Originally posted by Al-Simmons@Jun 16 2005, 02:41 PM

Anyone into offroad short trails?

Me, wadyand azliano went to a nice trail in punggol at night... good place for a short adventure ride....only got a few problems with the uphills with lots of sand...

Super 4 nearly washed all the sand to wady's face..

maybe next time after meet ups can bring u all there....

wady>> yoyoyo..haha sorie bout the sand bro.

yes i totally agree wit Al-Simmon...it was great....btw dun wear shorts coz u dunno wat might get into ur pants and den to ur Mr Tinky Winky or Miss Daisy...and for those super4 riders like me, becareful when manouvering thru sand coz our bike doesnt werk dat well wit sand...

• Replies 24.2k

Whats Up DaWgZ!!

Varastormer>>> thanks for the review...I will try to check it out...but not so soon....so far all the workshop i went doesnt satisfy me....except for one...Boon siew...but muz depends on which mechanic...Ah Seng at Boon Siew...He is the best...but at Boon SIew...too bad...my bike is a parallel import...therefore...Labour charge will...HIGH!...i think some of the brothers knows about it....anyway...i wont be going that soon...coz i need the money for my inspection and insurance and road tax....furthermore...it is very near my house!...thanks bro...i wll get back to you...when i want to full servicing my bike...eheheheh...

wild_i>>> Ducati Monster...POWER!!!....but then...if you wear a yellow jacket...or like the other day...the safey vest...look nice on you bro...GARANG!!!...hahahahhahahaha....like what you said...like lemon...ahhaha...joking....so far how is the bike man?...also want to hear from you....do share some insights on the bike...

alsimmons>>> Brother...did you mention sungai api api....it would be no no for me.....if it is at night...eheheheh..."strong place"....you know....

www.nazrinsalim.wordpress.com

Visual Escort 10 July 2005

1) Unknown 91453745

2) Dakar

3) Al-Simmons

4) F.O.R

5) Azliano

6) Niti

7) Daniyal

8) Rideliquid

9) Keropoz

10) Wild I

11) Simon

12) Byteblock!

13) Wady

14) Vara_fy

15) klutch

Werxguy Wedding 3/7/2005

Attending

1. Daniyal

2. pro dero

3. boy melayu

4. mixmaster

5. yusri

6. zul

7. Niti

8. F.O.R

9. wady

10. klutch

Pending

1. Visual

2. Dakar

3. Al-Simmons

4. Keropoz

5. yem_paul

6. unknown

al-simmons>>>'sungai api api', is it near Punggol Marina coz I've been there a lot of times but never in a group. If anyone's going, it would be a yes yes for me ...... even if it's at night.

Originally posted by DaNiYaL@Jun 17 2005, 12:03 AM

wild_i>>> Ducati Monster...POWER!!!....but then...if you wear a yellow jacket...or like the other day...the safey vest...look nice on you bro...GARANG!!!...hahahahhahahaha....like what you said...like lemon...ahhaha...joking....so far how is the bike man?...also want to hear from you....do share some insights on the bike...

I agree that Boon Siew is a very good place to service. Not only do they know what the heck they are doing but they also take a lot of care when servicing it. I have never seen anyone pamper my bike with so much care. But if your bike is parallel imported, you won't score the 10 percent discount.

At the moment i dont have my bike. Sent it for a full service. I found out that the duke has an oil filter, air filter and also a petrol filter. That means more money. A full service is about 400 plus(without any parts changed cept for the filters, EO and timing belt. This should be done every 15K - 17K(recommended 20K). This is because of the timing belt that needs to be replaced. The cost is about 150 bucks for the belt alone. Every 10K you need to make sure that your timing belt is ok...this is is called the half service. So far i have changed the mirrors to more aggressive looking ones. Dakar you would so love my new mirrors bro. I also changed my brake and clutch hoses to Hel. Changed my tires too. I also ordered from Andy the EBC brake pads. More to come trust me...heh. One things for sure the yellow is gonna go. Then I will not look like a lemon when i have to wear a yellow vest..heh

Born to be Wild : Steppenwolf (1968)

Al-Simmons Nex time u go there, i want to tag along!!! This "strong place" thingy got me excited....

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/image.php?u=7350&dateline=1180509307&type=profile

Catch the buggaarr....!!

Originally posted by wild i@Jun 17 2005, 12:55 AM

I found out that the duke has an oil filter, air filter and also a petrol filter. That means more money. A full service is about 400 plus(without any parts changed cept for the filters, EO and timing belt. This should be done every 15K - 17K(recommended 20K). This is because of the timing belt that needs to be replaced. The cost is about 150 bucks for the belt alone. Every 10K you need to make sure that your timing belt is ok...this is is called the half service.

Wild I

Bro. you're right ... bigger CC means more money ... be ready to spend my friend ... By the way i feel that you're timing belt change out is a little ... every 15-17km you mentioned??? ... You sure that's correct??/ and 400 bucks for a full service ... i guess you really love The Duke ... good for you bro ... :smile: :smile: :smile:

And the EBC brake pads ... tell me more about them ...

http://yempaulantonio.blogspot.sg

http://sphotos-e.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc7/s320x320/409306_10150499195852552_676382551_8519348_2125283426_n.jpg

Whats Up DaWgZ!!

wild_i>>> Fui yoo!...bro...to me...if you get what you want...it doesnt matter...coz at then end of the day...you are happy with what you have...big bike big money...thats for sure...depends on how you look at it...but in my opinion..euro bike...is higher to maintain....but your monster used belt?...i thot i saw chain system...ehehehe...

anyway brothers....i had a fren fren who bought aprilia caponord 1000 not the ETV rally....he bought it for $25k OTR...his reviews is that the bike is really fun to ride...so far his bike no problems lah...new bike mah...but the spare parts and accessories...he said...damn expensive....juz sharing....

[Al-Simmons]

like Niti.. huh....the "strong place" thingy got me excited too...if you guys are going...*do give me an sms... i was totally looking for some 'off track, abit rugged, trailing road' 2 years back, then i organized a 'nature ride' but it never actually happen *mainly ..i couldnt actually find a nice place to ride* i ended up at sarimbun limchukang jetty, & the cemetry area.. and that it... the Way u guys describe it, sound really fun, this 'natrue ride' is where we ride and there is no traffic, just us bike, and we go at speeds of round 30-50 as to enjoy the nature, and to ride quietly and stealthly.. *hehe*.. sound fun.. count me in the next time...

hp: 97532020

[VaraStormer ] the question is... how much does the whole 'retuning' cost you?

[OFF TOPIC] have anyone seen 'BATMAN Begins', i just caught it yesterday... initially i didint want to see it as 'trailers' look boring.. but..man was i wrong! its one damm explosive happening MOVIE... (seems they didnt want to SPOILT the movie by showing all the actionpacked stuff in the trailer'

Me, a batman fan (who got tons of their comic) am so disappointed by the last few CRAP batman movies.. (esp the last 2 where george cloony and the other fella...cant recall his name) played batman.... total crap... totally not how batman story is supposed to be....*they do not depict batman.. how how the comic depict him* but this movie.. is totaly the REAL batman.. dark and twisted...

SHOW you the origin of batman, his training, and his screwup... (his first outfit), and it shows... the criminal as the 'victim' and batman as the 'savage'!

Mind blowing... itis DARK! and this BATMAN.. is FIERCE!!

they should have called it 'The REAL BATMAN'

http://www2.warnerbros.com/batmanbegins/images/homepage_header_alt.jpg

Yem_Paul>> The timing belt change is every 15000km to 17000km. The recommended is 20000km. This keeps the beautiful Italian V- twins running in check. And the $400 for a full service is just the minimum...heh.

As for the brake pads, so far after doing some groundwork I have found that the EBC and Carbone Lorraine brands are the best. The Carbonne Lorraine pads are the most expensive with the best braking power but it also eats into your rotors quicker. Directly proportional i say. For the EBC brake pads, they are slightly cheaper, 2nd best in braking power and it doesn't eat up the rotors as much. Both the brands have the best lifespan in terms of wear. Most people use the Carbone Lorraine pads when they to the track due to the braking power. Street users tend to stick to EBC as it is the best of both worlds that is braking, the wear and cost. The reason i am changing mine to better pads is to fully utilise the braking capability of my HEL brake hoses. Plus Andy has an MO for it. The Vara125 uses the same brake front pads as a Phantom. EBC does not brake pads for the rear brakes of the Vara125 and it is different from the Phantom.

Daniyal>> Dei my timing belt is for my engine. My bike is still chain driven. About your friend buying a continental bike...i agree that parts and accessories are expensive. But here's the difference, anyone can buy a continental bike but maintaining it is the REAL issue. That is why it so sad to see some Continental bikes in such dilapidated conditions. Most people buy it for the name and then realise the amount of effort that needs to go into them and they falter by the "just getting by" attitude.

Visual>> This Batman movie is the best so far. Actually the best comic book adapted movie so far. Spiderman, Hell Boy, leagues of an extraordinary gentlemen, just to name a few were a disgrace to comic fans. It is so good that I won't mind watching it a secong time. The other idiot that played Batman was Val Kilmer....hated him as with Clooney. But the best Batman actor is still Michael Keaton....The strong jaw line with the cleft jsut makes him look more masculine when he is in costume. Plus he has this very calm and understated coolness about him when he portrayed Bruce Wayne.

Christopher Nolan (director of Memento) really captured the essence of the Dark Knight even better than Tim Burton. The script even stuck true to the origins of Batman. I liked how at every stage Bruce Wayne dwelled into his psyche as there was conflict of his fear and his duality in personality. Oh and the cast is fantastic....with Liam Neeson...when he was on top of that mountain it just brought flashbacks of Highlander. Michael Caine...2 time oscar winner was such a treat again to watch so was Tom wilkinson and Gary oldman. I also liked how they incorporated real life examples of his technology that he used. It made it easier for the viewers to relate to the movie..the memory cloth for example has been around for the last 6 years.

That's why instead of calling it "The Real Batman" they called it "Batman Begins" as the rest of the other Batman movies didn't matter. It "Begins" from now...pun intended..heh

For those of you who want/need to change your FRONT brake pads to EBC brake pads for only $18(MO) Click Here It links to the 'Cubs' thread. The model no. for the Vara125 is EBC brake pads is FA197, same as the Phantom as I've said before. Just check with Andy one more time if those brake pads in that particular MO are the same as the Vara's.

About the off road ride...maybe i check out the path and come out with a route or else we will go in circles in the dark....it's quite a short distance ride...about 15 mins but will be exciting with lots of long vegetation...

best time is to go at night...expect the unexpected....there will be quite a number of crosspaths along the way......

about the 'strong place', don't worry much...as this path is the one opposite lorong halus...across the river.....maybe after this then we can really ride in the 'strong place'...

wild i >>> reading ur post is like reading an essay....but great info anyway

i'm sticking to common engin course....maybe can get some pointers from u next time...

i was thinking all these info on maintanence of bikes...workshops to go to for servicing should be put up on the website....so next time no need to scroll back one by one through the pages and look for the info...

one more month and i'll be back on the study table...

Keep those riding spirit high:bounce:

Outriders family...

"The road less travelled"

380430_10150542159155027_725570026_11064521_1701187442_n.jpg

Whats Up DaWgZ!!

visual>>> Bro...remember the other day when i talk to you about the webbie....like what Al-simmons said...if we got info..maybe we should juz post it at your webbie...easier...no need to scroll back...eheheheh...like you said...need someone to do a write up so easy job for you....So how...on?...

wild_i>>> I agree with what you said about euro bike...i was jus wondering...if you read reviews about euro bikes...they pay a lot attention to details...and from the reviews...wow!...great bike...but like sadly...people buy and never maintained...darn!...

HAIL BROS ......

Im back from the slaying the SITH LORD .............. hehehheehe . WOW ! Been away for few days ..... 3 pages have gone by ..... keep it up guys . Btw ....... " BATMAN BEGINS " is one great movie ..... beat even TIM BURTON'S ...BATMAN !

Ghost Riders Of Apocalypse ....

Originally posted by DaNiYaL@Jun 17 2005, 02:52 PM

Whats Up DaWgZ!!

visual>>> Bro...remember the other day when i talk to you about the webbie....like what Al-simmons said...if we got info..maybe we should juz post it at your webbie...easier...no need to scroll back...eheheheh...like you said...need someone to do a write up so easy job for you....So how...on?...

well this is the tough one, for the person whos gonna skim back about 170 pages to look for the info... basicly for me .. no issues, you gusy can provide me the info (as a text file or .doc file) ill upload the info on to the website.. No problem...

Also if you want me to change the links, to include new links.. etc.. just tell me what u want.. can make the change within 5 min..

things i will do soon: to make the varader125 website... easy to update (in a sense there will be an admin page, where u need only log in, add new entry (loke how we create new post) and the info will be updated on the vara page) can be done... quite easily..

then i can hand over website admin.. to who ever wants to volunteer to be it..

just that .. dont have time.. now.. maybe after 10 july...

Hello bros!!!!

TODAY IN HISTORY!!!!!

NEWS FLASH!!!!!

hehehe, here's the break down of my riding life today...

1st - met Daniyal and we went to jb to top up fuel and run my mileage...everything was smoot till to the point when we decided to take the 2nd link back and planned to washed our bikes.....

2nd - travelling towards 2nd link...JAM LILE HELL...really testing my unpolished skillz....hehehehe!!!! (maklumlah, virgin bike in jb)

3rd - it rained!!!! urgh... thinking that the rain will stop, we decided to just wash our bike at one of the bike shop. RM$4 onli!!!!! power!!!!

4th - the sun came out!!! yes!!! finished washing the bikes....we decided to proceed home.....

**5th - just when we were stopping at a red light, we were talking about it was just a waste of time to wash the bike as it started to drizzle...hehehe!!! out of a sudden, my black knight swayed from right to left and yes!!!!!!!, my bike laid down to its left!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! URGH!!!!! yes my bike fell!!!!!! the man driving behind us was laughing!!!! hehehehe!!!!! my virgin fall!!!!!

6th - we were cruisng all over the place trying to get to a money changer to pay for toll...finally reaching sgp checkpoint...i thought i had my cash card..but hey!!! its not in my wallet...asked Daniyal for his card, but hey!!!! his stored value was onli 5 cents!!! 5 CENT!!!!!! anyway, i paid by nets at the counter...and kakak counter veri pretty!!!!! HEHEHEHEHEHE

Moral Of The Strory!!!!

- don't wash bike when you know it's raining!!!

- check for cashcard in your wallet b4 going off to anywhere...

- dont talk at traffic light junction!!! hehehehehe!!!!:cry: :cry: :cry:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Al-Simmons - must plan to go for that trail again man!!!! ws so exciting....pushing our bikes to the limits!!!

ABATTORY - the dark side never dies.....hail the black knightz that will rule the universe again....all interested to join the dark side can aply to your nearest CC. hahaahaha!!!!

Daniyal - great trip today bro!!! hehehe...dun worry...next time when we go again, we mandi bunga okie??? today is our down day lah!!!!!!!!!!

till then CHEERS BROS!!!!!

enjoy your weekends!!!!!!

:bouncefire: :bouncefire: :bouncefire: :bouncefire: :bouncefire: :bouncefire:

http://www.scooter-attack.com/banner/banner_scooterattack.gif?s=

~~OuTriDeRz~~

~~RBGC~~

THe JouRNeY NeVeR eNDS...

Anybody wanna buy a 1 week old pair of BMW hand grips for $25?

Wady>> What a day you had bro!!!

Daniyal>> 5 cents!!!!

Visual>> Old Grandfather!?!? Your head...heh heh

Whats Up DaWgz!!

wady>>> hahahahahah.....like a saying goes in malay...but i translate into English..."A rider muz fall at least 1 time in your life...be it stupid fall or normal fall , etc"...ehehehehhe.....me fall twice...one becoz the car turning right into my lane....so scared...juz turn my handle to the left and i fall...while not on the move..stationary waiting to turn right...ehehheh...2...this one i call stupid and expensive fall....so excited to see Abattory...and i "power slide" and fall....ehehehehe....now saving money to respray and do knocking on my tank....ehehehe...

wild_i>>> 5 cents...yes...after i paid my toll at the sg checkpoint...eheheh...by the way...when i asked that person whether he got cashcard...he said got...can tell me left 88 cents...so accurate some more!...ahahahahhaha......

Anyway anyone up for makan session tomorrow nite...9pm....KTM....?...

KTM 9pm

1. Daniyal and partner

wady>>dey say after u had an accident, den u are considered a rider....haha welcome aboard....neway u said the bike wash cost only RM4 ?!!

where sia...i always kena RM7 coz dey say my bike is big...prolly if i put the triangle P-plate den dey might tink its a small bike...till den.

DaNiYaL Haizzz....!! 2moro would love to join bro, but actually in the morning got to go JB coz at night my makcik getting engaged o_O

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/image.php?u=7350&dateline=1180509307&type=profile

Catch the buggaarr....!!

Wild_I

Bro, where to get Hel brake hose and ebc pads??? Been wanting to get these stuffs also but dun know where.

Yem_Paul

Bro, nice to meet u dat day, pardon me for my senility, u dun believe, u asked daniyal and the rest of the Bros, tat's how bad my memory was....... :giddy: :slapforehead:

Btw ,

Guys, anyone knows where or how to get this DVD titles???

http://www.longwayround.com/lwr.htm

been hearing from ppl tat this is a interesting title abt touring, but i think it's just another form of propaganda of Beemers. But would like to check it out.

And keep the namelist coming all Bros!!!! The more the merrier :cheer:

Werxguy Wedding 3/7/2005

Attending

1. Daniyal

2. pro dero

3. boy melayu

4. mixmaster

5. yusri

6. zul

7. Niti

8. F.O.R

9. wady

10. klutch

Pending

1. Visual

2. Dakar

3. Al-Simmons

4. Keropoz

5. yem_paul

6. unknown

Visual Escort 10 July 2005

So sorri bros, i will inform the details in early july, this month is a taxing month for me. :giddy:

1) Unknown 91453745

2) Dakar

3) Al-Simmons

4) F.O.R

5) Azliano

6) Niti

7) Daniyal

8) Rideliquid

9) Keropoz

10) Wild I

11) Simon

12) Byteblock!

13) Wady

14) Vara_fy

15) klutch

My Iron Horses

1997 - 2001 : Mountain Bike (No brand one)

2001 - 2002 : Datsun Nissan Sunny (1984 model)

2002 - 2003 : Toyota Starlet GT (My fav)

2003 - 2005 : Honda Varadero 125

2005 - 2006 : BMW R1150GS

2006 - 2007 : TA200

2007 - 2009 : FZ6S

2009 - ???? : FJR

Dude...you can get the HEL brake hoses done at Vector 1 right beside the Ducati showroom on Lavendar street. They take great care in installing it. Highly recommended.

As for the EBC brake pads PM Andy

wady>>>>wuhu!!!!! fall already sia hahahaha my dad say tiz after my accident " to be an exprience rider 1 must fall n feel PAIN!!!!!" for me tat tym i face two type of pain 1 my hand hurts n twisted my angle...2nd see my bike got skretch fuiyoh!!!! more pain in the ass.....!!! o_O

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/uploads/photo-18943.jpgMoving At The Speed Of Life, We Were Bound To Collide With Each Other...........
Originally posted by unknown@Jun 18 2005, 12:54 AM

Yem_Paul

Bro, nice to meet u dat day, pardon me for my senility, u dun believe, u asked daniyal and the rest of the Bros, tat's how bad my memory was....... :giddy: :slapforehead:

Unknown Nice to see you too bro ... especially with the uniform...:smile:

http://yempaulantonio.blogspot.sg

http://sphotos-e.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc7/s320x320/409306_10150499195852552_676382551_8519348_2125283426_n.jpg