what is the offence if u ride with an expired road tax?

The story goes like this;

I got 2 bikes namely bike A n bike B.

bike a is my side bike so i seldom use. always use my bike b more..

my bike b coe expiring so on the 18 aug i went to lta to settle the coe issue by riding my bike a. after settle everything i went to orchard passing thru few gantries.

just today i realise my bike A road tax have expired on 14 aug and i have brought it on the road on 18 aug.

i have mislook the date of road tax expiry for my bike A after too much focusing on to settling my bike b coe. (human error)

I just paid the road tax just now at axs machine on 22nd aug.

so guys, anyone encounter this before?

wats the offence like?

if u encounter like my case before, how does u settle it?

any way to appeal?

i read that the offence will b court case with $2000 fine.

any input guys?

http://www.nea.gov.sg/cms/mss/gif/rainloc0.gif
  • Replies 16

to add, i was not stop by any authorities on that day. but just wondering if they could detect it thru gantry.

what is the offence if u ride with an expired road tax?

The story goes like this;

I got 2 bikes namely bike A n bike B.

bike a is my side bike so i seldom use. always use my bike b more..

my bike b coe expiring so on the 18 aug i went to lta to settle the coe issue by riding my bike a. after settle everything i went to orchard passing thru few gantries.

just today i realise my bike A road tax have expired on 14 aug and i have brought it on the road on 18 aug.

i have mislook the date of road tax expiry for my bike A after too much focusing on to settling my bike b coe. (human error)

I just paid the road tax just now at axs machine on 22nd aug.

so guys, anyone encounter this before?

wats the offence like?

if u encounter like my case before, how does u settle it?

any way to appeal?

i read that the offence will b court case with $2000 fine.

any input guys?

Bro, no worries bro, I Jena exactly like you, even worse, I used it for despatch work for two weeks!!, no fine nothing, only the late charges apply, 10bux for the first mth or so..make sure u got insurance is ok..u will be receiving a reminder letter for ur road tax real soon..and ya, I passed 6gantries a day...

sape aku kamu tanye?!- akulah BAPAKAU!!!!

who am i you ask?!-i am LIN PEY!!!

wor si shui?!-wor shi ni de LAO PA!!

-golden words of everyday-

Bro, no worries bro, I Jena exactly like you, even worse, I used it for despatch work for two weeks!!, no fine nothing, only the late charges apply, 10bux for the first mth or so..make sure u got insurance is ok..u will be receiving a reminder letter for ur road tax real soon..and ya, I passed 6gantries a day...

thats nice to hear, yup my insurance still valid. yup i've paid with the late payment fee as well. btw u said u receive a reminder letter? doet it state that they spotted u riding without road tax or just a normal letter just to remind u to renew? thx for the reply bro.

any other input guys?

i dun think e erp cn sumhw 'detect' e bike particulars or wad

unless,ur card no money? dan MAYB

they r there to deduct money nia

I think shouldn't be a problem la. Honest mistake anyway. But if riding without insurance i think more serious.

Anyway, got so many people riding through ERP everyday. If yours beep properly, deduct swee swee, then they would not even bother looking into your case whether road tax expired or not. Got so many people they won't even bother.

i dun think e erp cn sumhw 'detect' e bike particulars or wad

unless,ur card no money? dan MAYB

they r there to deduct money nia

i wish its tat simple.

I think shouldn't be a problem la. Honest mistake anyway. But if riding without insurance i think more serious.

Anyway, got so many people riding through ERP everyday. If yours beep properly, deduct swee swee, then they would not even bother looking into your case whether road tax expired or not. Got so many people they won't even bother.

i hope for the best also... insurance still valid.

shldnt b a prob ba..

wait 2 more weeks lor dan c hw

update us

Since your insurance is valid, can write to LTA to appeal against ERP administrative charges. No harm trying, they sometime do waive the extra charges & asked you to pay the ERP as of that moment.

should write in once you receive the letter.

No worry, as it is not serious.

For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life. - John 3:16

www.calvarypandan.org

Since your insurance is valid, can write to LTA to appeal against ERP administrative charges. No harm trying, they sometime do waive the extra charges & asked you to pay the ERP as of that moment.

should write in once you receive the letter.

No worry, as it is not serious.

bro, i dun understand you. i got insurance, i got cash card, cash card oso got value, value deduct safely.... wats got to do with the appeal against ERP administrative charges?

so hows ur case mate ?

btw.have u buy e rd tax ??

n..any 'late rd tax payment fee'?

so hows ur case mate ?

btw.have u buy e rd tax ??

n..any 'late rd tax payment fee'?

so far ok no news. i renew it on 22nd already like i post earlier of cos got late payment fee 10 bux.

ic.e $10 is universal ?

i mean no matter hw long u nvr renew,

4 ur case is nt v long dan renew

or e longer u nvr renew,e more e fee is ??

ic.e $10 is universal ?

i mean no matter hw long u nvr renew,

4 ur case is nt v long dan renew

or e longer u nvr renew,e more e fee is ??

they got price range la bro.... if u ever renew ur rd tax u can see it below the paper got state..

first late payment is 10 bucks... the longer u renew the higher the late payment...

Bro, fyi ERP is not used for 'enforcement' but of course they could monitor and are aware of the infringement but since you were not caught red handed on the road and now that the road tax has been paid it all water under the bridge.

But for others, just remember that if there is a pattern that u pass a certain gantry at around the same time daily den dont play with fire bcos - look at my first sentence , after they monitor den they can already standby where u usally pass thru or wait for u at your carpark until u move off then ROV will stop u.... remember no road tax = no insurance = min 1 year suspension = licence chongkong

wow

no rd tax = no insurance ah...serious sia