring a spare battery? or any of you put in 2 batts (dunno if this can be done)?

***Ride Safe***

Push / Jump Start is used when battery flat ma....

Even if Battery totally Flat, its suppose to kick up the starter motor

to enable u to go to the next nearest workshop for replacement...

I tried the pushing start on my own , with my size and built... paisei i also have problem... luckily someone help me and i sat on the bike and started...

My battery's side is totally uneven surface liao but i "metal Teeth" dont change.

Then when answer a call on PIE , kanna liao... Up slope somemore...

Get the battery change, and also remember to check the alarm's wirings

Yamaha LC125

Yamaha TZR125

Kawasaki KDX200

Suzuki Savage400

Kawasaki Ninja400

Honda Steed 400

Yamaha XJ600

Yamaha V-Max 1200

Honda ST1100Y P.E

Little Lamb X9

By right when push start or going down slope, and the bike in 2nd or 3rd gear, what PearlSt and Simon said is true. The bike will most probably start as the starter motor is turning the fly wheel. But I ever kenna once at Yishun, riding a shadow 400. Push and push cannot start. Bo pien, ask for bike towing. Later found out at shop that the rectifier giving problem (electrical problem) that's why cannot start. After changing rectifier, and charging the battery the shadow start beautifully. Just my 2 cents. :cheeky:

Thomas28

STOC#5870

FBB5423X

i used to push for other bike roll down hill ok, just that the ST abit big and heavy lah...

try one time 2nd gear, let go clutch press start button nothing at all... try again 3rd gear same same...

somemore at carpark very little slope... my frens oso peng san liao, i oso paiseh.. :)

today go buy battery diy change liao... but tks all...

btw, anybody ever put 2 batts? cannot do right? the alternator probably won't charge 2 batts, but ask ask see u all got er not...

***Ride Safe***

Originally posted by philiplolc@Feb 6 2006, 08:38 PM

i used to push for other bike roll down hill ok, just that the ST abit big and heavy lah...

try one time 2nd gear, let go clutch press start button nothing at all... try again 3rd gear same same...

somemore at carpark very little slope... my frens oso peng san liao, i oso paiseh.. :)

today go buy battery diy change liao... but tks all...

btw, anybody ever put 2 batts? cannot do right? the alternator probably won't charge 2 batts, but ask ask see u all got er not...

Did u turn off the headlight?or yr bike got any extra lighting on?some time not enough speed also cannot start .Totally flat battery can be push start without any problem.Let me tell u why yr bike cannot beco,you had the alarm system that lock the bike system of firing.:goodluck:

I was awaken yesterday past midnite when my bike alarm sounded, went down and deactivated it and found nothing unusual. This morning went down and wipe my bike after the morning rain and discover my head light protecter missing. Sian.