Originally posted by ashenZ@Mar 31 2005, 10:25 AM

WOoOoo!~!~ i be waiting for the pictures of the trip den....

U went up urself??? to both frasers and cameron??

Yep, I rode solo. 2 others brought their Mrs, total 15 bikes. First day up Genting for lunch and then to Fraser; 2nd day from Fraser to Cameron; 3rd day back to Sin, around 1700km, mostly back roads, keeping highway travel to the minimum. :smile:

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b193/KohTL/1098/signature.jpg

The years thunder by.

The drams of youth grow dim where they lie caked in dust on the shelves of patience.

Before we know it, the tomb is sealed.

Where, then, lies the answer?

In choice. Which shall it be: bankruptcy of purse or bankruptcy of life?

- Sterling Haden, Voyage, 1976

Originally posted by SDR@Mar 31 2005, 01:28 PM

What is it? Spy photos of next year's model? A concept bike under development at BMW's secret studio? Some engineering student's design exercise? A NASA/BMW joint project to replace the space shuttle? Well, we just don't know.

Looks like still sticking to the Boxer engine....

http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a140/pinglong/R1200RT_R1200GSA_top_back_on_back.jpg

yeah my fren collect his gs liao~~~got 1 more gs owner lor~~ :cheer:

Originally posted by koma@Mar 31 2005, 03:09 PM

hey guys i goin for tis trip tis sun anyone wans 2 join me??

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/index....showtopic=70050

I am going to KL this weekend :smile:

Hey guys, after so many times of sending in to workshop for servicing or fix accessories, do u feel that certain parts of your bike is loose? I somehow feel as if there's something somewhere that's loose. For eg. the dashboard, these days when i go over some hump, i think i can hear something rattling behind it. A bit concerned... coz already the rubber strip under the electric windshield is coming off...i wonder what other rubber/seals/sponge came off already.... That's the downside of having a faired bike. If like you guys, GSes are almost naked, can see everything. haha.

I went to SierraBMW website, saw this PIAA 1100X & 1400X series of driving lights..... hmmmm......... Almost....ordered....

http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a140/pinglong/R1200RT_R1200GSA_top_back_on_back.jpg

Yeah, it's shiok to see in front of you so bright. But realise the micro-flooter is not very suitable. Coz it's not focused enough. If I tilt it upwards, then it will 'blind' ppl in front of me, but it can't shine very far. What I wanted was low and far. So, since it's too wasteful to get rid of it, I'll just see whether I can fix another set. The existing one, will switch it on in bad wheather or when it's really really dark.

Originally posted by koma@Mar 31 2005, 03:42 PM

yeah my fren collect his gs liao~~~got 1 more gs owner lor~~ :cheer:

Evil....EVVIIIILLLLLL

Originally posted by mokamoka@Mar 31 2005, 11:37 PM

Just had a live dose of poison... riding beside a hiong R1150R.... is there such a model???. hehe... NICE!!!...

LOL! like that also can???

Yeah, there's such a model.

Originally posted by PL@Mar 31 2005, 06:30 PM

Evil....EVVIIIILLLLLL

hahahahaha~~!! gs~~gs~~gs~~gs~~gs~~gs~~gs~~gs~~gs~~gs~~gs~~gs`~` :p

RT on dirt road, why not?!!! http://www.advrider.com/forums/images/smilies/99smoke.gif

http://bmwmoa.smugmug.com/photos/17682898-M.jpg

The years thunder by.

The drams of youth grow dim where they lie caked in dust on the shelves of patience.

hello! I am considering getting a GS but i am quite new to the bike. could any 1 who rides a GS spare some thoughts on this bike? how many liter is the full tank of the 1150gs and the 1200gs? how far can u go before u have to pump petrol? what is the insurance and road tax like? any other info is also much appricated! thanks!:bounce:

Originally posted by mokamoka@Mar 31 2005, 11:37 PM

Just had a live dose of poison... riding beside a hiong R1150R.... is there such a model???. hehe... NICE!!!...

http://www.motorworld.com/roadtests/2001/bmw_r1150r/pics/Jpegs/01.jpg

http://www.motorworld.com/roadtests/2001/bmw_r1150r/pics/Jpegs/02.jpg

http://www.motorworld.com/roadtests/2001/bmw_r1150r/pics/Jpegs/03.jpg

http://www.motorworld.com/roadtests/2001/bmw_r1150r/pics/Jpegs/04.jpg

http://www.motorworld.com/roadtests/2001/bmw_r1150r/pics/Jpegs/06.jpg

http://www.motorworld.com/roadtests/2001/bmw_r1150r/pics/Jpegs/19.jpg

2004 BMW R1150R

Specifications

In a Nutshell: Available equipment for the R1150R includes two-tone paint, heated hand grips, black engine and drive train, clear turn signal lenses, windshield, ABS - partial integral, overdrive transmission, luggage grid, saddlebag mounts and low seat 30.3 inches.

Engine:

Type: Air-cooled/oil-cooled twin-cylinder

Displacement: 1130cc

Bore and Stroke: 101.0 mm x 70.5 mm

Fuel System: Motronic MA 2.4 fuel management system with two spark secondary

Compression Ratio: 10.3:1

MPG: NA

Drivetrain:

Transmission: 6-speed

Final Drive: Enclosed driveshaft with two universal joints

Brakes:

Front: Two, four-piston fixed calipers; 12.6 inch dual floating rotors; optional ABS

Rear: Single, two-piston floating caliper; 10.9 inch single fixed rotor; optional ABS

Suspension:

Front: BMW Telelever

Rear: BMW Paralever

Wheels and Tires:

Front: 120/70 x 17 tubeless tire

Rear: 170/60 x 17 tubeless tire

Dimensions:

Length: 85.4 in.

Seat Height: 31.5 in.

Steering Angle and Trail: 61.9 degrees / 5.0 in.

Wheelbase: 58.5 in.

Weight: 481 lbs. dry excluding options and accessories

Fuel Capacity: 5.4 gals.

There s a couple of them for sale. Prices range from $12 - $18 grand.

Damn good power ! Very good road bike to trash around twisties :smile:

Right Cyclops :cheeky:

Originally posted by SDR@Apr 1 2005, 12:43 PM

Like to share a theory from my eldest brother on how to select a car/bike. My eldest brother has his own philosophy when choosing a car, his theory is very simple - choose something that you like, you love, you have pride to own it, drive it and most important thing is people will envy you.

Buying a car cannot just focus on the price of vehicle, maintenance and etc... Okay, you may think this is ridiculous, yes, it is, if you are comparing a Ferrari F50 to Hyundai Coupe, but what we are comparing or choosing here is something close, like a 2nd hand BMW 320 and a Brand New Camry, yes, 1 is new and another is used, but what the hell, who know it is used when you are driving it on the road. Now, we will choose for both with similar price, yes, the life span of both may be different, 1 may be a used 2-3yrs and another has the life span of 10yrs with warranty of 3yrs.

I asked him why he had chosen a used car instead of brand new when he bought his very 1st BMW 316 in 1989, knowing that his salary is just sufficient to own a Japanese car. He will be more comfortable to own a Honda Civic, his explanation to me was simple and as follow:

aa) COE, PARKING, ERP, CBD are the same regardless capacity of vehicle, right? Yes.

bb) Maintenance – if you follow strictly to manufacturer recommendation and service them in Agent or Authorized Workshop, charges may be slightly cheaper for Japanese car. “Slightly”, you don’t service your car daily or monthly, so that work up to even more minimum basis on yearly.

cc) Spark plugs, engine oil, Tyres and etc… price can be the same regardless of car makes and model.

cc) Petrol consumption – “Slightly” as well, that’s why he never believe spending additional money to install device to save fuel, he told me many have forgotten that the price of the device and Singapore is a small country, how much fuel can you consume? Further, if it is that good, why manufacturer don’t install that themselves to make their consumers a happier customers or to improve sales? Okay, whatever it is, the subject here is, fuel consumption should be similar.

* main issue :

dd) Installment – regardless of years of payment, you are paying installment, when calculated, monthly installment may be difference by $200-$300 or it may be same.

So, his thinking is, since you have to pay installment and it is the sadness and most painful thing to do every month regardless of amount. And out of 30.42 days in a month, you will suffer 1 day for installment payment but you will enjoy driving your dream/preferred car for the balance of 29.42days. So, if you choose to drive something slightly cheaper, you still suffer that faithful day when making your payment plus the balance of 29.42 days. He thinks it is not worthwhile at all.

He preferred to suffer 1 day for installment payment and enjoy the balance of 29.42 days of driving, admired by others, easier to know pretty girls, have more self-confidence and etc…

Each has his own. You may think his thinking is nonsense but I think it does make sense.

*For you information, my eldest brother is 38yrs old. He had his 1st BMW 16yrs ago, he changes many used cars from Porsche, BMW, VW, Audi, Volvo, Benz over 16yrs of driving, if you were to calculate, he has enjoyed driving for about 5,648.64days and suffered only 192days over 16yrs. Worth it? You decide.

:cheer: :bow: :bow: :bow:

Originally posted by SDR@Apr 1 2005, 12:43 PM

Like to share a theory from my eldest brother on how to select a car/bike. My eldest brother has his own philosophy when choosing a car, his theory is very simple - choose something that you like, you love, you have pride to own it, drive it and most important thing is people will envy you.

Buying a car cannot just focus on the price of vehicle, maintenance and etc... Okay, you may think this is ridiculous, yes, it is, if you are comparing a Ferrari F50 to Hyundai Coupe, but what we are comparing or choosing here is something close, like a 2nd hand BMW 320 and a Brand New Camry, yes, 1 is new and another is used, but what the hell, who know it is used when you are driving it on the road. Now, we will choose for both with similar price, yes, the life span of both may be different, 1 may be a used 2-3yrs and another has the life span of 10yrs with warranty of 3yrs.

I asked him why he had chosen a used car instead of brand new when he bought his very 1st BMW 316 in 1989, knowing that his salary is just sufficient to own a Japanese car. He will be more comfortable to own a Honda Civic, his explanation to me was simple and as follow:

aa) COE, PARKING, ERP, CBD are the same regardless capacity of vehicle, right? Yes.

bb) Maintenance – if you follow strictly to manufacturer recommendation and service them in Agent or Authorized Workshop, charges may be slightly cheaper for Japanese car. “Slightly”, you don’t service your car daily or monthly, so that work up to even more minimum basis on yearly.

cc) Spark plugs, engine oil, Tyres and etc… price can be the same regardless of car makes and model.

cc) Petrol consumption – “Slightly” as well, that’s why he never believe spending additional money to install device to save fuel, he told me many have forgotten that the price of the device and Singapore is a small country, how much fuel can you consume? Further, if it is that good, why manufacturer don’t install that themselves to make their consumers a happier customers or to improve sales? Okay, whatever it is, the subject here is, fuel consumption should be similar.

* main issue :

dd) Installment – regardless of years of payment, you are paying installment, when calculated, monthly installment may be difference by $200-$300 or it may be same.

So, his thinking is, since you have to pay installment and it is the sadness and most painful thing to do every month regardless of amount. And out of 30.42 days in a month, you will suffer 1 day for installment payment but you will enjoy driving your dream/preferred car for the balance of 29.42days. So, if you choose to drive something slightly cheaper, you still suffer that faithful day when making your payment plus the balance of 29.42 days. He thinks it is not worthwhile at all.

He preferred to suffer 1 day for installment payment and enjoy the balance of 29.42 days of driving, admired by others, easier to know pretty girls, have more self-confidence and etc…

Each has his own. You may think his thinking is nonsense but I think it does make sense.

*For you information, my eldest brother is 38yrs old. He had his 1st BMW 16yrs ago, he changes many used cars from Porsche, BMW, VW, Audi, Volvo, Benz over 16yrs of driving, if you were to calculate, he has enjoyed driving for about 5,648.64days and suffered only 192days over 16yrs. Worth it? You decide.

:clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: hear hear~!~!

http://martymcfry.com/images/limpdick2.jpg

'01 - Honda Repsol

'03 - Honda Super Four VTec Spec II

'04 - Honda ST1100 Pan European

'05 - Yamaha FJR1300A (FAVORITE!! Best Ride ever!!)

'09 - Vespa GTS300 Super

'12 - Yamaha FZ1-N

Future - Kymco Downtown 350i, Xciting 400 or T-Max 530?

Originally posted by Cyclop aka "Sideways!&q@Apr 1 2005, 06:00 AM

RT on dirt road, why not?!!! http://www.advrider.com/forums/images/smilies/99smoke.gif

http://bmwmoa.smugmug.com/photos/17682898-M.jpg

AgrreeD :thumb:

Got one picture of a green RT1100 suck in mud.. but cun post online coz too bad... hehehe :cheeky:

Of all Generation of RT till now... i still tink R1150RT is still the coolest looking.... lukz like a Knight with on wheels~! :lovestruck:

'01 - Honda Repsol

'09 - Vespa GTS300 Super

'12 - Yamaha FZ1-N

Originally posted by SDR+Apr 1 2005, 11:13 AM-->
QUOTE (SDR @ Apr 1 2005, 11:13 AM)
PL, don't hv to convert RT to GS, RT can make it off road too. :cheer: [/b]

Think of all the cleaning u have to do afterwards... :slapforehead:

Originally posted by SDR@ Apr 1 2005, 12:43 PM

Hehe.... I like this. Else, why would I get Bertha in the first place? With the amt I paid, could've gotten myself a brand new Honda Super4 Spec III and still got change to buy helmet, rain coat, etc. And since brand new, less headache also. :thumb:

And those who recently bought themselves new GS, think invest a couple more Ks, can get a car already. I'm sure their wives will be happier. But why didn't they do it?

Originally posted by SDR@Apr 1 2005, 01:12 PM

http://i19.ebayimg.com/01/i/03/b2/b9/bf_12_sb.JPG

Wow, super beng but really nice to me. :lovestruck:

What the....so all the panels are metal????? Isn't that thing heavy?

hehehe here it comez....

juz imagine u r dat poor fellow..... not dat off road after all???

maibe itz a sign to upgrade another 50CC????? :lol:

'01 - Honda Repsol

'09 - Vespa GTS300 Super

'12 - Yamaha FZ1-N

Can ya handle this Cyclops??? hehehe~!~!!

'01 - Honda Repsol

'09 - Vespa GTS300 Super

'12 - Yamaha FZ1-N

Originally posted by ashenZ@Apr 1 2005, 02:46 PM

hehehe here it comez....

juz imagine u r dat poor fellow..... not dat off road after all???

maibe itz a sign to upgrade another 50CC????? :lol:

Omygod!!! BERTHAAA!!! NOOOOO!!!! LOL!!!

But seriously, u think even a GS can get out of THAT without help? I've ridden thru mud with my old Yamaha DT125 b4. I ... struggled. GS is so bloody heavier.

Originally posted by PL@Apr 1 2005, 03:00 PM

Omygod!!! BERTHAAA!!! NOOOOO!!!! LOL!!!

But seriously, u think even a GS can get out of THAT without help? I've ridden thru mud with my old Yamaha DT125 b4. I ... struggled. GS is so bloody heavier.

juz like chua said, anytin can be done~~~ ;)

so PL kenna the GS posion liao~~ :p anyway safe trip to KL tml so guys tml usual meetup at m tech round 3plus??

Originally posted by flowers@Apr 1 2005, 08:35 AM

hello! I am considering getting a GS but i am quite new to the bike. could any 1 who rides a GS spare some thoughts on this bike? how many liter is the full tank of the 1150gs and the 1200gs? how far can u go before u have to pump petrol? what is the insurance and road tax like? any other info is also much appricated! thanks!:bounce:

Hello flowers,

1150 holds 24litres and 1200 holds 20. But 1200 runs slightly more efficiently so they match up. Tank range depends on riding style and technique. Highway cruising gets you around high 300km to a tank; blasting around brings you less. Carries a pillion or load up the bike, range gets affected, right Suzu. 1200 is around 30kg lighter than the 1150 but this 30kg makes itself very apparent when you're throwing the bike around and you'll appreciate the lighter weight when pushing the bike around. There'll be a bunch of BM over at Carmen tonight around 2100hrs. Go pay them a visit :smile:

There's quite a bit of writeups in this thread on the two bikes, chk them out. :thumb:

The years thunder by.

Originally posted by Suzu@Apr 1 2005, 10:48 AM

....Damn good power ! Very good road bike to trash around twisties :smile:

Right Cyclops :cheeky:

Very good bike indeed!! :thumb:

The years thunder by.