• Replies 1.9k

Originally posted by GoofRider@Dec 15 2006, 02:42 PM

yea same as me, i bot my nikon D70 for my cousin wedding but shortage of cash for flash.. that was last year lah

been waiting to have a flash.. wanna try try take potrait pic of my cat.

wanted to buy SB400 but sekali my fren offer me his SB600.. so i guess i just grab the sb600. cheers

For your cat? Do not use direct flash and if possible, do not even use flash on animals. Their eyes are sensitive to light and the flash will probably hurt them.

Originally posted by Lmodel@Dec 17 2006, 01:50 AM

For your cat? Do not use direct flash and if possible, do not even use flash on animals. Their eyes are sensitive to light and the flash will probably hurt them.

its not direct flash of cos, obviously their eyes get hurt, lik eus if we see direct flash, color change('red eyes')....

i'll bounced it.

thanks for the advice.

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3154/2630373527_9614b93b66_o.jpg

finally, got my Nikon SB600.. my fren hardly use it.. so now.. must learn how to use it.. any tips and tricks from pro photographer out there?

i never use flash before for my 5 yrs of leanring photography.

Hi all.. Im new to photography.. Care to gimme some pointers? Thanks.. Dun laff at me for my lousy skills. Shot using a dummy camera that I bought the day before...

http://img134.imageshack.us/img134/3050/pix1fe6.jpg

http://img279.imageshack.us/img279/4429/pix2hy2.jpg

http://img263.imageshack.us/img263/2521/pix3de1.jpg

http://img186.imageshack.us/img186/5335/pix4vr2.jpg

http://img263.imageshack.us/img263/5386/pix5pb3.jpg

Originally posted by jkaiser@Dec 19 2006, 12:25 AM

anyone using gary fong's lightsphere? i'm thinking of DIYing abetterbouncecard

bro, u plan to get it? the starter kits come with 4 card and 2 band.. u wanna share the kit?

anyway the inkjet paper is the one they print for photo right? and we use the non-glossy side, right

Originally posted by GoofRider@Dec 19 2006, 09:33 AM

bro, u plan to get it? the starter kits come with 4 card and 2 band.. u wanna share the kit?

anyway the inkjet paper is the one they print for photo right? and we use the non-glossy side, right

actually u can DIY your own bounce card.

a white cardboard is available from artfriends.

get the one with abt 1mm thickness. one piece of this c/board can be cut into 4 (or more) bouncecards.

lightsphere (LS) is another luxury item which i seldom use, less than a bounce card. but flash coverage from LS is more evenly distributed and good to eliminate hot spot.

facebook: Fotolightbox Photography

Originally posted by scud@Dec 19 2006, 01:54 PM

actually u can DIY your own bounce card.

a white cardboard is available from artfriends.

get the one with abt 1mm thickness. one piece of this c/board can be cut into 4 (or more) bouncecards.

lightsphere (LS) is another luxury item which i seldom use, less than a bounce card. but flash coverage from LS is more evenly distributed and good to eliminate hot spot.

so i can jus get those 'weigh' card from art fren or maybe from Popular bookstore? so i can actually jus use a simple white card as long as ithas 1mm thickness?

sorry cos this question may seem like 'duh' to most ppl but i'm jus a beginner..

Originally posted by GoofRider@Dec 19 2006, 03:01 PM

so i can jus get those 'weigh' card from art fren or maybe from Popular bookstore? so i can actually jus use a simple white card as long as ithas 1mm thickness?

sorry cos this question may seem like 'duh' to most ppl but i'm jus a beginner..

in fact, any white card can do, u can buy from artfriends or popular.

there is no hard rules for card thickness. if too thick then u may have problem in keeping the flash head pointing at an angle.

speaking from experience, i once used a paper plate as bounce card before.

Thanks bro , Scud...

i need an advice. i saw someone selling their AF-S Nikkor 18-135mm 3.5-5.6G ED Lens. izzit wise for me to sell off my current 18-70mm lense and get the 18-135mm? and how much do you think i should sell my lense at?

Originally posted by GoofRider@Dec 19 2006, 03:01 PM

i'm using the video tape cover as my bounce card.

just cut into a rectangle shape.

velcro it to my SB600.

it is free and very useful.

http://www.speedtest.net/result/226806566.png

Biking, Bonking & Boozing...

The three great pleasures of life.

Hi Newbie here!

anyone has any comments on Canon S3IS?

actually considering between this and A710, prefer S3 for its 12Xoptical zoom...

btw, how big can a 6mp camera develop the max?

how much is the market rate for S3 and A710 at the moment?

Originally posted by GoofRider@Dec 19 2006, 04:10 PM

i need an advice. i saw someone selling their AF-S Nikkor 18-135mm 3.5-5.6G ED Lens. izzit wise for me to sell off my current 18-70mm lense and get the 18-135mm? and how much do you think i should sell my lense at?

Naahh.. dun think wanna sell my lense.. hehe.. chance my mind.

my cheapo bounce card setup.. :smile:

http://img227.imageshack.us/img227/8976/dsc2603at9.jpg

http://img339.imageshack.us/img339/2787/dsc2602qf3.jpg

http://img227.imageshack.us/img227/6828/dsc2604bo8.jpg

Originally posted by Sev@Dec 19 2006, 07:32 PM

my cheapo bounce card setup.. :smile:

http://img227.imageshack.us/img227/8976/dsc2603at9.jpg

http://img339.imageshack.us/img339/2787/dsc2602qf3.jpg

http://img227.imageshack.us/img227/6828/dsc2604bo8.jpg

bro, i jus bot my SB600.. new to flash photography.. any tips and tricks to share?

Originally posted by GoofRider@Dec 19 2006, 08:42 PM

bro, i jus bot my SB600.. new to flash photography.. any tips and tricks to share?

tips? how abt reading from books or organise a group outing and learn from each other?

what scud said is correct, not much tips, practice more and you get to know what setting to use in what situation.

i got my flash not long ago also, still learning how to use if...

scud, when you wanna do a night shoot again?

Originally posted by Sev@Dec 20 2006, 08:32 AM

what scud said is correct, not much tips, practice more and you get to know what setting to use in what situation.

i got my flash not long ago also, still learning how to use if...

scud, when you wanna do a night shoot again?

i wish i hv time for shoot!

Sev, why dont u plan over this weekend, if i hv time i sure join in.

Originally posted by scud@Dec 20 2006, 09:41 AM

i wish i hv time for shoot!

Sev, why dont u plan over this weekend, if i hv time i sure join in.

this weekend i can't make it, going back to my Malaysia hometown.

Let's see if i can get something out next weekend.

yea lor.. during my poly days very active lor.. now no fren liao.. some more getting married soon liao. but during my poly days i was usung my humble Canon 500N only.. hehe.. than jus lasy year i switch to Nikon!.. hehe. i feel much better using Nikon.. no offence to Canon follower.. jus that i fee good. hehe..

actually my canon camera and lense.. in fact the whole thing, kena stolen with my bag.. haiyah.. sad memory..

anyway now hoping and wishing that i can get a small second hand Domke Bag. hehe

yor nite photography, where u guys always go? takepic of buidling ah?

Originally posted by Sev@Dec 20 2006, 10:09 AM

this weekend i can't make it, going back to my Malaysia hometown.

Let's see if i can get something out next weekend.

Sev, Goofrider,

i will check my schedule tonite if i can do on this fri nite (22/12/06).

most prob Orchard Rd. will update u all later.