My honda sp suddenly can't move off from 1st gear though its not in neutral...rev2 let go clutch like no biting point like that...but random ..i off for a while start engine then can..ride around carpark stop then try move off again then again..then cannot !wth !!!otherwise bike no problem..only cannot move off..tried kick up n down while stationary..haiz..anyone knows ? :(

• Replies 29

Suspect:

-People disturb your biting point... adjust back only.

-Clutch plate worn out... replace. (need to warm up first then the plate will "makan")

whats the cost of replacing the plate ?

here i go again...water contaminated fuel.

do u pump at jb? if u do tat's it.

since water is heavier than fuel, water will be in carb bowl n bottom part of ur tank.

u need to drain ur carb's bowl n fuel tank into a container.

water maybe just a few ml or cc, tat's enough to cause this symptom.

u can put back 99% of ur fuel back into ur tank.

u might find a few drops of water at the bottom.

since water is heavier than fuel, water will be in carb bowl n bottom part of ur tank.

****..becuz of water? this happened right after i pump full tank vpower at tamp ave 2..b4 that i ride normal nothing happen..dun tell me its the fuel there got waterrr.

Interesting.... also a possibility, learnt something new today.

In any case its worth a try to rectify it this way also... it won't cost much.... just time and effort to drain your petrol.

Interesting.... also a possibility, learnt something new today.

In any case its worth a try to rectify it this way also... it won't cost much.... just time and effort to drain your petrol.

thank u both for the advice..could be that also..suspect no 1...haha i juz tot of start engine n rev2 until water evaporate lol..will check all that tonite !

if contaminated fuel is the issue, the engine would have died off due to improper combustion isn't it?

i believe TS dint mention he has issues w/ engine dying off.

based on TS decription, more likely clutch issue.

dun think u can rev ur engine to get rid of water in the carb.

reasons r:

1) fuel will sip thru the carb venturi btwn main-jet n water, water is heavier stay putted. thus the no power to move effects.

2) temperature in the carb r always cool (not even boiling temp) coz of air n fuel flows.

u can try my method without draining the tank;

1) turn fuelcock to 'OFF' position.

2) loosen the carb drain screw n drain the carb bowl, tighten back again.

3) turn fuelcock to 'RES' position.

4) repeat step two, this time fuel will flows out continuously. let it flow out about 30 sec, hopefully water at the bottom of the tank will flow out (put a container to collect out flow fuel).

this will help but if it is still the same, repeat the process again.

best method is to drain the fuel tank coz u dun know how much water r in there.

or u can buy those fuel additive tat can mix with water to become emulsify.

forgotten to mention, sp dun have main stand. u need some1/support to hold ur bike in vertical (upright) position.

Edited by stsoh

if contaminated fuel is the issue, the engine would have died off due to improper combustion isn't it?

i believe TS dint mention he has issues w/ engine dying off.

based on TS decription, more likely clutch issue.

engine can start but can't move, this is typical symptom of water contaminated fuel.

have this issue many many times when i often top up fuel in jb.

lucky i'm experience to know it, otherwise will be spending money for unnecessary repairs.

no harm, trying to do this first.

if beyond ur capabilities then sent to bike shop for repairs.

they r the one welcoming $$$$$.

Edited by stsoh

im reading all ur advices...thank u stsoh , d0n^ , xXxRatedxXx ..im copied all ur tips to my notepad..

latest update..now my bike totally cannot move off at all..n this time i set 1st gear let go clutch ,engine is still running when its supposed to be stalled..but im hearing tak tak sounds in the engine..

have to call for towing already...do u have any contacts for towing..i juz want nearest bike shop ..i live in tampines..

gas pump station daily maintenance is to check water level in their underground tanks, excess water is to pump out daily.

jb pump stations lack doing this maintenance.

water tenancy to accumulate in underground tanks due to moisture, dew, water seepage or transferred from transport tankers.

gas pump station daily maintenance is to check water level in their underground tanks, excess water is to pump out daily.

jb pump stations lack doing this maintenance.

water tenancy to accumulate in underground tanks due to moisture, dew, water seepage or transferred from transport tankers.

much as i disagree on your POV.

im riding a TA150, engine more or less similar to TS's NSR 150.

pump regularly in GP petrol stations. (shell, esso, petronas)

never had i have any difficulty in starting my bike or my engine stalling.

same applies to the group of riders i go up north tgt weekly for petrol runs.

you named it, all kinds of bikes from class 2b to class 2 pumped regularly in msia.

no one has any problem whatsoever regarding to the water contamination problem you mentioned...

can you explain why all of us does not experience the water contamination problem you mentioned?

Edited by ahcaibiker

Class 2B - 26/03/2009

Class 2A - 01/06/2010

Class 3 - 10/07/2009

Rides(s)

1) Honda TA150 - 20/04/2009 to 31/08/2014

2) Honda CB400 Ver S - 12/07/2014 to ???

u may or may not agree, it does not matter.

just tat if u know it or not, can save u unnecessary repair.

it's not tat the amount of water is a lot, i mentioned many many times, it's a few cc in ur tank.

my case, it happens 4~5 times every year when i only pump at jb stations.

as long as u got this symptom, can start engine but when engage gear n can't move.

water in the carb r likely happen to those whom constantly run till reserve portion.

others like EFI r force feed fuel or multi-carbs no problems.

do note tat multi-carbs like 4il, para-twin or v-twin, still run when one carb has water.

it will not function properly but will stress up the rest of working combustible pistons.

many will wonder why one piston n not all failed, this is the reason why.

Edited by stsoh
u may or may not agree, it does not matter.

just tat if u know it or not, can save u unnecessary repair.

it's not tat the amount of water is a lot, i mentioned many many times, it's a few cc in ur tank.

my case, it happens 4~5 times every year when i only pump at jb stations.

as long as u got this symptom, can start engine but when engage gear n can't move.

water in the carb r likely happen to those whom constantly run till reserve portion.

others like EFI r force feed fuel or multi-carbs no problems.

do note tat multi-carbs like 4il, para-twin or v-twin, still run when one carb has water.

it will not function properly but will stress up the rest of working combustible pistons.

many will wonder why one piston n not all failed, this is the reason why.

well it seems that you are the only one experiencing problems on your bike after pumping petrol in boleh land.

2B 2 stroke and 4 stroke single cylinder engine (carb), 2A inline 4, L-twin, v-twin (carb), 2 inline-4, v-twin (carb)

all these bikes from cruiser to sport bikes to naked/streetbikes all pump in boleh land and reported no problems whatsoever.

just based on these results against your description.

if so many bikes reported no problems after pumping in boleh land and your does...

i think the problem lies with your bike and not msia petrol...

Class 2B - 26/03/2009

Class 2A - 01/06/2010

Class 3 - 10/07/2009

Rides(s)

1) Honda TA150 - 20/04/2009 to 31/08/2014

2) Honda CB400 Ver S - 12/07/2014 to ???

water contaminated fuel will cause poblem, but not as mentioned here....

will not deter bike from moving off when clutch released.....

once water gets in ur fuel line... your engine will knocks and die off....

my phantom used to pump malaysia petrol for many many years...never touch singapore petrol....bike no problem for 7 years before i sell off.

1993-Yamaha LC, TZR

1994-Licence Revoke

1995- Honda MBX, RXZ

1996- Vespa

1997- RXK, TZM

2002- Phantom 200

2008- Toyota Axio(Car)

2009- Toyota Axio(Car) & S4 Vtec 2

2010(current)- Fazer FZ1N & Toyota Axio(Car)

high chances is the front sprocket 'teeth' or drive shaft 'teeth' wear out.

had this problem once. took out the front sprocket cover saw the drive spinning but not the front sprocket.

since ts has ask for tow to a bike shop lets just wait for his reply and see wats the problem.

http://i601.photobucket.com/albums/tt96/douglas_yeo/Misc/ServerBZ.jpg

Bike parts sale -> http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/373436-WTS-CBR-600-Parts

water contaminated fuel will cause poblem, but not as mentioned here....

will not deter bike from moving off when clutch released.....

once water gets in ur fuel line... your engine will knocks and die off....

my phantom used to pump malaysia petrol for many many years...never touch singapore petrol....bike no problem for 7 years before i sell off.

Totally agree on this.. Water contamination will only affect fuel combustion thus making your engine die off.. In no way associated to moving. Perhaps its the gear or clutch plate.. :angel:

bike shops always smiles n luv when sillyporean push their bikes to their shops.

change clutch plates, clean carb, overhaul, repair this n that.......all r welcome.

i found out its my drive shaft teeth no more alr..n i guess i have the most expensive repair for an sp...1.5k... total overhaul brand new engine.....now my bike sounds like an super4 when riding off..deep2 sound..gonna keep it for next 10 years..thanx guys for all ur advices:thumb: