Hi, dun mind me asking all the BMW gurus' here...

What's the difference between an RT1200 and 1300GT?? besides the power that is..

What are the pros and cons of both these bikes?

Thanks ya..

There's your answer above on the title besides many other features on either bikes.. really depends what you want in your ride at the end of the day...

BTW, I'm no guru or cikgu ya? Just a normal biker who like the blues...hahah

What's the difference between an RT1200 and 1300GT?? besides the power that is..

Thanks ya..

both are tourers but as mentioned the bikes are built on vastly different platforms thus causing a huge difference in the way both bikes will feel, ride, handling, power delivery etc

not sure if there are CONS for BMW's, beside the initial asking price (which is an issue to most of us) but than again everything is relative and really depends on what you want out of the bike.

http://www.thisoldtractor.com/guzzitech.dk/english/index.htm

1981 dt125

"its bad but not too bad"

Guest sawadeekap

What tyre best suit the GSA? Primarily for road use.

I am looking at Continental Road Attack. And also Trail Attack.

Comments?

Edited by sawadeekap
yes boss aka the puffdaddy :D

full frontal exposed :o

Thanks for 'exposing your front'! :puke:

Who's BMWMC president? The guy in the first or second pic?

Anyway, who ask you to look at the guys? It's the others we are interested in, right? :nobuaya:

BTW, anyone knows the name of the circled part or where I can get one? They use it to hold the dianostic plug.

bluesea5025.jpg

bluesea5025mounted3ug.jpg

Guest sawadeekap

Anyway, who ask you to look at the guys? It's the others we are interested in, right? :nobuaya:

BTW, anyone knows the name of the circled part or where I can get one? They use it to hold the dianostic plug.

Haha, how can u not know Mr BMWCS Prez!

Anyway, u anyhow only post their pics.

OK, I just checked. So HE is the Prez. Hmmm. Although I didn't know who he was, I rode with him once.

Great guy. He was really patient in explaining and showing me how to tackle corners at speed. Hope to be able to join them in their breakfast ride soon.

Anyway, the pics are available in the pml website for public viewing, so I don't think they will file a class action lawsuit against me lah. Worse come to worst I donate my R to them lor. :bow:

Tyre

When I changed my tyre, the shop advised that Bridgestone's prices have shot up and is now among the priciest. Is this true?

I rode for a long time on BT-020 because they were relatively inexpensive and good enough for me. They also last very well. The thing I don't like is how much air escape from them. I usually pump my tyres on every refill and sometimes the loss is like, 5 psi.

So in the end I changed to the Pirelli Diablo Strada. Spur of the moment thing. When I got home, I read up on it. The reviews were generally good. Good performance in the wet and last well. 2 qualities that are most important to me.

The profile is really round, which hints at the emphasis on performance more than tyre life. Since 90% of my riding time is on commuting, this may be an overkill.

The shop also carries Metzeler (Z6?) but I didn't choose that as the tyre profile is even sharper. Almost like a V.

A forumer just changed his to a Pilot Road (2?) while another uses BT-021. So it will be interesting to compare thread wear and performance when we meet.

Don't know how similar the Continental Road Attack and Trial Attack is but you can take a look at the tyre comparison here.

Page1-Graphs.jpg

To my knowledge the 1300Gt is a "K" bike, as opposed to the "R"1200RT. I do not think that as of now, there is in production any K1200RT or R1300GT.

The main difference is that the Ks are inline bikes as opposed (no pun intended :) ) to the R boxers. The other main differences are suspension (the K1300GT has Duolever and not Telelever) and whether it is a curse or blessing, a single signal switch for both left/right signals for the new K. The GT is heavier but I reckon that being a K, it would have a higher power to weight ratio. I also think that the K offers greater wind protection; not that the RT's is poor.

PML should have it; it's a plastic clamp; part number 11531726298. I did not know that the R1100s use that clamp too.

Cat

... what you looking at? Never seen a cow that wants to go places ????! ...

http://i49.photobucket.com/albums/f254/bikermeow/Miscellaneous/cow4uz.jpg

Second Pic.. I happen to know him la..

Hi guys

hey currypuff are you riding a R1100R 2 tone colour (black and grey) oil tank?.. by the way anyone got good and cheap engine oil (mineral) to recommand for bmw bike?

hi brendan.i ride a '99 twotone too.welcome to the frey.it was the handsome paintwork which attracted me mainly ,plus it had a boxer engine.had no intention of getting a bm then.if it was of the plain variant,i would not have bought it.Blue? blehh. Green? too descent.Maroon? too old.the rarest i think : graphite or is it silver.saw once.not nice.

BMW recommends Castrol oil.$10 a bottle most places.

yes its the chain tensioner, the loud rattle..... :angel:

hmm dats one bmw stuff i havent spend my hardearned money on.the time will come. sigh

When I was looking to change my bike, I came across 2 R1100Rs on offer.

One was a 1999 model and the other a 2000 model.

They looked the same at first but on closer inspection, the grey is of a different tone, beside the yellow stripe on the 2000~ model.

The bagsters below will give a clearer picture.

the one with the yellow stripe seems more of beige to me.bike looks 'livelier' too.the '99 is glacier grey.personaly i much prefer the latter.best matched 2tone.the 2000 went a tad 'extra' with the yellow striping.i feel 2 colours is enuff.lets not hide the gorgeous paintwork of our R under those bagsters.

Nice... is it the special edition? with the spoke rims :thumb:

dat's the 75th edition in black with white pinstriping, reminiscent of the 50's or classic boxers.IMO this is the only model dat goes well/looks right with spoke rims. there was 1 on sale this yr.guy had to go outstation.

both are tourers but as mentioned the bikes are built on vastly different platforms thus causing a huge difference in the way both bikes will feel, ride, handling, power delivery etc

not sure if there are CONS for BMW's, beside the initial asking price (which is an issue to most of us) but than again everything is relative and really depends on what you want out of the bike.

Thanks ya..

RT1200 - boxer engine,torquey,still buzzy(boxer,mah),$$$

K1300GT - inline4 engine,smooth tourer,sports tourer to me,$$$$.the 1200 was voted tourer of the yr once by a mag.there was a guy with this at the pml buffet that time.

CONS? to me : silly HES,dumb alternator belt,troublesome pivot bearings,pricey parts

PROS? these bikes go forever

http://www.ukgser.com/forums/images/smilies/201108/tarka.gif
Thanks bro.. Its a special currypuff edition :D (sorry private joke) but no, I've been spending time and $$ to make this one unique to how I want it to look..like an R90S...which incidentally is hard to come by here..

spend $$$ you have! :cheeky: it sure is a looker now.thought someone else bought it when i saw it had spoke rims and Staintune.Reason of dropping the G.P.R? my wishlist a set of Wilburs and pipe.So many accessories so little money :(

are those pics of the recent kuantan trip? wanna see the rest.

the GS1200s seem to be the star bikes of the Club.juz a personal observation.

tyres- my rear is BT021,front is pilot rd 2.fantastic combo.can corner till u drag ur main stand.try it

Thanks for the info guys.. yeah i already know its a boxer vs an inline engine.

But is it true the 1300GT has more raw power than RT1200 since its an inline engine?

Pardon my noob qns since im very new to boxer engines so i dun know how responsive it is compared to inline ones..

I reckon u will need deep pockets to maintain these beauties right? the parts are rather reasonable but the labour charges especially is a killer..

To me both looked very similar in which i prefer RT looks for its mounted side mirror.. the GT really need to change its mirrors to make it perfect.

1300 GT

http://hdforums.com/forum/attachments/general-harley-davidson-chat/59534d1248900414-he-traded-in-his-flhtcui-ultra-classic-electra-glide-for-the-bmw-k1200lt-2009-bmw-k-1300-gt.jpg

RT1200

http://www.bikez.com/pictures/bmw/2006/22730_0_1_2_r%201200%20rt_Image%20credits%20-%20BMW.jpg

http://i3.squidoocdn.com/resize/squidoo_images/-1/draft_lens5271672module39663012photo_12448116942008-BMW-R1200GS-Adventureb-small.jpg

What's an ADVENTURE??

EVERYTHING!!

my k11rs really has to go, its put on 60miles since sept and my trips up north keep getting aborted for some reason or other.

the old lady is giving me grief as well on a bike that is not being utilised etc etc etc.

its a waste to see her just sit in the carpark. gimme a buzz if you guys are keen to take a look at her.

http://www.thisoldtractor.com/guzzitech.dk/english/index.htm

1981 dt125

"its bad but not too bad"

spend $$$ you have! :cheeky: it sure is a looker now.thought someone else bought it when i saw it had spoke rims and Staintune.Reason of dropping the G.P.R? my wishlist a set of Wilburs and pipe.So many accessories so little money :(

hey mamat,

Dropped the GPR as part of a deal I had to make with someone la..:cheeky:

now with the spoke rims & staintune & a new (yet again) handlebar, the bike really handles well while looking reminiscent..IMO la..haha The previous bars I had from the fazer 1000 made the handling very heavy and I didn't like it when playing in the bends..

Was planning to sell the bike initially as there are 2 others that I need to ride as well...but seeing that not many ppl here appreciate this bike (from the response and silly offers)..I decided to keep it for now la.. and am glad I did as its giving me lots of smiles for the miles..haha..cheers and ride safe..me away in Vietnam now.. bye

Guest mybookie

May i know how the TPM works? How does the reading appears on the OBC when readings were taken from the tyre sensors?

mybookie, you may want to check with the F800 owners on other forums or with PML, there are not that many of us who ride the F800s. Sorry can't help you there.

anyone got good recommand on front brake plate? on R1100R. thanks.

Apart from stock, check out Brakin'.

On another note, I came across this post by a chap on BMW quality on another forum; and I think what he said bears some thought. In the Twist The Throttle program, when David Robb was interviewed, his emphasis seems to be on technology and performance. In fairness, save for Honda, the build quality of other manufacturers while industry-standard are not exceptional.

As always, my views only.

Cat

"The perceived quality issues are to be expected:

Once BMW opted to chase production numbers, it became inevitable. They used to be the manufacturer of a low-volume, low-tech product range. To achieve the desired volume of sales, they had to stop making (relatively) un-dynamic bikes (to raise their profile they had to get the bike-media to say nice things and so their products had to get closer to the alternatives in terms of performance, where they couldn't do that because of the limits of the engine design, they went for technological goodies).

The more they produce and the more they sell, the more the quality issues surface; it's the inevitable corollary of the numbers game.

Even the reported drop in the quality of the finish is a victim of this to some extent: While it's true that the EU limits the use of coatings and finishes that it deems dirty (from an ecological standpoint), the two R100GS' that I owned from new, both turned beige and went furry in no time. The R80/7 that I've had an intimate relationship with for over 25 years has needed lots of TLC (as well as a full cosmetic rebuild) to prevent it turning into a pile of rusty metal.

The Bricks that I've owned and the one that I still possess, have all needed mucho fettling.

My 2004 R1150GSA is currently in pieces as I attend to the ravages of time and use.

The much touted "BMW Quality" is a myth (one that I've never seen BMW claim for themselves). This myth was propagated by BMW owners in the face of the taunts that their chosen bike was not as fast or as modern as the alternatives; "Yeah, your bike might be faster but mine is built to last!"

Bollocks. BMW's last because BMW owners having shelled-out so much hard-earned have little alternative to rebuilding periodically (and BMW help by continuing to support their obsolete models - at a price of course).

I've been a BMW owner for a long time. I'm happy to admit that I'm stuck in the loop. The "quality" of my BMW's is more down to my attention to them than anything BMW has ever done (apart from their relative simplicity that makes them easy to attend to)."

Guest mybookie
mybookie, you may want to check with the F800 owners on other forums or with PML, there are not that many of us who ride the F800s. Sorry can't help you there.

Hi Coolcat,

Let's take it in general form... be it F800 or the GS/A. Im currently not riding the F800.

As there are no wires from the tyres to OBC.. i wonder.

Hi Coolcat,

Let's take it in general form... be it F800 or the GS/A. Im currently not riding the F800.

Forgive me, mybookie, I did not know what bike you are riding or that the TPM is available on the R1200X series. I learn something everyday. :)

Did a bit of research searching on the web; interesting. There is a sensor under the valve stem, then sends a signal to the bike's brain on tire pressures. The sensor looks like this:

http://i321.photobucket.com/albums/nn398/bartomoto/IMG_2167.jpg

The system seems to be based on wireless technology, and the sensor has to be calibrated and it activates when there is movement (presumably rotation). Runs on battery, and as it is a sealed unit; it appears that it has to be replaced if damaged or battery runs out. Aftermarket brands available for motorcycles.

Cat

Hi Coolcat,

As there are no wires from the tyres to OBC.. i wonder.

wow! did u ride with yr hands up, standing up position @ speeds in excess of 200km/h? :faint:

http://p1.bikepics.com/pics/2009/11/09/bikepics-1826024-full.jpg
Guest mybookie
wow! did u ride with yr hands up, standing up position @ speeds in excess of 200km/h? :faint:

It was in excess of 300km/hr, hence the blurness captured by even a DSLR.

How fast were you going?!

http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y155/adik_putri/Beenthere1.jpg

2004 - 2006 WR200

2006 - 2008 WR400FS

2008 - 201* R1200GS adv

2010 - 201* VFR 800 02'

wanted to ride up north last night/this morning BUT was denied entry into malaysia at the 2nd link... Because they say a few pages of my passport was smudged!!! But i managed to come back from thailand through malaysia the last time, visit thailand and brunei with this passport...

he mumbled for a few minutes but i just don't care... i just refuse to ask" how much"

malaysia boleh...

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/picture.php?albumid=90&pictureid=3431

I believe in Value for My HaRD EARN MOOlah

wanted to ride up north last night/this morning BUT was denied entry into malaysia at the 2nd link... Because they say a few pages of my passport was smudged!!! But i managed to come back from thailand through malaysia the last time, visit thailand and brunei with this passport...

he mumbled for a few minutes but i just don't care... i just refuse to ask" how much"

malaysia boleh...

Then I am completely screwed. At least 6 pages of ink blobs. Sigh, will have to take my chances. When you trying again?

Cat

Then I am completely screwed. At least 6 pages of ink blobs. Sigh, will have to take my chances. When you trying again?

Cat

high chance sat night/sun morning when i pick up my new passport on sat morning... wanna join me?:cheeky:

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/picture.php?albumid=90&pictureid=3431

I believe in Value for My HaRD EARN MOOlah