Originally posted by PL@Jul 12 2005, 11:56 AM

How abt, with whatever change we have in our pockets or savings account, we go to one place. Then get a temp job, build up funds, then go on to the next destination, and so on. That way, we'll be able to fund our own journey and at the same time experience local culture by mixing, working and socialising with the locals. In my opinion, it's not really a question of funding or sponsorhip or whether we can afford to drop everything we have in our life now and do this. It's more a question of will, and courage. I, as of now, is just a simple case of having no guts.....yet.

Then do it before the little ones come along, else, its gonna be, at least, another 20 years wait :cheeky: :cheeky:

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b193/KohTL/1098/signature.jpg

The years thunder by.

The drams of youth grow dim where they lie caked in dust on the shelves of patience.

Before we know it, the tomb is sealed.

Where, then, lies the answer?

In choice. Which shall it be: bankruptcy of purse or bankruptcy of life?

- Sterling Haden, Voyage, 1976

Originally posted by Cyclop aka "Sideways!&q@Jul 12 2005, 12:15 PM

Then do it before the little ones come along, else, its gonna be, at least, another 20 years wait :cheeky: :cheeky:

But going alone is a bit too scary, don't u think? If something happens, nobody will know until somebody stumbles upon your rotting body or skeleton straddling your rusty GS or RT. hahahaha. Or maybe just wait till we meet a mid-life or quarter-life crisis, then heck care lah.

http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a140/pinglong/R1200RT_R1200GSA_top_back_on_back.jpg
Originally posted by PL@Jul 12 2005, 11:56 AM

How abt, with whatever change we have in our pockets or savings account, we go to one place. Then get a temp job, build up funds, then go on to the next destination, and so on. That way, we'll be able to fund our own journey and at the same time experience local culture by mixing, working and socialising with the locals. In my opinion, it's not really a question of funding or sponsorhip or whether we can afford to drop everything we have in our life now and do this. It's more a question of will, and courage. I, as of now, is just a simple case of having no guts.....yet.

Heard of an Italian using a R80GS basic to travel the globe on "instalment", he will take 1 month leave and 2 months unpaid leave to travel per year, when his leave is due, he will stop at his nearest BMW world wide agent for servicing and he will return to Italy to continue his work and his usual daily life, and come back to the same place on his next travelling year to continue his journey. I saw him testing his R80GS at PML many years ago and was told of his story, quite a good concept I think.

So, if possible, get a cheap and reliable bike (brand) with world wide agent, like the R80GS, so you can travel by instalment and not affecting your life.

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=66510&d=1214192421

Actually, any bike is possible.

http://www.crayon-box.jp/donchan/ape/bike-rireki/img/SDR3.jpg

http://www.crayon-box.jp/donchan/ape/bike-rireki/img/SDR1.jpg

This guy travelled the whole Japan using SDR, think he got METAL butt.

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=66510&d=1214192421
Originally posted by SDR@Jul 12 2005, 12:45 PM

Heard of an Italian using a R80GS basic to travel the globe on "instalment", he will take 1 month leave and 2 months unpaid leave to travel per year, when his leave is due, he will stop at his nearest BMW world wide agent for servicing and he will return to Italy to continue his work and his usual daily life, and come back to the same place on his next travelling year to continue his journey.

And do we have such supportive and understanding employer here ?? http://www.advrider.com/forums/images/smilies/headscratch.gif

Hmmmmm.......

"Off coures" we do.......

I believe mine will tell me to go enjoy myself, live out my passion, don't worry about the office, don't worry about work. That he'll get someone to fill in for me......

PERMANTLY!! http://www.advrider.com/forums/images/smilies/musicboohoo.gif

The years thunder by.

The drams of youth grow dim where they lie caked in dust on the shelves of patience.

Originally posted by Cyclop aka "Sideways!&q@Jul 12 2005, 01:05 PM

And do we have such supportive and understanding employer here ?? http://www.advrider.com/forums/images/smilies/headscratch.gif

Hmmmmm.......

"Off coures" we do.......

I believe mine will tell me to go enjoy myself, live out my passion, don't worry about the office, don't worry about work. That he'll get someone to fill in for me......

PERMANTLY!! http://www.advrider.com/forums/images/smilies/musicboohoo.gif

Originally posted by Suzu@Jul 12 2005, 09:39 AM

DONT BLUFF ! I DONT BELIEVE ! MAI SIAN LAH !

I DUN BELIEVE I AM BLUFFING :thumb:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v210/FazeGabes/MISC/R1200GSASignature.jpg

We must ADJUST to an Ever changing Road...while holding onto unchanging principles.... :angel:

All this talk about riding is driving me crazy....... o_O

Just too bad we are in a society thats a little conservative still. We cant behave like our AngMoh counterparts even if we want to do so. Cant just leave job, "lets go riding!!" kind of attitude. We think too much, worry too much, too much comittment. etc etc etc etc....... :weep:

We must ADJUST to an Ever changing Road...while holding onto unchanging principles.... :angel:

Originally posted by GSGabes@Jul 12 2005, 01:31 PM

Just too bad we are in a society thats a little conservative still. We cant behave like our AngMoh counterparts even if we want to do so. Cant just leave job, "lets go riding!!" kind of attitude. We think too much, worry too much, too much comittment. etc etc etc etc....... :weep:

You are just too sian, bluff yourself and put all blames on society to do all these thing lah - me too. don't forget the Ang Mo didn't start all the Adventage and exploration, guess you have forgotton Mr Zheng He. The Chi-na is the 1st to travel the globe on wooden tongkang, using that to reach Cape of Good Hope before Pizza was delivered there. Further, you can find chinese everywhere in the world, can you find ang mo all over the world?

So, who got more guts? Not me anyway. I am just some1 tt enjoy the shelter provided in Spore, draw a less than sufficient salary tt never match the standard of living, stay in pigeon holes, paying tax promptly, working 9-5, sorry 9-5.30pm, own a "it's like that 1" motorcycle, ride in this small island where public transport is good but price is forever increasing - (seem like our public transport can not be cat into PUBLIC goods), installing things just to beautified it, paying forever high petrol fees, accepting nonsense concept that so long I can pay, I can own it, meet up with friends, occassionally to drink, eat, TCSS, complains and etc... - wa lau, life so boring, think better die lah, life is meaningless here.

DON'T COMPLAIN, "IT'S LIKE THAT ONE LAH"

Yo Gabes, lets start putting money aside, quit one day, get a couple of old carb Waves and instead of visiting trees worldwide, we go "Hooters" hunting :p

The years thunder by.

Originally posted by SDR@Jul 12 2005, 01:50 PM

You are just too sian, bluff yourself and put all blames on society to do all these thing lah - me too. don't forget the Ang Mo didn't start all the Adventage and exploration, guess you have forgotton Mr Zheng He. The Chi-na is the 1st to travel the globe on wooden tongkang, using that to reach Cape of Good Hope before Pizza was delivered there.

He was sponsored Bro...... :giddy: :giddy: :giddy: Me think the Emperor was his patron :thumb:

The years thunder by.

Originally posted by Cyclop aka "Sideways!&q@Jul 12 2005, 01:55 PM

He was sponsored Bro...... :giddy: :giddy: :giddy: Me think the Emperor was his patron :thumb:

Not easy for him too, just imagine, without proper maps, DHL or FEDEX at that time to deliver spares to him, no GPS, IRRIDIUM cell phone, watch, compass, he is really great to make it during his time, even with great sponsorship, believe not many or none actually make it back.

Originally posted by Cyclop aka "Sideways!&q@Jul 12 2005, 09:59 AM

:nono: :nono: :nono:

Who's this guy??

Must be singing the "Blues" for too long :faint: :faint: :faint:

Eh...... Blues are forever man ! Even old still can perform :cheer:

Yeah man....everytime i look at those posting in advrider, go alaska, go africa, or just around the US of A itself, I always ask myself why can't I do that. then I will start thinking abt lack of money, scared something happen, boss ask me to take permanent leave, have to sell my children to pay bills maybe..... the excitement of taking risk and doing what I've not done b4 is just not greater than the 'better be safe than sorry' attitude.

http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a140/pinglong/R1200RT_R1200GSA_top_back_on_back.jpg

ITS LIKE TAT ONE LAH :help:

Originally posted by Cyclop aka "Sideways!&q@Jul 12 2005, 01:51 PM

Yo Gabes, lets start putting money aside, quit one day, get a couple of old carb Waves and instead of visiting trees worldwide, we go "Hooters" hunting :p

GSGABES & CYCLOP,

http://www.singaporebikes.com/classifieds/images/13939_FDakxja3BD.jpg

FS WAVE 125 - S$2.1k niah

Originally posted by SDR@Jul 12 2005, 02:09 PM

Not easy for him too, just imagine, without proper maps, DHL or FEDEX at that time to deliver spares to him, no GPS, IRRIDIUM cell phone, watch, compass, he is really great to make it during his time, even with great sponsorship, believe not many or none actually make it back.

I think in those times, things are built to last. Quality of craftmanship, skills, materials are incredibly high. Unlike now, I bet they don't need to worry much abt whatever equipments they have, failing them. If their craftsmen say something will work, then it really works. Their craftsmen won't make the mistake of fix something to the port side, when it's supposed to be at starboard. They must really know their stuff, otherwise will be beheaded if something goes wrong. They won't do something, charge you 2,000 taels of gold and then if something still happens, "it's like that one lah". If something wrong, they don't need to spend 1,000,000 taels of gold to hire ppl to tow their tongkang back to china, they can fix it wherever they are because they have good ppl who knows exactly what to fix, how to fix. And not fix the whole part in, and test whether it works now or not without finding what exactly is wrong. Maybe it's just a 10 taels of silver parts that needs to be replaced, but becoz they dunno, so have to change the 500,000 taels of gold parts to make it works again. And if Cheng Ho ask, the craftsmen will say oh it's the 500,000 tales of gold parts that's faulty. Or if dunno how to fix, then leave it there for dunno how long, or make you feel stupid for damaging it in the first place. Then wait for you to bring it somewhere else to fix. Or fix the sail, but damaged the rudder, and make u pay for both. Fix the cabin, but affects the hull integrity and say we have to live with it. coz... "it's like......" u know the line

Bros...I can go on and on...but I need to stop b4 I decide not to sail a boat completely for the rest of my life.

Originally posted by PL@Jul 12 2005, 02:54 PM

I think in those times, things are built to last. Quality of craftmanship, skills, materials are incredibly high. Unlike now, I bet they don't need to worry much abt whatever equipments they have, failing them. If their craftsmen say something will work, then it really works. Their craftsmen won't make the mistake of fix something to the port side, when it's supposed to be at starboard. They must really know their stuff, otherwise will be beheaded if something goes wrong. They won't do something, charge you 2,000 taels of gold and then if something still happens, "it's like that one lah". If something wrong, they don't need to spend 1,000,000 taels of gold to hire ppl to tow their tongkang back to china, they can fix it wherever they are because they have good ppl who knows exactly what to fix, how to fix. And not fix the whole part in, and test whether it works now or not without finding what exactly is wrong. Maybe it's just a 10 taels of silver parts that needs to be replaced, but becoz they dunno, so have to change the 500,000 taels of gold parts to make it works again. Or if dunno how to fix, then leave it there for dunno how long, or make you feel stupid for damaging it in the first place. Then wait for you to bring it somewhere else to fix. Or fix the sail, but damaged the rudder, and make u pay for both. Fix the cabin, but affects the hull integrity and say we have to live with it. coz... "it's like......" u know the line

Bros...I can go on and on...but I need to stop b4 I decide to stop "sailing a boat" completely for the rest of my life.

Why your "story" sound so familiar to me, must be my nightmare last night.

Don't hv to stop "sailing", IT'S LIKE THAT ONE.

Scooter with Baja headlights???????

Hey SDR, get this for your wife! It will ensure that she stays....visible. heh heh heh

http://i14.photobucket.com/albums/a341/telcobilly/Zuma1_800.jpg :cheeky: :cheeky:

Originally posted by PL@Jul 12 2005, 04:49 PM

Hey SDR, get this for your wife! It will ensure that she stays....visible. heh heh heh

http://i14.photobucket.com/albums/a341/telcobilly/Zuma1_800.jpg :cheeky: :cheeky:

Thats a scooter with 2 huge knockers..... :cheeky:

Wow!! :lovestruck: Knockers....

Originally posted by PL@Jul 12 2005, 04:49 PM

http://www.motorrad-bild.de/images_textbildarchiv/marken/honda/klassik/monkey_dax/affenbande.jpg

Dont think Yami will bring it in, anyway, not cute to me, I prefer the above, aren't they cute, sadly they are not available in Spore, if you ever find 1 here, the owner will be asking for sky high price - SD15K. :weep:

Originally posted by SDR@Jul 12 2005, 02:54 PM

GSGABES & CYCLOP,

http://www.singaporebikes.com/classifieds/images/13939_FDakxja3BD.jpg

FS WAVE 125 - S$2.1k niah

Hey, add 2 more side panniers and this bike can carry more stuff than our GSsssss o_O

The years thunder by.

http://sstar.cool.ne.jp/bike/02bott/bott06.jpg

Look at the engine case. I can never do it. Hey, Cyclop, this is the R100SM, hehehe.

http://sstar.cool.ne.jp/bike/02bott/bott07.jpg

At times I just wonder why the A No Nei bother to ride the German classic when they are producing 1 of the best machine in the world.

Originally posted by GSGabes@Jul 12 2005, 04:53 PM

Wow!! :lovestruck: Knockers....

Wanna increase "yours" to 38D? :smile:

The years thunder by.

Originally posted by SDR@Jul 12 2005, 05:32 PM

http://sstar.cool.ne.jp/bike/02bott/bott06.jpg

Look at the engine case. I can never do it. Hey, Cyclop, this is the R100SM, hehehe.

http://sstar.cool.ne.jp/bike/02bott/bott07.jpg

At times I just wonder why the A No Nei bother to ride the German classic when they are producing 1 of the best machine in the world.

Very Nice :thumb: :thumb: :thumb:

The years thunder by.