[Discussion] DRZ 400 SM

Go to solution Solved by exygon,

i think i've solved my prob. its the adaptor on the base plate that is loose, after tightening it, no more sound lo, at least not the squeaky sound. bro ticks, im not sure abt H&B cos its without base plate, but if u hav adaptor too, can try tightening it. good luck...tks

Hi Ticks.

Thanks, definitely will not be saving when it comes to tyres, but I just now how much am I looking at for the different models and my options.

bst choice IMHO is the michelin pilot powers

• Thanks 1

Be a HERO

Add this Space For your Meat Fix: https://www.facebook.com/JamesButcheryCo?fref=ts

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

http://i621.photobucket.com/albums/tt299/Az_itsme/20140621_182817.jpg

i think i've solved my prob. its the adaptor on the base plate that is loose, after tightening it, no more sound lo, at least not the squeaky sound. bro ticks, im not sure abt H&B cos its without base plate, but if u hav adaptor too, can try tightening it. good luck...tks

Ok man. Will have a check at it. Thanks very much.

Ride safe people!!

Ride fast..ride safe..don't crash...

Hi all..whats the market price for drz?any ideas?looking at plate fbc or fbd with external mods..

There are a few in the used bike section with nice mods. Have a look. You won't search on vain.

Ride safe people!!

Hi Bro ticks/ Az_itsme,

followed your suggestion and changed pilot powers. going good. thanks for your recommendations.

One more question. I was using battlax 160, I changed 160 for the pilot powers too. But previously the battlax tyres had chain rub and it expanded sideways a little. Is it normal? Is it dangerous? realised the throttle became a bit heavier (to accelerate). Now it's slightly better though, no chain rub. By right this bike supports 160 too right?

Edited by jxx

Life is full of regrets but riding has never been one.

Hi Bro ticks/ Az_itsme,

followed your suggestion and changed pilot powers. going good. thanks for your recommendations.

One more question. I was using battlax 160, I changed 160 for the pilot powers too. But previously the battlax tyres had chain rub and it expanded sideways a little. Is it normal? Is it dangerous? realised the throttle became a bit heavier (to accelerate). Now it's slightly better though, no chain rub. By right this bike supports 160 too right?

Hmm. U went for the 250 dollar tires eh. Hehe. Somehow the guys who fit the 160 rear on my rear tire said the PP won't have chain rub. Which it didn't. But the cornering on those set of tires felt a lil off. The current OEM profile is nicer. From what my butt tells my brain la.

Hehe

Ride safe people!!

• Like 1

Hmm. U went for the 250 dollar tires eh. Hehe. Somehow the guys who fit the 160 rear on my rear tire said the PP won't have chain rub. Which it didn't. But the cornering on those set of tires felt a lil off. The current OEM profile is nicer. From what my butt tells my brain la.

Hehe

Ride safe people!!

Hi no leh I didnt change the S$250 tyres LOL.

Last time was battlax 160 and now is PP 160. S$250 tyres you talking about front and back? PP is S$175( around there for back tyre only) so by the time I change both will be S$300 plus already. Sorry ah bro ticks, a little confused haha...

So not sure why will have chain rub either.

Edited by jxx

Life is full of regrets but riding has never been one.

Hi no leh I didnt change the S$250 tyres LOL.

Last time was battlax 160 and now is PP 160. S$250 tyres you talking about front and back? PP is S$175( around there for back tyre only) so by the time I change both will be S$300 plus already. Sorry ah bro ticks, a little confused haha...

So not sure why will have chain rub either.

oops..hehe..was just a wild guess.. anyway where did u get single tires only? seldom get to see le..yea 300 plus is about right..the 250 wan is front and back..kena one time d..one year old tire summor..kena conned..

There is a trick to making a 160 rear not rub against the chain.

Either off set the chain adjusters so that the rear wheel is biased more to the right and tighten up the chain.

Chain slack allows the chain to whip about and rub against the sidewall of a 160 tyre.

For the rear rim size that the DRZ has ie 4.5 inch width.. the biggest tyre you can put on is a 150. Only a 5 inch wide rim can accomodate a 160. I would be very wary if the mechanic suddenly offers to adjust your chain without you asking for it to be done.

And if you buy the 'cheap' 160 combo set.. chances are you are going to get poor acceleration due to the larger rolling mass at the rear, poor high speed and low speed stability due to the flatter and lower profile of the 120/60 front tyre.

The poor front handling characteristics will get worse as the tyre wears down.

The other down side of using the wrong profile front tyre is your speedometer will not be accurate anymore.. it was originally calibrated to a 120/70 tyre.

Edited by Raptor
  • Thanks 1

hi all can i check wat the setting for the wheel size for vapor meter thanks

http://img412.imageshack.us/img412/5181/thedarkknight6vb9.jpg

thanks raptor i just bought a 3 yrs plus old drz and i need ur advise

are u open tomorrow ?

cause i feel like my steering titled sightly to 1 side

http://img412.imageshack.us/img412/5181/thedarkknight6vb9.jpg

Do say hi when see me on the road eh, ride safe and steady.

haha. I saw u last week at aye opposite lambo heading towards city! I think. Was raining and there was another drz with a motech box in front of u.. Riding safely. Hehe.

Ride safe people!!

haha. I saw u last week at aye opposite lambo heading towards city! I think. Was raining and there was another drz with a motech box in front of u.. Riding safely. Hehe.

Ride safe people!!

Izzit? Haha. Dun remember following another drz wit motech box haha

Yes. Positive. Unless there's another drz with decals exact like yours. Lol. Btw. Stupid picante side mirror. Put a line on my box!!

Ride safe people!!

Yes. Positive. Unless there's another drz with decals exact like yours. Lol. Btw. Stupid picante side mirror. Put a line on my box!!

Ride safe people!!

I'm the one. With the BMC decals and motech box haha

Ah! U cheeky bugger. Lol that's why u Put a haha at the back. Looking good with the box. How's it affecting the handling of the bike?

Ride safe people!!

Straight road still ok. More careful in turns. Cos feels heavier. Haha. And ya, things get a little bit wet if raining. Haha. Think that's the issue with metal box ba

Ya man. Don't dare lean too much or else it'll just drop. Haha. Yours get wet? Mine ok Le. No waterproofing?

Ride safe people!!

ok guys..hand on heart..who here rides on a fully street legal exhaust? i dont mean having exhaust that are certified and then later remove the baffles kind..i mean properly untampered since it was inspected by vitas....hehehe..

I still using stock exhaust, does it count? lol :D

2006 - 2008 // Honda NSR150SP

2008 - 2009 // Honda CBR400RRN

2009 - 2009 // Honda RVF400

2009 - 2011 // Yamaha X1R

2011 - 20xx // Suzuki DRZ-400SM