Originally posted by koma@Sep 6 2005, 12:02 AM

gabes tat day is it ur fren who ride the vfr sign up for some singnet internet plan n got free apple imac??

oh yah why leh?

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v210/FazeGabes/MISC/R1200GSASignature.jpg

We must ADJUST to an Ever changing Road...while holding onto unchanging principles.... :angel:

I would like to ask all the BMW owner, do you guys follows the hand book and change the engine oil every 10,000 km? What is the common Engine oil used?

It's not the miles per hour you go; It's the smiles per mile you get

www.kruzer.org.sg

http://re3.mm-a8.yimg.com/image/4267022567http://re3.mm-a10.yimg.com/image/404635075

Originally posted by seanwu@Sep 7 2005, 05:02 AM

I would like to ask all the BMW owner, do you guys follows the hand book and change the engine oil every 10,000 km? What is the common Engine oil used?

Around that, mineral oil, good enuff.

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b193/KohTL/1098/signature.jpg

The years thunder by.

The drams of youth grow dim where they lie caked in dust on the shelves of patience.

Before we know it, the tomb is sealed.

Where, then, lies the answer?

In choice. Which shall it be: bankruptcy of purse or bankruptcy of life?

- Sterling Haden, Voyage, 1976

......and she screamed: " Oh my gawk!!!! its a Harley!!!!! "

http://www.bigdogadventures.com/images/Pics/02%20Randy%20Stewart.jpg

:clapping:

The years thunder by.

The drams of youth grow dim where they lie caked in dust on the shelves of patience.

Storage problem, bring this with you...

http://www.ebbo.org/routegrandalps/002_bike_trailer.jpg

French Alps 2005

Euro Ramble 2004

30 miles in to the ride, and just before the Austro-German border, trouble struck!

We had stopped at a motorway services for fuel, when we spied these two characters lurking by the exit.

Of course they stopped us...

It turns out Austria runs a Road Vignette scam the same as the Swiss do. They took €65 off each of us for the privilege of driving on Austrian roads (that's £45 / $82) don't bother arguing, both carried very intimidating guns, and the one on the right's English dramatically improved once he'd robbed us all. I was so angry I couldn't speak. %*&/$%*@!! €€€ £££

http://www.ebbo.org/euroramble2004/Austrian_highwaymen.jpg

It happens everywhere...

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=66510&d=1214192421
Originally posted by Cyclop aka "Sideways!&q@Sep 7 2005, 05:11 AM

Around that, mineral oil, good enuff.

Hi Bro, I was told that mineral oil is good enough.

Please pardon me, are there different type of mineral oil(Viscosity) or different brand of mineral oil.... even for R1100R usage?

Although I am impressive about the BMW engine using mineral oil and change at 10,000km but I still do not have the confidence in using mineral oil for such a long milage... What about topping up of Engine at 10,000km?

Please advice...

www.kruzer.org.sg

http://re3.mm-a8.yimg.com/image/4267022567http://re3.mm-a10.yimg.com/image/404635075

The reson behind mineral oil is cos of the way the engine is built, wrong viscosity and you will have it burning oil faster esp if it's on the side stand idling, a very common known problem.

You will also experience the engine noise louder on thinner oils.

Originally posted by seanwu@Sep 7 2005, 08:08 PM

Hi Bro, I was told that mineral oil is good enough.

Please pardon me, are there different type of mineral oil(Viscosity) or different brand of mineral oil.... even for R1100R usage?

Although I am impressive about the BMW engine using mineral oil and change at 10,000km but I still do not have the confidence in using mineral oil for such a long milage... What about topping up of Engine at 10,000km?

Please advice...

10,000km IMO is just a guideline. If you like to ride hard, you might wanna consider an oil change on a more regular basis. On the other extreme, if someone parks the bike most of the time and rides it some of the time, they might also wanna think about having it change even before it reaches 10k, for the oil will degrade even when its sitting in the sump. Oil like any other part of the bike should be treated as a component where it breaks down with use and exposure. So, the general advice are usually to change the oil by so many km or in so many months, which ever comes first.

Topping up oil for airheads or oilheads is a neccessary evil for it burns oil as it chucks along. Like what Swish said, its a desigh thingie. But on the bright side, a well maintained and properly ridden boxer will have this requirement reduced as the milage piles up.

As to the pro and cons of syn vs mineral, there are already quite a bit of writeups on the topic, so do a search. Plenty more at ADVrider forum.

Anyway, I'm on Castrol Activ 20W-50. Good value and it works for me :smile:

The years thunder by.

ok thanx

www.kruzer.org.sg

I have the Dec 2003 price list with me now. It costs $40,600.00 then. With the current rising euro and the release of the 1200GS, current prices should be around there as well. You can also drop by the showroom to pick up the latest price list.

Yamaha WR200

Ducati Monster 400/540

Yamaha TDM850

Yamaha TDM900

BMW R1150GS

Suzuki Djebel 250XC

Suzuki Vstrom 650 ABS

Ducati Hyperstrada 821

:smile: thanks Baraccuda! Wow, Price for Adv in 2003 is quite steep.. Gosh. Are you riding GS? I would like to go down and have a look one day but it's the distance that put me off. I am not riding at the moment and the showroom is located at Kallang :sian: by the way, I stay in Sembawang, not at all on the way.

Oh yes, I saw the GS adv going for 30K, might take a look at it. I am swing aroung the idea of getting a GS adv or Kway Tiao Mee 950 adv.

More oil change and top up required to suit riding preference and a misbehaving right wrist :cheeky:

http://www.riteplan.co.za/images/frontpage.jpg

Shamelessly hijacked from this excellent thread:

http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=34180

The years thunder by.

Originally posted by ClOuDrIdEr@Sep 8 2005, 05:10 PM

........I am swing aroung the idea of getting a GS adv or Kway Tiao Mee 950 adv.

Kway Tiow Mee brand new 2004 Silver 950 Adv goin for 26K...... Anybody ?

http://thetrespasser.smugmug.com/photos/13541212-M.jpg

Oops.... wrong colour....... But you get the picture :cheeky:

The years thunder by.

When new kakis logs in this thread. Cyclops starts poisoning!! http://www.advrider.com/forums/images/smilies/99smoke.gif http://www.advrider.com/forums/images/smilies/wave.gif

Beware guys.... dun be poisoned. Anyway... buy something u like and u will stick with it for a while at least. :)

It took great pains to do up my GS to a satisfactory condition. Riding and still luving it! :lovestruck:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v210/FazeGabes/MISC/R1200GSASignature.jpg

We must ADJUST to an Ever changing Road...while holding onto unchanging principles.... :angel:

Originally posted by GSGabes@Sep 8 2005, 11:27 PM

When new kakis logs in this thread. Cyclops starts poisoning!! http://www.advrider.com/forums/images/smilies/99smoke.gif http://www.advrider.com/forums/images/smilies/wave.gif

Beware guys.... dun be poisoned. Anyway... buy something u like and u will stick with it for a while at least. :)

It took great pains to do up my GS to a satisfactory condition. Riding and still luving it! :lovestruck:

Ah....... So the man has spoken !!!

http://www.advrider.com/forums/images/smilies/wave.gif Gabes !!

Just sharing a bit of info that I know, no evil intention http://www.blueridge.net/~us/firstchoice/gifs/cool14.gif

http://www.kings-animal-farm.de/TOXIN14.GIF http://www.kings-animal-farm.de/TOXIN02.GIF http://www.kings-animal-farm.de/TOXIN14.GIF http://www.kings-animal-farm.de/TOXIN02.GIF

The years thunder by.

New Kakis been poisoned.. What potent poison it is.. *cough*COUGH* it attacking my blood vain and streaming into my heart.. poison is working on it.. *Hands on my throat and ctaching breath* :angel: :angel: Who's selling brand new Kway Tiow Mee for 26K. But a ktm silver in colour???

Originally posted by ClOuDrIdEr@Sep 9 2005, 08:48 AM

New Kakis been poisoned.. What potent poison it is.. *cough*COUGH* it attacking my blood vain and streaming into my heart.. poison is working on it.. *Hands on my throat and ctaching breath* :angel: :angel: Who's selling brand new Kway Tiow Mee for 26K. But a ktm silver in colour???

Give Ong of Dirt Wheels a call, he'll prepare a more potent brew for you ..... kekekeke :smile: :smile:

http://jbsmultimedia.net/bigcatweb/jimmyslide.jpg

http://diezel.smugmug.com/photos/21539432-L.jpg

http://www.motosvet.com/tabla/uploads/post-1-1116244386.jpg

http://www.motosvet.com/tabla/uploads/post-1-1116682769.jpg

http://www.motosvet.com/tabla/uploads/post-1-1116682830.jpg

Very Silver indeed :thumb:

The years thunder by.

Yo Gabes,

This one's for you..... :D

http://www.flht.org/phr2.jpg

I know you'll like it :D

The years thunder by.

Anyone going to M-Tech later ...

I'm bored, wanna go visit my 'sick' baby .. hopefully ful recovery by next week ...

Speakin of which, I've not unpack for the Cameron Trip .. so anyone wanna go eat Chicken Rice in Malacca, catch a cold one at HRC KL let me know ... still have plenty of leave to clear ...

Originally posted by hanwoon@Sep 9 2005, 01:45 PM

Anyone going to M-Tech later ...

I'm bored, wanna go visit my 'sick' baby .. hopefully ful recovery by next week ...

Speakin of which, I've not unpack for the Cameron Trip .. so anyone wanna go eat Chicken Rice in Malacca, catch a cold one at HRC KL let me know ... still have plenty of leave to clear ...

yup me goin there later

Originally posted by barracuda@Sep 9 2005, 05:14 PM

A good source for cheaper parts for your beemers. Worth it if you've got friends coming back from US. You basically can assemble a whole bike buying all the components. :thumb:

http://www.beemerboneyard.com/index.html

nice site`~ :thumb:

GS bait...... wonder if any fish will http://www.advrider.com/forums/images/smilies/bitehard.gif

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b193/KohTL/GS/gsknik.jpg

Picture from ADVrider

The years thunder by.