Originally posted by Kaizer@Mar 11 2004, 01:18 AM

urrh, combustion doesn't happen in the carburettor..

• Replies 71

Originally posted by Kaizer@Mar 11 2004, 01:18 AM

urrh, combustion doesn't happen in the carburettor..

So sorry! :cheeky: So paiseh! http://www.jref.com/forum/images/smilies/m-bata.gif

What I meant was, your carb will not be able to atomise the diesel enuff to combust in the cylinder.....

Quotable Quotes: If you ride a motorcycle often, you will be killed riding it. That much is as sure as night follows day. Your responsibility is to be vigilant and careful as to continue to push that eventuality so far forward that you die of old age first

Originally posted by TeePeePhobe@Mar 10 2004, 02:48 AM

hey, think of it another way, diesel is just ultra high octane petrol :smile: Won't do any permanent harm, just wun burn at petrol engine's compression ratios. Don't forget to drain the carbs too!

erm, dun think so dude! Diesel's octane level is much much lower than petrol!

http://www.madsci.org/posts/archives/oct20...12182.Ch.r.html

Quotable Quotes: If you ride a motorcycle often, you will be killed riding it. That much is as sure as night follows day. Your responsibility is to be vigilant and careful as to continue to push that eventuality so far forward that you die of old age first

Originally posted by rxZster@Mar 9 2004, 06:11 PM

Did u guys notice the poor fellah's nick?

What a killer!

Come to think of it.. Man.. tat was a real killer... my stomach heard so badly after realizing what u said...

P.S. I'm not gonna state that i was laughing my ass off on this, because i feel that i might offend him. But anyways, good luck on your bike DUDE !

http://www.yatoula.com/gif/femme/femme_10.gif

♠Sleep My Sweet ðngel♠

♠€ Time Will Çome♠

Guest imslow

thanks for your help, guys. What happened was I pumped diesel by accident becoz the sign was a bit faulty and it was raining hard and I was tired.

At bukit timah road toward woodlands, just after jurong kechil, there is a petrol kiosk. There are pump stations there with diesel and 3 types of petrol. If you look, you will see that there are 3 big signs for the petrol (92,95 and 98) next to the pump guns but there are 4(!!!) pump guns. The leftmost one is diesel, and just at the right of it is the 92 petrol sign. There was NO big diesel signThere was a small sticker above the diesel pump gun, saying it was diesel, but I didn't notice.

After pumping diesel by accident, I wasn't sure what to do. I thought of throwing away the diesel by toppling the bike, and refilling with petrol. I decided against it since that would be dangerous.(a lot of cars come in and out of petrol kiosk, so don't want to cause accident)

I decided to buy some petrol in a can, and ride the bike home. Petrol kiosk guy said it could be done. I tried to ride it but the bike died after 1 km. After checking with the mechanic, I learnt that that is possible, provided there is some petrol in the tank. But my tank was almost empty before pumping so after pumping, it was almost all diesel.

Originally posted by william_liu@Mar 11 2004, 03:36 PM

erm, dun think so dude! Diesel's octane level is much much lower tahn petrol!

http://www.madsci.org/posts/archives/oct20...12182.Ch.r.html

No sh*t! learnt something new today :thumb:

http://picturesky.com/albums/userpics/11161/yamaha.jpg<span style=\'font-family:impact\'>I go 60 nia

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/uploads/photo-1478.jpg

For Sale: Arai Gunmetal gray side cover for RR4, right side (Still in packaging)

You can disconnect your fuel line and drain everything out from your tank mah....

the pump gun is black?

poor thing

ya u should disconnect the fuel line to the carbuaetor to drain away your diesel

anyway i think ur mechanic help you drain away and top up with new petrol and plus washing ur carbuaetor and maybe help you wash piston and block

JsN®

Why Bother About Speed? Unless You Are A Pilot Which Need Speed To Fly~ If not? Get on with your life... I'm just a Ground Pilot in RSAF...Haha I mean it!

JsN Power Tuning ~Andorsed By NOS Power System~

A single tree can't make a forest, work together as a forest

Guest nightrider
:lol: :lol: :lol: that really some funny stupid sh*t!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

:slapforehead: :slapforehead: Jialat sia you.... think best way is to bring it to the mechnic's and have him to deal with the entire problem....don't DIY....you might be causing more harm and damage. Just be more careful the next time...

2006 - Honda SP 150

2008 - Piaggio X8

2009 - Honda Silverwing 400???

2011 - Yamaha FJR 1300???

:box: this is really a knock out on me :faint:

actually this also almost happended to me :sweat: but i only pump in less than 1L then i eyes almost pop out when i saw the diesel sign. lucky for me i stop n pump in petrol till full then tried riding no problem. was a too tired so made mistake:cheeky:

1991-Katana125 1992-GN125 1993-Terminator250 1995-Intruder400 1996-ZX-7RRP1 & Charade1L 1996-Vulcan800 1998-Accent1.5L 2001-CorollaXLI 2002-TDM900 2005-Phamton150 2006-FJR1300 2007-KLE500 & WRX JDM 2010-Spark135 & Legacy GT 2012-Focus SW & Sylphy 2015-V Strom 650XT & D Tracker, 2016-Cross Country & RS4 125, 2017-Moto Guzzi V7ii Stone

Guest Sotong

This happened to my friend's TZR125 6 years back in Woodlands. We had to empty the tank on the spot, then flush with petrol and fill up with petrol then try running off.

Firstly, carbs will have different fuel/air mixture as Diesel has lower volatility than petrol, so the combustion might end up very lean so as to speak. This can potentially heat up the spark plugs and cause its premature failure. In addition, the volume of exhaust gas emmited is not the same as that of petrol which might damage your combustion chamber and valves, with a valve timing set for petrol based exhaust.

A good carb wash is needed to clear the 3 jets off diesel residues and things should be okay with the carb. Don't use brush on the jets though...

Diesel might also leave some bad residues in the combustion chamber.

Bad idea to ride after topping up with diesel... Anyway, when I was still riding, I realise that the pump attendants might not even realise that motorcycles run purely on petrol. One young pump attendant ever ask me if I wanted to pump diesel as it was cheaper! :slapforehead:

Don't worry so much, just do the necessary remedies and ride on... :goodluck:

My fren used to kena tis thing. Accidentally put diesel in petrol tank. When start the bike, super a lot of smoke! Mosquito surely die one. Immediately drained all the oil in carb and tank and rinse it wif petrol a few times then ok already. :smile:

http://img285.imageshack.us/img285/9274/saniboyburn0ui.gifhttp://img.photobucket.com/albums/v220/saniboy/Ride/style.jpg
Guest quizesilver

think diesel handle is yellow or black in most of our petrol kiosk

other colour is petrol..

army term ..

shak cannot think ah?

anyway guess we all luff enough liao.

imslow hope ur bike is okie now.

ya one more think

tired dun ride bike or drive car k?

i would rather spend money on taxi.

den on repair or medical claim

Guest doremo

i almost kena too. i wan pump e cheapest petrol for my xiao k, den blur blur only see the price .. lucky nv really go pump :sweat:

lol^^ u are really power.. but from what i heard from my mech is tat time got 1 person did the same thing as u .. all u have to do is.......

1) if u havent ride.. then drain out all the disel in the tank then flush it with petrol..

2) if u already ride and most of the tank is disel.. then think u gotta ask a tow(if cant start or move) to your bike shop and ask ur mech to wash the carbuaetor and engine liao.. anyway :goodluck: to your bike :D

<u>ä¸åœ¨ä¹Žå¤©é•¿åœ°ä¹…, åªåœ¨ä¹Žæ›¾ç»æ‹¥æœ‰......</u>

http://www.motorcycledaily.com/083105middle_10R.jpg

Originally posted by doremo@Jun 13 2005, 01:26 AM

i almost kena too. i wan pump e cheapest petrol for my xiao k, den blur blur only see the price .. lucky nv really go pump :sweat:

Usually I will check price meter first.... petrol usually $1.50~$1.70.

** Be smart, ride safely, stay legal **

Please read the << Street Smart >> thread.

Reminds me of my friend.

He just got his license for a few days only.

He was even more careless.

Fuel got stolen by some guy.

Went to petrol station and ask uncle to buy container petrol.

Uncle misunderstand him and give him 4T oil.

He also blur, pour the 4T into the petrol tank and

ride for a short distance before the bike give up.

Called me and ask why the petrol so expensive, 1 litre for $10+!

http://home.pacific.net.sg/~none/sign7.jpghttp://home.pacific.net.sg/~none/sign8.jpg
Originally posted by MrLau@Jun 13 2005, 08:41 AM

Usually I will check price meter first.... petrol usually $1.50~$1.70.

What if tmr the price of diesel raise to $1.50~$1.70 ? ? :D

depend on how much diesel..........if little bit, top up petrol, shake shake and can start

Originally posted by jkaiser@Jun 13 2005, 03:01 AM

which is denser ah? petrol or diesel..if petrol then u still got hope of riding to ur mechanic if u have a bit of petrol left still

diesel is denser. you all s2 pple never take chemistry so don't know ;p

volatility is based generally on molecule size (and structure but less impt), the smaller the molecules the more volatile (gaseous methane, ethane, LPG gas), the larger the less (liquid petroleum, diesel, up to semi-solid bitumen/tar). when molecule size is bigger, they stick together more (more gaps in structure, H-H bonds & van der waal's forces), and are denser. generally. if i remember right, that is. =D