Daelim S3 fuel injection DOHC 125cc scooter

Hi all, any1 brought e above scooter can share some info on e performance n maintenance on it? The adv said it can hit 140 top speed, dun kn how true is it for a 125cc. Price wise is quite high at 8.6k OTR, dun kn why daelim bikes can b tat expensive. Any inputs or comments bros?

• Replies 936

collecting it on tues. I dun think can go that fast. Will update again

Btw, how much u pay for it bro? i also interested in e bike but price too high le. Well if e performance is good then i will consider buying. Thanks for e input n hope to hear from u soon, happy riding.

I paid $8600 (all in) for the bike inclusive of 10 years road tax free (special promo, now no more), helmet, bike cover, box, and rain coat. Be aware that their interest is one of the highest (7%) but no early payment penalty. I also paid $90/- for the admin charge for hire purchase agreement.

I down 1.5K and after considering the interest, i have decided to paid up everything when i collect the bike next Tues. Not really advertising for them, CKA service is good albeit the steep prices of their bikes and what the salesperson told me is true - they only sell Daelim and they cant afford to compromise the quality of the bike.

The servicing for the first few is FOC ie i dun have to pay a cent. Will update again

I paid $8600 (all in) for the bike inclusive of 10 years road tax free (special promo, now no more), helmet, bike cover, box, and rain coat. Be aware that their interest is one of the highest (7%) but no early payment penalty. I also paid $90/- for the admin charge for hire purchase agreement.

I down 1.5K and after considering the interest, i have decided to paid up everything when i collect the bike next Tues. Not really advertising for them, CKA service is good albeit the steep prices of their bikes and what the salesperson told me is true - they only sell Daelim and they cant afford to compromise the quality of the bike.

The servicing for the first few is FOC ie i dun have to pay a cent. Will update again

ok bro thanks for e update, i was also quote 8.6k fo it but still find e price too high for a 125cc le, if 200cc then i dun mind fork out e extra cash. Now wish to hear from u regarding e performance n maintanence issues of e bike, n e cost of spares like belt, rollers, filters etc. All e best n happy riding.

it's really up to personal preference. IMO, i dun like PCX is becoz of the build and drum brake and at point of viewing, the design of the bike is not suitable for placing a box unless the rack is mod by individual shops. As for excel ii, i find it too ugly albeit its a budget bike that gain a competitive edge. I choosen S3 is beocz i like the design and technology associated with it, and i prepared to spend. I note that performance and maintanence are mainly your concerns. Then you should consider sym evo 200i and GTS 200. But note that the latter has some exhaust issues and you may want to view the sym subforum to gain an insight. For evo 200i, the price is around 7.4k otr.

well i'm currently riding a GTS200, wanted to upgrade to another bike. As there is not much to choose from for 200cc as i only hv 2B, so i rounded up 3 bikes, kymco dink150, S3 n joyride 200i. Not really looking for a high performance bike but a decent performance n less problem issues for S3 in view of e price tat it is on.

Bro KChiong, so u collected ur S3? How's ur ride? Let me kn if u encounter any problems with e bike, will like to kn more b4 i buy it. Thanks for e inputs, cheers!

well i'm currently riding a GTS200, wanted to upgrade to another bike. As there is not much to choose from for 200cc as i only hv 2B, so i rounded up 3 bikes, kymco dink150, S3 n joyride 200i. Not really looking for a high performance bike but a decent performance n less problem issues for S3 in view of e price tat it is on.

Bro KChiong, so u collected ur S3? How's ur ride? Let me kn if u encounter any problems with e bike, will like to kn more b4 i buy it. Thanks for e inputs, cheers!

Hi, i'm running so there's nothing much to share but the pickup is bad (even if i dun throttle much) Why I'm saying is becoz previously i was riding a Gilera DNA for 9 yrs plus, engine similar to runner 180. When the RPM hits 4-5, i can easily hit 40km/hr and above, but the S3 is a disappointment in this aspect as the bike will reach 40km/hr when the rpm is around 6 and not forgetting that time taken is longer (less responsive). Speaking abt the plus point, very stable in terms of cornering since it's one of the biggest 2b bike. So far no problem since i only ride for 2 days. Some riders upon collecting their bike will attempt to mod their bikes for example exhaust, LED etc. But for S3, i couldnt think of anything to change and thus save me the money

CKA's livelihood and existence depend on Daelim. If their customer service is not up to par and the quality of the bike is compromised, customer would lose confidence and there goes their business. I paid full cash and so far their service is to my standard.

Before i bought the bike, i asked them abt the cost of the normal servicing. for eg changing of rollers and belt will not cost more than $150 - which should be cheaper than Gilera bikes. When i asked abt the availability of parts since i will be riding for more than 5 yrs shd nothing goes wrong, they mentioned that Daelim will continue producing the parts for 10 yrs (hope they are telling the truth)

If you have the time to spare, i suggest you wait till i finish my run in before getting your next ride so i'll be able to give a more accurate evaluation and in the meanwhile, you can collect information on other bikes. We can meet for kopi if you want since i'mclocking mileage :p

how about PGO G-max 200 and x-hot 150? I nearly bought the latter but decided on the s3 as i wanted a maxi scooter

Guest adair69

Hi All

I'm running in the S3 too currently.

Service from CKA has been faultless and I think its an indicator for the future as generally how you get treated from interest to purchase (especially when you're a difficult as I am) is how it continues.

I agree the revs sit quite high on the model, but generally I put this down to a constantly adjusting auto clutch. The early signs are that the bike has hidden grunt, but until run in can't really say. It is however eager to move. The throttle does seem to have a "engage" no "engage" jerkiness to its delivery, but again I feel the clutch and gearbox is the suspect here.

Stability for what is a big old beast is not as good as I anticipated, and could be down to its aerodynamics coupled with a light structure, but in respect of handling it makes life very easy around town.

140 I think is pretty much out of the question, unless I'm seriously off the mark; in saying that I do believe that its comparable with any 200cc I've ridden, certainly in respect of riding within the limits.

Fuel consumption so far has been 8.33l to 298km. I hope to see this improve as the bike loosens up.

As a commuter it does pretty much exactly what I thought it would, as with anything you always want it to do things even better....

I'll post up the next piece as its done the run in and I can comment further.

Finally ... value for money. Well that's all relative really. For me the "no key" for convenience, the DOHC with fuel injection for smoothness, and the fact its locally produced with no issues for parts kind of made it ideal. Service plays a part as well and some of the dealers for other makes... well didn't impress.

I could critique some of the other bikes I tried, but in fairness as I say these are pretty much personal choices.:p

Well, thanks for all e updates bros. I think e 140 top speed is bullshit la, i throttle my GTS to 90 it start to roar n vibrate violently liao. In view of e high price n low power of S3, i may b getting a sym joyride200i instead. Anyway no hurry la cos my road tax expire nxt yr march. Hopefully when u guys finish running in ur S3, e pickup will improve loh. Hope to hear more from u guys again, thanks n happy riding

Edited by sym7
Hi all, any1 brought e above scooter can share some info on e performance n maintenance on it? The adv said it can hit 140 top speed, dun kn how true is it for a 125cc. Price wise is quite high at 8.6k OTR, dun kn why daelim bikes can b tat expensive. Any inputs or comments bros?

u bought the wrong scooter lah bro....u should ask ppl first before buying!!!

:popcorn:
Hi, i'm running so there's nothing much to share but the pickup is bad (even if i dun throttle much) Why I'm saying is becoz previously i was riding a Gilera DNA for 9 yrs plus, engine similar to runner 180. When the RPM hits 4-5, i can easily hit 40km/hr and above, but the S3 is a disappointment in this aspect as the bike will reach 40km/hr when the rpm is around 6 and not forgetting that time taken is longer (less responsive). Speaking abt the plus point, very stable in terms of cornering since it's one of the biggest 2b bike. So far no problem since i only ride for 2 days. Some riders upon collecting their bike will attempt to mod their bikes for example exhaust, LED etc. But for S3, i couldnt think of anything to change and thus save me the money

CKA's livelihood and existence depend on Daelim. If their customer service is not up to par and the quality of the bike is compromised, customer would lose confidence and there goes their business. I paid full cash and so far their service is to my standard.

Before i bought the bike, i asked them abt the cost of the normal servicing. for eg changing of rollers and belt will not cost more than $150 - which should be cheaper than Gilera bikes. When i asked abt the availability of parts since i will be riding for more than 5 yrs shd nothing goes wrong, they mentioned that Daelim will continue producing the parts for 10 yrs (hope they are telling the truth)

If you have the time to spare, i suggest you wait till i finish my run in before getting your next ride so i'll be able to give a more accurate evaluation and in the meanwhile, you can collect information on other bikes. We can meet for kopi if you want since i'mclocking mileage :p

Im riding rwr daelim currently and will be changing it to s3 ....by next month my new bike shld come out. anyway dont expect too much from tis bike as its only 125cc..... power wise will be lesser..... need to mod on the bike.like wat i did on the rwr when i first had it.... haizzzzbut anyway mange to do up my rwr125 with no regreats..... had more power and nice pick up.... will disscus with chief mech at cka kb to see wat we can do to improve the bike....

Well, thanks for all e updates bros. I think e 140 top speed is bullshit la, i throttle my GTS to 90 it start to roar n vibrate violently liao. In view of e high price n low power of S3, i may b getting a sym joyride200i intead. Anyway no hurry la cos my road tax expire nxt yr march. Hopefully when u guys finish running in ur S3, e pickup will improve loh. Hope to hear more from u guys again, thanks n happy riding

hahaha dont know about it.... but my rwr has hit a top speed of 149kmph ..... fyi the two bikes are running on the same engine system.....

16/feb/09 Pass tp

18/feb/09 sp150

daelim rwr....... come liao!!!!!!!!!

awaits S3..... :thumb:

S3 is here!!!!!!!!!!:cool:

Daystar is in... (scraped on 13/06/2012)

Varadero is here:

Aprilla Sports city 200

It would be great if the bike could be mod to achieve a better pickup. Not so fussy abt top speed as 120 to 125 would suffice. Hope to see more s3 riders

specs of the mod i have in mind

(1)achieve better pick up

(2)better air intake

(3)better Speed

(4better out put

It would be great if the bike could be mod to achieve a better pickup. Not so fussy abt top speed as 120 to 125 would suffice. Hope to see more s3 riders

16/feb/09 Pass tp

18/feb/09 sp150

Varadero is here:

Aprilla Sports city 200

Hi bros,

Currectly i'm riding B-bone about moding of bike hmm... please count me in :)

Wow bro,

moding of scooter ??

specs of the mod i have in mind

(1)achieve better pick up (no problem)

(2)better air intake (stock is better)

(3)better Speed (can be done)

(4better out put (should not have a problem)

( Goober Scooter Rider. )

http://i296.photobucket.com/albums/mm189/siriusjones/scooter.jpg

Yeah man for scooters to achieve 140 on a 125 scooter engine is almost impossible.

I full modded my X9 evo and can barely touch 140 only. Confirm lies

double post

Edited by firestation
somehow it double post

16/feb/09 Pass tp

18/feb/09 sp150

Varadero is here:

Aprilla Sports city 200

Halo Bro, you the men i'm looking for..... hehehehehehe. time to lim kopi with you..... hehehehehe so how's work on your side? quite long no c ur b-bone liao..... when free lim kopi?? needzz to talk to you... hehehehe

Hi bros,

Currectly i'm riding B-bone about moding of bike hmm... please count me in :)

Wow bro,

moding of scooter ??

16/feb/09 Pass tp

18/feb/09 sp150

Varadero is here:

Aprilla Sports city 200

hahaha need to try to break it..... kidding

Yeah man for scooters to achieve 140 on a 125 scooter engine is almost impossible.

I full modded my X9 evo and can barely touch 140 only. Confirm lies

16/feb/09 Pass tp

18/feb/09 sp150

Varadero is here:

Aprilla Sports city 200

wah this thread is really dead.........

16/feb/09 Pass tp

18/feb/09 sp150

Varadero is here:

Aprilla Sports city 200

This scooter really caught my attention at first impression, (I stopped riding for 3yrs liao after buying a car). I was shopping for baby wear and happened to chance upon this S3 that really caught my attention and first impression was good. I think its the first keyless ignition scooter in the world, DOHC is also a plus point for 125cc, and nice build overall. But the pricing was a lil too steep for me then.

After a few sleepless nights, I went back to look for Roy the supervisor who attended me. ****! price increased due to increase of COE! haha.. Well after much discussion, we agreed on the original price and yes, today I am happy with this bike, still running in, about 300+km, seldom ride..

Top speed of 140kmh, hmm.. seriously Ive yet to try. However, im able to do 110kmh at 80% throttle (Im about 70+kg). So, hopefully the bike can do 130kmh after 2 engine oil change. Mileage.. Still running on 1st full tank after taking bike haha, so no comments but so far so good. Big bike, so stability is there. Its just so easy to ride around.

Kchiong, you bot your bike at KB? I agree with the service being tip-top, perhaps they are agent and so its different from outside. Havent been to the outlets as I stay in the east. What color is your bike? any mods yet?

Firestation, what color you buying? I think you will be the first modded S3 here haha..

This scooter really caught my attention at first impression, (I stopped riding for 3yrs liao after buying a car). I was shopping for baby wear and happened to chance upon this S3 that really caught my attention and first impression was good. I think its the first keyless ignition scooter in the world, DOHC is also a plus point for 125cc, and nice build overall. But the pricing was a lil too steep for me then.

After a few sleepless nights, I went back to look for Roy the supervisor who attended me. ****! price increased due to increase of COE! haha.. Well after much discussion, we agreed on the original price and yes, today I am happy with this bike, still running in, about 300+km, seldom ride..

Top speed of 140kmh, hmm.. seriously Ive yet to try. However, im able to do 110kmh at 80% throttle (Im about 70+kg). So, hopefully the bike can do 130kmh after 2 engine oil change. Mileage.. Still running on 1st full tank after taking bike haha, so no comments but so far so good. Big bike, so stability is there. Its just so easy to ride around.

Kchiong, you bot your bike at KB? I agree with the service being tip-top, perhaps they are agent and so its different from outside. Havent been to the outlets as I stay in the east. What color is your bike? any mods yet?

Firestation, what color you buying? I think you will be the first modded S3 here haha..

running in you already try 110. :thumb: They advise that for the first 3000km, ride below 80. Yes, i bought at KB and black in colour. Wanted to take grey but got to wait so gave up the idea. No mod so far, only cosmetic like changing of handle grip as the stock can be quite slippery once contact with water. After that, i might go to 219 shop to buy some stickers, including white sticker for rim lining. if 80% throttle can hit 110, then i'm satisfied liao, only need to source for ways to improve the pickup.

Btw, for those lazy to wash bike. After servicing at KB, we can proceed to HL cycle to wash at $8/- (no wax) since its round the corner

hahaha 1st modded... S3 watch TPs inside here hahahahha............. anyway seems like theres gd comment from you over this bike... maybe when i get my bike will jio every1 out for outing......

16/feb/09 Pass tp

18/feb/09 sp150

Varadero is here:

Aprilla Sports city 200