This is interesting...

Failure to use the right oil, use proper filtration, or observe proper changing intervals can affect the performance of even the best motor oil. This also includes changing the oil too often. Against conventional wisdom, engine wear decreases as oil ages to a certain extent, which means that changing your oil more frequently actually causes engine wear; these findings were substantiated by studies conducted by the auto manufacturers and petroleum companies. With this knowledge in hand, using a quality motor oil with proper filtration and suggested drain intervals, as recommended by Porsche, is the best thing to do for your engine and to protect your investment.

Can I use a car motor oil in a motorcycle?

Although we are discussing Porsches, I thought I should clarify this point. You should always use a motorcycle oil in a motorcycle, especially one that meets the required specification, such as the JASO-MA and others, since the motor oil has in most cases a dual purpose of lubricating the gearbox and some have to deal with a wet clutch. In a pinch there are some car motor oils that will do the job, but why skimp when you can use the real thing?

So, dry clutch bike like Ducati, Vespa and BMW can use Car oil...

Interesting article... click here...

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=66510&d=1214192421
Originally posted by SDR@Jul 6 2006, 04:06 PM

So, dry clutch bike like Ducati, Vespa and BMW can use Car oil...

I think Porche recommends Mobil 1, but then again, their studies were based on a cars' engine, their Flat 6 I presumed. Cars' engine and Bikes' engine are built differently and runs differently so are such comparison and cross over application valid http://www.advrider.com/forums/images/smilies/headscratch.gif Just look at the cc to HP ratio between a car and a bike engine, the bike engine is definitely more highly strung http://www.advrider.com/forums/images/smilies/ricky.gif

The next question would be, why not use bike's engine oil in a car's engine then http://www.advrider.com/forums/images/smilies/pot.gif

Just my 2 chiam worth.... :D

Yo SDR, you wanna try some puay kee U? We use Mobil MJ02 http://s3.amazonaws.com/advrider/mwink.gif

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b193/KohTL/1098/signature.jpg

The years thunder by.

The drams of youth grow dim where they lie caked in dust on the shelves of patience.

Before we know it, the tomb is sealed.

Where, then, lies the answer?

In choice. Which shall it be: bankruptcy of purse or bankruptcy of life?

- Sterling Haden, Voyage, 1976

hehehehe, no need, will get 3litres from our vsl, just placed some order with BP for the vessel :

MAKER : BP

SUPPLIER : PREMIER LUBRICANT(S) PTE LTD

TEL : XXXXXXX

ETA : xxTH/xxx/2006

PRODUCTS AND QTTY :

CLO 50M - 8,000 LTR IN BULK

DL-MP 30 - 4,000 LTR IN BULK

IC-HFX 303 - 5 DRUMS ON DECK

MP-MG 2 - 5 PAILS

Car using Motorcycle oil - Mr Jeffrey of Papa Milo Limo support tt, he uses it on his then Alfa Romeo and I was influenced by him, I tried on my Suzuki GTi but sadly, I don't feel much difference and motorcycle oil used to be more expensive than car oil... now, m/c oil seem cheaper...

What about the claims by specialty motorcycle oil manufacturers, that their oil is better?

That's a good one. Next time you hear that line, simply ask, "What evidence do you have?" Chances are, there is no evidence. If you do get any, please let me know!

Why are motorcycle oils so much more expensive than automotive oils?

Cost of doing business is higher per quart of motorcycle oil. Large oil companies make so much more product that their profit margin per quart does not have to be so high. Some motorcycle oils may actually offer less protection than SJ automotive oils.

Above extracted from BMW, South Africa... click here...

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=66510&d=1214192421
Originally posted by SDR@Jul 6 2006, 04:52 PM

PRODUCTS AND QTTY :

CLO 50M - 8,000 LTR IN BULK

DL-MP 30 - 4,000 LTR IN BULK

IC-HFX 303 - 5 DRUMS ON DECK

MP-MG 2 - 5 PAILS

12,000ltrs plus 5 drums plus 5 pails...... wah, I think we can have U until we see the R12000000000GS model year 3000 http://s3.amazonaws.com/advrider/nod.gif

The years thunder by.

The drams of youth grow dim where they lie caked in dust on the shelves of patience.

PRODUCTS AND QTTY :

CYLTECH 70 82,000 LTR IN BULK

CDX 30 16,000 LTR IN BULK

TLX 304 4,700 LTR IN BULK

AIRCOL SN 100 10 PAILS

SPHEEROL SX 2 10 PAILS

ALPHA SP 150 5 PAILS

this is for VLCC..., can last till yr 4000... kekeke...

Originally posted by Cyclop aka "Sideways!&q@Jul 6 2006, 12:28 AM

The http://www.ukgser.com/forums/images/smilies/gs.gif sticker did it for me http://www.absolutepunk.net/images/smilies/default/laugh.gif

yep i agree...... am in the market for a new helmet too.... i think that did it.....

This is marriage...

http://www.oliepeil.nl/archief/050105.jpg

Reminds me of Mr S.Chia...

http://www.oliepeil.nl/archief/blote_crossers.jpg

For those who has a weak stomarch...

http://www.oliepeil.nl/archief/1011.jpg

No posting from PL... guess he should be signing the dotted line @ PML...

http://www.oliepeil.nl/archief/bmw-r1200rt-05-bikepics-402357.jpg

http://www.oliepeil.nl/archief/bekeuring2.jpg

Originally posted by mao@Jul 7 2006, 01:57 AM

Sunday 9th July 2006. Malacca breakfast ride. Anyone interested?? Mentioned by Stephen earlier this evening?

Anyone going? :confused:

Never make someone a priority in your life when you are just an option in theirs~~

Originally posted by weizvo@Jul 7 2006, 12:36 PM

Not me... gotto rest...

Yo PL,

Looks like your holding back will pay dividend. BMW is introducing traction control and anything that will improve bike safety gets a http://www.absolutepunk.net/images/smilies/june07/thumbup.gif in my book.....

BMW is continuing its strategy of launching models spread out through the year. With the new R 1200 R comes a very special option for a road bike-traction control. BMW calls it ASC (Automatic Stability Control). For the traction control to work you also need the ABS option at 1000 Euro extra. Traction control and ABS could make this bike the safest wet weather and winter bike ever. The R 1200 R is an evolution of the old R 1150 R (as featured in the latest Hollywood blockbuster Ultraviolet with Milla Jovovich) much in the same way as every other big BMW Boxer, R1200GS, R1200S and so on. The new engine has received a mixture of performance that has placed it in between the GS and R1200S models. BMW claims 109bhp @ 7.500rpm and 115Nm @ 6.000rpm. That is enough power to make the R 1200 R Roadster stand up vertically on its Paralever EVO wherever you want it to. Unless the traction control is switched on that is... A brand new ABS system has also been launched. The claimed dry weight is the same, fairly lightweight for a 1170cc Boxer, 198kg as the R 1200 GS.

You can order ASC with any Boxer engined BMW from next year with the exception of the R1200S model. You will also be able to get ASC with the four cylinder K1200GT, but it is not clear yet whether ASC will be available on the more powerful K1200S and R already next year. It could mean that the system needs to be tested more thoroughly in high speed and track scenarios before BMW has a system ready for the R1200S, K1200S and K1200R. We have asked BMW the question and will update this article as soon as we know why the system is not ready for the more powerful sportsbikes yet. All sorts of accessories are ready for the new bike with the same luggage options as on the big tourers ST and RT as well as a fly screen. The ASC has been demonstrated today in Berlin on gravel and it is fairly impressive one of my colleagues reported from Berlin. The main point about the ASC is that it is a safety feature, not a track tool. BMW still has loads of work to do before it can offer the system to its sportsbike customers for trackdays.

http://www.raptorsandrockets.com/images/2007_BMW_R_1200_R_2r.jpg

http://www.raptorsandrockets.com/images/2007_BMW_R_1200_R_1r.jpg

http://www.raptorsandrockets.com/images/2007_BMW_R_1200_R_3a.jpg

http://www.raptorsandrockets.com/images/2007_BMW_R_1200_R_6r.jpg

http://www.raptorsandrockets.com/images/2007_BMW_R_1200_R_ASC_diagr.jpg

http://www.raptorsandrockets.com/images/2007_BMW_R_1200_R_ASC_ABS_t.jpg

Provided that it works....... of coures http://www.absolutepunk.net/images/smilies/july06/poke.gif

The years thunder by.

Originally posted by weizvo@Jul 7 2006, 12:36 PM

Not until I get my S back ....... Can't keep up with The Boys of Summer on me Orange http://www.absolutepunk.net/images/smilies/badteeth.gif

The years thunder by.

Originally posted by Cyclop aka "Sideways!&q@Jul 7 2006, 01:58 PM

Yo PL,

Looks like your holding back will pay dividend. BMW is introducing traction control and anything that will improve bike safety gets a http://www.absolutepunk.net/images/smilies/june07/thumbup.gif in my book.....

Wow, same as those fitted on the Mercedes Benz? Another first from BMW, should be good...:thumb:

Sometimes, problem can be solved easily...

hi guys!

have this loud scratching sound coming from the left side(engine right?) when im riding.... scary... anyone encounter it before? thx! pls advice.

the problem- solved.... i think....

just sent to PSC. 3rd time brought back.

Mr Yap, super nice guy figured that the mud guard of the rear tyre was too close to the suspension...hence the sound...

so they cut my mud guard and so far so good... *keeping fingers cross*

he say x9 oso got this issue.... looks like me too heng already.

thx to all who replied!

from me...

You are damn lucky. The sound is not from your brakes or they might just remove your brake calipers and tell you, see... no more sound...

icon-slapforehead.gif

Originally posted by SDR@Jul 7 2006, 11:49 AM

No posting from PL... guess he should be signing the dotted line @ PML...

i....hate....you....guys......

i was fine all this while....until...last night....

my heart skipped a bit as she sashayed in....

i start to blush when you introduced her to me....

i tried not to look, but her presence draws me in closer....

i tried to resist, but i soon cave in....

i push her button turning her on, her soft purrs in turn arouses me....

i wished you guys would disappear as i try get to know her better....

just the two of us..... a private moment of intimate embrace....

with a heavy heart ... we say goodbye....

but with things right now, it cannot be....

i cannot sleep, i cannot dream....

i see her now, night and day....even tho she is not in front of me....

my heart right now is not where it shoud be....

i tried so hard, to avoid meeting her....

but you guys simply .... kenot let it be....

- Forbidden Love - PL '06

http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a140/pinglong/R1200RT_R1200GSA_top_back_on_back.jpg
Originally posted by Cyclop aka "Sideways!&q@Jul 7 2006, 02:06 PM

Not until I get my S back ....... Can't keep up with The Boys of Summer on me Orange http://www.absolutepunk.net/images/smilies/badteeth.gif

When are you getting the bee back??

So far

Stephen (K1200R)

Chee (R1200RT)

Myself

Kevin (CBR1100XX)

Ivan (Rockster)

Originally posted by PL@Jul 7 2006, 04:47 PM

Dream "BERTHA"!!!!!

And we have a Poet among us ......... http://www.absolutepunk.net/images/smilies/appl.gif

...... and we had witnessed the coming together of true http://www.absolutepunk.net/images/smilies/new/txtloves.gif

Guys & Gals, take a step back.....

Yo mon ami, you sure Mrs PL-to-be don't read zis forum ya, else...... http://www.absolutepunk.net/images/smilies/july06/missing.gif

The years thunder by.

Thought you waited for her... forbidden love or fatal attraction... :confused:

Whatever... shiok right?... pressing her nipple to make her groan...kekekeke...

Originally posted by SDR@Jul 7 2006, 05:10 PM

Thought you waited for her... forbidden love or fatal attraction... :confused:

Coming soon to a theater near you....

Basic Instinct 3

starring Bertha "Stoned" PL

ya ya, me working on the poster......... http://foolstown.com/sm/lam.gif

The years thunder by.

Originally posted by mao@Jul 7 2006, 04:57 PM

When are you getting the bee back??

Pending no further "Its like that one" situation, next Tuesday http://foolstown.com/sm/susel.gif

The years thunder by.

http://foolstown.com/sm/bis.gif

kekekeke. inspiration just hit lah. kenot help it. ideas just flow. :cheeky:

The new RT feels more compact. Looks good. Feels good. Sounds good.

I can so picture myself owning one, and it's a darn pretty picture!

I'm in :lovestruck:

Ooooeeeii guys & gals, it's Friday! Have a good weekend! http://foolstown.com/sm/yaya.gif

http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a140/pinglong/R1200RT_R1200GSA_top_back_on_back.jpg
Originally posted by Cyclop aka "Sideways!&q@Jul 7 2006, 05:32 PM

Pending no further "Its like that one" situation, next Tuesday http://foolstown.com/sm/susel.gif

cool it, bro. it's like that one lah. kekekekeke

http://foolstown.com/sm/pom.gif

Originally posted by PL@Jul 7 2006, 06:34 PM

cool it, bro. it's like that one lah. kekekekeke

http://foolstown.com/sm/pom.gif

Laf it up mon ami, laf it up ...............

http://www.absolutepunk.net/images/smilies/july06/sharpenaxe.gif

The years thunder by.