Originally posted by NormalAspirated@February 07, 2007 12:41 pm

I stay around there too ... My plate is "F" series. Hope to see you soon.

Cool, hope to see you around,

I ride a K5, grey/black FZ plater. There's another busa in my carpark but I've yet to meet the rider in person.

http://i45.photobucket.com/albums/f64/arsenz/Signature2.jpg
  • Replies 56.7k

• Nok97

• NormalAspirated

• HYB80Y

• quizesilver

Originally posted by pinetreetmh@February 07, 2007 05:46 pm

the fornt tyres is just 3mths old.. thats the reason i kept it. and its still so new.. i doubt think 3 months will affect the rubber quality so much..

its wasteful to throw it away.

Diff model in tyre but same make is fine..

Originally posted by AKG@February 07, 2007 07:58 am

Hmmm... does it apply to Busa or just bikes in general?

I know that mixing different brands or models of tyres is a no-no due to the different profile/tyre compound. But surely its not that dangerous to change just one tyre of the same brand/ model?

I understand that safety is very important but how much safer would I be changing both tyres when only one needs changing compared to changing what needs to be changed?

I'm not a miser when it comes to motorcycle safety but I always try to find out more before forking out hard earned cash on stuff that might not need changing.

I know of people who, in the quest to keep their bikes in tip top condition, change their engine oil(fully syn) and spark plugs(Iridium) every 2000km. Yes, fresh clean oil and brand new plugs are good... but is this not an overkill and frankly, a waste of money?

Please help out this newbie Busa rider out. Share with me how good road holding and stability can be compromised if one were to change only one tyres instead of two?:cheeky: :bounce:

AKG, my knowledge on tires is only the basics, tat's y i cant really give u a detailed explaination on the tire issue.

Thru my past experience, when either 1 of my tire is worn off, I used to only change tat 1 particular piece wif either tat of another brand n subsequently of the same brand while on my S4. The whole riding feel feels so much different, whether its negotiating a bend, making sharp corners or on straight road, the feel is totally different (cant really explain the feelings but its tat somewhat unsafe feeling).

Besides by using/changing only 1 side of the tire will eventually induce uneven wear of tires. I dunno abt u guys but I remembered once while negotiating a bend on my previous S4, my handle bar wobbled quite alot thereafter my bike slightly skidded at the rear as tat was then a 3 days old rear tire.

The main area in which safety mite be compromised would be on cornering (the difference can be felt immediately after a tire change)

Also, to some pple, the psychological factor plays a major part. Some pple mite feel tat its safe to change juz 1 side of the tire, some pple beg to differ. Ask urself have there eva been a time when u feel quite uncomfortable riding n felt tat some part of ur bike mite not be performing / reacting the way it shld; these are some if the innate negative psychological factors tat may arise when u feel u've short-changed on ur safety somewhere.

So after changing to a busa, i've always insisted in changing both my tires even if only 1 side of it had worn off as I feel safer tat way.

As for a change of engine oil eva so often, I can say well, its all up to individuals preference. It also bows down to the kinds of oils he/she uses everytime he changes his oil.

Tat's so much I can share regarding my experience on changing only 1 side of the tire.

Perhaps, the rest of the more experienced busa riders here can give u a more detail explaination on the issue, or betta, go down for kopi session (which I missed for so long) :weep:

Originally posted by ArSenZ@February 07, 2007 06:00 pm

Cool, hope to see you around,

I ride a K5, grey/black FZ plater. There's another busa in my carpark but I've yet to meet the rider in person.

haha i ride a K5 grey/black FZ plate too..

but i live in Pasir Ris..

Originally posted by kelvin_luffs@February 07, 2007 08:06 pm

haha i ride a K5 grey/black FZ plate too..

but i live in Pasir Ris..

I stay around there too ... My plate is "F" series. Hope to see you soon.

http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c57/Daryous/My%20Motorcycles/NAFeelingLucky.gif
Originally posted by MERCENARY@February 07, 2007 06:57 pm

oh my god,NA virus is spreading like wild fire.I know the answer to the cure i dont want to tell all of you:cheeky: :offtopic:

OFFTOPIC !

Mark Kor ... The "V Club" is looking for G-string male dancer, they pay good money, you can go apply.

http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c57/Daryous/My%20Motorcycles/NAFeelingLucky.gif
Originally posted by keratsini@February 07, 2007 05:29 pm

That applies for ALL vehicles.

You can not keep your front tyre even if there is no wear and tear. Keep in mind as the time passes by the tyres getting harder and lusing their grip.

The Kawasaki ZXR750 you see on my avatar is 17 years old. The tyres are 10 years old with less than 3000km on the road. Apparently the tyres looks like brand new but they are now so hard that, if I hit any wet surface is like riding on ice.

The ONLY think keeps the bike on the road and you alive are the tyres. Keep that in mind.

+ + +

As far as the Engine Oil is concern, I do follow the manual on around every 5000Km or 6 months, which ever first occures.

Of course fully synthetic and for petrol Caltex Platinum, thats all. Pamper the bike to much is waste of money. After all it is just a piece of metal.

Thanks for the long explanation you have carefully typed out. I can understand tyre hardening occurs and cause the tyres to lose grip easily. But surely a tyre less than 4 months old would be able to hack it for at least another half a year or so?

Btw, is that ZXR750 yours? I love classics! Would love to get my hands on an old gem and restore it too.

Originally posted by pinetreetmh@February 07, 2007 05:47 pm

if i get , i will have to maintain 3 bikes.. :giddy: :help:

Come on... join me! I have a Y125Z, RS250 and the Busa. Now that my wife has got her license, we are intending to get a WR200 too! hehe... The maintenence of the 4 different bikes would be spreaded out so it would not be that bad lah! :cheeky:

Originally posted by NormalAspirated@February 07, 2007 08:43 pm

OFFTOPIC !

Mark Kor ... The "V Club" is looking for G-string male dancer, they pay good money, you can go apply.

i cannot go and apply lah,but you definetly can just need a couple of months to rebulit back your body and u will be WOO HOO.You dont need to go for interview 1 look at you they will surely sdk you to come and work tomorrow.And your towards your dream will one 1 step closer or maybe 2 who knows:cheeky: :offtopic:

http://i249.photobucket.com/albums/gg228/mercenary_017/BusaKenji.jpg
Originally posted by kelvin_luffs@February 07, 2007 07:51 pm

AKG, my knowledge on tires is only the basics, tat's y i cant really give u a detailed explaination on the tire issue.

Thru my past experience, when either 1 of my tire is worn off, I used to only change tat 1 particular piece wif either tat of another brand n subsequently of the same brand while on my S4. The whole riding feel feels so much different, whether its negotiating a bend, making sharp corners or on straight road, the feel is totally different (cant really explain the feelings but its tat somewhat unsafe feeling).

Besides by using/changing only 1 side of the tire will eventually induce uneven wear of tires. I dunno abt u guys but I remembered once while negotiating a bend on my previous S4, my handle bar wobbled quite alot thereafter my bike slightly skidded at the rear as tat was then a 3 days old rear tire.

The main area in which safety mite be compromised would be on cornering (the difference can be felt immediately after a tire change)

Also, to some pple, the psychological factor plays a major part. Some pple mite feel tat its safe to change juz 1 side of the tire, some pple beg to differ. Ask urself have there eva been a time when u feel quite uncomfortable riding n felt tat some part of ur bike mite not be performing / reacting the way it shld; these are some if the innate negative psychological factors tat may arise when u feel u've short-changed on ur safety somewhere.

So after changing to a busa, i've always insisted in changing both my tires even if only 1 side of it had worn off as I feel safer tat way.

As for a change of engine oil eva so often, I can say well, its all up to individuals preference. It also bows down to the kinds of oils he/she uses everytime he changes his oil.

Tat's so much I can share regarding my experience on changing only 1 side of the tire.

Perhaps, the rest of the more experienced busa riders here can give u a more detail explaination on the issue, or betta, go down for kopi session (which I missed for so long) :weep:

Now I get it, you change both tyres for a peace of mind when riding. That to me is a good enough reason.

I used to ride a vtec1 and I eat up 2 rear tyres for every one front. What I've learnt is that when changing only one tyre, its advisable to change to a same brand and model as the front tyres. Tyres are meant to work together, the threads, profile and amount of grip is meant to compliment each other.

eg. GPR70 front with GPR70 rear, 020 front with 020 rear.

Getting different brands/ models would result in a different tyre profile and worse still, different handling characteristics. Imagine a sports touring tyre on the front with a race tyre on the rear...:giddy: when you push hard in a corner, 90% the front would wash out.

If front was race and rear touring, chances of low sides is high... you get the picture.

When I change tyres for my other bikes, I make sure I dun mix and match front with different rear. Oh... and I now make sure my tyres are scrubbed first before committing myself into corners, crashed once because of it.:cheeky:

Originally posted by NormalAspirated@February 06, 2007 03:02 am

Knowing the truth is pretty easy.

Get the chassis number and trace backwards. First to the local agent, if failed ... then go straight to Japan Suzuki. Frankly, even this bike is parallel importer, agent should also address this bike because you are a loyal customer of Suzuki. Japan Suzuki take pride in their name as a whole.

Hi... been on away for a while, haha... anyway, how much does a K6 LE cost?

Einigkeit und Recht und Freiheit

Originally posted by NormalAspirated@February 07, 2007 04:20 pm

I am also invited to that Ducati launch but I am not going because of two reasons ... My Buddies come 1st and Hayabusa is still more marvellous ... LOL ...

Less still nevermind ... 10,000km ducati service cost 1,200.00.

Hayabusa 30,000km service still cost less that !

Pardon my ignorance but what do we need to service when the bike reaches 30000km?

Einigkeit und Recht und Freiheit

Originally posted by AKG@February 07, 2007 11:37 pm

Now I get it, you change both tyres for a peace of mind when riding. That to me is a good enough reason.

I used to ride a vtec1 and I eat up 2 rear tyres for every one front. What I've learnt is that when changing only one tyre, its advisable to change to a same brand and model as the front tyres. Tyres are meant to work together, the threads, profile and amount of grip is meant to compliment each other.

Getting different brands/ models would result in a different tyre profile and worse still, different handling characteristics. Imagine a sports touring tyre on the front with a race tyre on the rear...:giddy: when you push hard in a corner, 90% the front would wash out.

If front was race and rear touring, chances of low sides is high... you get the picture.

When I change tyres for my other bikes, I make sure I dun mix and match front with different rear. Oh... and I now make sure my tyres are scrubbed first before committing myself into corners, crashed once because of it.:cheeky:

if ppl play also race tyre in front and sports torung behind.. cars also sometimes do the same thing.. preferring a better tyre in front for better grip..

who does it the other way round?? :giddy: :help:

http://motorride.net/wp-content/uploads/2011/06/2012-Kawasaki-D-Tracker.jpg
Originally posted by kelvin_luffs@February 07, 2007 07:51 pm

for s4 change the whole set . cos when the rear botak its about a year.. but for busa if u ride hard 3 months your rear botak.. your front still almost new.. too wasteful to throw away.. :help:

http://motorride.net/wp-content/uploads/2011/06/2012-Kawasaki-D-Tracker.jpg
Originally posted by AKG@February 07, 2007 11:25 pm

Come on... join me! I have a Y125Z, RS250 and the Busa. Now that my wife has got her license, we are intending to get a WR200 too! hehe... The maintenence of the 4 different bikes would be spreaded out so it would not be that bad lah! :cheeky:

If you getting WR then 2 of yours same with 5 vehicles I have ... LOL

Welcome to vehicle collection.

Originally posted by AKG@February 07, 2007 11:19 pm

Btw, is that ZXR750 yours? I love classics! Would love to get my hands on an old gem and restore it too.

Yes is mine. Bought her from Unity Motors in 1990 brand new tax free and ship her to Greece. She is fully stock (paint included) except unrestricted, full Devil exhaust system and racing carbureturs. She is 17 years old (H Model) with 24,000km on the clock. The photo on my avatar is 3 months old.

I think is the only bike in such condition in Greece. Every time I go back and I ride her, people stop me in the midle of the road and ask me to sell.

It was a legend when first introduced, not possible for me to let her go.

http://i224.photobucket.com/albums/dd117/keratsini/greece_bl.gif http://i224.photobucket.com/albums/dd117/keratsini/MyK8b.jpg
Originally posted by MERCENARY@February 07, 2007 11:26 pm

i cannot go and apply lah,but you definetly can just need a couple of months to rebulit back your body and u will be WOO HOO.You dont need to go for interview 1 look at you they will surely sdk you to come and work tomorrow.And your towards your dream will one 1 step closer or maybe 2 who knows:cheeky: :offtopic:

In the midst rebuilding, now in 5th weeks regiment, half way there ...

One of my dream is to take over your billet rims ... Always I got lobang I tell you but you never tell me ...

Originally posted by keratsini@February 08, 2007 11:52 am

I think is the only bike in such condition in Greece. Every time I go back and I ride her, people stop me in the midle of the road and ask me to sell.

Wah ... This show Greek ang-mo are very loyal and warm hearted people just like my friend name Christos ...

Originally posted by urge4speed@February 07, 2007 11:31 pm

hello may i know how to how much to maintain a hayabusa??

cos now i saving up to buy my dream, so need to do some research...

thank u.

No worries at all ... Trust me ... Hell lots cheaper than Ducati, Benelli, MV Agusta and Kawasaki ... LOL ...

Originally posted by Nicholai@February 08, 2007 04:08 am

Hi... been on away for a while, haha... anyway, how much does a K6 LE cost?

Around 25k ... You better make 101% sure is the real LE.

Pardon my ignorance but what do we need to service when the bike reaches 30000km?

I know but I don't want to tell you ... LOL ...

Come kopi I tell you all.

Originally posted by AKG@February 07, 2007 11:37 pm

i crashed once too on my phantom a few years back. The problem was simple.. Its the tires!